221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Holiday Park Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (410) 482-6797
CGID4554

Holiday Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$51



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   4   10   4   7   8   9   9   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$51
Wonderful place staff is very friendly. They really try hard to accommodate everyone and want everyone to have a fun safe experience. Loved the pool, nature trail and the gospel concert. The food was wonderful and priced right. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$51
Not only is the entrance absurdly designed (1/4 mile of black top patches every 50 ft. so you don't drag race I guess), but when we checked in, we were charged an additional $20.00 credit fee because we couldn't make it last Memorial Day due to a family emergency. Because they allow No Refunds, they agreed to let us use the credit this year butnever stated we would incur an additional fee. Also, the fact that they couldn't even give an activity schedule when you checked in, was beyond cheap! They posted the activity schedule at each bath house. There are only 2 bathhouses to accommodate 200 campsites! This campground was also very "buggy" and agree with the other reviews with ants, nats, mosquitoes, etc. The inflatable they put up for the kids was up for only 1 hour and the tractor ride was for a very short window of time as well right in the middle of the day. The firetruck ride was cute, but if your child wanted a plastic "chief hat" that is $1.00. Also, there is absolutely no motorized golf carts, mini bikes, scooters, etc. allowed anywhere. A little odd since most of the activity is at least a 1/4 of a mile from your campsite. The game room, if you wanted to play pool, ping pong, etc. required not only a $5.00 deposit, but it was $2.50 for 30 mins. of play. We've been to dozens of campgrounds, but this one takes the cake for "capitalizing" at the expense of their guests. We will never camp here again and will certainly not recommend this to our camping club friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
We stayed a total of 3 months at Holiday Park while working in Dover, Delaware. We wish we could pick up the park and take it with us. This park was extremely well kept, peaceful, and quiet, but with plenty to do within a reasonable driving distance. Beautiful nature trail, deer and wild turkey roaming through the park. The pool was large and sparkling clean. Activities included weekly hayrides, potluck dinners, and a monthly gospel concert series. Several playgrounds for kids and dog runs for both large and small pets. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
We stayed here for one night on our way from the Outer Banks to MA. This campground is located quite a distance from any major highway and access is over two lane country roads. The rather long entrance road changes from one level of blacktop to another every few feet making it an annoying approach. Our site was at the far end of the park and it was quite level, roomy and sandy. The W/E/Cable hookups were fine. There are no sewer sites. WI-FI hot spot is at the office, which is a long way from these sites. At the time of our visits there were ants all over the ground and hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
The staff and residents of the park were very friendly. The site we had was long and level and the dump stations were easy to use on the way out. Lovely shaded sites and walking trails. Beware the road into the park - speed humps and large joins in the tarmac. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
Our 3rd visit to Holiday Park in 4 years. They're on the Eastern Shore of MD, just minutes from Dover and Camden DL, and a short drive to Easton MD. Owners were as friendly and helpful as they were in past visits. Driveway is long with lots of speed bumps so plan to go slow. Almost every site is in the shade. No sewer at sites, but there are several dump stations on your way in or out if you're short timing, or you can pay $5 for scheduled pump out ($10 emergency). Layout of camp sites are really nice, one or 2 sections of split rail fencing define boundary lines. It left me with a feeling of openness yet you knew which area was yours and which was your neighbors. Lots of things for families and kiddies to do if you want a place to relax for a weekend or longer. Not much in the way of planned adult activities for long stays for those looking for cards or nightly social activities. We spent 2 weeks here and chose a 50 amp site, thinking we'd need it for A/C. Ha, with all the shade trees, and being near the river, it was nice and cool. Flying biting bugs and ticks were an issue us, but we quickly used our bug sprays and did nightly tick inspections. There is free Wi-Fi up near the store/office laundry, but that's 1/2 mile up road from most campsites. Location is pet friendly, they've added a dog run (2 sections; 1 w/3 ft fence and other with 4 ft fence). Our 2 dogs really enjoyed their walks to the park and then the chance to play off leash there. Thanks! They offer different discounts so ask if yours is available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
We stayed here for 5 months while on assignment in Dover & I wish all parks were this friendly. The staff are all very nice and will bend over backward to help you if they can. They have playgrounds for the kids as well as hayrides every Saturday. They also have fire truck rides occasionally which the kids loved. They frequently have potluck dinners and bingo and other events to help meet and greet with the seasonal campers that come down often. During the summer months they have monthly Gospel concerts which are free for the campers and include many great groups. Each site has split fences separating the site from the neighboring site which is nice. They don't have sewer but if you stay long term they can come pump your tanks out, once a week is free of charge then $5 for each one after that. The only reason I gave them a 9 was the bath house showers are kind of small and the shower heads are low for my 6 foot tall husband. The drive into the park is long and yes there are speed bumps and raised asphalt but I found that this was to my advantage after a while, as you drive through at the slower speed, you can enjoy the deer which graze there daily and the fawns playing in the drive in front of me was a great photo opportunity. You can also see deer playing in the woods if you look close. The trees provide lots of shade but they also mess with satellite reception too. We didn't even try to set ours up as they have pretty good cable. There is free internet near the office but it's not fast enough for videos or Skype. We will most definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Very friendly staff; wonderfully clean, large pool; crummy drive from the road to the campground entrance; spacious lots; rates high but as a privately owned campground acceptable. Yep, we'll be going there again sometime next season. My husband just remarked: Once we were set up, it was lovely!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
Rate reflects a Passport America discount. This park is family owned for 40 years. Staff was friendly and efficient, our site was level (dirt) and shaded. It is a large park that meanders back between the hills into a valley. Everything was clean and well-maintained. I did not give a 10 rating only because of the lengthy drive into the park that has nasty speed bumps and raised asphalt sections creating more bumps - there is definitely no speeding into the park! I would stay here again for a longer time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
We searched this park out because it was on Passport America and not out of our way. The PA rate of $24 was pretty good. The PA rate is only good for one night. We might have stayed another night or two if we could have done it on the PA rate. The full price of $48 would be far too much for this park in our opinion. The park is in the middle of nowhere on a little country road and then it's back off the road a half mile or so on it's own road. The park is nice enough. Our site was very level dirt. It was very treed and rustic. They have no sewers in the park (county problems) but do have dumps. The only Wi-Fi is located in the office, which is nowhere close to the RV sites. The baths are clean and nice. I think the people that own/run the park are religious because they have gospel music concerts once a month. We weren't here during one of these concerts so we can't comment on them. Nice park for the night, if you're traveling and it's on your way, or if you're looking for someplace to kick back and do nothing in a very nice setting. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
Getting through towns to this park is a trial of patience, but then a quarter mile or so of "speed bumps" ruined our attitude before we even discovered our pull thru site was adjacent to a smelly dumpster. I can understand the need for speed controls on the long straight entry road, but what they have done is put thick layers of asphalt on top of the road, and your rig will take repeated hard hits. There is no Wi-Fi if that is important to you. The pool seems nice; I imagine families would enjoy this as a refuge from the city. Black ants come with the territory. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
This is their 40th year, so they must be doing something right. Everyone received a nice discount because of the anniversary, and they also served a really good barbeque sandwich for $1.50. The sites were spacious and clean and our dogs enjoyed walking along the river. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I didn't like the speed-bumps when you enter the campground. We didn't have 50 amp service at my site, we didn't have sewer (probably the fault of proximity to the river not the owner). I didn't like the layout of the sites (parking on the grass and among the trees). Overall this is a nice clean family campground with nice owners and is well worth the money that we paid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This park is located well off the beaten path. We had to find a site quickly because of a pending storm. The front office person was very friendly and waited for us to arrive shortly after office hours. Our site was way in the back, and it was very, very dark. We arrived late and left early. Unless I was being chased by a storm, I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$44
There was a shared electrical box. My brother-in-law plugged into 30 amp and I had to plug into 50 amp with an adapter. I put up an easy-up and tried to plug into 110 receptacles in the electrical box and no power. I called the office and I was told by the owner that lightning had struck the box and that new ground fault breaker costs $90.00 and he was not about to replace it. He suggested that I plug into my travel trailer instead. I have camped here several times over the past few years but never again. It appears that the owner is operating on a shoe string. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
The entrance road is very long and bumpy and the store is very far from the campsites. The campsite we were originally assigned would have barely fit our 31' trailer, so we found a pull-through instead. This site was quite large and shaded. There is no sewer, but honey wagon service is provided at a fee. The playgrounds were run-down but fun. There is a fee for just about everything from not putting out your fire on time, to checking in early and using the lights to play tennis. We enjoyed fishing in the river but would not return. Staff is friendly and gives good directions. Not many activities available for kids-most of the seasonals were elderly people who enjoyed fishing, crabbing and the gospel services. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
A Good Sam campground, but had to pay cash to get the discount. The entrance road was very poor and had to negotiate the bumps. No sewer, and to use the internet or pool required a very long walk. Many mosquitoes. Will never camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Lots of woods. I consider this more of a campground than RV park. Sites were dirt and grassy. Wifi up by office which is a ways away from campsites. The park was quiet. The staff helpful in giving us directions as we were driving and directions to what to see nearby. Was told that they were not allowed to put sewers in at the sites but they did have several dump stations. The road coming into the park had some major bumps and upheaved pavement at 5 mph we still were jarred. Our rate reflects the 1 night Passport rate. We would not stay here at their full price rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We camped her for race weekend. Had great proximity to Dover Downs without being right in the city. Was nice country out near the campground. The site we got was huge, the sites aren't very designated, but it was a nice big site with shade trees but no low branches. The staff were the nicest people. They led us to our site. We played bingo there, and had breakfast there, which was great. No sewer was the only thing I didnt like, but they offer honey wagon service so who cares, plus 4 dump stations for when you leave. The river was ok, muddy but hey its better than nothing. We plan on coming back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
Rate reflects off season & Passport America discount. Location as indicated on my MS Streets & Trips & Magellan GPS is off by a bit. This made for an interesting turnaround of our 5er in somebody's driveway. It is a heavily treed CG. Sites seem well separated, but it was hard to tell with all the leaves from fall on the ground. It must be very nice in summer. Having Wi-Fi would also be a big plus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
A little tricky to find, but it is a nice quiet park. We stayed overnight using Reserve America. If in the area we would stay again. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is not much in the nearby area for restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Stayed here only one night as stopover. Was an average campground. Clean, safe, etc. Nothing special. Biggest thing to note is no sewer hookups. Plenty of activities for kids. Campground ownership works the front desk, but not sure the money is really put back into it. Had some nice touches (like an outdoor movie theater on the lawn), but then had some old bathrooms. Everything was kind of hit or miss (old or very nice). This place is probably very nice for weekend stays if you're a local camper or going to the racetrack, but otherwise, without the full hookups, it doesn't have anything special to recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
Holiday Park is a large campground in a rural part of Maryland on the Delaware State line. It is nicely wooded with plenty of shade. The staff was very friendly as were the campers including the seasonals. As mentioned previously, fires must be out by 11:30pm and staff members do patrol to ensure compliance with this rule. The pool is of average size, 3-5 feet deep - there is no kiddie pool however. No sewer hook ups at all but the honey truck only cost $5 for a pump out. Playgrounds and bathouses were spaced out nicely. Overall this was a nice place for a relaxing weekend, with plenty of family campers and a welcoming atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$48
Pretty park, with a lot of trees. Not very good for satellite, but their cable is very clear. If you are looking for a remote place, this is it! There are, however, a few grocery stores within 10 miles, along with some pretty towns. Oxford, and St. Michael's are both on the bay, and have rich histories. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
Nice quiet, clean campground with a gated entrance. Very family oriented with activities on the weekends and holidays. You must make reservation on the internet with credit card, or in person, but note, they do not take reservations over the phone. I made a reservation at the last minute during the 4th of July and had no problems getting in as they seem to always have sites available. They do have some strict rules such as; campfires must be completely put out by 1130pm. Which they do go through the campground and tell you to put them out even if you are still sitting around it. Which is really not a bad thing, as the campground is really quiet at night! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$37
Camp here often and find the owners and the seasonals to all be very friendly folks. They always have some type of activities for both adults and children. Several concerts are held through out the year for those who enjoy Gospel music. Hay ride every afternoon. Big pool, etc. The only drawback I see is the road around the camping loop can get dusty at times and the children can get load at the play ground but that's not much to complain about. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$40
Holiday Park was a very pleasant surprise. We truly enjoyed our stay. A clean, well set up, well maintained family campground, with nature trails, pool, club/rally camping area and pavillion, 4 playgrounds, 5 dump stations, metered LP gas, mini-golf, game room, tennis & basketball courts, planned activities on weekends and a gated entrance. Restrooms/showers were clean and spacious. Within 3 miles is 'downtown' Greensboro, Maryland, and close enough for day trips to Chesapeake Bay, Annapolis, Baltimore, Wash. , DC, Ocean City and beaches, Delaware Bay, Dover AFB, even Philadelphia, PA. Our visit was during the 'off season', and much was closed, however, we did visit Easton, MD for the Waterfowl festival on one of our days. Within 10 miles is a Food Lion Grocery Store, Dollar General, and within that radius are numerous gas/convenience stores. Boat launches are convenient to the campground, and fishing is allowed (license required). There are many historic towns in the area, as well as a wildlife refuge, miniture horse farm, riding stables and public golf courses. Also nearby is the Underground Railroad Tour. The Camp Store is very well stocked with some groceries, RV supplies as well as videos and a library. The camping season begins April 1, and runs to about 11/15. The campsite we were on is normally a 'seasonal site', but the seasonal people vacate by 11/1, so we got lucky. All sites have water/electric, shade, fire ring and cable TV access. We were very impressed with this campground, and look forward to returning. We really enjoyed being 'in the woods' and having river access. Beautiful views, very relaxing and pleasant. Good Sam, AAA, Military, FCRV, Coachmen, Senior Citizens, Clubs/Rallies, Youth Groups discounts available with cash payments only. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com