214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk Neck State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (410) 287-5333
CGID4559

Elk Neck State Park

Camp Information
Sites
268
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   10   9   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
This is a beautiful state park with many large, very private sites. We were in #14 on the full hookup loop and it was an easy to back into site long enough for our 40'MH and our toad. It was an extremely private site and we recommend it. The roads and sites are paved and we didn't have any problem maneuvering on them. As has been noted, the last few miles of SR272 to the park are winding and fairly narrow but aren't a problem if you slow down. There are some trees both overhead and on the side that may hit your RV but they weren't a serious issue. There were too many trees on our site to get satellite TV, but it ought to be possible on some sites. The Verizon signal is weak, but with a Wilson Sleek we were able to hold a 4G connection and it was fast enough to stream video. Cell phone service without an amplifier was spotty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
This is our second year in a row that we camped here and in the same site that we camped in last year. We camped in the Northeast Loop which is a full hook-up site and camped on Site #20 which was very level and an easy to back in. We enjoyed our stay last year around the same time towards the end of April and enjoyed our stay almost around the same time we stayed this year. Not a lot to do except for walk the trails or go visit the lighthouse, but this year we decided to go in town and walk around which lead to be enjoyable. Everyone that lives in town and everyone that camped around us were very nice and friendly and those in town with shops were very professional. We will be back again next year as our tradition started with Elk Neck as our first outing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$37
Camped over a 3 day weekend. The full hookup loop is the only one open in the winter. The park is very clean. The water is clean and the power was very stable. We hiked many of the trails and throughout the other loops. There are lots of deer and other wildlife to see in the park. You have to drive from the CG to the entrance of lighthouse trail. There is a great town just before you get to the park that has some great seafood. The road into the park is narrow and curvy but no problem if you take it slow. Will be back again for sure We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
You have to go through the town of North East to get to the park, which is very busy on the weekends. The roads leading in are very hilly with some sharp curves. We stayed on site#2, which is by the dumpster, not an issue on cooler days. Our site was very level, but had to be backed in, up hill. A fire ring and picnic table is provided. The sites have plenty of room between them, and some are further separated by trees and foliage. The only place with Wi-Fi is the park store. No cable, but we we were able to get a few over the air channels. The park itself is extremely clean and very quiet. A lot of playgrounds throughout for the kids. A short drive to the Turkey Point lighthouse trail. There are several other hiking/biking trails you could take. We had a nice relaxing weekend, and will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This park is just beautiful and well maintained. Highly recommend it. Do not miss the hike to Turkey Point Lighthouse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Very shady in the Elk Loop. Old bathhouse but reasonably clean. Pet friendly with lots of trails. We found two beach areas accessible by hiking down a steep embankment that were great for wading and dog walking / splashing. There are lots of camping loops with some difference in character. Some loops are very shady with huge trees and others have some shade but more open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Highly Recommend! Since buying a brand new travel trailer and taking it on our very first excursion we decided to take it to Elk Neck State Park since we were familiar with the park and had wanted to go visited it again only this time we camped there. Quiet, pet friendly, walking paths and we had a Great site in the North East Loop #20. Our site was a back in and we had No problem getting into it. The trailer leveled perfectly on our first shot. This was a Full Hook-up site along with a fire ring, picnic table, and plenty of wonderful other campers around us. We also planned this trip with friends of ours who have a young son and a dog, and all of us had a great weekend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Excellent! We stayed in the North East loop with full hookups, and we couldn't have been happier. Note - if you have a longer rig, be sure to check the pictures of the sites on the website, because some have a slope you have to back up to get the trailer in. But other sites are pull through or easy back-ins. Cellular service for AT&T was weak or nonexistent in our site, but Verizon was good. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Our second time to this beautiful park. Great walk out to the lighthouse. Well maintained. Camp host and rangers are friendly. Nice end to our season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very nice state park with plenty of hiking trails, swimming and playgrounds. Their web site and reviews here tell you that there is Wi-Fi and big rig access. Both of these statements are a bit misleading. The Wi-Fi is only available at the camp store and there are very few sites that can accommodate a "big rig". We were originally given site 247 on the Chester loop but we couldn't get our 40' fifth wheel backed into the site. The trees were too close for us to maneuver into the site. Leaving the Chester loop was another challenge. The road is very narrow with trees right up to the edge of the pavement. This makes negotiating the curves difficult at best. I had to swing so far to the right on one curve that was actually driving off the pavement and onto an unoccupied campsite. I only missed the tree on the left by 3 or 4 inches. We ended up in site 26 in the North East loop which was a full hookup site. Unfortunately we had to shorten our stay by one day because the site had been reserved. Bottom line, If you have a long rig don't stay anywhere in this park except the North East Loop which is only loop with full hookups. There are only 30 sites available in this loop and most won't handle a unit over 30' long so reserve early. I think site 26 is actually the largest site in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
We stayed in the full hook-up area. Very nice loop, nicely maintained sites. Smooth pavement great for kids to ride bikes. Explored park on bike, nice sites throughout. Fun kids programs. Ticks were bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We have been to this campground at least once every year the past four years. It is one of our favorites. We had a site in the North East Loop and find most of the sites very usable and mostly level. This loop is a full-hookup loop, a rarity for MD State Parks. There is plenty of hiking and a beach nearby on a Chesapeake Bay tributary. We have found the staff at the registration booth, the camp store and the Nature Center all to be friendly and helpful. This loop does fill up fast, so you have to reserve early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
We camped in the Northeast Loop which has water/electric/sewer. Wonderfully maintained loop, well manicured and well kept. The bathroom may be aged, but it is wonderful shape and super clean to boot. The scene was peaceful and serene. The Park Rangers were quite considerate and helpful. Very reasonably priced firewood can be found along the road from the town of North East to the Park. Wonderful time and will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$66
This was our first trip out in our new travel trailer. It was cold, but that meant the fire was nice and bugs where low. We stayed at site #8- it was just about completely level. The only con would be that we were constantly tracking in the small gravel used at the site into our camper. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
Great campground. Well kept and the Northeast section is great for bigger rigs. One word describes this campground--clean--from the sites to the facilities. In nine months of full timing this is the best park we have stayed at. This is not a RV resort but a great state park. Forest surrounds the area with natural beauty. We camp in a 40' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
A large state park with limited number of sites with full hookups. Most sites are large, clean and level. Water pressure great. Fully stocked camp store with eatery and reasonable prices. Very reasonable price to stay and 3 p.m. check-out time. Park has lots of room to hike, swim and boat. No alcohol permitted in campground. Minor nits: Would recommend not staying in site #2 (right next to dumpster). Avoid inner-loop and pull-through sites, as privacy is scare. Either your door opens out toward the road, or you're right up next to the road. Pets not permitted in camping areas that have electric only. Did not see any recycle bins. Arrived at night, which made it very difficult to locate the campground entrance off a very winding Rt. 272. No lights at campsite, which made for tough backing in. Must drive through small town of North East, Md., which is probably unbearable on Friday nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Elk Neck is one of the finest Maryland State Parks. It can accommodate just about any type of rig. We stayed in the North East loop which has full hook-ups (even 50 Amp) and some pull-thru sites. I agree with the other reviews about the RV height restrictions so if your RV is much over 12 ft tall do NOT pull into the lane leading to the check-in booth. You will not clear the overhang. Use the lane without the overhang. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
This is an excellent campground that can handle everything from tents to large motor homes. We stayed in the North East loop which has full hook-ups. By camping late in the year we almost had the campground to ourselves. There are numerous trails and wildlife is everywhere. We could sit in the trailer and watch deer every morning. One word of caution. If your RV is much over 12 ft tall do NOT pull into the lane leading to the check-in booth. You will not clear the overhang and will have to back up about 50 - 75 ft in a 10 ft wide lane with curbs on each side to get to another lane without the overhang. It would help if they placed a height clearance warning sign before the entrance to the check in lane. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This park was really great. Sites were large with much privacy. Most sites were level. We camped in the Northeast Loop (site 18). There were several large playgrounds. Wi-Fi was at the camp store. The store was very large and fully stocked - also had a small restaurant in the store. Beautiful area which is just off the Chesapeake Bay. Would definitely return here. Price reflects the Golden Age Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
This is the only state park in MD with 50 amp electricity, water, and sewer hookups. All the sites are asphalt paved. And there is free Wi-Fi at the campstore, which has an air-conditioned cafe with chairs and tables. This is the lowest priced campground in MD with full 50 amp hookups, water, and sewer. Reservations for specific sites can be made online with very low cancellation fees. There are also pictures on the park website of every single full hookup site. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
The full hook up sites were wonderful. This area circled a small hill top with the shower and rest room at the top. Only a few steps away from all the sites. Large level sites. Good TV reception. However the vast majority of sites were non hook ups! I bet Summer and weekends fill up early for the hookups. A trip to the swimming beach requires a drive. I rate this as one of the best parks we have stayed in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This is the first state park we camped in. The grounds were beautiful, with nice sidewalks throughout making it handicap accessible. The showers and bathrooms were immaculate. Everything is far away, being that this is a state park. The sites in the North East loop were on the small side offering little shade. There were some activities available, but also a distance from the camping area. Nature center was informative and workers were very knowledgeable. Bay was nice for crabbing, lake for fishing and the Chesapeake Bay was on the grounds for swimming. The recycled tire playground by the bay is a must see for kids. There is a campground host available for any questions that you might have. If you choose to swim in the bay, be sure to wear water shoes as there are many rocks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We have visited Elk Neck, Chester Loop site 247, for two years in a row. The campground was virtually empty during the week. It did fill up on the weekend. We were beginning to think the new "dry" alcohol status had brought an attendance decline to this great park, but Rangers insisted they had been pretty full all summer so far. We attended the free programs and craft time in the Nature Center to our kids enjoyment. We might try the full hook up NorthEast loop next time. Turkey Point Lighthouse was great. Nice laundry room and snack bar/camp store. Very helpful staff in park. Rangers made frequent patrols. Nice hot showers but only two in each bathroom for the whole loop made it necessary to wait, and they were dirty by evening from the constant use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We really enjoyed this campground. We stayed in the Chester electric loop. Some of the sites didn't offer much privacy so we try and reserve the more private sites in that loop. The park has a nature center, playground and trails. The trail to the lighthouse is not to be missed. There is a small beach area for swimming. The water was nice and clear, but the bottom was very rocky and will hurt your feet for the first few feet out. After about 10 feet off the beach it then became sandy. There are usually activities scheduled on weekends and there is a very nice camp store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Was surprised that the people near us ignored QUIET hour. Especially since they were a church group and were NEXT TO THE CAMPGROUND HOST!! Rangers came by often and didn't make the group follow rules that the rest of us needed to follow. Including parking on the grass and road so other cars could not pass. Also got tired of everyone cutting through our campsite. A reminder to campers that have forgotten - DON'T CUT THROUGH SITES - it's rude. One woman stopped herself only during our mealtime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
We stayed in the North East Loop - full hook up with two other families. We were on site 16 by the playground. It was great for our kids they could run and play and we could sit an relax. We hiked to the lighthouse...an easy hike with great views, even our four year old was able to do it. We loved this park! We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
We spent New Year's weekend here and had a great time! This is a very nice park, well kept with some great sites. The campground hosts were terrific. Very friendly and happy to give as much info as possible. The rangers were also very helpful as well. The bath house was heated well, and the water was hot when we gave it time. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
We stayed here with a group of friends for a long weekend. The campsites were of a good size, and the bath houses were clean. The only issues with the park are that they have mountain biking trails, but it is difficult to access them from the campground - they don't allow bikes on them, only hikers. The other issues is that the state of MD is changing the alcohol policy effective Nov 1, 2009 - after that date, no campers will be allowed to have alcohol. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We spend a couple weekends a year at Elk Neck State Park and always have a great time. The camp ground is clean and staff is friendly. The North East Loop has the full hook-up sites (where we stay) and then there are other camping areas where there is E/W only and then no hook-ups for tenters. My only issue is that the every time we stay in the North East Loop there are more and more tenters taking up the nice sites that easily accommodate a larger RV. When making reservations on-line you are to select the equipment that you have. The site is programmed to not allow larger RVs into the smaller sites... so why can't they set up the site that the larger sites will not allow tenters to reserve them? We will definitely be returning, I will just make our reservations earlier in advance in hopes of securing a nicer site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Beautiful state park. Quiet, clean, and a helpful group of rangers running things. Take the hike out to the lighthouse. We recommend site # 7. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We camped here twice this year, once in the Northeast loop and once in the Chester loop. This is our 'go to camping spot.' I can't say enough about this park. Has lots of activities, great hiking and swimming in the bay was nice too. Bathrooms where just wonderful due to the great camp hosts: they deserve a lot of credit for what they do! I highly recommend staying here, booking online is a breeze. The town of North East is close by, and has lots of nice shops and places to eat also. Go for it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Very nice park; great for the quiet weekend getaway that we used it for. Most sites are pretty spacious, and there was everything from pop-ups to large motorhomes. Some sites for big rig's to avoid 5, 7, 17, and 21. We stayed in the NorthEast loop (full hookups). Bathrooms were clean and the staff very friendly. Only downfall is that you cannot bring your dog into the day use area at all, which we knew ahead of time. And getting to the "beach" area where they are allowed can be a bit tricky; finding it was difficult as it was in another camping loop and the trail to it was not marked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We camped in Chester Loop Site # 247. LOVED our site. Had a cool trail to the Elk River at Stony Point. Great kids nature activities. We have few places on our see again list and this is one of them. Very shaded sites, playgrounds at every loop. nature center. camp store, laundry. Beautiful lighthouse. Nice people. Bathrooms were heavily used so not extra clean. No soap in ladies room. Great HOT showers, need to adjust pressure at times. For $30 a night, I can't complain. The views and setting cancel out the negatives here. We had yellow jackets at our site, not camp fault. Bring bug spray. Awesome!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Reviewed this park before, but this time we stayed in the North East Loop(full hook-up); great campsite. Bathrooms were very clean and appear to have been refurbished recently. Showers were hot and stong enough to strip paint. Staff and rangers were extremely friendly and helpful. Only reason why did not get a higher score were the ridiculous number of ticks we collected over the weekend. Amusingly, saw a good number of lizards and snakes at the campsite also nothing poisonous or dangerous. Great CG! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
We stayed in the North East loop with full hook ups. The sites for the most part were nicely laid out (few had hills to back up or down but out site was perfectly level. Great campground with lots of amenities – camp store nicely stocked and even had a small eatery. The bathrooms were not modern but were clean. The walk to the lighthouse was nice and it was nice to be able to climb the lighthouse to the top. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Overall nice... However, it is NOT Big Rig friendly!!! We were on the Chester loop (electric only)which is nice and shady but even the drives are difficult to negoitate in our 40' Super C - nearly hit a tree on a curve. The "pull thru" sites are small, as are most of the full hook up sites. I would recommend to fill water before leaving home to save time. The bathrooms in our loop were not clean. On a positive note, there is plenty to do in the nature center and lots of hiking trails. The beach was full of goose poo, but that is nothing that the park can really control. There are great playgrounds, especially one near the beach! Lots of space between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This park is really nice, well laid out with plenty of scenery. There are several walking trails that where nice and a pond for fishing. The sites are level and most appeared to offer plenty off room. There is a camp store with most of the basics. The blue trail with the lighthouse at the end offered awesome views of the Chesapeake where it meets with the elk river. The town of Northeast is a small little Main St. town with a bunch of antique shops and restaurants. There is only a couple of down falls; The fire rings are positioned so close to the sites that we had to put our awning in to enjoy the fire also the park is so large that you need to drive most places or ride a bike which can be difficult due to the steep inclines. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This cg gets only a 5 due to the bathrooms. They were very dirty and had no soap! The Chester loop was beautiful although we had quite a difficult time getting backed in to our site because of two tree stumps blocking our angle (our rv closed is 22 feet long). We were lucky that our rv holds 45 gallons of fresh water. We filled up in the Chester loop before getting to our site and as we were packing up we ran our of water! We will likely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
The State Park is a beautiful place to camp. The full service sites on NorthEast loop were easily accessible (we had a pull through), and were situated to provide privacy at your site. The only problem we encountered was at the check-in booth: we have a large (tall) rig and couldn't fit through overhead clearance in the check-in lane but didn't know until we were already in line. We had to back the rig up and pull through an alternate lane. The clearance on the check-in lane could be better marked. Otherwise it was a great facility and we plan to return on additional weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Stayed in North East Loop (full hook up/pets) site #3. Nice sized site with extra-long and level driveway. Site was very convenient to bathhouse if that’s an important consideration. Beautiful park and very nice staff. Our family was epically impressed with the Park Naturalist, Nature Center, and their programs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
We stayed in the North East loop with full hookups because we wanted to dump the last night of our camping trip before we drive back home the next day. They have two other loops with just electricity (these are not as private as most of the other loops). They also have about 5 other loops without any utilities. These loops are pretty, private and some of them (Miles & Elk) have some sites looking out from the cliffs looking down on the river. At the state park one can boat, fish, swim on the western shore, bird-watching, canoeing, and hunt in season. It really is a beautiful state park on an inlet between the North East River, Elk River and the Chesapeake Bay– there was a nice breeze from the rivers considering that the temperature was in the 90’s. You can make reservations but on weekends you must reserve two nights! There is a park store with a little restaurant attached and behind it is a trail that goes to a lake where one can catch some Bass. There are a number of other trails to hike in the park – one goes down to the Elk Island lighthouse. The trails go through forests, wetlands, marshes. The roads are a little hilly to ride your bikes but it can be done! Nice park and plan to return. If you are over 62 from any state you get 50% your camping fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Ditto most other reviews. The lighthouse is worth the easy hike out. Beware that while there are Senior Discounts for Sunday night stays, the "reservation service" doesn't volunteer this. When we inquired at check in we were told we'd have to re-contact the "reservation service" to get a credit. Somehow I think I'll pass on the hassle. At my site the sewer pipe was above my outlet-thus not usable. No big deal. It was a good overall stay and we would return We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Excellent trails, relatively spacious and private sites, river swimming, a host of planned weekend activities, and an abundance of mature trees and wildlife make this campground one of the gems of Maryland's excellent state park system. The few negatives -- bathrooms in significant need of updating, no lifeguards at the riverfront beach, and a park size so large as to necessitate the use of an automobile -- detract only slightly from the magnificence of this park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
This is the best state park we have been to in mid-Atlantic area. We camped in the full hookup Northeast loop in a pull thru site. Plenty of room at each site. Very well maintained facility. We will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
We've camped at Elk Neck many times and have ALWAYS enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the North East Loop, where the full hook ups are. Even with the torrential downpours our first night, the campsite never got muddy. Most of the sites are paved, which is a blessing when it rains! My only disappointment was that the weekend was booked full. Friends tried and tried to get in, calling daily to see if any cancellations came in. Knowing that my friends couldn't get into the park, I was amazed to see a site being used by a tent, no camper on the site. I was a bit disappointed, as there are many sites in other parts of the park for tents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
we stayed in the full hook-up loop. What a great place to camp. Beautiful sites and the walk to the light house is very nice. The only bad thing is the campground is very hard to get into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$70
Fabulous park. It's hard to believe it's a state park considering most private campgrounds we've been to are not kept as nice. The sites are large and provide a good deal of privacy. The lawn was well manicured. The roads were paved. The site was very level. The bathrooms were immaculate! The campground hosts were very friendly and pleasant. Even the port-a-potty at the lighthouse was clean and pleasant! Very easy to get to: 10 miles down off I-95 exit 100. You'll hit a bit of traffic going through the quaint town of North East and drive carefully for a few of the sharp turns, but even big rigs will manage it well. We made it just fine! We completely love this campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Very pleasant state park about 10 miles off I-95. We stayed in the Northeast loop (full hookups, pets allowed); some trees, but other loops were really in the woods and heavily shaded. Sites were paved, some more level/longer than others. Our pull-through site (#19) had a rather tight radius and took a little jockeying to situate it so we could open the slides on our 32' fifth-wheel. We had to pull uphill and partly over the grass to exit. However, we saw larger rigs than ours there; bigger motorhomes were generally in the longer, more level back-in sites. Site 23 looked like the roomiest pull-through and sites 6, 10, 11, 14, 20, 26 and 30 were the longest/most level back-ins. There was a nice assortment of trails in the park. The nearby town of North East has a Food Lion, Wal-mart, Flying J, marine supply stores and some great restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Very Small. It looked as if people lived there full time. Needed some up dating. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We stayed at this park mid week in August and had a great time. Stayed at the Northeast loop and the bathrooms were clean. The park has some excellent hiking trails and great fishing. This is a beautiful park and we will return again We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
We stayed in our 21' Hybrid Roo, in the Northeast Loop. This is the full-services loop. It was laid out very well, with the bathhouse located in the center of the loop. There was a nice concrete path, slightly hidden, behind our site: leading to the BH. Site (#15) was very level. Plenty of room, in the site. Picnic tables were a very nice synthetic (recycled plastic??), no splinters. The park has very nice beach, and boat launch areas. The bathrooms were very clean, and had nice showers. We bought our firewood, right outside the park: but we didn't see where you could get it within. Maybe at the camp store, which looked to be quite nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
We stayed in the Miles loop, which offers no hookups, but has some great sites. The bottom of the loop overlooks the river (bay?). On Sunday night there were only 3 sites occupied in the loop, very secluded, and this is the prime summer season. Well stocked camp store with a sit-down grill serving breakfast and lunch. However, if you want to eat out, the town of North East is 15 minutes away and offers some great restaurants. Park offers a beach with swimming, restrooms, snackbar. Boat launch and bait shop close by, lots of hiking, the walk out to Turkey Point Lighthouse is a must. We will absolutely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
This is a great campground to stay. We will go back every year. The bathrooms are so clean you can eat out of them. The grounds are clean and the sites are a good size for large RVs. There is lots of shade trees and the campground was very well maintained. I highly recommend this beautiful campground. Lakes are within a 15 min walk distance from our site. It is worth every penny of the charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
Very nice state park. Has several different loops, some with full hookups. Staff at check in were very pleasant and helpful in answering questions I had about the campground and surrounding area. Several loops have beautiful views of the water, but if you have small children you might not want to have the sites that are that close to the water, because there's a large drop down with no type of fencing or anything. The swimming area on the North River was nice, but rather rocky and you'll definitely want to wear some type of shoes while walking in it. The sites are large and spacious, the camping cottages were very clean as were the restrooms, however, we had to go to another loop for the restroom facilities because there were none in the camping cottage location. They also have other more rustic cabins that do have a restroom located in their loop. The restrooms were cleaned daily and I found no problems with them whatsoever. For those with large rigs the road to the campground is rather windy, so you might want to be careful. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We stayed on the Northeast loop for two nights. We camped here with our four children and two dogs. The facilities were clean and the park was beautiful. We are going back in September for a mini family reunion. The playground on this loop is a bit run down but there is a great playground next to the camp store and another great playground at the beach. We recommend water shoes or sandals as the beach is rocky and rough on little feet. The Northeast loop is pet friendly and has electric and water which we felt we needed in July. However, it is the sunniest of the camping loops. If electric and water is not on your list of necessities, there are great sites on the Wye, Elk, Choptank and Miles loops. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Excellent CG. Bathrooms were well maintained, very strong hot showers. Campsite was clean and level. Access to beach was a very short drive. Beach was unprotected but water was shallow for over 100yds and felt comfortable that our kids could swim on their own. Very rocky for first 20 feet into water which calls for wearing water shoes or sneakers. Several activities available on the weekends, nature center included. One of our favorite parks will definitely come again soon.. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Nice campground. It can get a bit crowded and noisy on weekends. Staff is very nice and the facilities are well kept. Boat ramp is good and most folk don't take up too much time in getting into or out of the water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
A beautiful park. The swimming area was nice and the trails are great for walking. Don't miss the lighthouse trail, it's easy and beautiful. The sites were all pretty large in most parts of the park. Also a very nice store on site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
We've stayed in Miles, Chester, and Northeast Loops. Most recently Miles loop (no pets) right on the bluff overlooking the river. Wonderful site. No services (water available) but a nice relaxing weekend. Chester loop (water/electric) tends to be crowed - especially in the summer. Northeast (water/electric/pets) not quite so crowded as the sites are more openly spaced. Still a very pleasant state park and one of the few in Maryland open year round (some loops). All three loops have typical, mostly clean, showers and toilets. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
We stayed in the North East Loop, which has the full hook-up sites. There are a couple sites that are difficult to get into but are well noted on the website. The restrooms were very clean and well maintained (however there was no soap at the sinks). The camp hosts are very nice and willing to help with any needs that may arise and the park rangers regularly patrol the park. Halloween weekend is our weekend to go and we are already talking about our plans for next year's visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
We stayed in the Chester loop that has just the electric and arrived on a Thursday night. There was just one other camper then but more showed up on Friday night but this loop was still very vacant. The full hookup loop looked to be totally full and the other couple of loops that were no hookups were pretty full also. Our site #226 was level and open in the back and even though the sites were not close together seemed closer as they are open, but with enough tall trees around to have plenty of shade. I did not go into the bathrooms but my Daughter did and said they were pretty clean except for some spider webs in the ceiling. This is a very clean park. No trash, patrolled regularly, kept mowed and looking very good. I do think it is a little pricey for being a state park but like the location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
We stayed in the North East loop of the state park. The campground has full hook ups. We stayed at site #23 which is a pull through and we think the best and roomiest site in the campground. We did have to level the trailer from side to side but that wasn't a problem. The bathrooms were clean. At night, most of the campers were respectful of quiet time and the rangers drove by regularly. The camp store is well stocked plus there is a small cafe that serves hot food. It is closed on Monday, though. The laundromat is next to the store. There is a pond behind the store where we took our inflatable raft out. There is a boat launch for the Chesapeake Bay, as well. There are many hiking trails that you can also mountain bike on. The trail to Turkey Swamp Lighthouse is a must especially at sunset. The town of North East (approx. 9 miles North) is charming with shops and restaurants. We recommend going to Woody's for crabcakes and warm lava cake. The beach was a big disappointment though. It is situated on the North East River and it is not like an ocean beach. The sand is not like ocean sand and there are many rocks along the shore and in the water. It is great for little boys though because the water is calm and shallow for quite a ways out. There is swimming in a pool (plus many other outdoor activities), however, at a place nearby called Cedar Cove which charges per family at a reasonable rate. We really enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
The last three miles on Hwy 272 before you reach the campground are a bit narrow, lumpy, hilly and curvy in places but certainly doable and the campground is worth it. The full hook-up loop (North East) has fairly open sites that are not overly spacious but reasonably level and pets are allowed. The electric only loop (Chester) had some shade but the sites did not offer much privacy and many were not very level. Pets are not allowed. We only have a 30 ft class A and the road through this loop was a bit challenging in spots. The Chester loop was filled with pop-ups on Sunday afternoon but empty on Monday morning. Pets are allowed in the Wye and Susquehanna no hook up loops which were not nearly as nice as Elk and Miles. We much prefered the Elk and Miles no hook-up loops for larger generally more level sites, lots of shade and some nice water views. We loved site #167 in the Miles loop which was fairly private, level, plenty deep enough with a great view of the traffic on the Elk river. The park has a Campstore and laundry but we visited mid-week in early May and they were not open. Showers near us did not have hot water. The walk to the Turkey Point lighthouse is well worth doing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$35
One of my favorite late fall sites since full hook-ups available year round. Only 31 Full hook-ups sites though and it is a little tight manuvering but manageable. Would definitely call for reservations during camping season, even mid-October. Turkey Point Lighthouse to the south is a great little hike. Lots of water and a small beach but don't expect too much. There is a boat launch and storage but can't comment on the specifics. Town of North East (10 miles North) has some great little restaurants and is very walkable. Remember this is a state park so don't expect amenities like a private campground. Bathrooms are amazingly clean (although we generally don't use them). Pets limited on certain loops so make sure you check which loops allow them. My only complaint is that it is expensive for a state park but then again, it's worth it for us. If you want a great fall foliage campground and just want to sit by a fire in the cool fall air then this is your place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com