218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Pine Springs Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (915) 828-3251
CGID4563

Pine Springs Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   7   8   9   2   6   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$4
$4 per night was for a primitive site in a lined asphalt parking lot using our Golden Age Passport. We had to do a lot of leveling on the site we picked. There are picnic tables scattered about the campground that are open for all to use. There is no dump station but drinking water and a sink for dish washing are available. No showers are available. No wood or charcoal fires are allowed. Desert shrubbery and mountains surround the campground. We saw mule deer grazing the shrubbery next to our site. The highlight of this park are the hiking trails, one of which is a 3000’ rise above the campground with a magnificent view of the area. We used this campground as our base for visiting Carlsbad Caverns National Park as it is a speedy 55-minute drive. AT&T cell phone service was spotty. There was access to Wi-Fi at the visitor center. We received two OTA TV stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$8
Nice cheap place to visit the National Park or overnight. 1st come first served but lightly used. Level pull-throughs. No hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$4
We intended to stay several nights at Pine Springs to get in several day hikes but the weather forecast was nasty with lows predicted in the single digits. The campground is fairly high elevation and its location in a canyon opening creates windy conditions most times. Still, it is a national park and a beautiful area. As has been stated, RV parking is on an asphalt parking lot with most sites adjacent to one another on the slab. The price reflects the 50% Senior Pass discount. The park rangers were very friendly and informative. We will return when the weather improves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$4
Dry camping only, but there is a place to fill up your water tank by the registration board. The "campground" for RVs is actually a blacktop parking lot. When it gets hot, the blacktop "melts" and wheels can leave gashes in it, and the blacktop gets stuck in the grooves of your tires. Beautiful scenery from every RV spot. I didn't go into the tent section (across the street from the RVs). Bathrooms are clean. A Coke machine and pay phone are outside. Quiet hours are 8-8. There are some pull-through spots for larger RVs in the 2 center rows. The best spots, IMO are the smaller outside sites along the edge of the parking lot. The only ADA spot is one of these smaller sites. We have a 30' RV. Since this spot is on the end, we were able to park it sideways into the spot and fit our Jeep beside it, with the end of the RV sticking out over the striped area of the lot. There is no shade in the middle pull-thru sites, and your awing may/may not help, depending on how strong the winds are when you're there. Rremember you are on a mountain. Not all sites have a picnic table (only the ones near the side of the lot, or the ends of the center rows). The black top radiates the heat even more. I couldn't decide if "pet friendly" gets a yes or no. Pets are allowed in the campground, but not on the trails. My Sprint cell wouldn't pick up phone service or 3G, except by the visitor's center where there is Wi-Fi. Funny thing, we had a little rain and I did get on the internet at the campsite, but when the rain stopped, so did my internet connection. We did get a TV channel with our antenna, but didn't spend much time inside watching it. There is a trail head right by the campground. Despite the parking lot campground, heat, wind, lack of shade, no hookups, burn bans (no place for a campfire anyhow) I'd go back here again. IMO, this is the best base camp for visiting Carlsbad Caverns, about an hour away. This is where I'll stay for my next visit to the cave. Hiking is awesome, but Guadalupe Mountains isn't for sissies. Everything is uphill, it seems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$8
Senior rate. We came in to see the NP and not an RV resort. Incredible views from inside our RV. We had no problem fitting into site 26 with room for our toad behind us. Sites 26 - 30 will handle up to a 40' RV. These sites are 17' wide so it can be tight but its worth it. We picked up NBC out of Midland which was the only English station of the 3 we found. Our Verizon cell was usable but no broadband. The visitor center does have Wi-Fi that we were told was on 24 hours a day. The video there was very good and well worth watching. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$8
It's an asphalt parking lot - literally. No hook-ups. There was one spot in the middle that was just barely enough room for my 35' MH + toad. The trails are right there, though. There's a bathroom I did not use - probably NPS standard issue. There are some beautiful tent sites. Very windy. No cell, no Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$4
It's just a parking lot. Given all the space in the park, you'd think they could find space for something better. Even with a small 26' we had to disconnect to fit our toad into the space. I like the price and the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$8
Tent sites are in a naturally vegetated high desert setting, but the RV sites are just a parking lot with white painted lines. You will be on asphalt. No fire rings. There are picnic tables. Rigs over 55 feet combined length are not recommended. For anything over 30 feet you'll have to unhitch and move your vehicle to the side or another parking space. There are only a few sites that can accept big rigs, so you may get shut out. Pop-ups can take their pick of sites. For the price, it's a fine deal. Great views but no amenities other than the bathroom. No showers. Direct access to trailheads from the RV parking area. Verizon Wireless does not work here reliably, although we could send text messages occasionally. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$8
Even though this campground is basically a parking lot, the scenery and easy access to many of the hiking trails make this a nice place to camp. Sites are level and easy to get in and out of. Camp host was very pleasant. Wi-Fi is available at the visitor's center, about a half mile away, and my AT&T cell phone worked. Restrooms with running water (but no showers) are close by. A threaded water spigot is available to fill your fresh water tank, but no dump station. Come prepared, as the closest gas, ice, and groceries are in Whites City, NM, about 30 miles up the highway. I have camped here several times before and will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$8
Basic site which for RVs is really not much more than a parking lot but in a fabulous location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$8
It is just a parking lot. There is lots of activity here because the trail heads are located in this parking lot. There are also some tent sites in the lower campground. The hiking here is fantastic! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2008
$8
As previously stated, this is a parking lot. Not what you'd expect at a national park. You are kind of stuck with it since it's the only game in town, to explore this off the beaten track gem of a park. I don't understand why there isn't a NPS campground at Carlsbad Caverns. It gets far more visitors. We stayed in space #26, a pull through on the end. I don't know why the park service elected to design the campground in this fashion, because it is really terrible. If the rig next to you has slideouts on both sides, you are incredibly close to one another. I've had more space around me at a busy Wal-mart parking lot. They are obviously catering to tent/car campers at this park. Some of the tent sites are beautifully situated. There is water with a threaded connection located in front of the pay station next to the restrooms to fill up your freshwater tank. No dump station (another bent toward tent/car campers). Generator hours 8 to 8. Clear views of the southern sky for satellite. Verizon cell service is very marginal here with dropped calls. No air card service. One plus is you walk out the door of the RV, and you are at the main trail head which splits off in several directions. The hike to the "Bowl" a loop hike, is strenuous but worth the 10-mile effort. Drive to Carlsbad Caverns takes about 50 minutes. Another alternative if you're just stopping briefly at the park are the two nearby roadside picnic areas which allow overnight parking: free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$8
The "campground" is a parking lot, but the views!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
The parking lot camping served our purpose--a place to stay while in the park. There are no hookups or showers. Very few sites for a large RV and no reservations are accepted. Our site was wide enough for our toad. Sites at the entrance were narrower but longer. There is a lot of traffic in the area all day and into the evening as a major trail head is in the RV park. All traffic is one-way so every car will go past your RV. Try to find a site near the entrance to the RV park and away from the restrooms and trail head or you deal with hikers ALL the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$15
This national park has an excellent paved parking area designated for campers to locate their campers. The restrooms were clean. There was a freshwater source so that fresh water could be used to fill our water tank. Good tasting water and was convenient located. We would have liked to operate a generator a little longer in the evening but we understand the need for conformity with that type of equipment. We had a one-night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$8
At first I was offended by this place as it is a parking lot that allows you to stay overnight. BUT, it is a great idea for our National Parks. It was clean and very friendly. The concept works as a place to stay in the National Park with out any hassles. Sites require you to unhook any toad as they are not long enough to park both. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com