215029 User submitted reviews online!!
LBL National Recreation Area / Piney Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (270) 924-2000
CGID4578

LBL National Recreation Area / Piney Campground

Camp Information
Sites
384
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   9   6   7   7   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
I was amazed that this campground was not in your database. It is a National Recreational Area, part of the Land Between the Lakes. The park is beautiful, the sites are mostly large and level with stones, and much of the campground is in the trees. We were here over the Fourth of July weekend so it was busy, but the overall attitude of the employees and the guests is courtesy first. The kids are having fun without being noisy or annoying in any way. There are sites right on Kentucky Lake, a beach area, and a boat ramp so that campers can bring their boats up behind their sites. We would definitely come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
Have commented on park before and stayed several times, like the park and area. BUT, feel a little taken advantage of as they now seem to charge the 50 amp price on all full hookup sites. All full hookup sites have 50 and 30 amp but have to pay 50 amp price if only using 30 amps. No other full hookups avail even though web site says otherwise? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Park was full on Labor Day weekend and all went well. Haven't been in about a year and arrived to find mostly all new bathhouses which are very nice, with private shower rooms. Park is clean, well maintained and managed, priced very reasonably. I advised the staff on Sunday that the 20 amp plug in post didn't work but 30 amp was fine, only so they'd be aware as it was no issue for me at this time. Approximately 30 minutes later a ranger came by and checked it and attempted to fix it but was going to need new receptacle and didn't have available at time. I certainly didn't expect a response on Sunday of Labor Day weekend but I think it did show their concern for their facilities. Only critique could be need a few more sites with full hook-ups. $22.00 price was for electric only. This is one of my favorite parks close to home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$19
We camped here the last four nights of the season and a lot of sites had already the water cut off. Various restrooms and showers were available through the park. They are in the process of renovating these buildings and the results are fantastic. We could choose from a lot of nice river-view camp-sides and had no problems driving and leveling our 42 foot rig. Our satellite worked OK between all those trees without leaves. We will be back !! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Nice campground off main road, little noise except for occasional power boat. Roads are paved and gravel sites, which need help to level rig. Many trees so shade, but not satellite friendly. Water and power were good, cell (AT&T) was weak. Main attraction is lake. Many hiking trails nearby, 'Home Place 1850' was interesting. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Been here several times and like the area and campground. Mostly shaded, several waterfront lots also. Very bicycle friendly. Staff very friendly as well. However, typical government site in that facilities have been neglected due to budgets I'm sure. Bathhouses are adequate and maintained, just OLD and in need of replacing. Still a worthy visit to the LBL area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Our site was for electric only. Full service sites were $32. My husband qualified for lifetime "Golden Age Passport" card. The card was $10 and saved us $6 per night. The sites are all gravel, level pads and most have 4x4 edging. Lots of shade. Some sites closer together than others. Don't care for the concrete, non-movable picnic tables. The small shower buildings are old and really need replacing. They look about the same as years ago. The larger shower house is better but farther away. There is no WI-FI available. Have to drive to McDonald's in Dover. There is only one dump station. There is a camp store, but I didn't check it out. Will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
My family loves this this place! So peaceful. Staff is friendly and the facilities are well maintained. Has a great fishing pier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$12
Rates are $12 no hookups, $18 electric only and $32 for 50 amp, water & sewer. Golden age discount is 50% off the no hookup rate of $12, or $6 primitive, $12 electric only and $26 full hookup. One surprise here was our Verizon cells & broadband was excellent, we had no service in spots driving in. TV via batwing was so-so: 3 good stations with not much, networks would come and go. Only big negative was dogs, constant barking from 6 am until 10 pm. There are lots of big dogs in this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
We arrived for Easter weekend on Good Friday around 6:00 pm and found several Big Rig sites still available (since it is a state park, the majority of sites are first come, first serve). Sites were level and gravel with nice stone picnic tables and fire pits. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. This is a very busy (and large) campground, but everyone was very friendly. The camp store is relatively new with limited selection. The sewer hook-up is at the opposite end of the site (rear) from the shore power (front), and in order for my power cord to reach I had to buy an additional sewer hose at the camp store and splice it into my existing hose. This was a small inconvenience for an otherwise clean and fun campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
The worst thing about this stay was we only had one night. Although I think I will go for just the electric site $18 instead of the full hook up site next time. This place is one of the nicest National Park Service Campgrounds I have been at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Piney campground is a good campground that we will return to in the future. The only drawback is the huge price increase from last year rates. Full hookups went to 24 dollars a night to 32. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
The campground was clean and the sites very spacious. We camped with full hook up in the Dogwood site #17. The other campers were very friendly and every time we walked our little dog, we found someone who talked to us. The lake was very rough so we didn't stay on the lake much in our jet ski, but we were so comfortable in our motor home that we just stayed and rested, which is why we camped this weekend. We even saw a deer on the grounds while going to the boat dock to put our ski in. There was a church service on Sunday morning which was well attended and the preacher gave a good message. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
I agree with previous posters. This is a lovely campground with lots of gorgeous lake views. We had a lot on the water so the morning view was breath-taking. The evening sunset was breath-taking. The campground is very family oriented. Lots of kids riding bikes everywhere...beach, playground, etc. You can rent Trek bikes here. The bike trail is level, paved and very nice. That was fun to do. Now...what I did not like: NO WATER. I do not like having to fill up my holding tank and being stuck with limited water. We had to buy a 5 gallon water container to refill the tank. The bathrooms were gross at times. There was one bathhouse in the Loblolly loop that was decent. Having to drive a mile to the bathroom/shower was a pain in the rear. Husband disagrees with me about this campground. He loved it. I wasn't as thrilled. I've seen better but then again, I'm a woman and little things like clean showers and clean toilets impress me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
Well we expected too much from the previous reviews. Seams like most of the sites are taken by seasonal campers with extra refrigerators etc sitting outside their campers. They do have full hook up sites, however they are very hard to get. They do have 1 loop that is reservable which has 2 community water hookups, 30 amp and no sewer. Mens showers had no private dressing area however the Ladies showers had private areas. I guess the park would be Okay if you only needed 30AMP and don't mind hauling 200 ft of hose to fill your water tank and didn't need sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$24
This park provides all kinds of activities for families - hiking, biking, fishing, boating, swimming, and other outdoor activities. It has a rental center if you didn't bring your own equipment. Sites are roomy and shady. Bathrooms are clean and each has a washer and dryer outside. No towns are close by so you need to bring all your supplies or plan to drive for some miles. The park is on Kentucky lake so you can enjoy all the benefits of this huge waterway. Prices seem a little high for a National Recreation Area. If you want to watch TV, bring a satellite dish. It's almost impossible to get stations off the antennae. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$24
Absolutely lovely campground! Sites are large and well-spaced, and their varied positioning looks more "natural" than lining everyone up in a row. Some sites are open, but most wooded, or at least shaded. The campground in general has a park-like feel, without much undergrowth in the woods. I agree with the above poster who said the staff is great - we found them all very friendly and helpful. We got extremely lucky and ended up with a full-hookup waterview site, but even if we had had to settle for less, we would have enjoyed this campground. It's one of the best we have ever been to! If the showers had had private changing areas, we would have rated this a 10 all the way! This late in the season, the campground store was not open, and they were out of firewood, but they directed us to a funky little flea market shop on the road to Dover that sold some. All the full-hookup sites were full while we were there (during the week) but plenty of basic, electric and elec-water sites were available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
Piney is a very clean campground with nice restroom facilities, and boasts some beautiful views of Kentucky Lake. The park is very big-rig friendly, but seems to have several seasonal campers. Dogwood loop is the only loop to offer full hookups, and tends to be hard to get into. It seems to be mainly occupied by the newer, more costly rigs. The LBL area is great for sightseeing and has several historical attractions including a living-history area where people are dressed in circa 1800's clothing and work on a farm. They also have a Buffalo range along the main road where you can stop and watch the buffalo. And, as always, the fishing is excellent. Highly recommended, but I suggest arriving on a Sunday afternoon or Monday morning to get the best sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$16
Clean, well maintained campground in the Land Between the Lakes. Staff was outstanding, the most helpful of any campground we've visited, and are on-site 24X7. Sites are assigned when you enter the campground, but you can change before setting up. One thing I liked was that they had a map posted on the check-in building showing all sites that were already full, and readily told you the pros/cons of any site that was still open - as I said, great staff! They also give each camper a flyer showing activities scheduled for the next few days so you can participate in hikes, bands, etc. Interior roads are paved, sites are level and have an ample "living area" of gravel. Most sites are electric only, but water is available throughout the campground; a limited number of sites have electric/water, and a few have full hookups. Shade varies from site to site. Best showers of any campground I've been to; just wish they had private dressing areas. Access to the campground is restricted via a gate - something we really liked - and security staff patrols the campground around the clock. Recreational opportunities within the campground include a swimming beach, fishing pier, boat ramp (lots of boaters!), basketball court and softball field; numerous other activities are available within LBL itself. Paris Landing State Park is 5 miles from the gate, and has an excellent golf course with very reasonable rates. There is a small camp store on-site, and ice, firewood and tick repellant are available 24X7 through the check-in point. Nearest grocery store is a Piggly Wiggly in Dover, 11 miles from the gate; there is a WalMart SuperCenter and Kroger in Paris, about 25 miles from the gate. Good cell phone coverage throughout the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$16
Very clean campground, well maintained even off of the camp sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Other campers who seemed to be regulars were very friendly. Very quiet at night. Good activities for the whole family. We will go back many more times for our weekend outings. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
Located in Land Between the Lakes approximately 3 miles east of U.S. 79. Stayed on site #215 Persimmon Loop with 45' motorhome. Great lake view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
This is a beautiful CG with wildlife all around. The deer seemed to be fairly tame as they wandered about at dusk w/o a seemingly care in the world. I don't agree with the 10's others give for the following reasons. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and virtually all of the 380+ site were taken already. We had a choice of a handful of electric only (30 amp) sites from which to choose or a couple dozen sites with NO hookups. We ended up with site 222 on the Persimmon Loop (30 amp). This turned out to be a great site with shade for most of the day. It was on the outer edge of the loop so we had an open field behind us where the deer, chipminks and turtles roamed. It was 2 sites away from the edge of the water which made it convenient to go fishing. We fished from the bank and caught something on every cast, either a small bluegill or a big clump of weeds. We came across two snakes. One was dead along the main road thru the CG and one was in the water where I was fishing and determined to come ashore despite my protests. Needless to say, I don't like snakes and left immediately when I saw his determination. As for the showers, they were slow to drain and you would be standing in several inches of water trying to get clean. This is a YUK factor for me of the highest magnitude when you consider the number of folks you have been in there prior to you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$16
This is a GREAT family campground. I can't believe one review here said it was not. Everyone I know with kids loves to go to this campground. In fact we plan on spending most of our weekends there this spring and summer. There is so much to do. There are lots of paved hiking/bike trails, a sandy beach area, playgrounds, volleyball and softball fields. In the summers they even have activities planned for the kids and music concerts at night. And what makes me feel so great and safe is that everyone that wants to come into the campground has to check in at the front gate and the whole campground is fenced in. There are kids every where on bikes and you just feel comfortable letting them have a little space in this family-friendly campground. Many sites are right on the lake which is just beautiful. It is also located close to many Land Between the Lakes attractions...the Bison Prairie, the Old Homeplace where you can see how things were done in the old days and kids can even try some of it out, Fort Donnelson battlefield, a Nature Station and a Planetarium. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. Sites are given on a first come-first served basis-no reservations accepted but, we have never had trouble getting a site since it is so large. I just can't say enough about this campground. It was just a great weekend for our family with three little kids! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Campsites are available on a first-come, first served basis. Nice paved roads with gravel sites. Pets must be on a leash and under physical control at all times. You are required to clean up after your pet for health and sanitation purposes. Fees start at $12 up to $29 for camping shelters a night. Camp staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you in way possible. There are 2 boat launching ramps, and a fishing pier. A herd of deer went walking thru the campgrounds as we were having our coffee. They were beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com