206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Barkcamp State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (740) 484-4064
CGID4579

Barkcamp State Park

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   3   7   6   9   9   8   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
We stayed here overnight as a rest stop. As such, it was a nice park with large, well maintained sites that are difficult to back in to. As usual with Ohio State Parks, there was only Electric available. You have to fill your tanks before parking. We've stayed at many and expected this. I didn't use the pit toilet but my (adventurous) wife did and said "for what it is, it's pretty clean". Our pampered kids disagreed. The camp store was well appointed and the staff, including the park ranger, were very personable and engaging. For what we needed, it was good; the park is beautiful, convenient to I70 (with little highway noise) and we will stay here again if they get indoor plumbing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$12
Disappointing, little to do, pit toilets with only a dozen or so good site which were taken. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
The park is very easy to access from Interstate 70, only a short easy drive. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. It is quite and dark, which we like. The water fill was easy to get to. We did not use the toilets, which are only pit toilets. It was wall maintained. The paved areas were narrow but nice and long. They have fifty amp circuits where are nice to have. It is nice and a great place to hang out for a couple of days, but probably not a destination park. The lake is a ways away from the camping area. It will be a very easy park to forget, even though nice, since not a lot of major features. We had a problem with the RV on the way out. The park staff were extremely helpful in solving the problem and getting us on our way. We will always fondly remember the park because of those kind folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Nice campground but lacks amenities. Lots of grassy areas. You need to drive to get to the lake, beach, and other park areas. It sits on a hill and the lake is not visible. Note: Don't plan on any alcohol consumption anywhere in the park except inside your camper. This park polices it with a vengeance. You will get a ticket. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Another great Ohio State Park that accepts Passport America. A wooded, rolling area, with paved roads and mostly level pads. Although the reservation site stops at 35' motorhomes, our 40' rig fit without a problem, be sure and check with the office for suitable sites. We were able to see the DirecTV satellite from our site (96), but most sites are blocked by trees. Verizon cell and Aircard worked well. Quiet and dark at night, this beautiful park is a great value and we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Bark Camp is a nice campground with nice lots, well mowed grass, and a NICE shower house. Pit toilets that are kept clean. Has a nice little store; kids love the movies and nature programs (most summer weekends); on site refurbished barn with museum like displays (free on weekends when ranger present); nice lake and fishing (must drive to access (swimming too); pet friendly; boat rides with nature program as well certain times only. There is free firewood available. Direct TV satellite reception is good in most spaces in the lower 2 areas. There are a few bad spots but most are great. Tent camping is available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
A cute park with asphalt pads and roads, mown grass and semi-shaded sites. As pretty as a picture. It's convenient to interstate highway with the noise just barely noticable. Passport America price at $10 bucks. I'd like to rate this park higher but it has no amenities. No water, no sewer, no Wi-Fi, no pool, no clubhouse. Just a beautiful park with hiking trails and a beautiful lake. Pads were paved but not very level. If you have a big rig, be sure to go to the second pet area were the road is double wide and several pads are long enough. Most pads in the park are too short for a 40-footer. We stayed overnight but would have liked to stay longer. Showers look good, but the pit toilets are a bring down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Excellent. State Park, offers Passport America Sunday through Wednesday. Outdoor toilets. Has a section for pets and horses. For the price, it is excellent for self contained units. Has water points at each cg area to fill up tank. Has dump station easily accessed. Has a large lake in park grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
After reading the other reviews, my husband and I made the 2 hour drive with much apprehension. Upon arrival at the check-in office, then on to our site, I knew we had made the right choice. The campground was immaculate! Nicely mowed and trimmed camp sites. We camped in the pet section (#1-40) our site was #12, in the loop. I can say all the loop (7-13 in our loop) sites are more private than the others that seemed to be too close together in my opinion, but for families and friends who want to be together it would be perfect. Most others not in the loop areas were grassy and open. I personally witnessed the Campground Host clean the latrines (yes, they only have 'pit toilets' in this campground) twice daily and they were more clean than most 'flush' facilities I have been to. There is only 1 shower house, and most campers drove to it due to it's proximity to the campsites - it, too, was clean, down to the Corian counter tops and sinks! The camp store is a cute old log cabin, there is a Saturday night family movie (weather permitting) and where else can you go where the State Park provides you FREE slab wood for your camp fire? My husband and I are already planning our next trip to this campground. It was one of the nicer state parks we have camped in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
Nice, pretty park in the hills. Quite a climb to get there! Sites are well-spaced, but no undergrowth between them; many are well-shaded. Shower house centrally located for CG; no private changing areas for the showers. Pit toilets only, which are old & in bad need of some repair to the doors, etc. Park staff kept them as clean as possible, but they were definitely unappealing. Charming log camp store with old barn nearby, newly painted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$9
At $9.50 with discounts, what a steal! This is one beautiful park with great staff. We were in transit, so only stayed 1 night & it was a weeknight so the place was virtually empty. Plenty of room around level sites. If in the area again this will definitely be a 'must return to' park, even at double the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
This park is pretty and the sites fairly spacious. However, when I read that there are hot showers I assume there are also flush toilets, and there are not. Toilet facilities are latrines - yuck. The shower house has showers and sinks, and is not located in any of the camping loops, so you either have to drive or take a very long walk. Also, you have to keep pushing the shower button for the shower to stay on. We enjoyed the hiking trails. The lake is attractive. The mini golf course looked well maintained, although we didn't have time to use it. We'd go back here with our travel trailer, but not again in our tent due to the bathroom situation. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Probably one of the nicest state park campgrounds in Ohio. Spacious sites and very quiet. Not very crowded, only on holiday weekends does it fill up. Will definitely be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Ohio's best state park campground. Section C has open view to Southern sky for satellite connection, both Dish TV and Hughes internet access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$19
Paved interior roads and sites. Stayed during nearby Jamboree in the Hills country concerts. Campground quiet with additional security during concert week. Stayed on Area A (horse camp area) because sites were longer for our 45 foot motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com