223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Salinas / Monterey KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (831) 663-2886
CGID458

Salinas / Monterey KOA

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   5   5   8   8   6   5   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$50
Although we were a little reluctant to stay due to some prior park ratings, we were quite glad that we decided to. We got lucky and were placed in the back row along the tree line and away from the the highway. We could still hear traffic but it was not distracting. They have a very nice pool area and although it was quite warm when we were visiting, the water was very cool. Too cold for these old bones. It is obviously an older park with a very unique layout. They explained that this is not a "destination park" but more for convenient stops en route to other areas. We stayed for 6 nights and did not regret it at all. Our only problem was with the 30 amp electric. We had to be very careful and if the A/C was on, we tried to keep everything else off or it would pop. Other than that, it was a delightful stay. The area is very interesting and not far from the coast. We explored from Moss Landing down through Lucia south of Big Sur. The Old Fishermans Wharf at Monterey Bay was a real highlight of this visit. If you are just traveling through, I would recommend this as a good place to stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
We stayed here one night driving from Northern California to Southern California. Things were tight with a 24 foot RV. We had a pull through space and our slide was about 1 ft from our neighbor's slide. The park is on a hill and our spot had a great view of Rt 101 traffic. The check in lady was great. We couldn't join the park's WiFi the entire time we were there. It was fine for an over night spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$43
The staff was friendly. The location is great, but the sites are not big-rig friendly. We were in a pull-thru which was extremely narrow. Our 38ft RV had one slide touching the fence and the other side was touching the picnic table. Getting in and getting out were both challenging worrying that the back end would “wag’ over and knock the service post. In fact a 5th wheel two sites over was damaged coming in to its site. We will not be staying here again as we did not see a better site in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
We wanted to visit Monterey, and this was the closest RV park that didn't charge a ludicrous nightly rate. First the good news: friendly, helpful staff, everything clean and well maintained. Shopping and gas very close. Now, the rest of the story: This park is right next to a very Loud stretch of Hwy 101, complete with big rigs hitting Jake brakes, and a serious Harley and cafe-racer infestation. The back-in sites 106-120 are a bit less cramped and a little further from the freeway. Also, their much-hyped pool is Seasonal, Summer only We missed it by a week, even though the weather was still very warm (80's) while we were there. I don't see us ever using this place again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
This is a very good basic KOA. The pads are paved, level, and the hook-ups are well placed. The room in between rigs especially the pulls throughs for the bigger rigs is close, but not unreasonable. The cable TV is very good, the WI-FI is mediocre to poor. Since the park is in a hilly area, the sites for smaller rigs and back-ins for bigger rigs ascends a hill. As you go up the hill the pads are still level but you get further away from the rest room/shower facility. Towards the end of the park you’re probably 175 yards away from those facilities and you have to climb a flight of stairs to get to them. The pool and laundry room are also up the hill. This park is a good base to explore the Monterrey area, Pinnacles National Park (both east and west side) and the Missions in the area. The park is very clean and well maintained. We stayed here in a 36' fifth wheel and there was a 40' class us next to us. Room to maneuver was adequate. You do get a lot of road noise from the 101 since your about 1/2 from it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Great staff. Perfect place for one night stay, freeway close. Level blacktop sites. Road noise minor and not an issue. Close to ocean towns and other attractions like the rodeo. Will stay here again if in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
Host was very helpful but the park itself was crowded and relatively expensively, normal for California we think. The sites were very close together and lots of traffic. Hookups were good and the paved site was level. It is also right off the highway 101 and has a lot of road noise. The showers/bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The overall experience was OK but we would not stay here again unless we were we had no other choice. The feeling was very commercial-lots of blacktop and over populated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$65
Good location, not too far to visit Monterey. All asphalt, narrow sites, awning to awning, lots of highway 101 noise. Manager was friendly and accommodating. Not a destination campground but a good base to see the area for a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$54
This park is an easy drive to Monterey sights. The sites are all asphalt and level, but they are very narrow. We had trouble fitting our toad on the site along with our 40 footer. We have two slides which ended up inches away from our neighbors slides. We could not fully extend our awning because of some tall skinny shrubs on that side. The road in was steep and narrow, but the road out was better. We had only 30 amp service, but we didn't need the AC so it was acceptable. Wi-Fi was OK. We would stay here again simply because of the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
I stayed here 3 nights while exploring the Monterey peninsula. The paved site accommodated my motorhome and toad just fine. Yes, the sites are a bit narrow, but as I only have one slide, it was not a problem for me. Staff was very friendly and laundry was reasonably priced and worked well. My only complaint was the Wi-Fi, which was not as fast as some other parks. I would definitely consider staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
This is quite possibly the worst KOA I have camped in. I booked a site for my 36 ft motorhome with slide outs, well over a month prior to showing up. I got a site that barely fit and could not open slide outs at all. Ingress and egress was very dicey despite being told it was a pull through. Sewer hookup was not secure and the water bib constantly dripped. The entire site was one big piece of asphalt right next to freeway, despite being in very pretty country. Unless you are in dire need, I'd avoid this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
We stayed at this park one night. The park manager was very helpful and organized. We were assigned a pull through site (#129) which was sufficient for our 29' motorhome and Jeep. The water, sewer and electrical hookups all worked fine. The restrooms were very clean; although they were a bit of a hike from the campsite. The park's location to Monterey/Carmel was great; we were able to get to Monterey in 20 minutes. The one drawback which may be important to some campers is the park's proximity to the freeway; you can hear traffic noise throughout the day and night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Nightly rate reflects KOA 10% member discount. To give the benefit of the doubt, I think this park is a recent KOA acquisition so they are trying to elevate the standards. the park is in two sections. One is for long termers and one for short termers. The short stay folks are right up against the highway, so definite highway noise. Access into the park is a quick, tight turn. It can be made by the big rigs, but you definitely have to be aware. The spots are very narrow. Our 3 step platform barely fit. We were on the tiered, pull through level. Two of us occupying 10 spaces and a 3rd pulls in and they assign them right next to us? Hmmm, that didn't seem wise at all. Nice proximity to Monterery/Carmel. Fine for a night is the best I can say. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
The Managers are great. Extremely helpful and customer service oriented. Location was excellent to visit Monterey and Carmel. Better location than RV park in Marina. Noise from freeway was less than I expected. Staff is upgrading the facility and laundry and restrooms were clean although dated. I would recommend this location to anyone spending time in the Monterey area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$48
I always thought that KOA parks had to meet some kind of minimum standards. Apparently not, if they allow this park to fly the KOA banner. I'm a plumber by trade and I've seen some run down and filthy bathrooms in my time. The men showers in this park are among the worse I've ever seen. Not only are they tiny and in need of repair, they are also filthy. Another health issue is with the toilet seats. I don't want to offend anyone but I must say that the toilet seat openings are way too small and make it practically impossible for men to sit without contacting the inside rim of the seat. To meet code they should have a commercial split rim seat. One of the other problems with this park is the sewer connections. The one in my site as well as several others I looked at were under several inches of tainted water. There should be an auxiliary drain to prevent rain and surface water from collecting around the sewer connection. The overall condition of this park is poor. It requires a lot of updating, especially to justify the $48 per night their charging. Come on KOA start inspecting the RV parks in your system. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$110
We stayed at one of the little cabins at this RV Park / Campground. They were doing a lot of work to the grounds and you could tell things were improving. Our room was clean and nice, and oh so reasonable for the price! What I loved were the grounds around there, they had so many beautiful flowers and I picked a new arrangement every day. The staff was excellent and the location was prime, you could just jump on the highway and be to Monterey or where ever you needed to go in minutes! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
The staff at this park is unbelievable. They are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The park is a little hilly but so is the whole area. We did not have a problem getting our 37 footer level and there was just enough room to park our car out front. It was an easy on and off from the highway. Not much in the way of local downtown stuff but it was a short drive to San Cruz to the Mystery Spot, which is a must. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
Hot, tiered, blacktop parking lot. No grass, shade, or privacy. Packed together, big rig haven, all others stay away. Convenient to highway and nothing else. 20 miles from Salinas and further to Monterrey. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This was the worst KOA I've been to. I have 31' travel trailer and I could not fit into the assigned site, and ended up scratching side my vehicle. It took me over 20 mins to back out and move to another site, which was also extremely small in width. Both entrance and exit is narrow and has very difficult access. No grass. Overall, very bad campground and the price is way too much for its value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$48
Good place to stay if doing sightseeing. Close to the freeway but you do not hear the traffic. Sites and roads are all blacktop which makes it very clean and easy to get around, however you kind of miss some grass. Expensive but probably would stay again. Staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
The advertisement for this facility is contrary to the actual RV park. The access is not accommodating to RVs and the signage is poor. The fee of $60 is grossly OVERPRICED. We have camped at many RV Resorts and this KOA is basically a parking lot with hookups. The sites are too narrow for slideouts. The sites are directly across from a Chevron station and the 101 freeway. This made a very noisy stay. I would not recommend this facility nor would I return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$63
Was very noisy, with I-101 very close. Park has no green, and no shade. The restrooms were okay but not nice. It's very difficult to find: access on HWY ramp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$53
This is the Salinas / Monterey KOA. We stayed here for a quick overnight stop and I'm glad that that was all we had planned. This is a parking lot with hookups. The price seems way too high for this campground, the "pet walk" was overgrown, the bathrooms were not very clean, and Wi-Fi is not included in the cost. I wouldn't camp here again and if in the area again and forced to choose, I would sleep in the nearby SafeWay parking lot and save the $50. On a positive note, the lady in the office was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$60
After checking in, I found that the drive through space was too small for my RV. They gave me a back-in space but the front had such an incline that I pushed my hitch into the ground. If your rig is less than 25 or 30 feet without a slide, you will do fine. If you have a larger rig, don't bother showing up. The rate should have been $30 for what I got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
What the two previous reviews stated is not untrue, just a bit harsh. True, it's a parking lot, not totally level and it's tight for a big rig. We have a 37' motorhome with slides and had no problem. Little tight at the exit gate, but not impossible. We've stayed here twice and will again as it's convenient when visiting family, but don't come here to 'camp'. On the positive, it has a nice store, very friendly staff and they have no problem with us enjoying our portable fire pit. Overall, it's a good overnight place in a convenient location and walking distance to grocery stores etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
This park is on the side of Hwy 101 and very noisy. The spaces are extremely narrow, with tall hedges between them. It was difficult to get our slides out without hitting the bushes. They say big rig friendly, but that is not the case. The photos in the ads are very misleading. It is just a parking lot sloping down a hill toward the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Sites not level. Elevation of sites too high causing rear of rigs scrape upon exit/entry. Playground has large oncovered cement culvert holes that kids can fall into. Playground very dirty and not taken care of. Pool never opened with no explanation given. Gardening project produced snakes to come out near our rv sites. Very noisy because of location near highway 101. Will never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com