220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Wood's Tall Timber Lake Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (330) 602-4000
CGID4582

Wood's Tall Timber Lake Resort

Camp Information
Sites
121
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   1   1   9   8   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Beautiful campground. Spectacular lake with all the toys for the kids to enjoy. Sites are tight but level, very picturesque setting on hilly terrain. All paved roads with concrete & gravel sites. Utilities all worked well. We only were there for an overnight, but would love to return and spend more time. Escort to sites, very helpful and friendly staff. We travel extensively, this is an extremely nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Beautiful park with lots of amenities! There are basketball courts, a playground, putt-putt, swimming, paddle boats, fishing, a convenience store, and so much more. You don't have to leave the park to have lots to do. However, the vast majority of the sites are on a hill. We were assigned a spot on a steep hill for our 35' RV. We could not turn the corner to get into the spot due to the angle and the hillside. For this reason, I gave the park a 9. It's a nice park but the hillside is definitely a hindrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
I would love to give this park a 10, but alas I cannot. My husband & I suggested this place for a family camping weekend because we had stayed there as an overnight stop while traveling and thought the park was beautiful, and clean. Built around a lake there were lots of things for the kids to do. Well, as they say, looks can be deceiving. Being a big holiday weekend, the place was full. I understand you are going to have stresses on the facilities when they're booked to the max, but if you want to expand your facility to have that big of a crowd you should make sure your infrastructure can handle it. We could live with the problems with the electric, but the water was another story. When we arrived they gave us a note saying they have well water, so fill your tank and work off that. But the pressure was so low, it took hours to fill the tank. It got progressively worse as the weekend progressed. It went from low pressure to no pressure to no water. And you'd never know when it was going to happen. they must have had 2 pumps because sometimes we'd have water on the RV side of the park, and sometime the kids would have it on the cabin side. Usually the cabin side had water - even if the pressure was super low. Then that side of the park lost water even in the public bath area. Women were seen leaving the shower area with shampoo or conditioner in their hair, and couldn't rinse because the water went out. The cabins our kids were staying in didn't have facilities, so they had to use the public areas. There were bathrooms at the concession area that worked. But the bathrooms in the public area, which by the way were spotless when we arrived, turned into bad versions of pit toilets. Our niece got up early Sunday morning and went to the public area - no water, and just a smelly, smelly mess, so she walked over to the concession area and THEY HAD LOCKED THE BATHROOMS!!! The only functioning public bathrooms in the place and they were locked! She was beyond furious; she was going to go and knock on the owners house and see if she could use their bathroom! They packed up and left. It ruined what was supposed to be a fun family get-together. They need to stop pouring cement and put their money into adequate water and electric services. We should have known when we saw the sign in the office that states: No refunds! I think they’ve expanded the park to get the money from the additional campers, but haven’t expanded their facilities to accommodate the crowd. They are at the top of my NEVER AGAIN list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
I rated this same campground very high last year even though we had a reservation issue with our pull through. We ended up sharing it with a small camper. However, this year was unacceptable. I made reservations on 1.20.12 for July 3, 4 & 5th. 2-3 weeks before our visit, we received a call that said we could not have the site for the 5th and would have to move as someone else would be placed in that spot. Not sure why we were the ones that had to be moved, but we were told there was a huge mix-up with reservations for that weekend from the beginning of the year. They offered to place us in the "over flow" lot which I found out meant the parking lot. As we have an almost new 42 foot motorcoach I was not at all pleased with that arrangement. I told them to cancel our reservation and refund the money. That request had to be approved by someone else and we were finally told that could be done. One mix up I can understand but 2 in 2 years now places this campground on my "never visit again" list. Very sad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Absolutely loved this resort and wished we could stay longer. The playground is a real gem: well maintained, spacious and imaginative. Loved the porch swings for grown ups. We enjoyed our time swimming in the lake. The lifeguards are attentive and take their jobs seriously. Only complaint was the water pressure at our hookup. At times, nothing wanted to come out of the tap. I would definitely come back here. Great memories for our family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
The nightly rate reflects a weekly rate. Although this is a very nice campground as described in the other reviews, I do have one complaint. This park is marginally big rig friendly. The campground is hilly with many turns. The turns are bordered with large flat sharp-edged rocks. If you hit a rock edge you will probably slice your tire or damage the side of your rig. When you get to the bottom of the hill to exit the park you have a right hand turn that has a cement fence on the left and wooden posts on the right. I'm sure the owner put the obstacles up so that people would not be putting ruts in the grass; however, rocks and cement fences are not very forgiving. We are 65 feet overall, and it took some maneuvering to get out without damage. Besides that, it is a very nice place that is great for kids and campfires. Because of our size we would probably not return. But if you have a smaller unit than ours, I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
This is a wonderful park set in the woods, and the owner is continually making improvements. Sites vary from quite small to larger pull throughs; however, most of the larger sites appeared to be used for seasonals. We were in site A6, which was a very nice, large, pull-through set up on the hill; however, maneuvering in and out with our 35ft fifth wheel was a bit difficult simply because of the slant of the hill. Would rate a 10 if there was wi-fi somewhere in the park, and if laundry facilities were expanded (there were only 2 washers and dryers, and the room was only open from 10am - 7pm). The staff and manager were awesome. When we arrived one of them drove my husband up to our site so he could see it before we went up to it with our trailer in tow; we also needed a mechanic because our truck died and they had someone come out to the campground, and he had it fixed within 24 hours! Since the lake is open to the public it does get pretty crowded, and it's a busy place on the weekends; however, noise was really not a problem. It's a great place to do a lot or just relax and enjoy the natural beauty of the campground. We also liked the close proximity to Amish country. There is a great mall nearby (that's where we hooked up to wi-fi) and Beuhler's grocery store. The "Lynn Drive-In" theater is about a 25 minute drive. We'll definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
27 Flavors of soft service ice cream! Need I say more? This is one beautiful campground. Fantastic swimming pond with 5 life guards. Landscaping is top notch. This is a place that wants you to have a great family experience at not a great cost and I give them a lot of credit for that. The consession stand was very low priced. We towed our truck and never left the grounds it was that fun. An older adult could not ride a bike here as the campsites are on a steep slope. We will return often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Since the new ownership, this is a beautiful place with LOTS to do. Clean, quiet, well thought out with concession stand and rentable pedal boats and putt putt. Many seasonal campers but they are friendly and clean. The sites are tight but I have seen much worse. I would come back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Great Place!! Very clean, manicured and well taken care of. Very nice lake with lots to do. The kids loved it. We had the opportunity to meet the owners while fishing one evening, and they were very friendly and helpful. Just be aware that most of the sites are up on hills. However, the individual sites are level with nice concrete pads w/ nice spacing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
We really enjoyed camping here. The sites are level but up on a hill. Be ready to walk uphill to get back to your camper. They had a few activities for the kids on Memorial Day Weekend. The playground is nice. They have mini golf and paddle boats to rent. If you don't mind swimming in a lake, they have slides and a water trampoline for swimmers. I'm just not big on lake swimming. They have a decent concession stand. They don't have much in the store for supplies but Wal-Mart is nearby. The campground road to get over to the RV sites from the check in area is kind of narrow so just be prepared for that. A fun place to camp overall and close to the Amish Country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
Very friendly staff, and the campground has updated landscaping. They sell firewood, and will deliver to your site. They have a nice miniature golf course with 18 holes. The staff works daily on upkeep in the park and it shows. Will camp here again. The sites have concrete pads for patios and nice gravel area to park on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
Located 3 miles east of town on State Road 39. New owners making extensive improvements. New electric posts, water hydrants, restrooms, shower house, pavilion, par 3 golf course, club house, landscaping, cammping cabins, and office. Interior roads a little tight for our 45 foot motorhome, but navigable. New owners and staff very friendly. Near Amish Country, Warther Museum, Schoenbrunn Village, Football Hall of Fame, and Trumpet In The Land outdoor historical drama. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
This is a very family oriented campground with plenty of water related activities for everyone. Paddleboats, stocked lake, a huge floating trampoline and consession stand. The camp store is not very appealing with a very limited selection. There is a small general store a couple of miles from the grounds with groceries available. The staff is very friendly going out of their way to help with any questions or concerns. Brand new restrooms and laundry as well as camper-cabins. Some of the sites are older and need leveled but the new owner is working on that. I would rate a 10 if the store was better stocked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com