214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Clinch State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (904) 277-7274
CGID4594

Fort Clinch State Park

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   9   10   8   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
This was our second visit to this campground. You really cannot go wrong with any site. Both times we have stayed on the river campground. The river campground is shady and cooler. The beach side does not have any tree canopy. The drive to the campground is long and tricky. I recommend that you arrive before dark because there are a lot of trees to watch out for but the road is wide and paved. We had no problems. You will have to maneuver not to hit the trees. We do not like that this park is not pet friendly. You cannot take the dogs anywhere near the beach at any time and there are very limited areas to walk the dogs. My other complaint is the parking situation. We were there during 4th of July week and the parking situation was terrible. There were cars and boats parked everywhere including double parked in non-designated spots. Some sites had 4 vehicles plus boat, jet ski, and camper. We complained to the ranger and the response was that each site can have up to 8 people so that means potentially 8 vehicles plus boats! And we really saw this. Boats were sitting parked on the side of the road for days. Our impression was that the rangers do not enforce parking at all. Also, quiet hours are not enforced and really the rangers do not do a good job patrolling and enforcing the rules. Campers were up partying loudly until very late. On the other hand, the bathrooms are very clean and updated. The beach is beautiful! We would be back because of the natural beauty of the area and the town is wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$14
This is an awesome Florida State Park. There are 2 campgrounds here, the river loop and the beach loop. We stayed on the beach loop and toured the river loop. The river loop is heavily wooded/shaded with the large sites having growth between them and a fair amount of privacy. You can walk to the river at the end of the campground. We stayed at the beach loop where the sites are not shaded at all and fairly close to each other, but there is plenty of room for an awning at each site. Water pressure was good, but the water had a sulfur odor to it. No 50 amp service at the beach loop. Local TV reception was good and our Verizon WiFi worked great. We stayed in site 9 which was next to the beautiful, brand new boardwalk out to the Atlantic beach area. It is a great site if you have a rear window as it looks out on the dunes and the ocean. Sites 8 & 9 have the best views. The ocean beach comes with some warnings, like dangerous currents and marine wildlife, but the sand is just beautiful and so is the view. The rest rooms in the beach loop are modern & very clean, with a special private handicap accessible room I appreciated to use with my young granddaughter. Be sure to tour the fort ($2/person). It is a step back in time, very well maintained. Engage one of the interpretive guide folks as you will have a historic conversation that might have taken place in the 1800’s. We loved it here and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$14
Can't say enough positive things. I stayed in the river section, lots of foliage and trees. Bathrooms were spotless. Trails, bike trails, 1/2 mile fishing pier, historic Fort Clinch. 1100 acres of beauty and activities. TV reception was excellent. We brought a Verizon MiFi, which worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
A wonderful park. We stayed right next to the beach and could hear the waves pounding at night. The restrooms are new and super clean. There is a laundromat which is so nice when you just have a load or two of dirty laundry. It's convenient to the historic area of Fernandina Beach which has good boutique shopping and great restaurants. We like the Salty Pelican. We also enjoyed the local museum and the Fort Clinch tour. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
Loved everything about this park. We were assigned a site two over from the water, and the sunset the night we stayed there was spectacular. Nice beach for walking, but no dogs allowed on the sand. The spanish moss and old oaks on the 3 mile drive in from the park entrance really set the stage for our pleasant stay. No cable or internet, but peace, sunshine, and even a dolphin sighting. No wonder this park has been rated Florida's best park two times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
This is a big park with lots of bicycle/hiking trails, beaches, fishing, and the Fort to explore. It is beautiful and a lovely place. We stayed on the beach side in site #2. Restrooms were new and always very clean! We will come back and stay longer next time. It is difficult to get spots - so reserve in advance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
Beautiful park and an excellent place to stay. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is because it didn't have some of the amenities other campgrounds offer that appeal to families like a swimming pool, snack shack, arcade, etc. Huge sites and lots to do. We toured the fort and enjoyed hiking on some of the well marked trails. The shore areas are fun to explore and we enoyed watching huge barges being escorted up the river. Lots of rules prohibiting dogs though. Well stocked camp store and well maintained facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
I loved this park. I was in #13 in the beach campground and found it quiet and beautiful. I pulled in forwards so I was facing the dunes, and could see just a peek of the sound in the distance. It was a very short walk to the almost deserted sound and pier/ocean beaches. No bugs because of constant wind from the ocean. Had good Verizon coverage, also. Only thing that made me nervous was the canopy drive coming in and out, but was careful and never scraped anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$29
The first thing that we want to say is that pets are "allowed" in this campground. But we said that this campground is not "pet friendly' because there are HUGE limitations on where you can walk your dog. You cannot walk your dog on the ocean beach, the river beach, the boardwalks, or the pier. That leaves the busy roads, by the side of the road (that is loaded with thorns in the ocean campground) and the trails (that are nowhere near the either campground). This campground has two distinct camping areas. The ocean area is right next to the dunes; it is nearly treeless, windswept and beautiful. The river area adjoins the fresh water inlet. It is larger and heavily shaded. Both areas have modern updated bath/shower/laundry facilities. Both areas are loaded with beautiful nature: shrubs, trees, animals, etc. Both areas are at least three miles from the campground entrance, and both areas have lousy cell phone reception. The historical fort on site is really worth visiting, far more interesting than most. Fernandina Beach is a fabulous little town: clean, historic, lots of things to do and see. We would have rated the campground higher, but the lack of a good spot to walk our dog made us cranky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
This was by far one of our favorites! Beautiful shade trees and pretty private. Short walk to the river with sandy beaches. We did not stay in the beach area; we were in the river area. Beware...if you have a toad, unhook before you leave the office. We have a 40 foot and there are some low hanging trees and tight turns so pay attention when driving into the campground and parking. Would return to this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$29
We have enjoyed this camping area for two days because of the beautiful setting. The river and beach access is wonderful. The added history of the area is another bonus. There is a fort in the park started by George Washington and used until World War II. A word of warning, the access road is under a canopy of very lovely live oaks. I saw at least two that had been bumped by camper roof edges. Just be watchful and it will not be a problem. The park web site indicates the length of campers accommodated by the sites. Don't expect to put campers much longer than specified in them. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$29
Great park. We stayed in the ocean sites which were close to beach, modest space, level sites, near rest room. Has laundry but one washer, one drier, no place to fold. Cell coverage was almost non-existent. Super 1/2 mile fishing pier. If you like to walk the beach, you'll find all you want here. River sites are a bit bigger and more privacy and lots of shade. No shade at ocean sites. There were a couple branches hanging down in the 2-mile driveway that were hard to see and avoid. Nifty, historic downtown. Walmart, Publix and many restaurants within 7-8 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
What a spacious wonderful CG with lots of trees. Just about every site shaded on river side. I can’t recommend it highly enough. And if you live in Florida and are a senior citizen, then you pay half price for the camping with no entrance fees (hence the $14 rate). Large modern clean bathrooms. Sites are level with sandy packed dirt. We didn’t check out the beach sites (which were full anyway). Beach side I understand there’s no shade. Watch for sand spurs near the shoreline of the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
This was OK for a state park wish we could have got an ocean site. The river sites are in thick trees my site last site left for the night had some low limbs but got 12 6 high in. The fort is worth the admission. Showers looked nice. OK but now that I have seen it no need to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Rate for two nights includes $6 entrance fee to state park. Great state park beach front sites are large enough for any RV. Restrooms/showers are the nicest we've found in a state park in our 30+ years of RVing. Only draw back is the low hanging vegetation on road from check-in station to camping areas. The ocean is reached by a 500+ foot elevated walkway across sand dunes from the beach-side campground. We will be back!. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
Rate reflects Florida senior discount. We stayed in the Ocean CG which has all level back in sites with a fair amount of room between them. Our site was 30 amps and water, I don't think they have 50 amp sites except maybe a couple of host sites. We had no problem getting to the CG and are 12' 10", there were a couple of places we needed to be careful. A could see where one tree was hit, so best bet is to arrive during daylight. Very quiet location with almost no noise at night except the ocean. Several hiking trails plus the beach and boardwalk. TV via batwing was very good, Verizon cell and broadband both excellent on 4G. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
2 separate campgrounds within the park-the River is shaded and Beach is completely exposed. Park is spread out and we drove a lot but they rent bikes and there is lots to do and see. We stayed at the River Campground and could hear lots of industrial noises at night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
For us, this is an amazing state park. We stayed in site 43. When I made the reservations, I was very disappointed that the ocean side was closed for renovations, but once we got there, we were glad that we came. The live oaks were beautiful and there are a lot of trails. Unfortunately the weekend we came the temperature dropped to the low 30s with high wind gusts. On the river side you are shielded from the high winds by the trees and sand dunes, so we never even noticed the high winds until we got to the pier. Fort Clinch is a lot of fun for history buffs. There was no cable but our antenna picked up about 20 channels. The bathrooms were immaculate and very well heated. There were a few negatives. The angle of our site made it impossible to back in from one direction. We actually had to exit the loop and come in the other way just to make it into the site. They could add some crushed gravel to the sites. They have very fine black sand that gets everywhere. And the dump station is on the road on the right hand side with a pull off that was about only about 20 feet long. This was not very well thought out since trailer valves are usually on the left and most vehicles and trailers are more than 20 feet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$26
We got here about an hour before the gate was to close. They had sites available in the wooded section. Our Fifth Wheel is 11 1/2 ft high. We almost ripped our roof which a branch from a live Oak hanging over the road. My husband stopped in time before it gouged the roof. He had to climb the roof and hold the branch up while I backed up the truck. We stopped at registration and told the ranger the problem. They said the trees should be trimmed at 14 ft clearance. We deciding not to stay as the light was fading and did not want to have more problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$29
This review is about the riverside campground since the beach side was closed due to rebuilding of the comfort house. However we checked this site and found out we wouldn't be able to stay there. Our 5th wheel is 34' and there is no site at the beach campground to accommodate that length. The riverside is nestled far off in the woods and you should be very careful when driving around to find your site. Lots of low branches. In fact we were very lucky not to sheer off our A/C when backing into our site. The site offered water and electric, lots of privacy but no cable and no Wi-Fi (nowhere in the park). We expected a quiet night sleep but were very disappointed by a constant heavy industry noise caused by a nearby pulp mill and a port facility. The second night was a little better, probably due to different wind directions. The bathrooms were the best we've ever seen on a campground. Modern, luxurious and kept clean all the time. Overall if you are not to sensitive regarding noise at night and don't need Wi-Fi for your well being this might be a perfect spot for you. Since our needs are different we won't come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
Florida Senior Resident rate shown is 50% off regular rate. We were in the Amelia River Campground in site #30. If you have a slideout on the driver side that has windows and seating facing out, sites 30 and 39 give a view of the river. If the slideout is on the other side or if you want to sit outside and watch the river traffic, site 40 or 41 is better. The Ocean sites are being redone so were not open. There is a long fishing pier, the fort, a gift shop, beachcombing and unlimited beach fishing either on the river or the ocean. There is also a chance to see a nuclear submarine going to or from Kings Bay, GA on the Amelia River. Television and cellphone reception was very good. There is a convenience store and gas station just East of the park entrance. If you prefer to eat out, there are plenty of restaurants, local and chains, within 5 to 10 minutes. I recommend the Crab Trap downtown. There are excursions available out of downtown Fernandina. Do walk the downtown shops and tourist traps. Golf courses galore. I played the Fernandina Beach course ($30) and enjoyed it also the Amelia National ($85). The Amelia National was the better course, condition and challenges. This was our 4th trip here and we will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Well run by State of Fla. Has great, large waterfront sites on the river. Located within 10 minutes of the ocean. Amazing fishing in lakes, river, and ocean nearby. Very family oriented. City has many things do and see. First week of May impossible to get in due to annual Shrimp Festival. 100,000 people show up for 3 days of shrimp and pirates. Great event, if you can get reservations...plan a year ahead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
This is a beautiful park with some really nice treed sites. We stayed in the River Campground because the Ocean Campground is closed while they build a new bathhouse. The rate shown is 50% off of normal rate because we are senior Florida residents (rate shown includes tax). This park would be especially good if you want to be out in the woods. The campground is 3 miles into the woods from the entrance. There are plenty of walking trails, etc and beautiful sunsets over the river. We were there for 3 days and during that time there was only one other Class A motorhome there but there are plenty of sites that will hold a big rig (we're 40'). I highly recommend this park. We will return. I would have given it a 10 but I like to have WiFi and that is not available. Probably shouldn't expect that out in the boonies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Clean, neat campground. We were on the ocean side and campers came and went the two days we were here. I didn't see any sites that looked lived on. Beach side is closed now for building new bathhouse. Loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We live in Fernandina. We love Fort Clinch but the Ocean side RV sites are not kept up at all. Looks like there are permanent RV sites in places with many vehicles and abandoned RV's. The bath house was yuck and the grounds around it were overgrown. The sites are barren and the pump out station is lacking facilities. The ocean and beach are great and the rest of the park is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$11
This is a very nice park. It has sand roads and sites. I stayed in site 44 and rubbed my roof on a low branch. I will need to repair or replace it. Watch out for the trees. Some sites access will require that you enter the in opposite route than the ranger advises due to sharp curves in road. I did not see any big rigs in the wooded campground. The "Beach" campground sites are all back in and very close to each other. The Beach sites could handle big rigs. The rate listed was for a Florida Senior. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
Wow, a new to us favorite Florida State Park. Thanks to this great posters on this forum we booked the river campground due to the shower house upgrades and they were right, beautiful and clean. GREAT hot water. We were in #44 right across from the bath house. Longer rigs will have trouble backing in here (we are 22' Roadtrek van) but the site is enormous. Not that level although we finally found near-level by parking very close to the side closest to the power. Wonderful wonderful park. We will be back for a longer stay. The Visitors Center very close to the campgrounds has food, ice, etc. All parks should be as nice and camper-friendly as this one is. Good job Florida!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
A great location, but saying that a 40 foot rig can get into one of their big rig spaces on the Amelia River side is really pushing it. Low hanging tree branches make it a chore to get parked on some of the allotted big rig spaces. Easy access to Fort Clinch which is definitely worth the visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Our first trip to this park. It is very beautiful! We stayed on the river side site #51. The showers and restrooms were immaculate and the AC was nice and cold! There are lots of trails and biking. We did neither because it was so hot. We went to the beach. There were not many people at the beach. It wasn't the most beautiful beach, but was fun looking for sharks teeth! The fishing was fantastic just from the surf, and the kids also enjoyed the waves, but not the jellyfish! There seemed to be almost no undertow. It rained some and was like being in a jungle because of the humidity. The state employees at the park were very friendly and helpful. The best bait was Atlantic Bait and Tackle. We did the candle light tour of Fort Clinch. It was well worth it, but very hot! Lots to do in Fernandina Beach historic district, a very old quaint town. A good pizza place is Moon River Pizza off 14th street. The only con was the long drive from the campgrounds to the front gate, but that is very minor. We plan to stay again at this beautiful park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$26
We stayed in the sites by the ocean. It was very windy and cool when we were here. A sub went by when we were here. The washroom and showers in this area are very old, the showers are actually open to the outdoors. We went by the river campground where they have a brand new heated washroom and shower building. Not many Florida State parks have heated washrooms. We stayed here 4 nights. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
The live oak canopy, thickly hung with Spanish moss, created an oasis with protection from the sun and wind. The sites are all spacious and each is bounded by a rail fence. Sites are dirt/sand surface subject to muddiness in the rain; all are back-ins. Each site has at least 30 amp electric service, water and a clothesline. The above description applies only to sites 22-62, in the Amelia River Campground; sites 1-21 in the Beach Campground have no protection from the wind or sun but are paved and right next to the beach. A brand new, immaculate bath house was recently opened near our site in the River Campground, replacing two older facilities. Fernandina Beach has an historic district well worth an afternoon's walkabout. There are nice hiking and mountain biking paths that run roughly parallel to the main road in the park. Fort Clinch was reconstructed by the CCC in the late 1930s and is worth a visit, particularly when re-enactments are done on the first weekend of each month. This park is very popular and visitors are advised to reserve early for weekend use. We would definitely stay here again on another visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
Beautiful state park with nice RV sites. The only thing is there is periodic dredging by the federal government which closes the beach by the ocean sites. Was disappointed but park personnel don't even know when it will happen or how long. Machines and pumps ran all night, was cooler so we didn't hear as much but would be disturbing in warmer weather. Nice fishing pier and the old fort is interesting. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
The ranger was very helpful on our phone conversation. He was willing to stay past closing if we didn't make it in time to check in. The beach sites are paved and although we were not a few feet from the ocean, we were close enough to see it and the boardwalk to the beach was literally at our feet. At the time we stayed there the beach was getting dredged so there was no access. The bathrooms are dated but clean. Open air shower stalls but very roomy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
This campground has 2 sides, a river (shade) and beach (sun). We were in the beach area. The sites are good size and easy to get into, all are back-in. There is no cable or sewer hookup. There is a designated swimming area which is not the beach area right at the camping area. You can drive, walk, or bike to it. We enjoyed this campground immensely. There are lots of opportunities for riding bikes on trail or road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We camped here for 2 nights: and that was not long enough. Very nice campground. The park staff was very friendly and courteous. The restrooms and showers are very modern and clean and also air conditioned makes it nice on hot summer days. The beaches are nice and just across the street is a public swimming pool if you don’t like the ocean. Fernandina Beach has a great historic district with beautiful Victorian homes and shops. The park is really close to all the action but goes back 2 miles so the campground is away from the traffic. We toured the fort with a museum and several “Union Soldiers” from 1864 give visitors a characterization of life at the fort as a northerner stationed in Florida. We did not do the late tour but the first weekend of every month the fort comes alive. The only draw back it the very long road from the campground to the main street: 3 miles and takes a good 10 minutes. Pets are not allowed on the beach in the park but can go to the public beach outside of the park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
There are very large sites, paved road. Most sites are shaded. There are nice bathroom facilities. Washers and dryers are available. There is a loop that is closer to the ocean, but there is no shade and the sites are much closer together. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Fort Clinch State Park is on Amelia Island, the most Northeastern point in Florida with Georgia just across the river. We stayed here last year and found the campsites to be overly shady and damp. When I booked this year we had an idea of the best sites and were able to get a site that has afternoon sun and a great view of the river. The park has beaches on the Atlantic and on Amelia River which is a major port on the Inter-coastal waterway. As a port town Frenandina Beach has a great historic district with beautiful Victorian homes and shops. The park is really close to all the action but goes back 2 miles so the campground is away from the traffic. There are 2 campgrounds, The “Beach” campground that looks out on the dunes and has pathways to the Atlantic beach. There are some tall palm trees but very little shade and the grounds around it are sand, scrub palm and lots of cactus. We were in the “River” campground that goes down to the Amelia River but the sites are heavily shaded and has Live Oak Trees dripping with Spanish moss. The sites vary in size but are difficult to negotiate because of the overhanging trees. We gouged our roof with a branch when trying to park the RV. Facilities are adequate, clean. Staff were helpful. Fort Clinch is an real fort that was first built during the Revolutionary War, was used during the civil war and was decommissioned after WW-II. There is an interesting fort with a museum and a “Union Soldier” from 1864 who gives visitors a characterization of life at the fort as a northerner stationed in Florida. He was very entertaining. It is maintained as it was during the Civil War period. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$22
We camped here for 2 nights, and it was not long enough. Very beautiful campground and quiet, too. The park staff was very friendly and courteous. One of the volunteers, which was picking up trash from the vacant campsites, said that the restrooms and showers were re-done about 3 years ago. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$24
There are two campsites, each with their own characteristics. I camped in both the River Site and The Beach Site. The River Sites feature lush tree cover and a beautiful woods backdrop. The River Sites feature a brand new bathhouse with heat and better tiling than some homes. I was so impressed. On day three I moved to the beach and the area features sandy stone sites with limited esthetic appeal except the beach. The river area is much more cozy and relaxing. Easy drive in and drive out in our 35' motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
The only reason this is not a ten is the bath rooms and showers on the beach sights are not heated. The river sights are just very fine dirt. It was dry when we were there but the river camp sights would turn to sticky mud if it rains. The beach side spots are shell and sand. So you have a choice. A really nice shower and rest rooms on the river side or better parking spots on the beach side as far as tracking dirt into your RV. But the showers are not heated on the beach side and it was about 40 degrees while we were there. The showers and rest rooms on the river side could be in any five star resort. I was told that the same was coming for the beach side camp ground. Also the parking spots are a lot bigger on the river side and a lot more private. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
We did not stay here, but previewed it as a possible place to stay while visiting friends on Amelia Island. Tell the gate guard you want to preview the camping sites to avoid paying the $5 entrance fee and you'll get a 30 minute pass. The park is beautiful with a canopy of Oak trees & moss completely across the main entrance road to RV parking. But because of the tree canopy over the road, I would not take my 40' RV into this park. I did see 3 35 foot (or so) RV's on the beach side camping area and just wondered how he made it to the parking spot without taking off an Air conditioner on the roof. He must have done lots of careful weaving through the over hanging tree limbs that's for sure. If I were in a Class C or smaller, I would stay here because of the scenery, but as with most state parks - not easy access for "big rig" motorhomes. No sewer here either, but a dump station close by on premises. That's my 2¢. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
We had site #13 on the beach side for our second visit. Park was great. They have added a very nice pullout to view the lighthouse, and a new bathhouse in river side. We did not tour the fort this trip but did go to a ranger program on building kites. Program was well run and ranger was personable. Our site was nice and spacious though they do not mow the grass between sites so in summer expect knee high grass with ants. Shelling was fabulous due to tropical storm Fay. They were the largest we had ever seen before. Waves were also great on the beach for boogie boarding. There is no swimming near the beach side campground, but it is a short walk to the public beach area. The bathhouse at the beach side is very old, maybe the CCC built it? Hopefully they will get enough in the budget to replace it soon. There are numerous things to do from bicycling, running, trails, fort tours to chilling on the beach. Definitely will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
The best campground for the money we have stayed. Newest & cleanest bathrooms of any campground. Lot's of fishing available & the beach or river loop. Stays full so book in advance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Follow the directions from the website not the GPS and even then it can get confusing to find it. Nice drive in the park to find the campground loop near the beach and fishing pier. This park has over 1,427 acres with live oaks draped with Spanish Moss which makes biking the roads very comfortable. Offers great wildlife viewing. You can swim in the ocean at the beach site but at the other campground which is shaded and along the river you can also swim there. The park is the Gateway Station to the Great Florida Birding Trail. It is also known for shark tooth hunting and shelling along the beaches. The rangers were very nice and we had an enjoyable time. If you haven’t camped here before you should try it out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
Great park. It is a short walk to the water. On the ocean side campground camping is right across the dune from the beach. No shade is available on the ocean campground. The bath house on the river campground is new and wonderfully clean. The only complaint would be that they have a sign saying it is closed between 10 and 2 for cleaning. You never know when they will show up during that time and one afternoon at 2:20 I was still waiting for them to finish up cleaning. That is a lot of time to have a bath house out of commission with a full campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
We were at the Atlantic beach campsite. Nice natural setting just 70 yards or so from the water; nice to hear the pounding surf at night as you're drifting off to sleep. However, no shade, and no screening of any kind between sites. Showers and bathrooms not entirely enclosed; we didn't use them, wouldn't want to. This was the biggest defect in our opinion. Also, the "laundromat" was a bad joke--one washing machine and one dryer, both outdoors! Still, nice overall for short stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
The campground had no sewers. That is a negative for me. The restrooms were old and antiquated, but were clean. No A/C and rough wood doors. Our site was on the Atlantic loop, we backed up to the dunes, and it was a reasonable walk to the beach. The beach was very nice and we enjoyed walking it. There is another loop, the river loop that fronts on the Amelia river. Those sites have a lot more shade and separation than the sites on the Atlantic loop. The fishing pier is under repair and will not be open for some time. There are extensive biking opportunities, both on and off road. Some nice nature trails and an old civil war fort. If you like the beach and non-resort type camping this is a good place and good value for the money. The old town of Fernandina Beach offers some nice shopping and nice restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
A beautiful park just outside of a wonderful small town. The restrooms were a year old so they were in impeccable condition. The campground offered so many wonderful things to do - nature hikes and talks, biking, beach area that is beautiful, the fort to hike to and visit. All in all this is on our list of favorite campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$21
We stayed in the Atlantic Beach CG which is our favorite at Ft. Clinch. While this is an oceanside campground you are separated from the ocean by high dunes so you can't actually see it, but the sound of the surf is wonderful. Our only negative about this campground concerns the bathrooms. For all intent and purposes, they are outside. There is a roof but, especially in the showers, you are pretty much exposed to the elements. We don't use either so this didn't really affect our stay. Washers and dryers are available in the bath area. Amelia River Campground is much larger and more shaded but we have not stayed there so am unable to comment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Nice new bath house (in the river camping area) is great! We had #29 and it allowed us to fit our 37 foot 5th wheel just fine. Great location and close to fun things to do. Well worth the trip! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
We stayed in the riverside campground and would have stayed longer but they do not offer full hookups. The bath house is like new and was always clean during the week. The weekend visitors trashed it out daily. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
Excellent RV Park!! I would stay here again. The only thing keeping this from being a 10 is lack of sewer at the site. There is a dump station for both the Ocean and River Campground but no sites with sewer hookups. Great scenery and lots of wildlife we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
Very nice, large park. The facilities were very well kept. Majority of the sites are large with a lot of beautiful, big oak trees in between each site. All the sites are wide; however, some of them are shallow. The sunsets are beautiful over the river. We will return to this campground several times a year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
We stayed on the river side, very nice large sites. A lot of people tenting and very noisy in the evening. Plenty to do, Fort Clinch very nice, bring mosquito repellant. Site 27 very private We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Of all the campgrounds we have stayed at this is our favorite. This is not an RV resort but is a rustic State Park that allows you to camp in a secluded area right on the river. All of the spaces are fairly shaded and are large. Even though we enjoyed the comforts of our TT we still felt like we were camping. Great area to walk and ride bikes and the bathrooms were clean. One word of caution; you are in the woods and there are lots of racoons. We made the mistake of leaving a cooler full of food out by the side of our trailer, and by morning everything was gone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Big rigs can get into the River Campground, but, are better suited in the Atlantic Campground. The restroom/showers were new and excellent. It rained each day we were there, but, only for a short time. It is a great place to ride bikes. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
This is the most beautiful park I've visited. The scenery and seclusion is awesome. The staff and volunteer hosts are extremely courteous. This park is not a resort with concrete pads and amenities, but as to natural beauty is second to none I've visited. The sunset overlooking the Amelia River is a gift from God! Great place to ride bikes. The fort is an interesting visit. We plan to return again. Can't wait. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$24
This is a great park. The restroom facility in the River Camping area is brand new and spotless. They also installed brand new washers and driers the second day we were there. I wouldn't consider either the beach camping loop or the river loop "waterfront." The majority of the river loop sites are large and easily accommodate large motor homes although the top clearance is close on some sites. The sites have a lot of privacy and the area is thick with saw palmetto and live oak. Most of the sites look very level to me and it was not necessary on our site (#24) to adjust the side-to-side level. The sites have fire rings on concrete bases which makes for terrible draft and it can be difficult to get a nice fire going. Overall this is a "10" campground if you like nature and quiet. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
There are 2 very different campgrounds here. The river CG is more for smaller rigs and the beach campground handles bigger rigs. We stayed at the beach campground which is a short walk to the ocean. There is no shade so summer stays could be very hot. The bath house needs updating but all in all, a great place. The state park has lots of trails plus a civil war fort to explore. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$22
A very nice campground in a location with a wealth of history. Civil War Fort Clinch is within the park. The campground is nice, but could use some improvements. We stayed in the river campground, so this review is about that section. All the sites are dirt, which when wet can be a real mess going in and out of your camper. The sites need to be leveled better and at least have some form of gravel put down. Trees at some sites need to be trimmed some, due to dragging on top of your camper. A new bath house has just been built and is really nice. Some of the sites are small, so check the Reserve America web site to make sure your camper will fit the site. The dump station is on the wrong side when you are leaving, so you have to circle the campground to be able to use it. With a few upgrades, this would be a super nice campground. The camphosts were real nice and helpful. Check out the historic section of town, a lot of history here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$23
Park overall is great, a beautiful treasure. The only downside we found was that the Beach sites bathrooms were really old. So old that the showers were added on and they are outside of the bathrooms. They have laundry facilities at bath houses. Beach is beautiful and uncrowded because the public access is 1 mile down the road. Sites are sand, have grills, and picnic tables. Trash is away from the sites. At beach sites there is no vegetation between, but in River there is lots of foliage and shade for privacy. All RV's can fit into Beach but not all can fit in River sites. River also has a brand new bathhouse. There are 2 dump stations one in Beach and one in River. Beach one is easier to access. Park has a historic fort, store, gift shop, playground (near river sites), hiking and biking trails. Lots of shells on beaches. Check web page because almost every weekend there is a program at the fort. Sometimes it is interpretive and sometimes not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
The best place we have ever camped. Quiet, beach access, fishing, and lots of wildlife. Great for walking and biking. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
We camped at the Beach Campground. There is a boardwalk from the campground that leads to the ocean. The bath house was old, but clean. The park is in the process of replacing the bath house in the River Campground. The night tour of the fort was awesome. This was our second time, but not our last. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
We stayed on the ocean side. The sites lack shade, but this wasn't a problem when we were here. The shower is open to the outside, something to consider if it's cool. We enjoyed hiking in the park and watching the submarines coming into the river from the ocean. The park is gated, and quiet at night. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$23
We loved this park and wanted to stay longer, but the Park is pretty much booked ahead all the time according to the workers. We were on the river side, where the canopy of trees was so pretty. Each site is marked with a railing fence and lots of undergrowth which we really liked for the privacy. Of course, that be a problem later in warmer weather due to bugs! The sites were very large with lots of room. The river is so pretty with lots of room for walks and shelling. There is a swimming area and a fishing pier. Several people were fishing, but not with much luck. The restrooms were very clean even if they are older, and the laundry area was clean, too. The only problem we found was the powdery sand that really made your feet dirty and was easy to track in the RV. We are diffinetely coming back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$24
It's three miles to the river area campground on a very pretty road with a fairly dense tree canopy overhead. At some points the overhead and side branches are too low to provide good clearance for a full sized motorhome. The two campgrounds are completely different. The Amelia river campground is densely wooded with very large sites and good privacy. The beach is a short distance away and has an incredible variety of seashells. We really liked site #24, it was level packed sand, deep enough for our 30 ft class A and very wide and private. Bathhouses a bit outdated but clean with plenty of hot water and hooks in the shower for your stuff. Men's showers and one of the women's showers do not have a private dressing area. One bathhouse had two sets of washer/dryers for laundry (cold water only). The dump in the river camping area can only be reached when entering the campground so if you want to dump before you leave you pretty much have to make two passes through the sites. The beach camping area is completely open and doesn't offer any privacy or shade but it has a great fishing pier and the sound of the ocean. The fort was fantastic, well worth the extra $2/person. We also liked nearby Fort Caroline NM and Kingsley Plantation in the Timucuan NP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$24
Great park for families although there are not amusement activities (playgrounds) for children. Campsites are divided between the Atlantic Beach area with fishing pier, ocean beach, and no shade; and the Amelia River area with jungle setting and riverfront (no swimming due to current). Six miles of bicycle/hiking trails. Separate in-line skate trail and Civil War era fort within park. Ultra-clean bathrooms but not heated. Close to town. I would expect the Amelia River sites to be super-buggy in the summer, but it is Florida. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com