214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Grandpa's Farm Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (765) 962-7907
CGID4597

Grandpa's Farm Campground

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   8   8   6   5   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
[Deferred Resubmission] of {[Deferred Resubmission] of {Nice park close to internet...quite, clean would stay again} Nice park close to interstate...quite, clean would stay again. gravel sights. good for overnight stay} We stopped at the park for 1 night and traveled on. Very clean park and the gravel sites were level and not necessarily large. Would stay again for an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Nice local campground, good for an overnight. Two mile from I70, stone and grass full hookups. Could not get on Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Very nice small family-run campground just a couple miles off I-70. (AUGUST 2013 ALERT: I-70 in Richmond is in horrible shape. Pay very close attention to the flashing boards/signs warning of "rough pavement ahead". There's a particularly bad spot on the right edge of the right westbound lane right before this campground's Exit 153. You WILL sustain damage if you hit this and some of the other bad spots at full speed. Stay well behind a semi and keep an eye on it - you'll see it swerve or hop if it hits it ,and you can react accordingly. The bad spots seem to be near bridges. Eastbound lanes are just as bad/worse! You'll see truck/car parts all over the place just past the bad spots.) The campground has a nice assortment of shaded or full-sun transient sites. Some sites can be tricky backing in with the big trees, but the owner will accompany you and advise accordingly; they know what they're talking about! Pool and surrounding area were spotless despite heavy use. Owners were very visible, going around keeping an eye on things, but NOT acting crabby/police-like like some other campgrounds we've been to. Extensive playground directly across from some sites. Easy access to the White River (actually a shallow creek in that area) for wading, crawdad hunting, etc. Our site 54 backed up to the creek and heavy woods - very nice in late August with all the bug/frog sounds at night. Hard-packed gravel interior roads and pads/sites. Other reviews mentioned the state highway right next to the campground. We were in the "back" where most of the transient sites are and really didn't notice it too much. What we did notice was the nearby church's outdoor service at 8:15am Sunday. Holy Moses! (pun intended) Their music was loud and "boomy" with heavy base - vibrated right through our newer 5th wheel and woke us up! We thought it was some idiot teenager in his car or something! And to think the first time we drove by, we thought "Gateway Vineyard" was where we could do some wine tasting, LOL! Since it was a church service, after all, I guess we won't hold that against the campground. The seasonal sites appeared neat, well-maintained, and occupied by newer/well-maintained units. We will be back to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Spaces are a little tight, and some of the transient spots are right next to the highway that runs by the campground. Overall this campground is very nice and comfortable. They have a nice pool and the park is well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Just a quick overnight, but the park was good for a night to relax as we were heading to Mo. and had tire problems. Lady that checked us in was very accommodating and friendly. Grand daughter enjoyed the pool. The seasonals were very welcoming. The internet was nonexistent. Nice size pull through site, but a little noisy as the main road was right behind us. Good access to Rt. 70. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Shore Power 50/30/20 in our site #20. This site as well as others are right along side the road past the park. Daytime road noise is distracting. Water is good but from a well. Water pressure is 40 PSI. Sewer is good. Road into park is paved but short. Roads inside park are gravel. Sites are gravel. This park was a farm some years ago and was made into an RV park. The sites were carved out and squeezed around making them located in very unusual places. The site we were in you have to park the trailer back a long way and park up front. This provides easy access. If you park the trailer up front for easy access to services then you must park behind the trailer and back up along 4 or 5 sites to get out. Verizon and Sprint Air Cards have weak signals. Campground Wi-Fi work very well at our site but we are right by the antenna. AT&T cell phone signal is good. No cable TV. There are a number of long term tenants, which were very neat. Our location can get satellite access but those in the back of the campground will have trouble because of trees. Sites are close but have enough room to extend awning. Good Sam Discounts and AAA but that is all. Payment with credit cards accepted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
We stopped for one night while returning home from the east. Park was very clean and well maintained. There is no store to speak of and we did not use any of the other facilities. We were disappointed with the Wi-Fi as it was less than reliable. About half the park appears to be permanent units, but they all looked clean and and well kept. Our site was easy to access and very level. We will use this park again if traveling through or even if we were staying in the area for few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Great location for over night stay. Easy access from Interstate. Pull through sites. Family own easy check in. Led to site by owner. Seasonal camper were all friendly. Will use this campground again for stop over spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Close to a road that was fairly quiet but every once in a while the noise was noticeable. The choice of trees in each site was questionable. Chestnuts and walnuts. You can imagine the sound of the fruits on the camper roof at night!! The other hazard was trying to walk on the walnuts in the campsite. The people were quite nice. It was fine for an overnight stay but that was all that I would want. The bathrooms were clean but only the basics. Two showers (one behind the other). Luckily the campground was not crowded. Laundry was nice and clean. Again, an overnight stay would be fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This CG is an easy on/off from I-70. There is a local road to the front of the CG but there is very little traffic. The office person was very friendly. The roads and sites are gravel but level. There are some long term residents but they were very nice and polite. The CG is very quite and dark at night. If you request a pull thru, don't go on #1. To the rear of that site is a burner that is used to heat the pool, hot tub and part of the owner's house. It constantly smokes and when the wind shifted, it came in the coach. We close the windows but we could still smell it thru the roof vents. They do recycle cans but not paper and plastic. We would stay here again but not on #1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Nice park convenient to I-70 traveling with an easy overnight stop. Pool was appreciated during these mid 90 degree days, as was a partially shaded pull through site with full hookups. No cable, but could get 22 clear stations on just the antenna. Wi-Fi quick connect and fast. Many permanents in the park. Only complaint was the noise of state road 227 only feet from the rear of our site. There are quieter sites towards the back near the tiny little shallow stream, but they are 30 amp and back ins. Extra 5 bucks for 50 amp sites, but was needed in the summer heat. Nice owners on site that guide you in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
Beautiful, shady park with very helpful owners. It is clean!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
This is a very shaded park. Very nice for those hot days. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
We enjoyed Grandpa's campground for 7 nights, that included the 4th of July weekend. The owners had plenty of activities planned, and the pool was opened for adult swimming in the afternoon. You feel right at home from the time you arrive until you check out. When we are back in the area we will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We camped here in a Class C for an overnight. It's fine for that. Sites were crowded, but clean, and the bathroom was clean. Friendly staff. We were right next to the road, which was a bit busy, but we managed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We camped here in a 40' motorhome and were able to get into a site without disconnecting our toad. Sites are close together and the park is very crowded. We were here years ago and it was just a small, quiet country park, but that is not the case now. Road noise, as the previous reviewer stated, is definitely a problem, as we too are right next to the highway. There are several campfires going and we had to close all our windows due to the smoke. This must be a weekend getaway for the locals, as there are kids everywhere. WiFi works fine at our site. We would stay here again if we had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
We camped here in a 40 ft. Motorhome and that is the top length they should take. We had a couple of times where we barely eased through. Since we were staying two nights they put us in a pull through near front of park. Road noise was a real problem. The back of the coach was so near the highway we could tell what the driver was wearing. The lady in office was rather snippy when asked on the phone about road noise and was very unfriendly when we arrived. The other problem we had was the sites were so close to each other that our coach filled with smoke from a neighbors fire. The weather was cool so everyone had fires going snd we left after only one night just to get out of the smoke and noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
The campground was very clean and quiet. Being a holiday weekend, we were thrilled to be able to not have to commit to a three day stay. The owners/staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the campground was lovely with all of its trees. It is a very family friendly campground, with a lot of scheduled activities. We were fortunate to get a site that allowed us to park without detaching the towed vehicle (we're in a 40 foot motorhome) and have satellite access from the roof antenna. I think that 40 feet is pretty much as large as the campground can easily handle, but we didn't have any problems, just some white knuckle moments. If our schedule dictated, we would come back here in an instant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Nice shady,somewhat quiet park. Appears to have a good number of campers from the local area. Pretty good Wi-Fi considering what a lot of others have. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We were here for a week over Memorial Day weekend. We had wanted to stay closer to Cincinnati to go to a ballgame, but due to the holiday weekend this was as close as we could get - and are we glad. This is one of the prettiest parks we have been in. The owners seem to never stop working. They ask you follow the rules which only makes for a very enjoyable visit. They went out of their way on a couple occasions to help us out and it was very much appreciated. They gave a hay ride across the river and into the farm on the weekend, which was so much fun. Our spot was on the road which had a lot of construction traffic which was quite noisy during the day, but that is by no means the owners fault. We will tell everyone we know about this place and we will absolutely return here when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Nice, clean, small RV park. We stayed here 2 weeks. Owners are very friendly. The road in front of the park was very busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
We camped here with family. The park is nice and the owners are friendly and keep things under control, even on a busy holiday weekend. Quiet time starts at 11:00PM and it is enforced. Their rates are very reasonable, they have a game room with free ping pong, $0.50 pool, and all of their video games and pinball machines are only a quarter. The pool is nice and clean, although a bit small, but does have a diving board. They had a number of activities including a hay ride, garage sale, bingo, and free canoing on Saturday. All in all this is a really great bargain for a family oriented campground. The only drawbacks are: sites are pretty small, roads and pads are all gravel, and some of the seasonal units are showing their age. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
We stayed here twice in 2008 and found the park to be clean and well run. The owners are very nice and very helpful, which is what made us return. There is a good sized pool and an interesting video/game room (popular w/teenagers). The pull-thru sites by the highway are a little noisy and automobile lights at night shine in your RV. The sites down by the river are very nice and much quieter, with good shade and easy river access. The WiFi is fragile. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
This is one of our favorite parks. Family owned and operated by a husband and wife that are friendly and active. Quiet hours enforced, lots of weekend activities for kids and adults. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
North on SH 227 2mi CG backs up to hwy and lots of noise from the many dump trucks going back in forth and they start at 7am CG has nice trees, sites are a tight with limited FHU. There were many junkie sites from weekender's. The campground appears to be a fun place for kids and grandkids with a small creek in the rear. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Friendly owners, older CG with lots of seasonals (kept tidy), clean restrooms, not much road noise due to country location. Most sites small & close together; those along stream have levee between them & water. Not much room for really big rigs. Camped here in a driving rainstorm so didn't have much opportunity to enjoy what it has to offer, just a good port in the storm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
We stayed for 1 night in a pull-thru site, with full hookups. We have a 41' 5th wheel and a medium duty truck. We were escorted to our site, without any issues. They have narrow gravel roads and level sites. It is located 2 miles from I-70. The owner is very friendly. We would stay here again. Also the free Wi-Fi is being upgraded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
Excellent family ran campground. Very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
We only stayed one night while traveling thru on I-70, but this campground was very nice and only two miles off the interstate. The owners are quite friendly and welcoming. Park is located near several RV mega dealers in Richmond We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com