218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Redstone Arsenal Campground (Military Camping Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (256) 876-4868
CGID46

Redstone Arsenal Campground (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   9   9   9   7   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Very nice campground. Well kept and convenient to the PX and Commissary. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Large cement hard stands, well maintained and easy access to the park. Liked the process of paying over the phone and eliminated having to try to find the campground office; just pull in and set up. Would definitely stay here again, close proximity to all facilities needed on the post. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Other than a lack of shade/trees of any size, this park is outstanding. As others have said, the sites are huge, level paved pull-throughs. If you are looking for a place to park your mobile hotel room, this is definitely the place. The PX and commissary are nearby, which is nice. If you're looking to camp, the nearby state park is the better choice. We stopped here enroute home to take the kids to the space center. The laundry and bath houses are spotless. We would absolutely stay here again. If there was more shade/vegetation between the sites, I'd give it a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
We enjoyed our stay at this park very much. The guards at the gates were very helpful with directions since we came into a gate that wasn't near the RV park and were new to the base. This is the newer of the two RV parks Redstone has. The spaces were pull-through, paved, level and large enough for our 27' travel trailer, tow vehicle and the picnic table to remain on the pad. Commissary and exchange are both really close by. There is a fenced in dog run area with fake fire hydrants and a doggie water fountain. They are also gracious enough to provide bags to clean up after your dog, but many previous dog owners chose not to use them. The laundry facilities were clean and had four washers and dryers. Was $1.00/load to wash and same to dry. It was very quiet. Never saw the camp host, but there was a fifth wheel labeled host. The folks in the MWR office seemed a little bit not-quite-together when it came time to take my reservations, but we got to the site number they gave us, set up and never had an issue. All hookups were well-placed and worked fine. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
For those eligible to camp on Redstone Arsenal, this is the best place to stay and visit the area, being close to town and next to the Space Center museum and IMAX. The visitor center has parking room for big rigs in the rear of the parking lot while obtaining your base pass. Campground has gravel roads which can have dust but very large concrete pads with full hookups and a picnic table. Has grass between sites and some trees. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
There are two campgrounds which can be used by Active Duty, National Guard, Reservists, Retired, 100% DAV, DoD Civilians. The RV Park ($20/night) is close to PX and Commissary and down town. I have stayed at the RV Park several times during the last year. In Spring of 2009 the RV Park expanded and added several new RV Pads now 40+. New this year is a fenced in dog run, as well as large covered picnic shelter. Plus, they re-landscaped the grassy areas, between pads. I have never used the WI-FI at the RV Park. Post gas station may or may not be the best price; watch the signs off post before you arrive. The other / older campground is next to Tennessee River Campground ($8/night). It's much more remote and has boat launch ramps into the TN river. It's pads are good for small pop-up and smaller travel trailers. There are only a few pads that fit 30+ travel trailers. This campground & access roads are subject to flooding so be mindful of weather. Plus there are more site specific power problems at this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
We stayed in the RV Park and had the largest pad we have ever had in our 2 years of traveling. Room for our motorhome and our towed trailer with room to spare both lengthwise and widthwise. it's close to commissary and PX. Putting in a new laundry facility that wasn't quite finished when we left. Water pressure excellent. AT&T Air card worked well. Location excellent. Not many trees for shade. Plenty of room between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
If you want to be 'downtown' Huntsville, but feel like you're in the trees, and like convenient freeway access, with shaded, large, relatively level sites you'll like it here. It's a nice, or nicer than Monte Sano, without the mountain to try your transmission. It does have tons of kids; Space Campers testing air rockets and making lots of noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Technically this is two campgrounds. They are both restricted to DOD/Military Personnel. They refer to the one next to the Tennessee River as "the Campground" and the one in the middle of the post as "the RV Park". We stayed one night in the campground in site 1 which did not have sewer. It was beautiful but pretty rustic. The second night we were able to get a huge pull through in the RV Park. It is not as scenic but much more functional for a big rig. $20 in the RV park and $8 in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$5
Never saw anybody servicing or patrolling the area. No control over who parks where. Site you pay for may be occupied when you get to the campground. Mosquitos are terrible! No emergency phone service. Operated by the Army. Open only to authorized DOD people. Large rigs may be able to negotiate the front sites but with some difficulty. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com