218071 User submitted reviews online!!
San Clemente State Beach was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (949) 492-3156
CGID460

San Clemente State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   8   8   8   5   9   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
This campground has two areas, the full hookup area (where the sites are quite close together with little privacy or space) and the no hookup area (which has more room between sites and is closer to the ocean). We really liked being able to walk on the coast path to the pier (about a mile). If I were to stay here again, I would probably opt to take a site in the lower section without hookups; especially, if I could get one of the sites right on the bluff overlooking the ocean. All-in-all a very decent place if you want to be on the OC coast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$47
Nice pull-through with full hook ups. Beach is just a short walk away. Very nice wide sites with table & fire ring. Only drawback is that there is absolutely no grass, no wood chips, just dirt. But the sites are paved and level and it is a really pretty spot. We are 45 foot long and there is plenty of room for us and our Jeep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$47
Roads and sites are paved. Each site has a picnic table and fire pit. Decent site separation even in the full hook up sites. The FHU sites are in rows and don't have a lot of privacy. The no hook up sites are spread around a bluff and some have excellent ocean views but are for smaller rigs. You can hear Interstate 5 24 hours a day. Once you walk down the bluff to the beach you can only hear the ocean, not the freeway! We had fair 4G Verizon signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$31
This is one of our favorite parks in southern California. Nice facilities and great sunsets with Catalina Island sometimes in sight. This is one of the few state beaches or parks with full hookups available. The rate is with a California Disabled Discount Card. BTW, there is a disabled veterans card available that allows camping with no fees. The only problem we have ever had here is getting reservations. This is also one of the few California State Parks where you can reserve. Reservations for a specific site become available six months before your planned date. For example reservations during June can't be made until the 1st day of January. Reservations are made through reserveamerica.com, and you need to make reservations as soon as they are available. Week ends fill up fast. Stays are limited to 7 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$60
Nice facility. Large sites. A short walk down the bluff to the beach. Great restaurants in downtown San Clemente. The beach trail starts just down the hill from the park, so you can ride bikes along the beach to the pier. Very clean, and the park staff takes good care of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
The park is located on a bluff overlooking the ocean. There are a couple paved trails down to the beach. I would estimate approximately 1/4 mile down to beach. We stayed for one night. It’s a popular RV park so obtaining reservations can be difficult. Most of the sites are drive through and paved. Each spot that I observed had a picnic table and fire pit ring. The spot we stayed at had electric (30/50 amp) water and sewer connections. Some sites don't have these amenities. The bathrooms/showers are clean. Showers will cost you 25 cents for 2 1/2 minutes. I saw no grocery stores or restaurants within walking distance to the park. We will plan a return trip and bring the bikes next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Really nice park for beach views from bluffs which the park sits on. It's a short walk down 1 of 2 steep paved walks to the sand. The beach is very nice and wasn't busy at all. All view sites are in the non hook-up area of the park. The hook-up sites are all pull-through and are OK, but certainly nothing special and not at all private. The three nicest hook-up sites that are closest to the bluff just happen to be occupied by the volunteer campground hosts. If I were to ever stay here again I would stay in the non hook-up for view and a bit more privacy. There are showers and flush toilets there also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
Beautiful location but a bit pricey. The park is located on a bluff overlooking the ocean. Most of the pull through sites are further away from the cliff, so the view isn't as good. I believe most of the dry camping is located closest to the water. Decent showers but they are nothing fancy and are pay for use. The town of San Clemente is close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$60
Were it not for the near ocean location this place would not be worth stopping at. The asphalt pads are in very poor condition with deep dents from tires and jacks. The only plants on the ground are weeds that stick in your socks and pets paws. There is some freeway noise. The good news is there is a great walking path right next to the ocean to the pier (2 miles one way) and places to eat. You can take the train to San Diego or Orange Co. cities and on to Los Angeles from the pier for nice day trips. Overall it's a $10 park with a $50 location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$60
There are 72 full hook up pull through sites available. Sites 57-72 are 40ft or less in length but all of the rest are 60ft plus. All pads are paved, reasonably level and wide enough for slides both sides. There is some freeway noise but is reduced the further west your site is located. The park was full on a Saturday late in Feb but only ¼ full Sunday. I reserved on line and my CA Distinguished Veterans Pass reduced the $60 park fee to $0. This park is much better than the San Mateo State campground just south of here on the other side of the freeway which is back in only, no sewer and the same price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$60
We got here a day early and was able to get our same site. Cash or check at front booth (we paid CC through ReserveAmerica for our scheduled nights). We stayed in #67 which is on the north end, but it’s shorter than the other rows, so our TT barely fit perpendicularly. It’s a great location except for some freeway noise. Very easy access to the beach via a 5-10 minute walk. Some train noise, but a fair amount of thunderous artillery from Camp Pendleton. A little on the expensive side for a basic site. We’d stay again in warmer weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Nice state park. Plenty of space between sites and there were shade trees throughout. Had site 155 which was a back-in but double wide, so parked extra vehicle next to motorhome. Nothing much more to say except it was quiet except for a bit of highway noise from I-5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$65
We have stayed at this park every spring break for the past 6 years. It is a bit of a hike down and back up to the beach, but it is well worth the effort. Prices have gone up quite a bit the past couple of years, but the park is still worth the money. There is a bit of freeway noise, but the campground is pretty clean and offers great ocean views. It can be pretty difficult to get reservations and the beach is usually very crowded during the summer months. This is our family's favorite park in the Southern California area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$60
The only thing we didn't like about this park was that there where few camp site with views of the ocean and the hike down to the beach was a little difficult for me and my wife who are in our sixties. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$60
It is a nice park but overpriced for what you get. It is a bit of a hike to the beach. You can tell that the State has cut back on their budget for State Parks as the grounds maintenance seems to be lacking. It is crowed on weekends but hardly anyone camps during the week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$60
It's great to have full hookups close to the beach. Sites were clean, well maintained and decent size. I enjoyed my site #66 on the outer loop, which provided a nice view of the ocean, though not the beach. It is a few minutes walk down a relatively steep path (one steeper than the other) to the beach. I took the less steep one and it wasn't that difficult at all. The beach is OK but not spectacular. Waves were good enough to attract a large number of surfers. I saw a few sites in the non-hookup section with excellent view of the beach. I enjoyed camping here and plan to return in the Summer. Oh, and the ranger at the entrance station was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$60
Good beach campsite. Easy walk to the beach. Large pull through sites, wide roads. Not crowded during the winter. We have camped here several times and will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Excellent! Full hook ups at a state beach, rare, people were nice, sites are large, other campers respectful, close to San Clemente Pier, Laguna Beach and many area attractions. Have stayed here many times before and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We stayed at the bluff side of this campground on 7/24/09. The group next to our site had 14 people in a space that was supposed to have no more than 8 people. They then proceeded to party like loud rock stars until 2:30 a.m. We didn’t bother staying our 2nd night. Definitely a lack of ranger patrol! On the positive side it was a great location and the campground and bathrooms were clean. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
Wow, great park. Lots of room for the kids to ride their bikes and play in the adjoining hiking trails. Don't let the walk to the beach scare you, the paved path is well maintained and not difficult to manage (even pulling a cooler). The beach itself is clean and not rocky at the waterline at all! We will certainly be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
The restrooms never got cleaned in the 2 days we stayed here, restocked yes but never cleaned. The same dirty band aid was still on the floor as when we left. Black mold was all over the walls, trash never cleaned up inside and outside the restrooms. The check in staff were very good but the staff inside the campground most unfriendly and not a happy smile to be seen. The sites are very spacious but children wander around the sites with no respect for any privacy and do tend to be noisy. Large fires at almost every site even thou the temp was in the 85 plus area, I am unable to understand why people have 5 foot flames on hot nights, fires for marshmallows and cooking but not high flame thrower fires. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
One of the few state parks that are easy access for big rigs. We liked this place and would stay again. One caution: two of my neighbors had their coolers stolen ( one had beer in it & the other food) during the night. Lock up anything that someone can carry away. Park rangers said, "It was common." Sigh. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
Our site was fairly narrow, as were most of the sites. We had a glimpse of the ocean but could only hear passing traffic. The sunsets were spectacular though. It has mild coastal temps and is close to stores and services. This is a good summer get away, but plan early as this location fills up fast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
This is the first time we stayed here. It is a California State Park so getting a reservation is almost impossible, however, with that said we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. All the RV sites are big roomy pull-throughs with enough room for an extra vehicle and a tent. The fresh clean ocean air is fabulous. The restrooms and showers are immaculate and the staff we encountered were very nice. The only draw back is the very steep, long walk to and from the beach as the campground is way up on the bluff/cliff. The view is incredible but the walk down to the beach is not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$28
This campground is ultra-convenient during my winter visits of nearby relatives. It is located on a bluff above the fabulous San Clemente Beach, which makes for amazing walks and great surfing (Requires a 10-minute walk down a fairly steep incline to the beach). Fisherman's restaurant at the pier is awesome and only 25 minutes walk along the beach. Sites have full hookups and 50 amps. Some of the sites in the front row of the hookup area have an awesome 'Catalina Sunset' view, but they are also the shortest of the sites, and sometimes they get picky about not letting you park your car on the dirt. The negatives - sites are fairly close together; besides the front row there is no view except if the place is uncrowded; it is full just about every weekend all year, and all summer days, booked months in advance, it can be a major hassle to try and camp here without reservations - they make people come back the next morning, wait in lines, do ridiculous raffles, etc. And getting in and out of the park can be time consuming if there is an incompetent and/or inconsiderate gatehouse attendant. Warning - the ATT wifi only works halfway consistently near the gate house, is expensive, and is not maintained well by the staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$29
WiFi available in vicinity of gatehouse. We could only stay in our campsite for one night as the registration person did not know if anyone had reserved that site for any future nights. Next morning found out it indeed was reserved and had to move to another site. California state park system needs to change this! Sites are pull throughs in the RV section. Lot of dogs not on leashes during our stay. Train tracks between park and beach, but did not hear much noise. However, campsites close to gatehouse did get some noise from the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
We stayed in the Handicapped spot, which was pretty far from any view of the ocean. Next time we will camp in a regular spot closer to the (far away) view. Spots 1-26 look good. Spot 81 looks very good, but it is in the no hookups area. The tent camping spots are the best and all are very spacious. The hook up spots are lined up next to each other but are roomy. We really liked this area. Just below the campground (It's a short drive) is a great beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Check in was very fast, efficient, and smooth. The park staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were above average in cleanliness, with toilet paper never running out in any of the bathrooms visited throughout the two days we were there. The site was clean w/ a fire pit, picnic table, and small BBQ installed. It seemed everyone had a huge bonfire started at night at each site, so if you have allergies beware as the late night smoldering of the wood can come off strong. Most everyone around our site was quiet after 11:00 PM or so, which was considerate seeing that some of them came in huge groups. There is really nothing negative to post about this campgroud. It's the beach, there are trees all around, and only a short walk to the shoreline. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$27
Nice park, great location on bluff overlooking ocean with access to beach within walking distance of sites. Can be somewhat noisy and boisterous over weekends, with lots of families. Not much in the way of staff support or campground services, but a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
The park was great. The facilites were clean. While we couldn't see the beach it was an easy walk from the campsite. We are looking forward to going back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$29
The park was quiet, clean and the ranger staff was pleasant and helpful. Sites are paved with picnic tables and fire pits. The hook-ups and amenities are all in good condition. Most sites are level. Some sites have good shade, and the sites in the 60's have a distant ocean view (the campground is up on a bluff). We camped here with small children, and will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Nice CA state park. Some RV sites had ocean view (in the distance). Lots of hiking trails that were pretty easy walking even for my 5 year old. Tent sites and RV sites are in separate areas of the park but tents are allowed in the RV sites. Most RV sites had room for slides to open but some were pretty close to each other. Like most CA State Parks this one was clean also. Trails to a nice beach, great waves for swimming, surfing or boogie boards. Great kids night progrem with slides and music done by the park rangers. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com