215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Dolores River Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (970) 882-7761
CGID4623

Dolores River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   7   8   8   10   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
What a beautiful campground. On Dolores River with a pond, very clean and well kept. Very nice friendly owners. Wi-Fi worked perfect. Absolutely plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Great place, great owners! The park was neat as a pin, clean as a whistle. Cable TV worked great, WiFi was outstanding. Free coffee and conversation in the office every morning. Very convenient to Telluride, 4 Corners, etc. Very dog friendly! Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
A great place to stay. We were only able to stay here one night, but we'll definitely plan a longer stay next time. The new owners are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent WiFi. Many of the sites are tight and we could shake hands with our neighbors. Some roads are tree lined with vehicles extending in the road making parking a big rig difficult. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
A hidden jewel. New owners working very hard and making many improvements. There is a water issue that is the only thing keeping it from being a ten, and it is being addressed. Six states, a dozen RV parks over four months and this is our favorite. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
New owners have turned this park around. They are very friendly and ready to help you. They have open spaces for satellite to work and smoking 6 Mbps Wi-Fi. Large level pull-throughs. I definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
I didn't find this park in any directories, just happened to drive by it and pulled in. What luck! A beautiful spot on the Dolores River. The tent sites are on the river. We got a spot on their large fishing pond that comes off the river. Lots of large, mature shade trees, grassy common area with horseshoes and firepit, grass at camp sites, cable TV worked great, got to watch Game 7 of the NBA finals, Wi Fi works great, Sprint too. There are showers, and a laundry room, and large rec room. Lots of long term RVers. I can understand why; it's a perfect spot. We decided to stay a 2nd night and check out the town of Dolores, 2 miles down the road. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
A young couple took over last week and seem to be hard working and enthusiastic. There are lots of shade trees, everything seems clean and neat. There are a lot of people that stay for the whole summer. Good fishing nearby. We plan on a longer stay the next time we visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
There is a younger couple managing this campground who are in the process of buying it. They were very friendly, and suggested one of their nicest sites for us to stay in. What a beautiful place! Lots of trees, a river, and a large fishing pond. Our sire was mostly level, only a slight adjustment. I walked the dog around the entire park and I think every site there is nice. Of course the ones that next to the lake and river are the most desirable, but how can you go wrong here? Lots of water and shady trees. Pet friendly. Courteous, friendly, and helpful hosts. We'll be back for sure! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Contrary to the previous review of June 2012, we found the management of this campground to be sorely lacking. The owner is an absentee owner most of the time. There are too many "work campers" who are here taking advantage of the "system." The campground is for sale, so maybe if an on site owner were to come on board and "clean house," so to speak, that problem would be resolved. The campground in itself has the potential to be a real jewel. It is conveniently located near shopping, golf, fishing, etc. which keeps it as popular as it is. Also, there are many shaded sites, which is nice in the summer months as it does get pretty warm during the day in this part of Colorado in the summer months. The campground could use some updating of the water system also. The water often comes out brownish from the faucet, so use bottled water for drinking, making coffee, etc. Also, the water pressure gets very low at times: don't know why. Anyway, if the place were to sell, and positive changes were made in the above areas, this would be a definite "10." We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
This is a very well managed campground. That was obvious upon entering. Clean and neat. Management was definitely 'on top' of the situation! Lot's of regulars who were friendly. Some complained about Wi-Fi but we had no problem. Hook-ups were in the proper place and worked well. A small and quaint town with good restaurants and weeks of sightseeing available. Somewhat unique grocery store with all the basics plus a lot more. Major shopping was about 15 miles away. Town is quiet after 8pm. Don't see how you could go wrong here. We loved it and will return if possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Very nice RV park, well maintained and all of the facilities were spotless. Parks Wi-Fi was strong. Our Verizon cell and MiFi service was iffy. Propane is available at a reasonable price and located in an easy access area. Water, electric, and sewer worked well. Very nice staff and the campers there were friendly. Owners really care about their customers and are eager to please. Trees along the pond area blocked our dome satellite so we used our portable dish. We have stayed here twice and would return again in a heart beat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Beautiful campground. It's well maintained with great access to the stream. We were in site 48 (not waterfront). Site was at the end of a row, which was great until a large motorhome was parked next to us so close that we could not sit at the picnic table in our yard. It was close to town and convenient to pick up supplies. Would stay again next trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
As others have mentioned the park is clean and the people that run this place are friendly, as were the other campers. It's nice to be near the Dolores river and the location to town. Now here is why I gave it a lower rating. The water pressure was very low sometimes below 30 PSI, and I went and checked other sites that were vacant and the pressure was the same. At the time we were here the TV was horrible as well as the Wi-Fi. Near the southwest part of the CG, right behind site 11, there is a sewage treatment facility. When the breeze was right you could detect a sewer smell as well as the noise from the pumps. But all in all, we would stay here again if in this area. We just know what to expect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
Beautiful area with park next to ponds and river. The park is very clean and maintained. The RV staff was very helpful and friendly. The only down side to this park is that a many of the sites have water and sewer on one side with electrical on the other side. This can be tough on big rigs with electrical bay in front of the rear wheels. The San Juan area is beautiful and a drive up 160 is a must. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Great location just outside of Dolores. Easy access off the roadway. A very clean, well kept, rustic RV park. Camp hosts are very friendly and helpful. Any camper's requests are immediately addressed. Variety of spaces to accommodate large rigs (pull through), those desirous of cabins, and those who who like to tent camp. There are recreational activities, clean showers, restrooms, laundry, general store, cable TV, Wi-Fi, newspapers, phone service, etc. Very quiet with little road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
The new owners are great will go out of their way to make your stay great; have a problem just ask. We had a pull through with double slide out . Walked the whole campground and it is spotless,some great back-ins for the summer. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
It is a great little campground. We had a pull through site that was located close to the main road. We could hear some road noise. The Campground was very clean. The campground located on the north side of Dolores. It is a good location for doing the tourist stuff. The only negative was no newspapers available. We had to drive to town every morning to get one. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Office staff seem pre-occupied with computer work when we had questions. Not rude but not very helpful. Sight was clean but gave us the 1950's feel.Would not go back. Wi-Fi was not available the days we stayed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Nice park under new management. Sites are easy to access and roads are well laid out. The bathrooms and laundry are clean. The office staff is friendly and helpful, and there are many seasonal residents, who welcome everyone, and all are welcome to the Saturday night campfire. The Wi-Fi did not work. It was by the river for fishing access. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We love this park!! Under new ownership and they are the best. After a slow start with cable and wi-fi (through no fault of their own) they are finally on track. This park is very clean and the staff is incredibly friendly and willing to do what they can to make you happy. Laundry facilities are excellent. We didn't use the showers or restrooms but if the rest of the park is any indication they've got to be the cleanest. We've been here about 5 weeks and plan to come back for the month of September. The people here are incredibly friendly to all who come. We highly recommend this park to anyone looking for a place to stay either for a day or two or long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Nice park under new management. Sites are easy to access and roads are well laid out.The bathrooms and laundry are among the cleanest I have ever seen. The office staff is friendly and helpful, and there are many seasonal residents,who welcome everyone, and all are welcome to the Saturday night campfire. We will absolutely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$28
Beautiful park. I was told that many people summer in this park & I would love to be able to stay the season here. Such nice people - the owners & the visitors. So many pretty sights to see in the area too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
CG roads and sites are gravel but some sites have concrete patio areas. Access roads are wide enough for big rigs. Site quality varies considerably. The best sites are back-ins along the river which are long and well separated. Unfortunately these seem to be taken mostly by seasonal residents. Overnighters get less desirable sites. A few sites inhabited by "permanent park trash" with the usual junk strewn about. Staff friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com