206527 User submitted reviews online!!
South Forty RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (979) 366-9341
CGID4625

South Forty RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   7   7   9   9   6   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
South Forty is convent stop with spacious sites on the way to RGV or Corpus Christi; nothing fancy but OK. The restrooms are outside the campground and in back of the recreation hall - odd location. They are clean but not fancy with a home-made look. Utilities function correctly. There are quite a few long term residents. A small herd of longhorn cattle adds some interest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Entrance to the park has a few holes. Clean park but nothing fancy. Has some trees but not actually shading campers. Laundry room was clean and $1.00 per wash or dry. Swimming pool was clean. The whole pool including the deep end was 3ft. Free WiFi. Kind of slow but worked. Some sites had burn rings and tables. No store or propane filling at CG. Does not prorate. We paid by the month $300 plus electricity. Owners are nice but you never see them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We stayed here while my husband worked in LaGrange for 5 weeks. The monthly fee was $280 + electric which we felt was a great deal in comparision to other places we've stayed that did not have all the amenities this place does. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Owners are very friendly, place is quiet and convenient to shopping. My biggest complaint is the conditions of the grounds (pad sites and roads). Our site had so many goathead/grass burs that it was impossible to keep from tracking them in our rig. Stepping on those barefoot inside the RV is not pleasant and for 5 weeks it was super annoying, The roads and pads are gravel and not level. There are a lot of long-term residents here and some questionable looking rigs. Wi-Fi worked great the entire time. We would stay again but would love to see them improve the grounds conditions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Pulled in, sign said pull up ahead. Someone came out to greet us. They asked where I was from and my name, then got in their car to follow. Well signed crushed gravel roads, they led us to an easy pull though site. Easy full hookups. 6 minutes from Giddings, plenty of stores and restaurants. We were here for dog training 10 minutes away and will probably come back again. No problems or regrets. A good stay and even had us in some shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Great little park. Has a swimming pool and is well maintained. Very nice and helpful people. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This park is lovely with plenty of shade trees and nice sites. You're not sitting on top of your neighbor. While they do have long term and permanent residents, all are friendly and helpful. The owners go out of their way to be certain your stay is enjoyable. It's nice watching the longhorn cows, the horses, enjoying a small fire in the provided fire rings, The owner shares the bounty of her garden. The Wi-fi, while it did work most of the time, the signal was weak and went out frequently. Even that would not have stopped a 10 rating, but the women's handicap shower stall did. The stall can be rolled into, a hand held shower head is provided along with a portable shower stool. The biggest complaint is that the water is controlled with a button you have to push, and keep pushing. I didn't time it, but I believe that the shower will stay running for about 2 seconds, then you must push again, and again. I understand given the drought conditions they would not want children leaving the water running, but this shower is not handicapped friendly as far as I am concerned. A timer on a shower that will last for at least 5 minutes would be a better arrangement for it. I have yet to meet a child that will stand around for 5 minutes just to turn it on again. The laundry room was wonderful, clean with newer machines. The pool was inviting. We'll stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
Rate is daily rate for a 1 month stay. We cured their drought: it rained 6 - 8 inches while we were here. The sites and roads are gravel (mud when wet) but are fairly level. The campground is off of US 77 and we thought that is would be very quiet. Wrong!! Lots of traffic, especially big trucks supporting the oil fields nearby. There was good Wi-Fi for 1 day and since then, very spotty. They said that a part was broken and they were waiting for repair. (Seems like we have heard this story before.) The setting of the campground is very nice with grazing cattle and horses and lots of birds. The staff was very friendly (and apologetic about the Wi-Fi). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We found this campground while staying in Bastrop. We are so happy we did! Park has beautiful grounds and nice big sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This is a nice park, right where we need it to be during our annual migration to Texas - but. The sites are all, nearly as I can tell sloped uphill and most side to side, as well. This means I have to unhitch and level, then re-hitch in the morning, which is an irritation for just an overnight stop. This trip, when I checked the electric before hooking up, I found the hot and negative leads were crossed. I was able to use an adapter, provided by the park, to hook up to the correctly wired 50 amp outlet. Owners are very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
Great park. Nice treed sites. Wi-Fi worked well for us while there. Amazingly quiet. Fairly level sites. Well-maintained and nicely landscaped. Went ahead and paid the $4 extra for 50 amp because it was warm and humid when the day we got there. As weather turned out could have made it with 30, oh well, only 2 nights, no big deal. Had a fair contingent of long-term residents but good sites left for travelers. Good location between Giddings and LaGrange, close to Bastrop and Round Top/Brenham. Easy access and graveled roads well laid out throughout park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$29
We would have given this park a much higher rating except that the TACO rate was listed at $20 and we were charged $25 plus $4 for 50 amp. No discounts and no credit cards. We feel this is a bit steep for overnight and excessive for 50 amp in the winter with no ac use. Since this is not a destination park and there are many full timers here and the areas around them a bit junky, we probably will not stop here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
This is a very nice, clean country-type CG outside of Giddings. Close to La Grange and other towns. Very friendly owners -- very accommodating. Nice LARGE sites w/trees & shade. Can get some TV channels via antenna. Wi-Fi available in park; however it didn't work but once for me. I couldn't get it at all after 9PM @ night, but it wasn't that important so I didn't pursue it. $20/night for 2 people; $2 extra each night PP. Discounts for weekly/monthly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We camped here for three nights and were very impressed with the facilities. The pull-throughs are huge and do not require disconnecting a tow vehicle. There is an "honor box" for late-night arrivals to place payments. The club house contains vending and ice machines. The small swimming pool was very clean and I personally saw it maintained and chlorinated on day two of our visit. We will stay here again when in Central Texas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
A great park! Everything worked that supposed to. The spaces have a huge amount of distance between each other. The guest were very quiet and friendly and the owners are the best.The pull thru are the largest that we have seen. The Wi-Fi worked great. I would recommend this park very much and plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
This is a wonderful park that sits about 6 miles south of Giddings. The owners are very nice and accommodating. The sites and shaded and in Texas in the summer, that's a real plus for us. The sites are huge, reminding us of some state parks. Each site is pull through with a barbeque and a picnic table. We stayed for a week and will definitely come back if we are in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$20
This is a good one for going down the highway and spending the night or prowling the central Texas area or just getting away from it for a while. It's new and the lady running the show is great. The pull throughs are long enough to handling anything and stayed hitched up. They also are reasonably level so we didn't have to level. There is good shade and it's located on a working ranch. It has aswimming pool and a rec hall, plus they area building a restaurant. I would have given it a 10 because for my needs it would be. However, some feel the need for wifi and cable TV so I deducted a point for those. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com