218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Ochlockonee River State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (850) 962-2771
CGID4639

Ochlockonee River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   7   8   9   9   8   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Fabulous campground. Very small, about 30 sites and those 30 sites had the park to themselves in March. The sites are simply wonderful. They are all different with many of them being immense. There were about 10 sites which were not directly on the river, but you could see the river from your site when you stood up. Paths went directly to the river and a wonderful trail located up and down the river. White squirrels were there and the site itself is very well kept and restrooms spotless. The park has a number of other walking trails with lots of birds. Each site had a nice campfire, picnic table and grill and many had posts and a clothesline to hang wet clothes. There were canoe and kayak rentals. This campground is pretty isolated but it is 20-25 minutes from a great BBQ and seafood restaurant and 45 minutes form St. Marks Wildlife Visitor center. We will be back again. Loved it.( one of our top 10 campsites). Be careful with the campsites and look at pictures because a few of these sites you could not get a camper in because of trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
I cannot recommend this park as big-rig friendly, unless you don't mind scratching large sections of your coach with tree branches as you enter. Folks with large 5th wheel rigs told me they agreed. The entry gate and street around the ranger station were extremely narrow. This park does have a lot of qualities, though. It was nice and quiet, being a long way from the nearest road. It had driving and walking trails that were nice, except when it rained incessantly, which it did for two days during my stay. There were a lot of birds and other wildlife to keep my wife happy, including the previously-mentioned white squirrels and albino deer. Interior roads were dirt with lots of potholes. Sites were dirt but fairly level. Spacing between sites was good. The 30-amp power and water were strong, and there were tables and fire pits at each site. The rangers were friendly. One of them came to our site very quickly to repair the broken faucet. The bathrooms were old, but clean. The showers had a bench and hook far from the stall, but no shelf in the shower for shampoo. I hate that! My rating is based on the problems I had due to my RV's size, but for folks with smaller units who enjoy the state park experience this could easily rate an 8 or 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$9
I often visit St. Marks National Wildlife Refuge (NWR) that is a reasonable drive down the road, and I sometimes visit this state park as well. This was my first stay there in a Travel Trailer. I found access to be tight. I was lucky that I selected a campsite that I could easily back into. There were some that would have been a challenge for my 19.5' trailer. What I really liked about this park were the pines trees and the walking path along the river. They have kayaks and boats that are for rent and a great floating dock. What really amazed me were the white squirrels. I saw two while staying there. Please note that the regular rate is $18, but I received a FL Senior Discount of $9.00. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$9
The campground is smaller and pretty tight to negotiate. Bigger rigs will have to be very careful due to trees. We have a 35' travel trailer and were able to manage just fine. Restrooms were modern and very, very clean. Good electric hookups and the water was good also. The staff at this state park were very pleasant and helpful. The campground road and sites were compacted sand, pine needles, and oak tree leaves. Lots of shade trees and some vegetation between sites. Our pull through site (#28) was level. Be on the lookout for white squirrels. Our rate was for Florida seniors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
The Ochlockonee River flows for 150 miles from south Georgia to the Gulf of Mexico. This SP is on the wide tidal section just before it becomes a bay. It is a beautiful spot with both pine prairies and live oak hammocks. It is dotted with small ponds and there is a narrow strip of white beach beside the tea colored river. There are miles of level trails for walking and biking and boat ramps for river access. There are only 30 campsites placed on a loop beside the river. Sites 9 through 20 have a river view. We were in site 8 with direct access to the river trail. Contrary to previous posts, there were a number of large motorhomes in the campground and they seemed comfortably placed in Sites 7, 9, 21. The Backwoods Bistro in Sopchoppy had a surprisingly sophisticated menu and excellent food. We also enjoyed Sally's for local seafood at a reasonable price. The park is conveniently located to St. Mark's Wildlife Refuge with its beautiful lighthouse, Wakulla Spring State Park, the Apalachicola National Forest, Bald Point State Park, and many other attractions. It is remote (but only 15 miles from Walmart in Crawfordville), and it can be buggy on this part of the coast when the wind dies down. Winters are beautiful there. Don't miss the white squirrels! We will go again, maybe next month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Very nice park in a quiet, scenic area. Campground is small and fairly tight for a state park but very enjoyable. We stayed in our motorhome and the turns into and out are tight but manageable, recommend disconnecting a towed vehicle prior to entry into campground. Staff extremely helpful and informative. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
This is a nice state park - very quiet and clean. The park itself is rather isolated but is centrally located which adds to the advantage of staying here. The park is located along the river with boating access available. St Marks National Wildlife Reserve is a short drive away (25mi) and is a great place to see birds and gators. There's a lighthouse(closed access) to enjoy as well. Plenty of trails to walk or just enjoy a drive through the park. Easy drive south to St George Island. My only minor complaint is the 'no-seum' population. Those little insects are annoying and bite is as bad as 'skeeters. The sites are nicely spaced and level but some have really low hanging branches. I think the park website identifies the sites accurately. I would stay here again - even with the insects. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$21
Ochlockonee (pronounced O-Clock-Nee) River campground must be one of the older state parks, designed for much smaller rigs than most people have now. The entry roads are very narrow, winding, and closely lined with trees. Campsites are very closely spaced and are quite small. There are very few large enough to hold rigs larger than 25 feet and some sites are so small and with very low overhanging limbs that nothing but a tent would fit. The largest sites seemed to be #6 - #9 and #26 & #28. We were in site #7 in our 35ft. rig, but getting it in there was very challenging due to the narrow entry roads and trees. Site #11 is listed on their web site as being a pull through long enough for a 40ft rig but that's vastly overstated! The site is a curb spot on the road and shouldn't hold anything longer than about 25 feet. Since the sites are so small, space to park vehicles is limited, and they end up sticking out in the road. Be sure you stock up with supplies before spending any extended length of time here as the closest good shopping is in Crawfordville, about 25 miles north of the park. The Rangers and the hosts were friendly, but the black flies and little biting bugs were extremely rude and biting! Bring bug spray! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
This was our first visit to Ochlockonee River SP in over 20 years. It hasn't changed much but the newer bathrooms/showers and well-groomed trails were a real treat. We were blessed with excellent weather, no bugs, and very few campers. Some of the sites would be tight for a big rig and of course, the roads are sandy. Sites 6, 7, 8 & 9 are the largest and all back up on a trail to the river. Sites 26 and 28 are pull-throughs. This park is a fine example of lowland pine woods along a tannin-stained coastal river. At low tide, you can walk along the white sand shore. Good canoeing on nearby rivers including the Sopchoppy, Wakulla, and St. Marks. Bike riding in the St. Marks National Wildlife Refuge, and along the St. Marks Greenway Trail. Hiking opportunities abound in the Refuge, on the Greenway, and on the Florida Trail. Gulf beaches are minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$12
Stayed 3 nights. Staff was friendly. Seemed relatively well kept. Only negative is many of the sites have the power and water on the wrong side. Mine had a big low branch in front of the power. I had to fit my popup between two branches. Cannot complain as it was well shaded because of the low trees. It was full due to the Apalachicola Seafood Festival. If it is not busy, you would want to pick a site before you check in. The larger sites do not have much restrictions. The campground is tight for big (long) pull trailers and the road in is a bit bumpy. Go slow and you'll be fine. The river is nice to go see, did not try the canoe rental but wanted to. Hiked along the two river trails. Looks great for boats, canoes and kayaks. I did not hear loud boats on the river in campsite; looks to be idle speed area. I had Sprint cell and a marginal signal. My folks had Verizon and a decent signal. Overall, I'd go again. No complaints other than some annoying college kids that were talking loud all night. Not the parks fault. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
Real Florida! Very secluded and quiet. White squirrels abound and seem friendly. Navigation to campsite was a bit tricky in our 40' rig. Vehicles from other campsites were parked in the pathway in several areas. Check in is only between 3-5 daily. You park your rig or tent before registering. No ranger presence here. Site is adequate; fairly close to neighboring sites. This is our second visit here. Remoteness of park is very attractive. Lots of boating activities available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Quiet setting in Florida pines. Nice room between most sites with some shade. We looked out on the river Ochlockonee River from our site. Nice walking trails along river and through the pines. Many brought their boats and fishing gear. As noted by others, roads are tight and it's difficult to maneuver into some of sites; approach to dump station is tight. Rest rooms unheated / no laundry. Nearby is Wakulla Springs, where a river comes out of the ground, and Leno Sinks. We would come back here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
Stayed overnight in this "rustic" park. Roads in campground are unpaved and pretty tight for our 35' motorhome but do-able. Sites were a variety of shaded and open with probably more shaded. Plenty of hiking/biking opportunities if it isn't too wet. Park grounds are clean and the staff was nice. Restrooms are old, but clean and the beach/canoe launch/playground area was nice. Saw plenty of deer and a good variety of birds and it was very quiet - heard only the occasional boats on the river and the other campers were very quiet. We would stay overnight again, but there's not a lot to do for a longer period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$18
Very close to the river with a lot of nature trails. Launch sites for small boats and rentals of canoes. Some of the sites are small but all laid out well. Level gravel sites with electric and water convenient. Most sites with nice vegetation divides, picnic tables and fire rings. Staff is great and very helpful. Dump site convenient for outbound. Well maintained, We will be back for sure! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
This is a great little state park. It is not really big rig friendly but is big rig accessible. You just have to be very slow and careful negotiating the narrow roads with trees on both sides. Access to the dump station is also a challenge for big rigs. Of the 30 sites there are only 5 that we could fit in. They are #6, #7, #8, and pull through sites #26 and #28. The park is old and the utilities are oddly placed on some sites – sometimes on the wrong side. Electricity is only 30 amp but consistently strong at 120 volts. The park is very remote with no nearby shopping so you need to bring all your groceries and fuel. There are lots of great nature trails and the park even has canoe rental. As there is very little civilization around the nights are very dark with lots of stars. This is a fantastic place to commune with nature for a few days. Oddly, our Verizon air card had a full broadband signal here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$17
One of my favorite SP in the country!!! It has space between each site and has birds and trails and deer and It has everything that I really need. It is not far from Sopchoppy which has the best restaurant ever!!! Who would think there would be a "gourmet" (almost) restaurant in such a little town. Backwoods Bistro - get the Parmesan chicken and feed yourself for two days. I think he even makes his own pasta. Mmm We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Ochlockonee River State Park was a beautiful park. The tiny deer were everywhere. It is very remote and quiet. The sites are large enough to have a bit of privacy. There are no groceries or fuel stations close by. They call this area the forgotten coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$8
This is our very favorite State Park. The park is clean. We enjoy waking up in the mornings and seeing the deer. There are several white squirrel that are not afraid to visit your campsite. If you want to get out into nature, this is a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$8
This is a great State Park. We really enjoy walking through the park an seeing all the deer. They are almost tame. Also, there are several almost completely white squirrels in the park and will steal your goodies unless you keep them under cover. A great place to wet a hook and you might catch either salt water or fresh water fish from the bank. They also have canoes for rent. I am a Florida resident over 65 so we got a great rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
Nice Park!! Pronounced "O Clock Nee". The Park attendant, David, was very knowledgeable and nice. As in other reviews, the road in the campground is sand and very narrow. Our 34' Class A made it with no trouble, trees close on both sides. Our site, #24 was cement pad and very near the restrooms. Pad was plenty long and wide enough but negotiating the trees into the space took some time. My wife and I loved the trees and foliage. Restrooms were very clean (a little cool) and well maintained. We will return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
One of our favorite parks. We had a very large campsite with lots of trees & shrubs & very friendly white squirrels. Swimming beach & 3 rivers make for good water sports. Nice scenic trail thru wooded area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
Nice state park campground in a fairly isolated part of the Fl Panhandle. Good for fishing and hiking. One night stay - not much to do otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$16
The campsite area of this park is fairly small with 30 sites in one loop. Some sites are just a few steps from the river bank. The road in the campground loop is not paved and seemed a bit narrow at first but it's one way and we did not have any problems. As previously posted, many of the sites have the utilities on the wrong side and regardless of the side they can be rather a stretch from the RV. We had site #16 which was very wide and deep enough for our 30 ft class A but not large enough for a big rig, there were other sites what were quite a bit deeper. We pulled in forward to better access the utilities (and the view from the front windows was much better) and used a spare 10 ft of water hose to reach the faucet. This worked very well for us. The sites were pretty level and have quite a few trees and other greenery to give you some privacy. The bathhouse were a little chilly in the morning and had three showers with plenty of hot water and water pressure. Not spotlessly clean (some mildew, sand and bugs) but not offensive. There are two very nice nature trails that go through the park and the day use area had a very nice playground. The dump station is a bit awkward to get in and out of but is fully serviceable. The park was clean, more quiet and not as crowded as some we've been to lately (and pets are allowed). We liked it a lot and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2005
$15
This campground is rustic, but is a beautiful state park with lots of water (Ochlocknee River) and wildlife. We saw Red-cockaded Woodpecker (endangered), deer, coyote, and many other animals. The campground is small, but the sites are well positioned and private. Campsites are packed sand and are fairly level. Of the 30 sites, about 10 are accessible to large rigs, the others are hampered by low branches of trees. The comfort stations are new and well maintained. This is a great park for nature lovers due to the river, abundant wildlife, and great scenic values. A bit off the beaten path, but easy access to some good restaurants. A great base camp for birdwatchers that will be exploring the St. Marks, St. George Island and Apalachicola areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com