220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Bay View RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (361) 400-6000
CGID4643

Bay View RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   5   8   3   3   6   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$17
The staff and employees are excellent. The park is an older park but the sites are incredibly large and roomy with a concrete patio. There are a few sites where there are a few permanent residences but they are not in with the other campsites. All of the utilities work great and the WiFi is very good. It is a gated park with employees on duty 24 hrs a day. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$17
This is a nice RV park with lots of room at the sites. The sites are very roomy and there is lots of trees for shade in the summer and they have spots available if you want the sun. The pools hot tubs club room and laundry are very nice. Excellent wi-fi. We used PA discount We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
Access ok, sites had plenty of room. Older park and seems to be marginally maintained. Mostly live-ins or seasonal residents. May have stayed elsewhere if I hadn't gone for an RPI park first. Other parks in the area looked nicer for the same money (with other memberships). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$300
In all fairness, we looked at this resort in Winter of 2012 and thought it was "rough", so didn't stay. This year we drove completely through it and picked sites we thought looked good and would suit our needs which were two-fold: big concrete pads for unit plus lounging, and close enough together so we could enjoy our traveling companions. We got both. The sites are big with plenty of room, level concrete pads on most, but not all, and the staff in the office were very helpful and friendly. Our pad measured 18' wide by 30' long, with additional asphalt for parking tow vehicle. We were in the Village addition, between two permanent residents, and there is no cable TV service. Digital TV reception is weak, as is Verizon and AT&T cell service, about all we could do is text. Resort Wi-Fi is good, and our personal cellular data service was OK (Verizon). Negatives include the rough roads in the park, some residents do not clean up after their pets, and there are lots of cats running around wild. A sewer smell also radiates through the area when wind is from the Southeast. Lots of permanent residents, boats stored everywhere, and sheds. We did not use restrooms or showers. Activities are scheduled but we did not participate. Price shown is for monthly rate, and electric is extra. We probably will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$10
It is an older park; the new owner has made some improvements. We love this park for 2 reasons. First the friendly staff and long term residents. They make you feel like long time friends even when you are only here for a week. Second, the sites. They are big and most have the shade of lovely big live oak trees. Some have a view of the lake. Right now it is dry, but that is because of the drought, not the owner's fault. If you stay, I suggest you participate in the many activities. Lots of fun and great folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Roads are very potholed with some small patches of asphalt. Advertised are 222 sites with 100 pull-through and a few concrete slabs. Most of the park is catered for long term occupancy with the majority of those not occupied, with long grass and junk left lying around outside the units. We did see about 8 - 10 pull through sites. Two pools and spas along with two clubhouse pavilions are advertised. Only one pool, spa and clubhouse are available. There is a great deal of false advertising in this park. We were here with AOR and were supposed to pay $9.00 per day. We were phoned and advised that did not include electricity or cable. We were hit with an extra $5.00 for power and $2.00 for cable per day. The park has a great location however, I would not recommend it to anyone except in an absolute emergency overnighter if they can't get into the RV park just up the road to the west, which is much better and cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
We stayed here using our Western Horizons membership. No internet available at park, Verizon cell phone coverage does not work, Verizon mifi was very weak. Massive amounts of mosquitoes in the unkept grasses throughout park. There is a stagnant lagoon (complete with alligator and a warning not to go near it) that is probably the reason for the mosquitoes. We left 5 days early and was told that campground does not give refunds for any reason. We recommend paying daily for your stay here since it is likely you will want to leave early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
We chose this park because of the oak trees and large sites. Most of the roads WERE blacktop but are now mostly gravel. Dusty w/no rain and sloppy when it rains. The original owner received it back from bankruptcy and is trying to make long needed repairs. Wi-Fi is only to about half the park. There are limited activities. The rate is for Passport America $17.50/night. Given it's shortcomings we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$11
This was a Western Horizon when we first started coming. It is only an affiliate now, so we can not do better than a regular monthly rate. They have a different monthly rate for many sites, usually depending if they have a slab or a view. The new owner has done a lot, but there is really a LOT still to do. Most of the workers are workcampers. Looks like they never finish a project. We were here last year ,and the carpet squares in the clubhouse are still not down. They have painted about 95% of what needs painting. I understand funds are not available for some of the work that needs to be done and that is suprising because there seemed like more RVs staying than before. We come here because of the large, wooded sites and for the activities. There are games almost every night. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
We stayed here with our ACN membership for two weeks. The main pool and spa were empty, under construction. The other pool should be empty because it isn't attractive at all. The roads are not well maintained. We heard this park is recovering from a bankruptcy. It needs a huge revamping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
Mediocre park, could be nice with with additional maintenance. Older park that has been allowed to deteriorate. Gravel roads (some used to be paved), upper area dominated by permanents, Some sites were large, mostly back in, some not well delineated. Sites varied greatly. Ours was level, grassy. Restrooms and laundry facilities very clean. Some park activities. Rate reflective of our Coast-to-Coast membership. About ten minutes from town. No cell phone or Wi-Fi reception for us (Sprint service) anywhere in park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
As many have mentioned, the park is in SERIOUS need of repair. The front office personnel are nice, but not exactly what I would call friendly or accommodating. We have been here almost a week now, and the restrooms/showers have yet to be cleaned at all. It appears they haven't been cleaned in about a year. The roads are pitiful, and the layout is squirrely to say the least. Not on my list of return spots for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
We stayed here under RPI at $10/night and decide to leave early because even at that rate this place is overpriced. Roads are very badly rutted dirt, site was a back-in on grass, fairly level, and power was good. Lots of ants everywhere, the bathrooms were dirty, and the wifi didn't work. Our Verizon cell phone and air card would not work at all. At 8 a.m. every morning a pile driver from a nearby construction site woke us up.This park need a lot of work and the previous owners really let it get run down. I'm not sure the current management is up to the task. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
First of all, if you have Verizon, stay clear as there is no Verizon connection at Bay View. No phone or internet for two days. Restrooms and showers were old and needed updating. Showers were the bare minimum, and since I am on oxygen 24/7 I had a rough time taking a shower. We stayed in the old section and wished we had had 4 wheel drive on some of the "trails." They advertise Wi-Fi which is non-existent. It wasn't strong enough to make a connection. We didn't care for Bay View and will not be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
My family and I stayed at Bay View during the 4th of July weekend and had a blast. It has a great location as the first site just across the Copano Bay Bridge, so we thought it would be a good jumping off point for any activity in the area (fishing, beach, etc.). The camp itself is huge and shaded as well, so we definitely had space and could even stay relatively cool during the Texas summer. The best part of the park was probably the staff. They were extremely helpful and really promoted community and fun. That weekend management put on events such as a watermelon eating contest and hamburger cookout. They also arranged for transportation to and from the beach at no cost for people that wanted some saltwater. The park is definitely family friendly, and my kids really enjoyed the slip 'n slide set up by the maintenance guys. The park is under new ownership and trying to improve many aspects of the park, and management was very clear and honest about this. Seems like they're doing a good job, and my family and I will be back to check it out next time we are down in Rockport for vacation. My kids definitely want to return since the manager told me they are about to add a spray park to one of the pools. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We came down here first in 2008 and are glad we have found our way back. The grounds and buildings are being renovated and cleaned up after neglect by a previous owner. Glad to see that happen since this is one of the more beautiful settings we have ever been in. Sites are exceptionally large, staff are friendly and helpful. The town of Rockport may become my home and Bay View is definitely where I could see myself living. They offer long term lease options for a reasonable monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Two pools, two jacuzzi and two clubhouses are listed. One pool hasn't been operational for over 6 months. The other pool is green with bacteria but they claim it "tests OK". The Wi-Fi is weak and doesn't work most of the time. Of the two laundry facilities, one does not have hot water. There are three public restrooms of which two are currently working. The third one has had the toilets plugged with fecal matter and toilet paper for many days. It appears no effort has been made to remedy the problem. The roads are potholed and unpaved for the most part. The lakes inside the park are unusable since there are alligators in them. The owners are aware of the problems but seem to have no solution. They are "waiting for money" to fix the facility. The long term residents are departing in droves since the facility has only continued to go down hill for the last year with only promises that it will get better. Yet with all these problems, they've raised the rent at least once and are going to raise it again soon. Good luck if you come here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Many of the RPI campgrounds are proving to be poor and Bay View is no exception. From the front gate, through the check in parking area, and out into the campground the roads are in terrible shape, very rough. The limited patching which has been done in not doing the job. If you are not self contained you take your chances with where you plant your bottom. The Adult Spa was closed, the pool desperately needed cleaning, the Family Lodge pool was totally closed, the lodge roof patched with blue poly. The docks are literally falling apart. Staff was friendly enough but did not follow through with complaints. Pets are supposed to be on leads but chronic abusers were not contacted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Needs tons of work, has two pools ones open and in bad shape, other one is shut down. Sewer backs up and smells really bad, has two launders one is shut down. Needs lots of landscape and cosmetic work. The two biggest problems is the roads are real bad so make sure you have everything tied down and very muddy with the slightest rain so don't pay your $250.00 for a wash job as I did. The worst problem of all is the attitude of the managers they are very rude and foul mouthed and need to clean up themselves and tend to forget when you try to tell them about problems and then walk off mumbling but again if you are outside and the employees are close by working every other word is a cuss word that may not bother some but its not very business like. I can't recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$4
This park has so much potential. It needs a lot of work, the roads are filled with pot holes. Some of the sites need graded to make a little more level, grass needs mowed, docks need new boards and paint, and the pools need new plaster. BUT it has a new owner and maybe he will put some money in to it. The staff is very friendly and are trying to keep it going while new help gets hired. This is an old Western Horizon park, hence the $4 per night. We were here during Hurricane Alex: had lots of standing water, but it disappeared quickly. We stayed here in a 40 footer on the lake. Had a nice view, lots of waterfowl. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$12
Rate is for Coast to Coast + $2. for cable. 50 amp is an extra $3. a night. The roads are horrible, as well as the sites. They are just packed sand/dirt. It rain while we were there and it was a mess. There is a lot of shade and 2 small nice lakes, but with out many fish. All the people that did fish came away with nothing. This is a Western Horizon park but where told by some of the members it was sold and no longer W.H.. Don't know, we missed that meeting. The staff was friendly. A good place to walk the dogs. This could be a very nice park as many of the sites are large. It needs a lot of work. We will not return unless we see here better reviews and things are improved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$3
ROD rate of $3/night for 50 amp. First and last time here. Reservation was for 2 weeks but cut it down to 1 week. Roads are still terrible with ruts and potholes everywhere. Gate staff were very pleasant but indifferent about the condition of the park. Pickleball court is derelict and has been for some time. Olympic size pool is closed for serious maintenance. Smaller pool is open but hot tub is not operational. We got a nice open site with double width cement pad. No picnic table though. Lots of standing water and mosquitoes everywhere. Considered joining WHR a few back in Casa Grande but glad we didn't now. Haven't seen any maintenance staff anywhere. Good base for bird photography. We were out birding most days, so amenities were not something we needed. Definitely not a "Resort", but then it seems neither are many places that use the word. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
The site we were assigned was level, the sewer is too far back which caused us to use extra hose but that happens in other parks too. We have to agree the roads are bad especially when it rains. The family clubhouse smells of mold and is not very appealing. On a positive note, it was a safe place to spend a week while we traveled to the valley. We have seen this park in better shape. As ROD members we paid nothing for the site which means alot for full-time RV'ers. If you want 50 amp, cable TV or WiFi, they all cost extra. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$1
ROD rate. This is a nice park, but the roads are very badly potholed. Our site was gravel with a paved patio. Coming from the north, the park sign was covered by a canvas sign saying public camping, or something to that effect. It caused us to drive past and we had to find a place to turn around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$8
The interior roads have not improved and doesn't appear to be on there list of things to do. The sites need rearranging and leveled. The laundry facilities are nice but too small for a park this size. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2009
$10
This park has faults, but the rating of 1 is sort of extreme, IMO. On the positive side; when we had a power problem of our own making, they responded immediately. We are here on a club membership and they readily let us stay an extra day at club rates. The roads are very rutted. This seriously needs addressed. As far as mud, it has been raining for two weeks, so water has pooled. The sites near us were level. There are two clubhouses and two pools- one of each for adults only. Many sites are long-term holders and few people were resident due to poor weather. The park is too big to accommodate Wi-Fi successfully, but they shouldn't charge $2 for sitting in the clubhouse. Cliquishness isn't something the park can control. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$10
We used Coast To Coast membership. Were here four years ago and were not impressed then. This visit we were disgusted. The roads are full of holes and steep ridges. The sewer connection required me to buy an extra 20 feet of hose it was so far out of place. The site was small, rough ground. All in all a poor park, and we will never stop there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$5
The park roads are in horrible shape, potholes and bumpy. We stayed here using our ROD membership and were charged a $5 a night service charge, which isn't advertised. The park is old and getting run down. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
This place has great potential but is falling apart. Roads are a disaster after 2 days of rain - potholes and mud everywhere. Your coach and car gets covered in mud, which the campground will let you wash off yourself if you pay them $8 per day. On the 13th of March Western Horizon has introduced a new scheme that will have you part with at least $5 per day in surcharges. EACH ONE of about 8 items will cost you $4 PER DAY, itmes like f.x. cable, wi-fi, 50 amp, having a pet or extra person in your coach. They will be nice to you and sell you all items for the $5 per day, but they will charge you even before they find out if you want/need any of these services. We don't like this way of extracting money out of people for things that today should be included in your campground fee. Unfortunately there was no friendly staff to make up for the parks shortcomings. There are so many other campgrounds in Rockport so there is no reason to come here again - even if we can use our campground membership. Two newly installed oil rigs are in operation within the campground which does not add to the architecture. Treat youself - go somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$4
Drove in. Drove out. Luckily we were in the car, not the motorhome. Road has so many potholes that it's almost impassable. Half the park looks like the sites are okay (not great); half the park looks like the sites are just cleared spots in the dirt with hookups. Unlevel and undefined (no gravel, no patio). Extended our stay at Pioneer instead of moving here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$3
As stated in other posts, this park is in need of lots of tender loving care. We were happy to find a place where we could use our ROD ($0) plus $3 a day for electricity. The staff was very nice and very helpful. We were told there is an alligator in the lake, but we never saw it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$6
As mentioned before the campground roads have many potholes with no intention to correct. There are way too many mosquitoes. It is an older park with some open and some treed sites. The best reason to stay here is the Gulf area. We would stay here again but it is not a favorite campground. They are preparing to drill for natural gas inside campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$10
This park has a lot of shady sites, fishing available in the park or on the coast nearby, and numerous activities throughout the week. The sites are well maintained and the staff was great.It is close to Rockport where every type of food and service is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2008
$5
This probably WAS a nice place LONG ago - but has been neglected. Really poor maintenance. VERY poor roads, lots of mud, sewer plugged (not a fun thing - guess how you discover that!) Won't EVER return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2008
$5
This is a membership club park. The roads in this park are still in very poor condition. The park condition is poor and needs major upgrading. Our site was one of the nicest in the park with a concrete pad to park on and a patio. We were over looked the lake. Wi-Fi worked well at this site. The restrooms we used were located in a satellite building. Although they have done some repairs on the outside which included a new roof and repairs to the siding, there was no outside lighting on or near the building as of this date, making it difficult to find or see in the dark. The parking area around the Family or Main Club House is very small and in January was a sea of mud. From our site it is a considerable walk to the main building. The Adult Center has a hot tub and heated pool. Pool needs to be refinished to make it more inviting. The bathrooms were clean, but very outdated and the showers may be clean, but the condition is very poor and not attractive.The showers in the out building was in very poor condition. Staff were friendly and helpful and seemed to make regular patrols around the park. Over-all the park is not one that we would consider the next visit to this area in spite of the price per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2008
$3
Pure crap. STAY AWAY. And, don't bother with a membership in this ridiculous Western Horizons rip off. Filthy, falling-apart restrooms, potholes in the roads so bad that they are almost impassable (filled in with crushed oyster shells), take-it-or-leave-it staff, and the list goes on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$6
This Club Park is really showing its age. The laundry rooms are in need of serious repair. One has a door that is broken and was nailed shut. The dry rot is evident throughout the building. The roads have serious potholes and haven't been repaired in the past year. We stayed here last January. Very few of the people staying here obey the speed limit. Vendors drive thru the park in excess of 20 miles per hour. Some of the spots have concrete pads, ours didn't. With heavy rain, we were wading in mud. We returned to this park due to a club membership and another location is not available in the area. However, in the future I will strongly consider a public campground. The campers staying at the facility are very friendly. I can't say much for the staff, as they only staff I saw was in the office when I check in. That interface was OK. We are fulltimers in a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$8
Nice place to hang your coat and rest a spell. Friendly staff and more importantly, friendly neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$6
Granted the buildings need some work, and one of the pools wasn't heated because the heater wasn't working. Very quiet and there were deer around in the mornings and evenings. Cell phone service was not available and due to the trees we couldn,t use our satellite. There were a lot of activities at the campground. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2005
$30
A Western Horizon resort - is being remodeled and is showing its age. Staff is very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com