218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Blackhawk Park COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (608) 648-3314
CGID4650

Blackhawk Park COE

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   8   7   7   10   9   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$12
Park was very clean just like other COE parks we've stayed in. Not much grass on our side of park but I believe it was from Spring flooding as the park was closed in June due to flooding. The vault toilet facilities were clean. We did not use the shower house which was in the other loop. Sites are well spaced but no vegetation in between so you can easily see from one end of the loop to the other. The site we had was about 75 feet deep so plenty of room for big rigs. No water or sewer at the sites but there are water spigots scattered around the loop and a dump station at the entrance. Right on the Mississippi River boat landings in the park as well. Our price reflects my Access Pass discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
The park is a typical Corps of Engineers park. When we arrived the government employee was pretty clueless, however, about their sites and what was available in them. The 50 Amp site we had reserved was mostly grass to park our motorhome on, and since it had just rained we decided against parking there. The employee gave us a list of other sites, and we selected another one she said was 50 Amp which turned out to be 30 Amp. That worked out since the other sites would have prevented us from getting a DirecTV signal. Since it was pretty warm, we could only run one air conditioner which worked out OK anyway. Be advised that water access locations to fill your tank are very limited except at the dump station. We filled our tank at our last stop. There was good fishing from the bank for our grandchildren, and fire rings for them to have a campfire in the evening. The newer camping area in the park had better electric but no trees to shade you on some warm days. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$12
Just to update the price is now $24, but we used our Golden Age federal pass for the 1/2 price number. Wonderful, clean COE park with nice contact folks. Perhaps the hosts? Sites are very nice with decent power. Some 50 AMP, but mostly 30 amp in the older shaded area. About a mile and a half south is a good view point at a COE Mississippi lock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
This is a typical COE campground with mostly large, level sites and good electric. Entrance from the north is a very sharp 180ยบ turn, but can be handled by a big rig with a wide turn. We stayed in the west loop right on the water. The office is open from 0900-1100 and 1800-2000 only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Easy access from Highway 35 approximately 3 miles north of De Soto, WI and just north of Battle Hollow Road on the west side of the highway. Watch for the sign. Turn west and down a small hill then across railroad tracks. Proceed about half a mile. Access roads are paved and interior roads and sites are gravel. Plenty of grass between sites. West loop is new with all 50 amp sites. No water at sites, but faucets distributed through the loop. Great dump station near the pay station. West loop is new and has small trees. Satellite TV was no problem and Verizon cell phone and air card had reasonable service. Very good roasted chicken and pizza joint about 1.5 miles south of park entrance. Park was about 30% full during our weekday stay. Amish area with beautiful roads and farms Northeast of park towards Cashton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We were traveling the U.S. and camped here in August of 2009 from Sunday through Wednesday. We stayed in site # 40 as a first come first serve in the west loop. The sites are level, but quite close together. Unlike the other loop that had a lot of shade, we chose this loop with no shade so we could get satellite. When we tried to put water into the motor home we noticed that the water was pretty brown so we chose not to use it. The bathrooms and showers were clean. It was very quiet here during the day and night. We would probably stay here again if passing through this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Was here in the fall,things looked good. Came back in Jan. 2007 for some fishing, too warm for ice fishing, no ice at that time. But what I really wanted to see was the new spots for the RV`s, the spots have been wired for electrical service. GREAT. Now I have to wait for spring to come. The COE people sure have tried to make progress on this park over the last few years. To the COE people, I have to say "THANK-YOU". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
We went here because of the reviews here - and found them quite accurate. The old section of the park (basically sites 1 - 50) are in great condition and quite nice. Several are non-reservable. We saw site #1 (lovely) but understand the comment about it being very close to site #2. Sites 4-7 are right behind a large vault toilet building - it blocks your view of the river. Site #30 was on the end and nice if you need electric. Site 10 was on the end of the non-reservable row and we nearly setup the motorhome there. Then we discovered the Boatyard Campground. This is a rustic setting of the park. Much more isolated and only the northern-most and southern-most sites had some tree cover. The southern-most is in the middle of a turn-around loop (which I didn't like). We setup in the northern-most of the 9-ish sites there and had a most wonderful view. We had a level grassy spot, about 10' in front of the motorhome was an excellent large picnic table, and another 9' in front of that was a firepit in great condition, and 10' in front of that was the Mississippi River. Yup, we heard waves lapping on the rocks all night long. Wonderful view of the main channel (see the tugs going up/down river) and, in the distance, the rail road tracks carrying lots of rail traffic. You'd hear both, but not enough to bother you. This site (which does not have a number and none of these are reservable) does not have any electricity, water, or sewer - but who cares when you have such a wonderful view? (Generators are wonderful things) A short walk to the north, just out of the park, is a mom-and-pop convenience store that sells huge bundles of wood for $3.00; rents flat bottom boats & motors for $45/half-day; and fries up fast food if you need it. We arrived late on a Saturday in mid-September and there were about 15 sites open for our selection. Also, there is a new section (not open yet) where the pads look lovely. But there is no riverside view from those. There is a new shower/flush toilet building also - but you need to bike/drive to it from the old campground. Finally, if you keep driving south, you'll come to another lake (still in Blackhawk) where there are more rustic sites with great views. Good analog cell phone coverage here. No Blackberry (GSM) coverage. (PS- yes we saw the eagles and sea gulls flying over the water looking for, and finding, fish!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Being big fans of COE parks we were surprised at how close together the sites in this park were, that the road into the campground loop was dirt and that the bathrooms near our site were smelly pit toilets. In our travels we've come to expect a lot more from COE parks. That said the sites do have a very nice view of the river. We had non-reservable site #1, it was a small pull-thru large enough for our 30 ft class A, level, dirt surface surrounded with grass and some shade, no one on our right side (but site #2 to the left was ridiculously close), with a nice unobstructed view of the river and 50 amp electric. Sites #40 through 51 were also fairly small and had no shade whatever but were a bit closer to the pay showers and right on the river. We cut our planned stay down to two nights since this park just wasn't for us, we value privacy and some seclusion very highly and found none here. This park would be great if you have a boat. We did do a terrific day trip to Effigy Mounds Natl Monument near Marquette, IA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
Back again this year, seems that the park people have been busy in their off season, a new section has had new places laid out, great job. The only problem is that they weren`t open yet, sure hope they add water along with the electrical service. This is a great park, not only do you have the campsites with electrical service, but they have a area further down the road for people that want to camp without electrical service. This park is located right on the Mississippi River with some backwater, makes for great fishing. Headed back to this campground later this fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
This was our second stay in a COE campground. Blackhawk is located about 30 miles South of Lacrosse Wi. right on the Mississippi River. It appears to be on a floodplain and we did pick up some unusual looking flying insects (gnat size) here. Lacrosse is an intersting town to visit and the dams along the Mississippi are also worth investigating. The brewery tour in Lacrosse is interesting. I don't know if I would stay here again due to insect problem. Camp was fairly clean and had a great view of the River. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
Stayed at this park three times last year, will be going back again. A very friendly staff. Great fishing on the Mississippi River. Very family oriented, playground, swim beach, two boat landings in park with another one just before the park. ???The gnats??? Yes, we did experence them only one of the times that we were there, but, some bug candles took care of the problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com