206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Lakeshore Park Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (906) 643-9522
CGID4654

Lakeshore Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   9   10   8   8   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
This is an excellent stop for a visit to Mackinac Island. The front row of sites has great water views. Other sites not so much. Maneuvering room can be tight depending on how others park their cars and trucks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Nice sized grassy, shaded sites overlooking Lake Michigan in a family-owned quiet park away from yet convenient to the tourist town. Great place for day trip to Mackinac Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Nice and quiet park with great views of the Straits and the Mackinac bridge if you walk down to the water. Our stay was wonderful. People are helpful and take care of the place. Well kept with few if any seasonals. Not a place for kids who need to be entertained. We used this CG for our home base while exploring the UP and Mac City and the Island. I did check but did not use the bathrooms and they did have cobwebs and spiders which would be expected near water but could have been a bit cleaner. $ 2 per day charge for AC which we did not use due to cool temps. Cell reception was very good, 4 or 5 local over-air channels. No camp store but there is laundry which is clean and very reasonable. Ice and wood are available, however. Sites are very level and ours did not require any leveling at all but they are a bit narrower than I prefer with everyone having slides. Front sites seemed narrower than back ones which also had more grass than front ones. If you do not have a Motorhome, bring an extension cord for your power which needs to go under RV to pedestal. TT and FW need to back in and power is on the other side. Motorhomes just pull in and the pedestal is on the proper side for them. Water and sewer have multiple outlets on both sides so that is no issue. I could have stayed a month. So much to do in the areas and it was wonderful. Suzy's Pasties are the best and are a few minutes away. I would have rated it a 10 if there was a small store, cable for the rainy nights and a bit more room between sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Gravel interior roads in fair condition, some gravel sites, most sites are grass. Some leveling required. Good water pressure and quality, no power problems. Owners are friendly and helpful. Good laundry facilities, good Wi-Fi, no cable, no LP available. Nice view of Lake Michigan across the street. Ferry services to Mackinaw Island provide free shuttle from park. We would use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This campground is wonderful . The owners are the nicest people. The park is so close to everything. Heplers picked us up at our campsite and took us to the boat dock to go to Mackinaw Island. This is a great Good Sam Park. Beautiful views of the bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Level gravel spots with ample room between campers. Good views of Lake Michigan (unless someone in front row) and just a short walk across road down to the lake edge. Family run park that is very well maintained and the family are all very courteous and helpful. Good clean laundry and store. Well located only 2.5 miles from downtown. Wi-Fi was a bit random in its reception, which at times was frustrating. We stayed 7 nights here over the 4th July period and would stay here again. Two dollars/night if you use air conditioning which is not always necessary! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
It is a pretty campsite. Some of the sites have blocked views of the water due to brush on the other side of the road. Some do have water view sites. Pretty level sites and friendly folks. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Nice park across the street from Lake Michigan. All gravel sites that were level, easy hookups and everything worked. Manager was very accommodating and let us pick our own site. Just spent one night so didn't use any of the park facilities. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Been staying here 3 years now, 6-7 times each year. Just became a Good Sam park. Some weekends during summer are usually pre-booked so plan accordingly. Early & late season stays have lower pricing and fewer amenities. Discount if you don't use a CC. We will be back!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We enjoyed our three night stay at this small campground that overlooks Lake Michigan and offers a lovely view. The campground is older which made it a bit tight to pull into our site but the site was long enough for our 33' Fifth Wheel and truck. There are longer and more easily accessible sites available in the open field section. We had a site in the second row, which is for pull throughs, but if you want the best view you will need to request a spot in the first row. Our main objective in staying here was to visit St. Ignace (a ten minute ride) and Mackinac Island and at check-in we were offered a discount coupon for one of the ferry services to the island, which we used and found to be extremely satisfactory. Although we came to sight see, we found the campground pleasant, quiet and relaxing and would not hesitate to make it a destination for several days in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
We only stayed one night, but wish we could of stayed a week. This is a very peaceful park with a beautiful view of Lake Michigan. It would make a great base camp for all the other places you would want to visit in the eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan. WiFi was great, if they had cable it would have gotten a 10. You can still get several local channels. This park has recently became a Good Sam park which makes it good for us with the 10% discount. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
The campground has pretty good interior gravel roads. It can get a little dusty at times but not a major issue. Satellite access can be challenging based on site location. The price appears to be a little on the high side. There is an additional charge of $2 per day for air condition usage which is a little disturbing. We received a note on our RV door that there was a charge of $2 dollars for using our A/C. I had already paid for the A/C when we checked in to the park. They were quick to correct the error. The grass/gravel sites are pretty level. The Wi-Fi access leaves a lot to be desired. We were in the campground for a week and a half and of that time we had the use of the Wi-Fi about 2/3 of the time. Even then the speed was really slow and the signal was LOW. When in the St Ignace area I would consider staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Although technically not a "waterfront" the site we were assigned allowed us to drive our RV in & look out directly on Lake Michigan with an unobstructed view. It is a beautiful spot with a path across a quiet road leading down to a beach area. It was also level enough that we did not have to deploy our jacks. The campground owner was quite friendly including assisting with suggestions about where to find "local" foods & activities. We would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Easy in and out. Had a 100 foot pull through site: more than enough for a 45 foot rig and Jeep. Had plenty of room for our 4 slides. Campground had strong AC power, first class Wi-Fi. The view to Lake Michigan was just through the windshield. Very friendly reception. Rate reflects FMCA: stayed one week and will come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
We have stayed here several times. Easy access and lot sizes good. Early spring problem with geese droppings. Lots are gravel and not to bad for leveling. Price is a little high and don't offer anything. Nice view of lake Michigan and the bridge. Park owners very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Another over rated park for tight, close spots where you can hear conversations in your neighbor's RV. They tried to place us in a site with no satellite access until we complained and were moved to another site; and that was a chore to make happen. Nice enough camp hostess, but made this reservation back in March, said specifically we needed south facing and then places us behind the only two large trees in the park. Pull in and back out for us, do have a nice view of the lake until the seasonal returned and pulled so far forward that it was almost totally blocked off - dusty, unlevel and again, too crowded, and just not worth the price charged at all. Wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This was our first stay at this campground. As others have stated, front row sites are designed for pull-in not back-in. Nightly fee seems high, especially if you're not able to use full-hookup. The $2 a night discount when paying cash was nice. Bathrooms could use some updating but were clean. Staff were very friendly. Nice place to stay for a night or two. Would stay here again but would not get a site in the front row. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Sites are OK, nothing special, fairly level. Water pressure and voltage was good. Not much view of the lake because of the trees but close to tourist activities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Nice park across the street from Lake Michigan with a view of the Mackinaw Bridge from the water. The short walk to the water is down a small hill but it isn't steep. Pull thru spots behind the pull in spots that face the water. Nice owner, we could pick up a few TV stations over the antenna, easy in/out onto a road that parallels highway 2. We were just there overnight but it is in a good location for day trips in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Nightly rate is based on 6 nights with 1 night free. Reserved specifically a site that we could use our satellite dish on the roof. We ended up with a site with a tree right in the way. Plus this park setup for Motorhomes so they can pull into a lake view site so the hookups were opposite. There also was a telephone wire just above our roof. With the hookup situation we had to use an extension cord which made us use 30amps instead of 50amps. If we can be guaranteed a lake view site with 50 amps and the satellite dish on the roof would work we might return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Nice campground with a nice view of Lake Michigan and a small rocky beach area available across the street. Spaces are not roomy, but we had adequate room. Friendly office staff and good Wi-Fi. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Quiet Campground. Office staff were very nice. We were on a water view site which had an OK view of Lake Michigan. Could not see the Mackinac Bridge from our site. Site was gravel with a lot of weeds growing through the gravel. Looked like the grass had not been cut in quite a while. Site was fairly level but a tree blocked our satellite dish reception. Sites are real close together. My awning almost touched my neighbors slide out. Our AT&T Cellphones and Verizon Wireless card worked well. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Stayed here in the past. They've built a new shower/restroom/group shelter mid park. Nice facility. Functional, not fancy. Park is located off the main highway and across the road from Lake Michigan. Rocky beach but the Granddaughter caught a nice 2.5lb bass from the shore. Laundry room small but adequate. Machines in good shape. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Great campground with an available million dollar view of Lake Michigan. No fancy extras, just the way we like it. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Lakeshore is easy to get to and close to town. We had a very long, level, 50 amp, pull-through in the second row. The lake was visible and the site was open for satellite. Interior roads and sites are gravel, but Pte. La Barbe Road is paved and perfect for biking or walking. Restrooms are not fancy but clean. The water is hard, so we were glad to have an exterior filter. We too had several air TV channels, good Verizon signal, and no problem with Wi-Fi. Staff members were very nice. There is a National Forest Ranger station on US 2 less than 5 miles west of the park with lots of information on the UP. This is a lovely quiet place to use as a base to visit Tahquamenon Falls, the SOO Locks, White Fish Point, Mackinac Island, The Channel Islands, etc. We will be happy to return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Very nice park with a million dollar view. It is a little tight getting into some sites but the view is worth it. The Wi-Fi was a little too weak to use at our site. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. This is one of our favorite campgrounds in the UP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed here 4 nights and loved this park even though the winds blew like crazy for part of the stay. The back-in sites next to the road have fantastic views of Lake Michigan's blue waters. There is a road between the water and the park. It's a pet friendly adult park in that there are no amenities for kids and that suited us just fine. They could improve the park by adding cable TV, but we've seen that not many RV parks in this region have cable service. We did pick up about 8 channels with our trailer antenna. We would certainly camp here again. Shuttle service for the ferries for Mackinac Island came right into the park to pick up passengers. The owners/operators were both very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Interior roads and sites are gravel. Good 50 amp power at our site. Front row sites overlook road, then Lake Michigan. Some small trees are located throughout the park. Sat TV reception was no problem. Verizon Wireless had digital signal with 5 bars. The park's free secured WiFi worked well. Free ferry shuttles are offered from the park to the ferry docks, then to Mackinac Island. Office staff were very friendly and helpful. Casino located approximately 6 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
A great base of operations. Park is located about 3 miles from I-75. Across street from park and between the trees are peek-a-boo views of Lake Michigan. You must cross the rural road and go down a hill to get to the edge of the lake (rocky, no sandy beach) then look to the east to see the Mackinaw Bridge. Nice sunsets to the west. Shuttle will pick you up at park to go to ferry docks for Mackinaw Island. Clean showers/restrooms centrally located along with dumpster. Absolutely no facilities for children, no pool, no playground and no entertainment. Ask for a site in the front row with a view of the lake. Second row sites only have a view if nobody is in site in front of you. Long pull thru sites on second row big enough for 45’ Prevost pulling a 30’ trailer with room to spare. Sites are grass and packed dirt/gravel, most are high in front and may require use of extra leveling blocks. Roads are gravel/dirt. Good, steady electric service, well water tastes okay but is very hard. Two water hookups and two sewer connections at each site located conveniently mid-site for most units. Lots of dogs, all well behaved and we saw most people pick up after their pets. Staff cheerful and helpful, office clean and neat. Good homemade pasty shop on Rt. 2. Slightly expensive, at $34 we expect more than the basic amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Nice campground in a tourist area. We liked the location. Restrooms were a little tired and shopworn, but clean and they are expanding the building. Sites are a little close. Campground was quiet. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is an older well maintained CG that sits back off State Hwy 2 on a lake frontage road with a great view of Lake Michigan. Finding the park is a little difficult due to the lack of signs directing you onto the frontage road. The access roads are gravel and are just wide enough to handle the big rigs (40+). The pads are gravel mixed with dirt and are fairly level, however, they are tightly spaced. The utilities are located on both sides of the spaces making it confusing as to which pad is assigned to which utility, even though they are identified by the number of the space. Management is trying to make it possible to either pull in, or back in. We had a problem with our neighbor being hooked up to ours. The fire pits are made from cut up barrels making them movable, (not a good thing) which allows your neighbor to move his under your open window or up wind of your rig, we could have smoked fish in our rig more than once! The Electric (50A), water and Wi-Fi signal at our space was great and the management was very friendly. The mosquitoes were there, but not too bad. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Perfectly adequate campground. Restrooms were a little tired and shopworn, but clean. Very little greenery, with sights tightly side-by-side. Views of water and bridge were very limited, although you could walk across road to the waters edge to see more. Owners were perfectly nice. Price seemed a little high for what was provided, but that's a tourist town for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
We love this campground. We were here 4 years ago and wanted to come back. Nice view of lake with lots of trees and can walk to the beach and look across to the Mackinaw bridge. One of the things that we like about this campground is that is quiet, very few children. There are not many amenities for kids. Family that runs this campground are friendly and helpful. Shuttle to Ferry for Mackinaw and also the Casino in St Ignace comes to campground to pick you up. That way it is less driving when you get there. Hopefully we will get back there in another 4 years We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Despite not being "waterfront" this park has several sites with excellent views of the north shore of Lake Michigan, as the sites are elevated above the road and just across the road from the lake. A short path takes you directly to the rocky shoreline, affording views of spectacular sunsets and of the Mackinaw Bridge (at five miles long, is one of the longest in the world). Extremely convenient is the fact that the ferries to Mackinaw Island provide a free shuttle service that comes directly to the Lakeshore Park Campground and will also take your personal bicycles to and from the ferry. If you have your own satellite dish on your RV, many of the sites provide clear access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Gravel site, had no problem leveling or getting into the site. The sites are very weedy. Staff was friendly. Wi-Fi was slow. Was able to pick up 2 channels on digital TV. View of the lake was nice even though it is a partial view. They do have property on the lakeside of the road where you can walk down to the lake and see the bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
What a great view of Lake Michigan and Mackinac Bridge. This park is a nice place to see the area.It is clean and easy accessible. The only complaint is you have this nice view out your front window but they have these tree limbs hanging down and they won't cut them and won't let you. . Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Very nice campground, most sites had a (partial) view of Lake Michigan, depending on other sites and trees. Pretty good Wi-Fi coverage too. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
View of Lake Michigan was great. Gravel sites not extremely level. Bathroom/showers are in desperate need of updating. While we were there the showers did not have hot water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
We were given a site in the front row with a view of Lake Michigan from the Mackinac bridge to St. Helena island. Both DirecTV and HughesNet worked from here. The staff are friendly and helpful, roads are good gravel, as are the first row sites. There was road construction on Point Le Barbe road but the crew kept the road open for RVers during the construction. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
Nice view of Lake Michigan(across the road) from most sites. Restrooms reasonably clean. Gravel and mostly level sites. Price high but typical for area. Good location for exploring the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
When we arrived we found that our site had been given to someone else so we had to settle for one next to the bathrooms and then move again the next day. The park would have been fine for an overnight stay if they weren't under heavy construction the week we were there. The dump trucks and backhoes started at 7:30AM, which was still during the supposed quiet time, and continued all day. When asked why we were not told of the construction when the site was reserved so we could have made reservations somewhere else or maybe been given an "under construction" discount, we were told there was nothing that could be done and if we weren't satisfied we should leave. We were yelled at and repeatedly referred to as "you people". Every morning the water pressure dropped making it difficult to do dishes, much less take a shower. You could only use one curling iron or hair dryer at a time in the bathroom or it would blow a fuse. I would not consider this a family campground because of the construction equipment left around and because the "sandy beach" could only be reached by crossing a road. The new sites that were being put in were going to be all gravel and when big rigs were parked there the rest of the campground had no "view of the lake". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Lakeshore is a very nice campground with a nice view of lake Michigan and the Mackinaw Bridge. The owner is very helpful and quite friendly. We were there late in the season and the restrooms were closed. This would be a 9 or 10 rating if restrooms and showers were available. Due to our late arrival time and date this oversight was not necessarily the fault of the owner. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com