218141 User submitted reviews online!!
Mission Bell RV Resort (55+ park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (956) 585-4833
CGID4664

Mission Bell RV Resort (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
358
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   5   7   10   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
This is an amazing park. I rated it at a nine instead of 10 because they are always improving this facility. If you are looking for a place to "call home for the winter", this is it. They have a full-time activities director, superior managers and staff, the largest dance hall in the Rio Grand Valley, daily/weekly activities and friendly people. I highly recommend this RV Resort for your winter home. We have purchased one of the available Park Models and are planning on making this our full time home within the next few years. Don't hesitate, make the move and come to Mission Bell RV Resort. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This is a great park with the friendliest people in South Texas. The office staff were very helpful with our search for a park model for our stay in their park. They have a wonderful list of activities that we enjoy doing. Especially the get-together that the activity director coordinates. The people are very friendly and have made us feel like we belong. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$10
This is a great RV Park. Last year, we made the mistake of booking at a different park in the area after looking at their Internet site that did not have a lot of pictures but what lot of big talk that turned out to be bogus. We then looked all over and found Mission Bell and booked for this year. What a difference. Everything Mission Bell gives you everything they advertise on their website. All their photos are true. They have a great pool hall and my wife loves the salt water pools that are heated. The exercise room is nice and the bathrooms are spotless and cleaned daily. The staff is so nice and helpful. They have so many activities you can't do them all. The place is lit up for Christmas. We are looking forward to the free Christmas dinner because the free Thanksgiving dinner was great. We have met so many nice and friendly people that do lots of different things. The big woodworking shop is popular and so are the golfing groups because there are many golf courses that are close by. I highly recommend this park. Forgot to mention how close it is to everything so you don't have to drive but 5 minutes to get to many restaurants, Walmart, big grocery store and Home Depot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
The park has a great dog park and wash. The activities director does a great jobs keeping everyone busy. Everyone is very friendly, and the management is helpful with everything from giving local directions to checking on some of the parks older customers. This is a 55+ park. We aren't quite there yet, so we probably won't stay here again for that reason. If you are looking for a park for the winter: I would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$17
People here were friendly and wonderful. However, the sites we had was very small with 30 amps. Park had larger sites with 50 amps that cost more. Some site had 200 amp if you pay for this service. We had trouble getting into our site because of close corners. Electric is expensive and needs updating. We stayed a month and a half. Will not be returning because of the site size and electric. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$50
We stayed in this park for 4 months. The ballroom/recreation is the biggest asset. The restrooms are cleaned daily, laundry is good and there are outside clothes lines for hanging your clothes. You need to purchase your own cable. The pool is salt water and maintained nicely along with the hot tub. The hook ups are older, but seemed to work most of the time. There were water outages and the water is not good for drinking or cooking. Wi-fi was unavailable most of the time. When we arrived everything was dirt by the time we left there had been a lot of rain and the grass was nice and green. There were lots of activities and many couples come here year after year. We will not be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$17
Daily rate is based on our monthly payment along with our electricity cost which is separate from the monthly rental cost. This is our first visit to "the valley" and Mission Bell proved to be a lovely place to begin our visit. Everything the previous reviewer set out is spot on. We enjoyed the activities, the friendly staff and residents and our stay was perfect. We chose a site on the back fence line. We were not bothered by any street noise. Our site was a bit tight by today's standard but the park is 27 years old. We did not feel 'squished' as we have in other parks. We are close to shopping areas which I felt was a perk compared to some other parks, which are a ways out. We just had a wonderful time and would certainly return if the opportunity arises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$11
Becoming full time RV campers in May 2011 brought us here to Mission, TX to spend our first winter because we didn’t want to see any more snow. We randomly picked Mission Bell RV Resort (55+ Park) via the web because we had never been to this area before. We have been very blessed because this park is filled with friendly people with lots of activities (golf, cards, dances, movies, pot lucks, shuffle board, billiards, bingo, monthly dinners, bicycling, hamburgers, crafts and quilting just to name a few) to do each and every day. It reminds me of my home town where everyone waves and says “Hi”. Our stay has been over 4 months and we plan to stay 2 more months before we leave. We rented a premium site along the back fence with 50 Amp which has a nice paved area with plenty of room. The free Wi-Fi works very well which is very important to us. If you need anything they help you find it and if you have any complaints they listen and do their best to address it. We have enjoyed hanging out at the chlorine free swimming pool almost every day. All the shopping, hospitals, restaurants, birding parks and chiropractors are within a few minutes from here. South Padre Island is less than an hours’ drive. Several people have gotten their dental work done (very cheap) and their medicine (cheaper) in Progresso, Mexico. We will miss our friends when we leave. We camped here in a 36’ motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
This review is based on our experiences and observations after spending 6 months at this campground from November 2009 through April 2010. The Rio Grande Valley consists of a 67 mile corridor along US 83 from Mission, Texas on the west, to Brownsville, Texas on the east. It is difficult to get an exact count but estimates run as high as 500 campgrounds blanket the area, giving Winter Texans a lot of choice in where to settle. Mission Bell/Trade Winds are two resorts physically separated by Stewart Road, that operate as one. Offices for both are located in Mission Bell. The grounds buildings and facilities are very well maintained, and response to problems is fast and efficient. In just one year the new management team has turned these parks a full 180 degrees, by concentrating efforts on customer satisfaction. Each park has it’s own pool and hot tub, that are heated and very well maintained. The pools are salt water which avoids many of the problems associated with chlorine, including burning eyes, faded swimwear and smell. Each park has their own shower facilities. Trade Winds has three mens and three ladies showers in two separate rooms. Mission Bell has three mens and three ladies as well as one unisex/handicap room. There is also a newly remodeled mens and ladies restroom in the main hall at Mission Bell. All restrooms and showers are very well maintained and reported problems are quickly resolved. The only negative here is that none of the shower facilities are heated or air conditioned and subject to the whims of mother nature. Past complaints of noise problems are being dealt with by management. Railroad tracks run along the south end of both resorts and frequently the trains make a lot of noise with their horn. Unfortunately the management can do nothing about this. The north fence line consists of single family homes that present a barking dog problem. Much progress had been made by animal control in cooperation with the resort management to alleviate this problem. The little noise that remains you easily get used to and unless you are a very light sleeper or leave all your windows open all night it will not bother you at all. Wind has also been cited as a complaint and unfortunately the whole valley gets the high winds and if you want to come anyplace in the valley you put up with it. I do not think it is as bad as some say. I have a weather station that has a wind speed readout and so far our highest sustained wind was 38 MPH and the highest gust was 45.8 MPH. I have had my awning open and tied down since we got here and not had a problem. Activities are pretty much the same as you find at all the campgrounds in the Valley. The difference here is the quality. The activities department seems to have a large budget and makes good use of it with a weekly dance with a very popular country band that also does a monthly rock and roll oldies dance. Also scheduled are frequent low cost breakfasts and hamburger fry’s as well as some great pot luck dinners. On the other hand the quality of the entertainment is not a good as it should be. Of the top ten entertainers that made their way from Branson this winter, only one of them appeared here. The only other negative is that a great majority of these activities take place in the Mission Bell Hall and not the Trade Winds Hall. Even with over 500 campgrounds and resorts to choose from the one thing lacking in most is size. A great majority of these places were built in the 60’s and 70’s when RV’s were small and the slide out was rare or non existent. We spent a lot of our spare time here in the valley visiting a lot of different parks, campgrounds and resorts, and found most of them to be the same as far as lot size. The one thing missing from campground directories, advertising and web pages is lot size. The average lot in Trade Winds/Mission Bell is 23 feet wide by 55 feet deep, and has a cement patio 5 by 16 feet. While I have not measured all the lots at all the parks here in the valley, this does seem to be the norm. There are a few places with much bigger lots, if you shop around. With size being pretty much the same, the only criteria left to base prices on is amps and concrete. Here, as in all parks 50 amp service makes the lot cost more than a 30 amp lot. Once again that age problem sneaks in. The older RV’s used mostly 30 amps and the parks are slow to upgrade to 50 amps. A lot of the people that return year after year have made improvements to some lots, in the form of pouring concrete to make larger patios and pads to park their RV on. When the people move on the concrete, of course, stays and the campgrounds reap the benefits by charging more for such lots. It is a fact of life in the RGV no mater what park you choose so if you want to park on cement rather than grass or gravel, you will have to pay the premium price. There are few differences among the resorts in the Rio Grande Valley, but there is one thing you will find at Mission Bell/Trade Winds that makes them stand out, warm friendly people. A walk around on a nice sunny day here will get so many greetings and waves you will almost get tired of saying hello, and you’ll think your arm will fall off from waving. Never before have we met such a great group of people. They are always smiling, friendly, and willing to lend a hand. To sum it all up in one sentence: Mission Bell/Tradewinds is a five star park with ten star people. We loved both the resorts and the friendly people make you want to return to renew friendships year after year. Life is an adventure and in spite of how much we enjoyed our stay here we will be moving on to a different resort next winter and a new adventure. We want to try the other end of the valley and have booked a space in Harlingen for next time. Don’t count us out yet because we may return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$32
We stayed here for 2 months and enjoyed our stay. The people and staff are very friendly and helpful. There is lots to do, you can be busy all the time or part of the time. The laundry, showers very clean and well kept. The friendship hall and weekly dances were great. It was very convenient to have the propane truck come to the park on a regular basis. The only improvement I would like to see is the speed of their wi-fi. Signal was not bad but the speed was pretty slow most of the time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$13
The rate is reflective of the four month rate plus electricity and a $200 off coupon for first time visitors. The staff and occupants are very friendly and helpful. The activities and gatherings at the park are numerous. The next time we winter in the area we will definitely stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We stayed the first two weeks of June and had a very good experience. We had free Wi-Fi to our site, unlike a lot of parks that have a certain area you have to take your laptop to. They also had two business center areas where they had free long distance to anywhere in the US or Canada. I did not think I would need that because we have a cell phone but I was almost out of minutes so their free phone came in handy. They had two pools and we enjoyed them. They were salt water and it was our first time using those. It is really nice without a chlorine smell. We did not notice any sewer smell. As an experienced RV'er, we have noticed that some RV'ers are not considerate and when they leave a space, do not replace a sewer cap. The managers were so nice. They took us around and allowed us to select a site. We also did not have any sirens or train noise as another viewer suggested. We are coming back to stay next winter. Because of another reviewer, we looked around before booking at this park and should not have been concerned. We compared amenities and prices in the area: this is a very good value. A couple of real fancy parks in the area: double the price. This is a very nice park and had everything we needed and had great customer service. We understand that there are lots of activities over the winter and look forward to a fun time at Mission Bell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Very friendly park located near to all needed amenities and easy interstate access. Large dance hall with varied groups for all ages. Friendly golf group, new large salt water heated pool, large pool room with 5 tables, Sunday worship services available on site, and all the volunteer opportunities you could wish for. Owners are friendly and helpful. Many, many organized activities that are enjoyable because of the good, friendly people participating in them. We have visited this park for the past five years, and enjoy it so much we have purchased a permanent unit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$32
This was not a quiet park as advertised. There was a train that went by quite frequently and sounded its horn at each crossing. This was quite annoying especially in the middle of the night. Also the campground is located on a major highway so you hear traffic and sirens constantly. The sites are very small and do not allow for slides on the units therefore you are extremely close to your neighbor. The smell of sewer gas was disgusting. The bathroom were locked from 9:00 pm until 7:00 am and were inadequate for the number of people using them. Half the shower stalls were inoperable. The lounge chairs at the pool were broken and one pool was servicing 2 parks as the other pool was closed. Restrooms were cleaned each day but did not look like it or smell like it. I would not return to this park or recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
Do not book for longer than a few days here until you are sure that you are getting what is advertised. Amenities at Mission Bell and their sister park ( Trade Winds )across the street did not match what was advertised in their web page in the 2008- 2009 season. Pool, phone and wi-fi were not available for much of the season. Management showed little concern for resident's requests to get what they had paid for. Pet walking area had many sand burrs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
This is an over 55 park. We are active early retirees so we were part of a growing younger set at the park. The dance hall is huge and well ventilated with fans and a/c. There were plenty of activites available, even for newbies like we are. Free dance lessons, dances held 1 to 3 nights a week. Nice clean pool and new 600 sq ft shaded area on the pool deck. Loads of clubs are available; bicycling, golf, motorcycles, woodworking, many card games, pool, bowling, pot lucks and a lot more. This was our first year retired and we stayed here 3 months without having a day of boredom! We plan to return again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Overall, this park was big, it was very hard to get my rig in the spot they assigned, and when I asked if I could be moved a few spaces down they rolled their eyes at me. The manager was a fairly new replacement and was incredibly rude. The pool and hot-tub was nice, but the people were quite clannish and stuck to their own. We felt like outsiders. The WiFi was a mess with special passwords being required and such. Definitely would not stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$26
We stayed at Mission Bell in November and through the Thanksgiving holiday. It is a great park. It is very friendly and has a huge dance hall with a wooden floor that is as big as a basketball gym. They have dances there after the first of the year that everyone raves about. Great pool and hot tub. They have a lot of pool tables and shuffleboard courts. We used the free Wifi and free long distance calls and computer room for the residents. The manager was very nice. They are on call 24 hours and got us in on a late arrival after hours. They were super people. We really enjoyed our stay. We also stayed at Tradewinds, their sister park, on our return from Mexico to see which one we liked. We will have a hard time chosing next year which one. Both are friendly and really look after the residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$24
55+ park. Managers and people in park were all extremely friendly. Access to McAllen and other city shopping is easy. It is more a seasonal park for the same people who come every year, but they make even short term travelers feel very welcome. Sites are a little close, but they all are in the area. The grounds are kept up and the appearance is very eye appealing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com