214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Forest RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 78 user reviews. Phone: (512) 926-8984
CGID4672

Oak Forest RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   9   8   7   7   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
I was not overly impressed with this park. It wasn't bad, it just was nothing special. We also had the worst site in the park, site #9. It is at the end of a row, which is usually better. However site 9 is flipped and puts you face to face with your neighbor. The site is also pie shaped, so our entry door was about 4' from the giant race trailer in the next spot. We were pretty happy when we came home the 2nd day of our stay to find that the trailer had left. So what showed up later that afternoon? Yep, another giant race trailer. In spite of several other empty sites, the office saw fit to put it next to us. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$26
Good convenient park when we visit our son, daughter, and friends in Austin. Managers are 5 star and park well kept. Utilities placed in sites correctly and work properly. Long pull thrus so big rigs have no problems. One item to mention is the park has dropped Passport America affiliation but has several other programs and discounts available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Very nice park. Concrete pads, plenty of space and shade, clean, 3 separate dog parks, staff was very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi is bad, it’s a hike to groceries and supplies. Would definitely camp here again when in Austin. Price paid reflects a Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$45
I loved everything about this park, except the attitude of one of the managers. When she saw our RV was older than 10 years old, she immediately said that we could not stay there. Then, the other manager, Gary, stepped in and everything was okay. I understand that the parks have to have rules about who stays there, but if you are just staying for one night and your RV looks better than some of the ones already there...just saying! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Excellent park close to Austin. The park was very quiet. The staff were very friendly. The park is very safe. I only wish they had access to a service that would fill my propane tank. I had to drive 20 miles to get it filled. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
Good pull through site with a full hook up. Very good wifi and cable TV included in the price. A small work out room that could do with an upgrade. Close to Austin for tourists. Extremely friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
This is a well kept park with adequate space between RV’s and level concrete pads. The people were friendly and had a nice area for pets. The campground is mostly comprised of permanent and / or long term units with the daily / weekly spaces near the office area. The location is a peaceful wooded area with some road noise. Supplies are a few miles away as are the tourist attractions and Austin is known for it’s traffic gridlock so give yourself time to travel from place to place. I would have given this campground a higher rating if it were not for the horrible Wi-Fi connection w/ Tengo Internet. We were there for a week and although we had a strong signal from the router we could not get connected. Obviously, the bandwidth was the problem so if free Wi-Fi is important to you be advised. Since this amenity is factored into the nightly rate I think we will look elsewhere when we visit Austin again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Staying here in a 40' motorhome for the week of the dog show. This place is very nice with wide spaces, shade trees and clean buildings and grounds. People were very helpful and nice. Three dog areas where you can let them loose to run around as long as you are with them. Otherwise they need to be on a leash. Nightly/weekly area is up close to the office with the monthly sites further away. It kind of gives you an in the country feeling except for some noise from the roads not far away. It is close enough to places of interest to make it "local". Level concrete pads and roads, easy to navigate. A pool, hot tub, showers, fitness center, shuffle board, horse shoes and a pavilion with a gas grill. All in all a very good place to stay and we will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
First, I never give a 10 rating. There is no "10". Pros: Fairly close to downtown, shopping for supplies and major roadways. Managers friendly and so are the long term people. Good laundry, clean restrooms and pool. Cons: Invaded by ants this visit-be warned. Placed in third row site, which is concrete but narrow and could not use awning because of the trees and could not eat outside-table and pad right on neighbors sewer connect. Second row has more space between sites. But will stay again in the future in 2nd row. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Pretty park with concrete and grass sites. A little close together, but clean and tidy with views of oak meadow/forest. Would absolutely stay here again in our 40' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
Rate reflects PA. Overall a very nice campground. Most of the campground is long term or permanent residents but not trashy. The front of the park is for overnighters, so review is for the front half. Mangers are very polite and helpful. We had a truck issue and had to keep extending our stay one day at a time, but they were fine to work with. Good wi-fi and utilities. Sprint worked good here. Sites are level concrete. Pool was immaculate. Only issue were ants, but not sure what you can do about them. Convenient to downtown. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
Very nice well kept and clean park. Almost in the center of Austin, very easy to get to and near the Johnson library and university. Long perfectly level sites with concrete pads and grassy area. Hook ups are off set so sewer from neighbor is away from your outdoor area which is a nice touch. Roads are a little narrow and concrete, but did not have an issue getting into site. Sites are very wide and lots of outdoor room. Water and power was very good. Passport America park and 4 nights were $106 dollars, even though were arrived on a Saturday. Good and free Wi-Fi that is not password protected. Called 4 days before arrival and was told that I had the last available site. Strangely enough, there is a "No Vacancy" sign even though sites are available. I would call before going to this park. Curb side trash pick up and nice dog area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
What a delight! We were only there two nights and used none of the amenities as we were there to visit family and friends in the area. Very convenient to downtown. The park is beautifully maintained, concrete roadways and level pads. No problem navigating with 60-foot F-250 and 38-ft 5th-wheel. Bathrooms were immaculate! Quiet. Verizon was 4 of 5 bars. Would definitely recommend and return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
First time out with new fifth wheel and the managers made us feel very welcome and were helpful in many ways. Stayed two weeks getting comfortable with our set-up. Rate is based on PPA and AARP and combinations. There are concrete roads and pads and is big rig friendly (our toter and 5er is 65 feet.) Class A's and such have no problems. All utilities worked like they should and there is a good selection of cable TV programs through tw-cable. Bathrooms and showers are clean and modern with private bath, toilet, and shower (4) in coded separate rooms. This park will be our base when in the Austin area. Good location for going to the city and events at the Expo center which is just down the road. Will stay here and recommend this park.this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
One of the nicest places we have ever stayed, regardless of price, including Disney World at $80. Paved sites and roads, friendly staff, convenient location, and quiet. What more could we ask? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
Very nice park, we stayed three days on Passport America and one on Good Sam to get this rate. This park was convenient for our needs. I feel the park could have used a good grounds crew to do a walk through just to pick up small trash that has accumulated in areas. I also think longer term campers are allowed to put too much junk around their sites. They do have some strict rules here, which is good. If in the area I would stay here again. With just a few minor issues this park is a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Rate reflects AARP discount. This is my second stay at this park, and I liked it much better this time. Great area for walking the dog, but according to the manager that rustic area will be developed soon, and 76 more RV sites added there. I plan to stay here again on my next visit to Austin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
Rate reflects Passport America price, Sunday through Thursday only. FHU completely level concrete paved 50 amp site. Beautifully maintained and clean campground with pool and hot tub. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV. Plan to stay here again on our way north in April. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
Rate based upon monthly stay. Probably the nicest all around RV park in Austin area. Restrooms/showers immaculate. Wi-Fi OK most of time, slower during higher demand times. Easy pull throughs. Pool/hot tub great, open all year. Nice office library, staff helpful. Took a point off for no change for laundry (have to go to car wash), Wi-Fi antenna needs to be mounted higher, no propane available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$40
We enjoyed our stay here. In the summer it will be beautiful with all the trees. The sites are concrete pads and level, our site was pull through. Gentleman who checked us in, was friendly and helpful. The only negative was the Wi-Fi was slow. We paid $40 after the Good Sam discount. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
Our rate was for PA. This is a great little park. We could only stay 2 nights but will be back as soon as we can. All the pull though sites available have long concrete pads and great utilities. Good cable and WI-FI plus there are 3 fenced in areas for the pups. The Austin area roads can be confusing but we did not have any problems finding or getting into the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Rate is a combination of Passport America & AARP. I am surprised there were so many previous 9 ratings - don't think previous visitors walked around the entire park. The first few spaces, reserved for short-timers, are nice - no doubt. Pull-through, fully paved and level, cable -- nice flowers, green grass, trash picked-up at your site. But walk to another row, where the permanents and long-timers are parked, and it's a whole, different story - a bit junky. On the positive side, there is a pool & hot tub, large book exchange, 4G Verizon, and an area to grill and eat. On the "could use improvement" side, clean-up the park and learn some customer service skills; a welcoming smile and pleasant disposition is always nice. Also, a bit noisy at night -- road noise and park noise. Not sure if we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Eight miles from downtown Austin, lovely park with amenities. Some pluses with recreational activities such as horseshoes and shuffleboard. Some upkeep needed with laundry room and showers, but overall very nice. Good clientele. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Very nice park: nice trees, clean pool. Well groomed sites. Great concrete site pads. Great staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Nice and quiet park on the outskirts of Austin. Rate reflects monthly. Friendly staff, good Wi-Fi, paved pull through sites, strong water and power. Well maintained grounds with big trees. Great place to explore areas. Would give a 10 if the pool was bigger and the fitness room equipment was better. A very nice park and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Nice quiet park near Travis County Expo Center. Friendly office staff. All utilities work well. AC is slightly low at 114. Price reflects military discount. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Good park overall. Laundry (inside washer and dryer) was dirty. No water in the whole park one morning. Probably not owners fault, but both were frustrating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Overall a nice park. Unfortunately the management is not particularly responsive to requests. When I made my reservation, I requested a shady site. And when I checked in, I politely requested the most shady site that they had available. The guy checking me in replied, "When it's 105 degrees the shade doesn't matter." Well, maybe not to him, but to me it does. He put me in a site with virtually no shade, even though there were shadier sites available. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay, and would otherwise have given the place a 9 or 10. I loved the fact that there was plenty of places to walk my big dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Very nice park. We did a late arrival and it was very easy to follow directions. Smallish pool, but the site was level and hookups were easy, except for the cable, which was a bit tricky. It is well out of town, about 7-8 miles away from the nearest grocery store. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Very well run park; clean bath rooms with shower in same room. Pleasant management, great upkeep, a lovely stay. We stayed four days and traveled from there on business and found it very convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
We have stayed at this park three times both in a travel trailer and more recently in a motorhome. This is an excellent park for the Passport America price of $24 during the week. The park is very clean and the people in the office are helpful. It is also very quiet at night. the park is several miles from the people we were visiting but it has always been worth it to drive a bit further (Round Rock). I recommend this park when visiting Austion or outlying areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Great park with friendly staff. We’re staying here for a couple of months in between trips (we fulltime) and the “daily” rate reflects everything: full hookups and electricity. Park is close in to Austin downtown, UT and pretty much everything else you’d visit Austin for (ACL, SXSW, Biker Rally, Rodeo, etc). Very impressed with this park, one of the best we’ve stayed in. It is pet friendly with 3 very large fenced in areas to let your animals play while you sit and throw the ball and enjoy your favorite beverage. There is also a very large walking area with field that is good for letting the dogs off leash to thrown frisbees or balls for the dogs to run. Across the street from the park is yet another area for pets to run freely. WiFi is through TengoNet which can be frustratingly slow (we use MilleniCom instead). The premium sites are concrete and very level. The water pressure is very good, electricity consistent w/no problems, spikes, etc. The bathrooms and showers are immaculate, water pressure in the showers is great, each shower having two spray heads, one fixed, one on a hose. Very nice pool area, club house with outdoor patio. Laundry mat is very clean but rather high priced with small drums, AND they don’t have change machines nor will they give you change at the office. Best bet is to go to the laundry mat down the street and use it: also very clean with VERY large drums and inexpensive. This park is a mixture of long term and short stays but all managed well. The park is very well taken care of and nicely laid out. Very easy to maneuver our coach (40’ tag MoHo) and we’ve seen 45’ pull in easily. Check-in/out easy and quick: call ahead because this park fills up quick! We’ll definitely stay here anytime we come back to visit friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Awesome park! Spacious, green (grass and trees), birds and squirrels. Very quiet, the internet is really fast and reliable (Tengo) and free. Laundry was cleaned daily. Small, but in a very good condition. Rate is reflecting PA discount. Not very close to downtown, but this was not what we're looking for. We would definitely come back here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
The previous reviews have covered the campground very well. It is a very nice campground with exercise room, pool, hot tub, barbeque area, daily trash pick-up, small store, nice library, very clean facilities and nice long pull-through sites for those staying a week or less. There are back-in sites for those staying monthly, and in one section of the park are the people living here permanently. All of the park is very clean and neat. Should you want to cook in the barbeque area, you can use the gas grill there. Just clean up after you are done. A nice touch. We found this campground very convenient for touring Austin. The capital, the Bob Bullock History Museum and the LBJ Library are all within 8 miles. REI, Whole Foods and the Lady Bird Lake are within 9 miles. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
Regular rate is $44 – awfully pricey for east Austin, but Passport America at $22 for five nights and AARP at $30 makes a brief stay reasonable. The park has all the amenities: gorgeous pool, hot tub, patio area, small store, book exchange, 2 laundries, large 3-section dog park, paved roads, some concrete pull-throughs, some back-in gravel sites, pedestal hook-ups, cable and wifi included in the rate (although the Wi-Fi is Tengo), well-lit at night. Although this is a beautiful park and would rate a 10 if not for the location, next time we’re in Austin, we’ll likely stay south or west of downtown rather than east. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
Sites are nice and long, level, concrete pads. They are a bit close side to side. Interior roads are paved. Lots of permanents, but they are quiet and friendly with nice rigs. No junky ones. Office staff was friendly. Great place for visiting Austin. Price reflects one day at Good Sam and 3 Days at Passport rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
Newer park. Large, level concrete pad, pull through sites. FHU/50amp, cable TV and WiFi all worked well. Well maintained grounds, rest rooms and laundry. Nice pool area and exercise room. Many long term residents, but all grounds neat and well maintained. Most of these sites were gravel. Area outside the park is not the best. No traffic or train noise. Very quiet at night. Great Passport rate. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
We were given one of the 26 short-term sites and they gave us incorrect directions, so we were parked going the wrong way and couldn't use the sewer hook-up. Also very tight turns going through this park, as they have lots and lots of trees. It was very quiet and quite full, so must be a popular spot. They couldn't give us 2 nights or we would have probably stayed longer. Quite a ways from city of Austin (30 minutes or more). We would probably not stay for that reason, as we were visiting friends and family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$26
The personnel at this park were great and worked hard to accommodate us. We had a pull-through concrete site. Good satellite and plenty of room to park our car behind our coach. Trash pick up daily at our site was a plus. Good location in relation to the city. Rate is reasonable and reflects 2 nights at $22/Passport America rate and 2 nights at $30/AARP rate. Good water pressure and 50 amp power. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Nicest park I have ever stayed in. Staff is friendly and the laundry facility is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Very nice park and convenient while visiting the area. Make sure you take in Esther's Follies on 6th St. We laughed until we cried. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family in Austin. Great campground for visiting Austin. Close to town but not right in town. Quit a few shade trees, concrete pads for the site and a deck with a picnic table. Wi-Fi worked great. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This is a well maintained comfortable park. To be so close to the city, it was very quiet! Security patrolled the area and the site was nice and large. We will definitely keep it on our list for future stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$39
The overnight and weekly sites are in the front, and have long hard pads. There is a nice pool and office area. Has a good laundry and exercise room. There is some shade, and a good amount of space between most sites. Not much in the immediate area, but 5-7 miles will take you back to I-35, or into Austin. This area is rural with some industry and a little rundown, but it's quiet and safe. We stayed two weeks and it was a good location for our plans in Austin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
We checked out several parks. This is probably the nicest park near Austin. The actual location is about 7 miles east of town in a semi-dumpy industrial/residential area. The interior roads are paved as are the pads. Each space has a grass area and a wood deck and picnic table. Most are semi-shaded. There are a lot of seasonal and permanent residents but they are in a separate area from the over-night sites. The park drains very well in heavy rain. Flooding and mud are not a problem. The price is with a Passport America discount. The utilities were fine. The wifi was only average speed and reliability. The pool and hot tub were in excellent condition and not over chlorinated as in most parks. The bathrooms and showers were spotless with hot, high pressure water. Free coffee in the office was very good. The fenced dog park was small and seldom used while we were there. Our GPS said downtown Austin was 13 minutes away but we never made it in less than 25 minutes because traffic is so bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
Very nice campground, everything is paved, there was plenty of room to walk the dogs. Everyone was very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
Rate reflects Passport America Club membership. I would have given this park a 10 if the sites were a bit further apart. Most sites appear to be occupied by monthly or yearly renters. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$22
A very nice park with wide roads and level spaces. Spaces for over nighters are concrete and roads are paved. Permanent residents are segregated. Everything was clean and neat. Showers were very nice. Rate is PA for weekdays. Very quiet park. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$22
We stayed here using Passport America. If we had been able to use our discount for an additional night, we would have stayed! This park has beautiful trees, friendly people, and excellent facilities. Very clean. One of the showers has two shower heads which was excellent. Overall, a very nice, quiet, and tranquil place. Very comfortable! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$44
This is a very nice park that happens to be on the bad side of town. The park itself is nice, the folks in the office are great. I'd come back here if we need to be in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
Beautiful Park! Out in the middle of nowhere, but very easy to get to and super nice people. The bathrooms were like individual spas. We were there in the winter so we didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$37
I've seen posts say this is on the "bad" side of town. Well Austin has done quite a bit since this was the "bad" side of town. This park is one of the best in Austin. We live about 80 miles from Austin and on occasion pull our 5th wheel over for a few days. We've stayed here three times. Two times for concerts at the Erwin Center and at Stubbs for Rancid. The pool is great, there's an exercise room and private climate controlled bathrooms. Everything very clean, well manicured sites are level and management was friendly. We found this place kind of by accident, we needed a place to stay in Austin and McKinney Falls was booked. I'm glad it was. We will be back. While in town head over to Juan in a Million for The Don Juan breakfast tacos featured on the Travel Channel show Man vs Food. It is on the East side on Cesar Chavez not too far from this place. I love Austin!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$24
Very easy access and very nice management. Dog parks need a little work, but not too bad. Very convenient hookups. We look forward to going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
I can't find anything wrong with this campground. The lady in the office was lovely. The site was great, long and wide. The wifi was fast. My rooftop satellite got a signal. The other campers were friendly. There were three individual little dog runs, where they could be loose and play which is much appreciated. The place was clean, mowed, just a really great place. If I wanted to spend a month or more I would be happy here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
Nice park, no trouble with Wi-Fi, pet friendly, swimming pool is very small but clean. The park is clean and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This is a very nice park with paved roads and concrete pads and plenty of grass and trees to make park quite pleasant. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
We never stayed here, but they took our card number, never ran it, for the reservation. Things came up and we weren't able to stay. They never hassled us at all!! Nice place and facilities!! We would stay here, no doubt about that!! Thank you! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
Rate is based on Passport America. There are 134 monthly sites and 26 daily/weekly sites. It is best to have reservations as the park fills quickly. I have rated it an 8 because we don't know if we have ever stayed in a 10 and want room to improve. The staff were very helpful on the phone, and very cordial in person. The sites are very near to level, cement, and plenty of room in the pull-through for a 40 foot motor home and towed vehicle. The dog run is very large and affords puppy a great place to go to. The facilities are all in good maintenance and the grounds are clean. There is an exercise room, although a little small, but still, it is available. The pool area also has a hot tub at 103 degrees F. Trash pick-up is daily out in front of your unit - or you can take it to the dumpster on the way out of the park. We would definitely stay here again. (800) 478-7275 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
I reviewed this park last year during a construction phase on site and with a huge construction project going on next door. Both projects are finished and this is a great place to stay now. This year, we're up in the nightly area and wifi is good, staff is pleasant, park is well-maintained and the proximity to DT Austin is very good. My only beef is that grocery stores are few out here, but the rest of the package more than makes up for it. Our rate is based on Passport America. You do not need an AARP card to get the best rate as was implied by the previous reviewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
This is a very nice park. Clean and well kept. The normal rate is $40 but we got the Passport America rate with our AARP card. Friendly staff. Even though we were the only ones in the pool area, I could see where in the middle of summer it could be very crowded. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
Rate reflects Passport America weekly rate. We enjoyed our stay at this park. The location is away from major highways and pretty quiet. It only takes about 15 minutes to drive to downtown. It is an attractive park with many large trees in and around the park. The sites are concrete and level and the roads are paved. The short-term sites are all spacious pull-thrus located at the front of the park. We were able to use our satellite TV. Although the park provided free Wi-Fi, we used our own Internet card. The facilities, including office, pavilion, private restrooms, spa and pool are all brand new and very nice. The only reason I didn't rate this park a 10 is that the new pool is very tiny. The grounds are maintained well and there is nice landscaping with shrubs and flowers in the public areas. The longer term guests are located in the rear part of the park and have their own laundry and restroom building. This area of the park is more shaded, crowded and not as attractive as the short-term area, but seemed to be generally well maintained. There were just a few very old units that had been parked there way too long. We definitely plan to return to this park whenever we travel to Austin. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$22
Super place to stay in order to explore the Austin area. Very friendly staff and we got the Passport America rate for a week. The sites are well laid out and nearly all pull through. Lots of shade even though we didn't need it at the time. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$28
This is a very nice, quiet park. The roads are paved, and the sites are concrete. There is a large dog pen for off leash play. The restrooms were private and clean. The laundry room was clean. Rate reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2008
$11
The rate listed reflects a monthly rate. I think this place would be nice if you were staying a few days, as the short term sites are in the front of the property and very nice, though the construction next door is noisier from those sites. The monthly sites are in the back and share facilities (laundry room and bathhouses) with the adjacent mobile home park. I was ogled and whistled at several times by some unsavory characters hanging out by the facilities, which didn't increase my comfort in this park. The manager is possibly the most unfriendly and least accommodating person I've dealt with, though the staff is very helpful until the manager finds out and nixes anything bordering on customer service. We ended up leaving here to go to a different park in the area because we were so unhappy with this place. Long term sites are tight and marginally level gravel, drive into downtown involves a road with a lot of traffic lights and stop and go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
First off, the WiFi is NOT parkwide. I'm currently 100 yards from the office and not receiving a signal. While the park is very clean and well-managed, it should be noted that there is a huge construction project going on next door (a new school) and the noise is offensive in that they start at 6AM and work until 6 or 7PM, 6 days a week. I do not enjoy being woken up every morning by the sounds of back up alarms from the various equipment driving around the site. Also, the laundry and rec rooms are closed as they are under repair. While I'm sure these problems will resolve themselves over the next few months, those who intend to stay in the near future should be aware of these issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
This is our second visit to this park. Managers are great. The WiFi is now park wide instead of just the office. WiFi is consistent and not spotty, but slower than most. Concrete level slabs and most of new section has concrete streets. Some sites have trees and some don't. The hot tub and pool are very nice, open 24 hrs. The nice laundry, bathroom and workout room were closed for repairs, but to reopen in 2 weeks. This park is a good bang for the buck. Our rate was for PassPort. Not really close to grocery stores and stores like Walmart, etc. Eat at Donn's BBQ on hwy 969 for good cheap breakfast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
As most others have reported, Oak Forest RV Park is the place to stay in Austin. Great park, nice long (and wide) concrete pull thru's with nice grassy areas and shade trees at the sites. We had a site opposite the office, so Wi-Fi was strong. Great pool and hot tub, very clean, and well kept, with plenty of new lounge chairs and tables. The showers,restrooms,laundry and exercise rooms were closed for renovations - so should be nice for the next time we visit. There is another facility for usage while this one is closed. Staff very friendly. We stayed for a week, and had the Passport America rate hence the $22.00 rate. A very good deal. The owners makes sure the permanent residences keep their sites tidy, so that is very nice to see, when walking thru the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Very nice park! Clean, nice pool and very friendly staff. The only thing is that WiFi is weak. Only avail at office area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
This is an excellent park! The staff are friendly and professional and the grounds are clean and well maintained. The pool and hot tub area is very nice and does not have a closing time. This was particularly welcome as it gave us a chance to have some adult time at the pool. The park is located about 8 miles outside of downtown Austin. This was great for us because we have a scooter on a rack instead of a toad so being that close to town and being able to take surface streets was perfect. We will definitely be back. The rate is a Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Great RV Park. Stayed here for the Austin Stock Show for the third time. Will return for sure.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Overall, this is a nice campground. Our first site was under the oak trees, which didn't allow us to use our satellite internet (the branches were also dangerously close to the top of the rig). This was only a problem because their wifi only works in the area immediately surrounding the office. We moved later to a site that was both open for satellite and close enough to get the office wifi. The laundry facility is nice, but rather small given the size of the park. The pool, bathrooms, and other amenities were all very nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
One of the best RV parks I have ever stayed in. Nice paved roads and pads. Best showers I have encountered. Two showers heads, lots of pressure and plenty of hot water. Excellent pool and spa. Free cable and wifi. Wifi spotty at site, works best near pool / main office. Our rate reflects passport america rate. Normal rate is $40 per day. Close to downtown, right off 183. Very dog friendly with acreage both fenced and unfenced for dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$15
Our first trip in our 5th wheel so a pull-thru and "big" site was important. Got what we needed. Staff very friendly and helpful as were are neighbors. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
This is a very clean and well run park. Our weekly stay here was excellent with all the facilities of being home. Only thing missing was water in the dog run area. We would definitely come here again and recommend it to everyone!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
As others have said before, this is the place to stay in Austin. Spotless and quiet. Wi-Fi was a little spotty at the site, but this is being corrected. Easy access pull through sites, and extreemly friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
Nice, clean park with helpful, courteous staff. I used Passport America and received half price for the entire two weeks I stayed there. The park is about 20 minutes from Austin and convenient to most locations. The only complaint I had was that it was noisy...there's a lot of non-park traffic on the access road and the full-time residents seemed to feel it was important to leave diesel engines running while they checked mail and did other errands in the park office. Otherwise, no complaints. The individual pads are cement, level and long with nice green areas and plenty of trees (but no tables). Cable TV is excellent and pet facilities great. I enjoyed the visit and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$40
This is a quiet, clean park located 10-15 minutes from the capitol area of Austin and the UT campus. Dogs have a fenced in area that is 100 foot long, plenty of room to run and have fun with the other dogs in the park. They also have some great woodland walks for the dogs. The pool and hot tub areas are great and opened all hours. The laundry area is very clean. The monthly renters all have nice landscaping around their rigs, you can tell they take pride in the campground. This is a great place for the Austin area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$40
This is the best place to stay in Austin. You don't have to get in the stopped traffic on 35 to get to the UT campus or to the Capital or 6th street. It is located in a quiet section 10 miles from Austin. The landscaping is very nice and the club house is set up in a western theme with a public computer or free wifi for the laptop user. The pool/hot tub area is very clean. The best part of the park is the 100 ft dog area where the dogs give this park top paw. There are also dog walks through the woods. Pet owners here are very nice about cleaning up - if there is a bad pet owner that doesn't clean up you usually see the good pet owner pick up after them. The staff cleans the grounds every day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com