206873 User submitted reviews online!!
A.H. Stephens Historic Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (706) 456-2602
CGID4676

A.H. Stephens Historic Park

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   10   10   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Wonderful park! Only downside is nearby train tracks. Heard three trains during the night but only one horn per train. So, if you're in a hard sided trailer or motor home you may not even notice. Otherwise, the quietest place we've ever camped. Level sites, clean restrooms. This is a little noticed gem. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
Lovely park, way off the beaten path. Careful with your GPS. Ours took us down a pig trail which ended in the town. If you go that way you need to know there is a train trestle with only 12'10" clearance. Once we got past that, we were all good. The campground is clean and quiet. At night it is black dark. Be sure you visit the AH Stephens home, which is just outside the park. The rangers are extremely knowledgeable and the house is just full of furniture and items that he actually owned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
While definitely not a destination park, this is a nice and clean park with convenient access to I-20. The town is very small (I hesitate to even call it a town) and the local tourism is limited to the A. H. Stephens Museum (he was the VP of the Confederate States). We spent about 90 minutes on a house tour and the museum ($5/adult). Plenty of walking paths/roads in the park. We will happily stay here again, but only as a stop-over. No Wi-Fi and limited cell signal coverage for AT&T (occasional one bar) and Sprint (zippo). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
What a great state park! Twenty-five large sites (plus 18 "Horse Campground Sites") three miles from the freeway in a heavily forested area with many nature trails. Total darkness at night with only the sounds of the crickets. A really super place to stop. Nothing is really close for sightseeing other than the home of the Confederate Vice President. If you're in the area this is a wonderful campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
Stayed one night while traveling and were pleasantly surprised at this park. Great pull through, beautifully maintained grounds (almost manicured), nice hiking paths, level sites. I didn't see any sewer hookups, but a dump was available. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Campground was away from the day use area. No complaints, great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
The sites are spacious and spread out. We were there for 3 nights while visiting friends in the area. There were never more than 5 campers in the park. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The park has a museum at the entrance, however, the clerk told us it was being closed down soon due to budget cuts. This park is a quiet place to stay for a few days or to stop at overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We give this park an A+. Our 50 amp site (#14) was level with full hookups. The campground was very clean and quiet. The admission office personnel were friendly and the host (site #7)had answers for any questions. We walked around the park and enjoyed seeing many animals in the woods. CAUTION: DO NOT FOLLOW THE SIGNS IN TOWN OR YOUR GPS. Ask for directions around the railroad bridge. I made the left turn and came face-to-face with a 12'10" railroad underpass. I am 12'6" to the top of the a/c units. We made it under but the CB antennas did touch the bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Nice state park. We are here for one night on our way south. Watch your GPS. Put us on the main road into the park and encountered a bridge with a 12'8" height limit. Call the park to find another way in. Park road fairly narrow but paved. Site 14, we had, was good for satellite. No sewer, but good 50/30 amp service with water. Dump at entrance. Would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$23
A great park located a few minutes from I-20. Very quiet and very clean campground. Large, secluded, and leveled lots. A nice park for all age groups. The staff are friendly. They need to work on getting the sewer connections. We liked this park a lot and will be returning here again. We camped for a week with my uncle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
We stopped here twice in May. Both times the campground was neat and orderly. Sites were level. Campground was quiet. The personnel were friendly. Overall I would have rate this park very highly. The one negative is that there are no sewer connections. We will definitely stop here again on our trips through this area. A couple of cautions. Come prepared to eat in your camp site as there are no restaurants nearby. If your rig is more than 12 ft 10 in high ask for an alternate entry route as there is a railroad underpass that is 12 ft 10 in. high. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$23
A nice little park located only minutes from I-20. What we like best about the park is the campground. Although it only has 25 sites, they are large and secluded. A restored fire tower sits in the middle of the campground. There is a mom and pop restuarant in Crawfordville that has very good and inexpensive breakfast. Only complaints- a train comes by about every 4 hours while blowing its horn. We have visited over 30 Georgia Parks and this is one of our top picks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
We celebrated Thanksgiving with my family, and we loved this park!!! The sites were flat, level, and large. The bath house was kept clean and neat, and the volunteer hosts were some of the friendliest we have come across. The kids could ride bikes around the paved loop, and the trails were very accessible. We will definitely be visiting this park often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
A great park that is near to our home. Not many campsites but each one is wide and deep. Flat area, great for bike riding. I feel good about letting my kids ride around the loop by themselves without the fear of them being in the wy of others/ Nice playground and pavilioion. We camped there with four other families. Plus it has a pool that we have used int the past that is clean and not crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
We camped at A.H. Stephens on Memorial Day Weekend. The campground was full, lots of children and dogs (including our own)! The campground was very clean and well maintained. The sites were level and spacious. The trails were nice also. They have a lake, but we did not visit it. The only problem we had were ants getting into our camper. We would have rated it a 10 had it not been for the ants. We hope to return to this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
Nice, quiet park with level sites and easy access. All sites seemed to have fresh gravel and campground was well-maintained. Small playground in center of campground. Only negatives we noticed were picnic tables and fire rings were on "road" side (no privacy) on some sites, and we did have a small "ant" problem. Fairly remote site, so carry your supplies with you unless you want to drive several miles for groceries, etc. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$17
Long pull through, privacy, trees, trails, playground equipment in middle of large circle. We enjoyed hiking with our children on nice trails. This is a beautiful and quiet park. Caution: directional signs take you to low underpass too low for our 12'10'' rig. We had to back up and a kind local saw us and lead us around in his car. $17 nt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
This was a really beautiful park and but our major concern were the ants. They were everywhere and immediately entered our trailer. It took us a month to completely eradicate them. I'm not sure that the campground can be held responsible for the ants but it would certainly keep me from returning. There was a laundry, gravel pads, paved interior roads, and large shaded sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
I would give this park a 10, except for two negatives: 1.) The posted signs for entering the park do not work for large RV's. Their is a bridge along the way that has a 12'8" limit, which our 13' rig would not go under. We had to get a cop to show us the way around. Park says they are not allowed to post that route, as it goes through a residential neighborhood. 2.) The closest grocery is more like 20 miles away. Other than that, the park is GREAT. The sites are very large, level and wonderfully maintained. Each site has a concrete picnic table, fire ring and elevated grill. The park is absolutely beautiful and the trails are easy to navigate. In the evenings (after dark), take a little walk and look for the Armadillos that run rampant! The entrance road is a little tight for a 37' fifth wheel, but it is manageable. The hosts were friendly, as was the park staff. The bathrooms were quite clean. We will definitely stay here again when we get a chance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
A great state park. By far one of the most quiet parks we've ever visited. Sites were level and easy to park. The playground was more than adequate and the kids spent most of the days riding bikes on the trails. The only negative-the closest grocery store was 7 miles away in Union Point. The historic site was well maintained and very interesting. If your looking for a relaxing and well maintained park then this is worth a visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$18
We stopped at this campground on our way to South Carolina. We arrived past 8PM and called earlier in the day where the staff told us to come on in and occupy any site and pay in the morning. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. When we pulled into the tiny little town of Crawfordville we were pleasantly surprised to find the park tucked neatly behind the town. The sites were the largest I have seen in any state park and were immaculate and well groomed gravel. The sites were very level and about half were pull throughs. The campground is in a neat pine grove and a large old tower is in the center of the campground. We did not have the opportunity to explore the park as this was just an overnight stay but we will definitely return to explore. The campground was a fine example of Ga State Parks, very clean and well maintained. We easily gave it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com