218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Long Point Park Campground (Brevard County Park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (321) 952-4532
CGID4678

Long Point Park Campground (Brevard County Park)

Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   8   8   10   7   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$34
First, I would like to say that we have stayed here several times. The good: nice waterfront sites, great area for biking, surfing, paddling, fishing etc.. The weather is also really nice here all winter. The bad: the sites are not well marked and it is possible to show up with someone else using part of your site. With very little (I mean no) management, it can be noisy, especially on weekends. The restrooms and showers are the dirtiest I've seen and I've traveled from the east coast to the west coast 4 times. The newer restroom has no water pressure and the older restroom had a piece of soap on the floor that was there for the two weeks that we were. The campsites I don't believe have ever been cleaned by the staff and you will find lots of remnants when you first get to your site. We do love the area and most of the campers are very friendly. As long as you can overlook some of the issues, you will like this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Long Point County Park is NOT located in Sebastian, it is located on the barrier island just off A1A in Melbourne Beach. It was a nice find, many sites are right on the water with a great view. The beach is just a short ride. The management was very friendly and outgoing. Most sites do not have a sewer hookup, but there are a few that do. Bring your bug spray, it can be buggy at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
Incredible value! Stopped here on the spur of the moment, and had a waterfront site (no sewer) for under $30! Excellent value. Feels remote, but easy access to city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
What a nice park. Brevard County has done such a good job with this park that many 'snowbirds' return here year after year. Many of the sites are on the water, but those don't have sewer. And, don't count on a clear view of the water as many sites have bushes. However, all these sites have an access point into the water. This is a great place to bring your boat because you can beach it right at your campsite. The restrooms were old but clean. The laundry facility was acceptable though not real clean. The roads are paved and great for biking and walking. A huge grass area in the middle is where many park their boat trailers and cars that don't fit into their campsite. No Wi-Fi in camp but just up the road can get it at the marina on a daily basis. There are a handful of sewer spots not on the water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
This is a county campground and could use a face lift. But it was nice enough for us to stay more days. It's an especially nice place if you enjoy fishing. We don't fish but did appreciate the many types of birds. The National Pelican Refuge is nearby. We camped near water and the only disappointment was the unusual swarm of insects one day: fruit fly like. People who have been here for years had never seen this before, just our luck! There isn't much to do in the campground and we needed to travel some to get to a restaurant for a dinner one night. We stayed over a weekend and found it to be a quiet site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Great Campground . We had a boat and caught alot of fish. The store up front is ok price on beer and bait but make sure you bring alot of bottle water fire wood etc thats where they get you $11.99 for a 24 pack of water $3.00 for a can of chili so pros and cons but the store has nothing to do with park so pack well and enjoy a amazing camp trip. We caught alot of trout ,flounder We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Very nice park, but you are a long way from any city. Staff was very friendly and the park was well maintained. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
We have camped here before and it is a nice park if you like water activities. Having a boat, canoe, kayak, is a must otherwise, you'll get bored quickly! Options are to go to the beach across the street or drive down to the Sebastian Inlet State Park. There's the McClarty Treasure Museum south of the inlet which is cool to see. Also, Disney has a resort in Vero Beach (a few miles down the road on A1A) which has a character breakfast on Saturdays (yes, it is very pricey!) which the kids will love. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
We just returned from a weekend at Longpoint. Though the area surrounding the park is beautiful the actual park is in need of some maintenance. We paid a premium for a water site that was on the Indian River Lagoon. However, our site had no view out to the water, it was blocked by mangrove trees, thick heavy trees. There was a small clearing where we could have pulled a kayak up behind our site, however from the standing water it was a mosquito infestation. From the minute we arrived and walked through the long unkept grass my entire family was bitten up by pesky mosquitoes. We could not spend any time outside enjoying this park because of the terrible mosquito problem. They would literally swarm my children and I would swat 5-7 off of them from the minute we returned to the park until we were safely in our trailer. There were sites up the road from us with amazing water views and boats parked right behind their sites. Those were more towards sites 45 and up. My other issue with the place is the well water hookup. The water had a nasty smell to it and I was afraid to allow my children and myself to bathe in it. It was disgusting to have to breathe that in and has left a faint odor in my brand new trailer. The only upside to this weekend was the beautiful areas we visited at Sebastian Inlet State park where we swam in their swimming area and spent an afternoon and the beaches that are only a few miles away from LongPoint and very secluded and relaxing. I would only return to this area if I could get a spot at Sebastian but I will not return to Long Point any time soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This is a great campground on the weekends. Lots of good people having fun. Problem is that during the week the RV's leave and the transient people move in. The are not "Campers". They live there because it is cheap. We had two coolers and firewood stolen. This is a county park so be careful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
Had lots of room and met some nice people here. Most people have been coming here for years. Great fishing both at the beach and in the Indian River right off your lot. Will be back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Park has poor to no maintenance of a swimming pond, and overall the grass is left for long periods between movings, so the mosquitoes breed and bite more. Showers have poor lighting and the window screen is broken. Prices also going up by 2 dollars a night with no increase in service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Nice park to visit. We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed it. One of the nice features is most of the sites are water sites. We were able to dock our boat at the site the entire time. Due to most of the sites being so large, you are able to park your rigs anyway on the property you wish. We parked parallel to the water and had some spectacular sunset views. The park seems to fill up during the weekends, but empties out during the week. A courtesy deputy lives on the property in the center of the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Great campground. The only thing we didn't like was the water pressure in the bathhouses were very low and the water wasn't very warm. We took lukewarm showers. The campground was very nice. Most sites are water front (right on the river/intercoastal) Sites are very small and no buffers (very little trees). Great breeze from the river. Firewood is available at the store at the entrance to the campground but its $7.00 for a bundle, which we thought was expensive. We would stay here again though. Great views!!! Sebastian Inlet State Park is just down A1A and the beaches are beautiful there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Great for a county park. Nice large water front sites. Late check out is great for $3.00 more we stayed till 3pm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
I had camped at this site years ago and only remember that I was very hot and uncomfortable in a tent. This time around, I'm using a pop-up camper with A/C, so I was very comfortable and enjoyed myself immensely. Almost all the sites are directly on the water. Many campers brought jet-skis or boats and moored them near their site. In all cases except one, the other campers were courteous on the water. I did see two young men who were racing around on jetskis in no-wake areas and just generally being inconsiderate. The bathrooms were clean and not crowded, which I found confusing. There are only two bathrooms with a 3 showers in each and I hardly ever saw anyone in them. I assumed that most campers were in RVs with self contained bathrooms and so they didn't use the public restrooms. There are no stores on the campground, but there is plenty of shopping outside the park. If you want to camp here and visit Sebastian inlet, then I would think this is a great jumping off point. I can NEVER get into Sebastian to camp for some reason (ReserverAmerica only) and this place is only about 2 miles away. Camp here, park your boat and boat south to the inlet if you wish. I camped with 5 boys and we caught plenty of blue crab right off our beach (yum). Also, while canoing, we encountered a pod of Dolphin that was fishing mullet and a family of manatees that were as curious about us as we were about them. Lots of birds and other water wildlife. We were warned to be careful because a 10' alligator had been seen in the water near our camp the night before, but I never saw one. If you'd like to do some boating, there is a boat rental place right around the corner from the park with kayaks, canoes, 16' boats with 40 horse motors all the way up to a 21' pontoon. The owner of the boat rental place will let you keep the boat at your campsite overnight and his rates were reasonable. Now that I can be cool with air conditioning while sleeping, I'll definitely be returning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$55
I loved our site here-right on the lagoon where the dolphins came in every night. We are booked again for 09 for a month. The only downsides are that there is no sewerage unless you park in the middle of a field. The water sites have none. No tv or internet nor a pool.It is very close to Sebastian Inlet State park where you can go to fish or enjoy the beautiful beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$21
All sites are grassy, and most are along the river. There's no shade, and the no-seeums were very active while we were there. They come in through the window screens so you can't get away from their biting unless you wear DEET all the time. One minute north of the park entrance is a lovely stretch of beach. A few minutes south is a NWR. Groceries are back on the mainland and the bridge was under construction with traffic backed up for 20-30 mins. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
Most sites are riverfront and have water and electric only. In regard to the comfort stations, while clean they have the level of corrosion I would expect for facilities having a few years and being near the ocean. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. When we inquired about pet boarding and dog beaches, one of them copied several pages from the yellow pages about the boarding and then called a friend about dog beaches (the closest dog beach is just south of the St. Lucie Nuclear Power Plant on Hutchinson Island just south of Fort Pierce, about 50 miles from the CG). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
We spend a week here in March or April, and keep coming back. We reserve a site that allows us to anchor our boat right behind our site. The sites are level and the CG is surrounded by water. There is a small island connected to the CG which is nice for hiking or swimming. Negatives - it would be hot in the summer (no shade) and one of the bathhouses is in need of updating. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Great for fishing. No shade. It gets a little rowdy at night. Bugs can be bad. You can pull your boat up to the camp site. I will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
We arrived in the afternoon on a Thursday. The staff at the booth were friendly enough but, no spark. I didn't like the fact they wanted my drivers license to copy. When we got to our site there was a lot of leveling to work out. As all sites on the outer loop are river front so they all slope to the river. Sites were grassy and had a row of mangrove trees between the site and the water (river) with a break in the trees for a boat or kayak. I didn't feel this park was very secure because they didn't check all the people coming in to the park there were some shady characters using the boat ramp. I also felt people were living in this park as apposed to visiting. The mens showers and restroom were dirty. The womens showers and restroom were fairly clean. This park is very remote. We disliked this park but did not hate it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
We have stayed in hundreds of campgrounds over the years, but I must say this was our worst experience ever. This is a county run campground. We arrived at this campground about dusk in the pouring rain. After checking in at the office, we proceeded to our assigned site. Upon arriving at said site, it was occupied by a large motorhome. We go back to the office to advise them of this only to be told that we had to be mistaken as their information had it being vacant. We were told to go back and make sure we were at the right site. We did and yes the motorhome was still there. We go back to the office only to be told agin that we had to be looking at the site numbers wrong. The man who was working in the office actually went outside to check as he did not believe us. He came back in and offered no opology, just assigned us another site. We go to that site only to find that the adjacent site had their boat and truck parked on it. We go back to the office, again to be assigned another site. We go to that site only to find it was standing six inches deep in water. It had been raining for thirty six hours and most of the campground was flooded. Keep in mind that this was the third camp site we had been assigned. We go back to the office for the fourth or fifth time as I had done lost count by this time to be assigned another site, our fourth site. It was now almost two hours since we first arrived and it was raining cats and dogs. The next morning the rain had stopped, but most of the campground had standing water everywhere. The bathrooms were dirty and the showers were unclean and one had a broken showerhead. Another issue I had. When you check in at this campground you have to have a drivers license or a picture ID of everyone over 16 of age who is in your party. They actually make a photocopy of your ID. I have been to other campgrounds where they will ask to see your ID, but have never had them make a copy. I told the gentleman in the office I was uncomfortable with them making copies of our drivers license. I was told that was their policy and if I had a problem with it, I could go on down the road to the state campground. We took his advice and left after only one night. I would not recommend this campground to anyone and we will never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$27
This park was pretty full when we arrived for an overnight stay. Most of the sites are on the waterfront with electric and water and were not too closely packed. You could pull in at different angles to allow more privacy. There is a swimming 'pond' but of course that was closed and a playground area. The campground was very quiet and clean for as full as it was. You would never know that you are in a very busy area in Florida. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2006
$22
This park is great if you like fishing. Most of the sites are on the indian river lagoon. You can pull your boat right up to your site. (no dock though) The park area is like a giant field with no trees, just mangroves surrounding the island. The rangers appeared diligent and friendly. The best waterfront sites appeared to be 11 12 13 14. The advertised swimming pond is gross. Small round and algea filled. You would fare better swimming in the river. Typical wet sandy bathroom/showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
Great place to camp for fishing, sites are right on the river (Intracoastal), playground, swimming pond, and the nights are nice and quiet. We always see porpise, pelicans and manatees at the park, usually right behind our site. Most sites are on the river, but the ones with sewer are inside the park. We have camped here several times and will return. Park is across the street from the Atlantic Ocean. There is a little store (with lot's of stuff) at the entrance to the park but not much else for miles so bring what you need. They do not book online so you will have to call. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com