214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Fred Gannon Rocky Bayou State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (850) 833-9144
CGID4679

Fred Gannon Rocky Bayou State Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   8   10   9   9   3   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$16
The park is typical for a state run park. The trees were too low and close to the road for today's taller coaches/5th wheels. We got several scrapes from limbs. We could not get our coach into site #29 without scraping on a tree, and the same thing getting out. We used our waste wagon because we were staying for 2 weeks. There is no easy way to pull your wagon to the dump. There is no paved walkway to get you all the way to the dump. We have an 18 gallon wagon and it took both of us to handle it and get it pushed up the ramp (they did think of that) to dump it. We would have preferred a graveled site, but #29 was one of a couple that was dirty sand. The view of the water was nice from #29. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$17
This park is located near Niceville. The lots are nicely spaced, and each one is surrounded by a wooden fence to define the space. Some sites were on compacted dirt, others were done in fine gravel, and the handicapped sites were concrete. The staff and volunteers were very nice and pleasant to deal with. The rate shown includes the $16 nightly fee for water and electric, plus 6% sales tax. The campground is near Eglin Air Force Base, and on days they have maneuvers, the noise is RV-shaking. We also heard what sounded like cannons going off, but they might have been sonic booms. There are a couple of trails in the relatively small park. Our Verizon card and phone worked well at the campground. The bathrooms were clean and modern. TV reception over the air was marginal. During our stay in early February, many sites were vacant. The park graciously allowed us to have a package forwarded to us care of the park. We'd stay again when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Overall this is a pretty decent park. It backs up to Rocky Bayou (go figure!) with easy access. Lots of tent campers and families. Some sites are paved, some are not. Our concrete back-in was pretty level. The interior roads are a bit narrow but we easily navigated them in our 40 foot rig. Keep a close eye out for the entry sign to the campground - we passed it the first time partly due to the fact that our GPS was taking us further down the road. Nights are quiet except on weekends when the revelry kicks up a notch. Just people having fun, nothing terribly intrusive. During the day it was not unusual to hear low-flying planes and booms from the ordnance disposal site just down the street. Very friendly and helpful staff. BTW (By the way) - if you are using this campground as a base to explore the Destin area, the mid-bay bridge charges a $3.00 toll each way. They want to pay that off in a hurry! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
Narrow, paved loop road; gravel sites, fairly level. Sites are large, private, and shady, most not satellite friendly. Electric and H2O hookups are fine. No sewer, but convenient dump station. Restrooms and showers are SPOTLESS, plenty of hot water. 2 washers and dryers - also spotless, but we did not use them. Verizon has consistent 3G and intermittent 4G. Very dog friendly with 3 well maintained nature trails; longest is 1 mile. Staff and hosts are knowledgeable and helpful. Walmart and grocery stores are within 3 miles. Magic Castle Laundry, excellent wash/dry/fold service @1.25/lb. Only negative: fair amount of noise due to proximity of Eglin Air Force Base; planes flying over and explosions, mostly weekday mornings. Occasional rig shaking noise, rare nighttime noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
This is a very nice state park. They keep this place very clean and keep the maintenance up as well. Very wide deep sites very well laid out and taken care of. Everything worked great. Friendly staff. Enjoyed the nature walks and the peace and quiet. Would go out of my way to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$16
Clean sites and bathhouse. Lots of families here. This is true Old Florida, with lots of old water oaks, Spanish moss, sandy sand, and shade. Helpful hosts too. We camped here over New Years and I have tell you, they were very strict about the fireworks ban. It made for a lovely and quiet visit. We come here about twice a year from GA, and we actually prefer this campground over the chaos in Destin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
This is our favorite RV park so far. They keep everything so clean. The sites are immaculate, the bathrooms are bleached every morning and monitored throughout the day. There is a great play ground for kids and kayaks, canoes and paddleboards that you can rent over by a great boat ramp. Also fishing and some nice hiking-biking trails. Located right across from the Midbay Bridge, so you can scoot over to Destin for great shopping. Most of the sites are separated by a slice of wooded area in between to provide a little privacy. Very family and pet friendly. Serious fan of this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
There was a traffic jam created when people were at the single dump outlet. Some people could not leave the park. Heavy erosion has caused some sites to have severe slopes. Other sites were level with gravel. Good sites are hit and miss. It took a lot of maneuvering to get into our site. This campground is more suited for tent campers or small pop-up campers.The hosts were friendly and helpful, however some of the office staff were not a bit friendly. This park has clearly been neglected by the state of Florida. Our trailer was on a dangerous slope and we never could get it balanced. A vicious dog lunged at us each time we walked on the street to the facility house. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
Great park, friendly employees. Restrooms were very clean. Some spots were sloped enough where we couldn't get motorhome completely level without blocks. We were here to attend to family problems and were in a state of flux with a bit of stress, but the park personnel were always accommodating. Will always use this park when in the area. Only reason a rating of 9 and not 10 is no sewer, Otherwise: GREAT! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$9
Wonderful state park. Well maintained and clean. Sites are very large, wooded and private. Either sand or gravel, level sites. The handicapped sites are paved and can be reserved by anyone, however most fit only 30 foot rigs. Site 13 can take a 40 footer. Utilities worked well. Rate is FL senior rate, the regular rate is $16. Would be a 10 with sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$16
This is one of the nicest state park campgrounds we have stayed in. Many of the sites are level or nearly so, and the separation between sites is very good. The park offers two very pleasant hiking trails, as well as access to the bayou and all its water sports. There is no Wi-Fi, but Verizon coverage was good. We definitely will stay here again, probably for several days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
We love this FL State Park and have stayed here every December since 2005. We have also stayed other times in the year either in April-May or August-September. The park is well maintained and the park staff is always friendly. We have our favorite four sites and have always been able to get one of them when making reservations. Over the past couple of years they have started to add gravel in some of the sites and we wish they would add gravel to all sites. Then we would rate it overall as a 10. Handicap sites are concrete. The bath house is always clean and well maintained. We always feel safe camping here and even walk to the bath house in the dark. It is a beautiful park and we highly recommend staying here. One thing to consider because it is heavily wooded, which is why we like it so much, and that is don't expect to watch TV much. We can get some local channels by antenna and usually take DVD's to watch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
Another of Florida's great state parks. Small and quiet with several hiking trails, water views, boat ramp, and numerous pavilions for large groups. Very well maintained with a constant presence of park volunteers and ranger patrols. Narrow roads that might present a problem for the largest of motorhomes/trailers. We had a pop up so there were no issues. Four sites are ADA and concrete. Several that are gravel. Most are sand. It rained heavily during our first day and the sand stuck to everything. At the same time the sand allowed for the water to quickly drain away. Would like to see the park gravel all the remaining sites. That's the only reason I couldn't give a "10" rating. Park rangers were friendly and helpful. Seemed to enjoy what they do. They sell ice at the ranger station. That was great since we ran out. Signs throughout the park warning of alligators but we tried and failed to find any. Little kids were swimming right next to the largest gator warning sign that boldly stated "No Swimming." They all survived. The most threatening animal we saw was a hungry squirrel. Sites are mostly shaded but the sun will angle through and get you part of the day. The town of Niceville offers numerous restaurant choices and you're not very far from Destin as well. We didn't use the dump station but it's location in the middle of the campground is odd. If you are in site 37 through 42, you will have to exit the camping loop, come back in, and circle all the way around again. This is the oddest placement of a dump station I have ever seen. Not a huge deal: just different. Overall, a really great campground and one that proves Florida has the best state parks in the nation. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
We have stayed here before and always come back when possible. They keep the campground very clean, the restrooms and showers are clean and the staff is always friendly and helpful. There are two parts to the park, you need to drive or short hike to get to the boat ramp and playground. They also have canoes available for 2 hour, half day or full day rental. Very close to grocery store, golf course and within reasonable driving distance to the beach on the gulf. There is shoreline saltwater fishing available or even a small freshwater pond where I caught a few bluegill. Only negative is the small paved roads are a tight fit where some RVs, parked vehicles and trees are close to the road. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$13
We are to be here for 2 nights. The first site 41 we were assigned has ground electrical problems. They moved us to site 26. It also has ground electrical problems, although not as bad. We have meters and lights in our Bluebird that show when the electrical is not up to par. They checked with their meters on site 41 and found what I said was true. If you don't have an electronics hog like we do, it probably won't make a lot of difference. Nice people in the office and workcampers. Tight turns into the sites for big rigs. Most sites are sand so be prepared to track it into your rig. All trees, so no satellite service. Think we will pass on this park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
I spent 4 nights on site 29. The park is very clean and well kept and is on a large body of mostly fresh water. the sites are heavily shaded but I was lucky enough to find a hole in the trees to get HD TV! The sites are very large, but with all the trees, getting my 43 footer in took a lot of planning and caution. My main complaint other than no sewer is the sites are totally sandy. This will get into the RV in great quantities. I will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$12
A small, excellent park especially if you like boating and/or fishing. Other than that, not a great deal to do. Coffee house and the only restaurant we tried were very good as was the Niceville dog park. Sites are large and level. Staff friendly and helpful. Three walking trails are great but fairly short. Destin is 15 minutes away across the Mid-Bay bridge so if you don't mind a $2.50 toll, it has lots of shopping, beaches, golf, etc. to offer We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
Very well kept State Park with very knowledgeable Rangers. Three different trails that were well kept. Our dog really loved to walk all the different trails. The bay is great with (I think) three boat launches. No complaints with this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$12
Wow, the view out my windshield is nothing short of awesome. This is a great park with huge sites. Nice shade and an abundance of wildlife to enjoy. Kayaking available for those so inclined. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
This is a great place for those who enjoy nature. We saw deer and an osprey. Huge sites, many with woods between neighbors. The 50 amp sites on the back row are especially spacious. Mature trees shade all sites. Most sites are bare sand, but a few are gravelled and the four designated as handicap accessible are concrete. No sewer hook-ups, but a dump station is available. Boat rentals are available. There is no official swimming area, but plenty of good places to swim at your own risk. Has three nicely laid out nature trails--just watch out for the chiggers. The Destin beaches are just a few miles away over a toll bridge. This park is a good alternative to Topsail Hill and Henderson Beach state parks, which are nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$12
This park is a real gem! If you want to see what Florida used to be like before it was developed, stay at Rocky Bayou. It's clean as a whistle, the sites are large and level. Each site is surrounded by an attractive fence on three sides. It is obvious that they are trying hard to preserve the natural vegetation of the site. Even though this campground is right off the main drag,and only 20 minutes from Destin,you would never know it once you are in the park. It is quiet and serene. There are several walking trails available and canoes to rent if you want to go out on the large bayou. Or you can launch your speedboat if you like. We saw lots of families skiing on the bayou. The one and only disappointment was that there is not a designated swimming area. There are signs posted about warning of alligators and this being Florida, we took them at their word. No swimming for us(at least, not there.) But everything else was so nice we hated to leave. We will definitely be back next year for a 1 week vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$8
This State Park would be a 10 if it had sewers! Showers and rest rooms were very clean. As a FL I paid half the nightly rate which is very nice. Have stayed here several times and highly recommend if it fits your travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
Stayed for a night with friends. Great park. Needs wireless We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$12
This campground is a great surprise. Where can you camp for $12 a night, complete with water and sewer hookups, modern and clean restrooms, laundry facilities, with stuff to do? Only disappointment, website says they have swimming, but signs say don't swim because of alligators. 3 nice nature trails. Great boat launch. As a previous reviewer commented, you're camping on dusty sand, so everything gets dusty. We have a small vinyl rug, which helps keep you feeling clean. Huge sites, paved interior roads, all of which help. Nice little store, close to conveniences, overall, a good camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$12
Very nice campground located on Rocky Bayou about 30 minutes from Destin. Some sites are a little tight but most are quite spacious and secluded. Bathhouse was spotless. Several nice nature trails. One drawback, the sites are basically sand and get very messy after a rain but they are quick to dry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com