221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Whistlers Campground (Parks Canada) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (780) 852-6176
CGID4680

Whistlers Campground (Parks Canada)

Camp Information
Sites
781
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   8   9   9   7   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
The reservations site is very confusing. Stayed in the trailer camp portion (50) all these are pull through sites with no fire pits and full hookups. Plenty of room between sites though roads could use some TLC to deal with pot holes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
Very spacious sites. If you require full hook-ups, book well in advance. The only negative, there is only one shower facility available, which is situated on the north end of the campground. As with all things Federal, budget cuts are now obvious; the level of service and maintenance is in decline. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
Best of the bunch along the National Park trail in Canada. Back-in sites with w/e, fire pit (extra fee if you use), table and all the wild life and scenery you could want. Had Elk walk through twice. Good home base for Jasper which was "best of" for the parks I visited but I planned 4 days and that was too many for activities available. Actually a winter Ski resort town used as 'National Park' in summer. (different philosophy than States) Free WiFi at visitors center in town (or Tim Horton's), no tv or phone, laundry - grocery all pricy but fuel is cheaper than BC so gas up here. I was here during the fires of 2014 but could still tell the scenery was excellent. Drive up the icefields parkway from Lake Louise, best drive in North America! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
This is a ‘rustic’ park (we stayed in the full hookup section – site 52J). The roads and sites are gravel. Lots of trees and the site are separated from each other a decent distance. Our site had a wooden frame of 4x4’s around the sewer, water and power units. This made it difficult to get any ‘drop’ from the sewer outlet on my trailer to the hole in the ground – the frame was nearly even with my outlet. Fortunately I carry some 4’ lengths of plastic rain gutter to support the sewer hose on long runs. In this case I built a stack of yellow leveling blocks underneath my sewer connection and ran the rain gutter piece to the frame to get a little drop, then the sewer line dropped sharply to the hole in the ground. For those not getting full hookups, there is a nice 6-stall dump station at the park. Many of you will probably be travelling the Ice Fields Parkway to Lake Louise or Banff. One of the main attractions is the Columbia Ice Field midway between the cities. It may be helpful to know that there is plenty of RV parking here – dozens of long pull throughs. At 1pm on July 21 (peak season), there were still at least a dozen slots available in the RV parking lot. The neighboring car lot was full and some of them were starting to park in the RV lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Great place to camp in Jasper National Park! Make early reservations. They told me the park fills up by early April when the online reservation system opens. I made reservations in mid-April and the only way I could stay a week was by moving to a new site every couple days. Interior roads are paved but need attention for potholes. Sites are long, level, and well spaced. Some have fire pits and some don't. Satellite access unlikely. No wifi, but Tim Horton's in town has free wifi. Rogers cell phone coverage was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
This is an awesome Parks Canada campground with sites to meet anyone's needs. We had a full hookup, pull-through site long and wide enough for our 4-slide, 40' RV with tow and were separated from neighbors by trees and other bushes. A campfire permit and wood costs $8.80CDN; wood is easily retrieved from two sites within the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Although this is a huge park the sites are well laid out and you never get that cramped feeling as in some parks. Staff helpful and friendly. FHU had 30 amp service and some of the roads in the "loops" could use leveling and pothole repair. Town of Jasper nearby is very picturesque and there is much to do in the area particularly wildlife viewing. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
This is one monster campground, however it is laid out very well with a surprising amount of room for all. There are some super long sites. We had a power only site, 50 amp, which appeared to be recently installed. At $34 for just power it seems pricey. Interior roads could be better, and loop roads need pothole attention. The main negative is the the firewood policy of over $8 per night for a 'permit'. This permit allows you to help yourself to the woodpile and take what you want. It is just that. A pile, pushed up by a machine. Sounds good till you find that the wood is soaking wet and, worse, is cut too long to fit in the fire ring which is the smallest seen anywhere and too deep to ventilate properly. If you don't have an axe to make some kindling and a lot of skill getting a fire going is going to be an exercise in futility. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Spent a total of 5 nights at this large, well-run campground. Three nights were dry-camping and two nights were full-hookup. Both areas were fine with me. Dry-camping was back-in site, which required disconnecting toad, which was no problem, since I was using toad to explore the park. Full hook-up site was a pull-through. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
This is a huge campground with many sections. We camped in our 35' fifth wheel at a no-service, back-in site. The site was wooded, fairly level, and quiet. We noticed that larger rigs had some difficulty backing in to the spaces. There were plenty of dump stations. Short drive into Jasper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
An excellent park, with very well designed, pull through sites, with lots of space and trees between all the sites as well. In order to open our slides around all the trees and not have the back of the trailer too close to the entry road, meant that we were quite a ways from the sewer hookup. Fortunately I carry an extra 10' of hose which was enough to hook up. I will be going back for a longer stay in the future so that I can explore the many things to do in Jasper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Walking / biking distance to Jasper and numerous mountain attractions, deer and elk wandering through the campground, and large, shaded sites make this a favorite spot. Paved roads are a bit pitted, and gravel sites are spacious. Water and electrical hookups were convenient, but our site didn't have sewer. No WiFi or laundry. Bathrooms and showers were nice and clean, if a bit dated. This place fills up in the summer, so make reservations early in the season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This campground is much more rustic then Banff so if that is what you are looking for this campground is for you. The driveways & sights were muddy & potholed. The woods were thick preventing satellite signal in all but a couple of sites. Antenna TV brought in one channel. The town of Jasper isn't much. In addition to the cost of the site there is a reservation charge & you have to pay to get in the park. That said the wildlife is incredible. We stayed in an elk calving area & watched an elk give birth. The mama elks & their babies would wander right outside your RV door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
On our two-month RV trip so far (throughout the western U.S. -- Nevada, Utah, California, Oregon, and Washington, this is my favorite park (we still have another three weeks to go). We were here for three nights. It is well-run and the sites are spacious and spread out with lots of mature trees and grass surrounding them. The campground is quiet too. We had a full hook-up site (#58H) with a fire ring, and it was a pull through. I was disappointed that there was only ONE shower facility for such a large park and it was very far away from our site. I also was surprised to find out that we had to pay an additional $8.80 per night for a fire permit to burn in our fire ring at our site (this included as much wood as you wanted, which was very nice). The area is breathtaking with lots to do. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Magic place with private spacious sites under the trees and elk wandering around in the morning. Great kids playgrounds. No WiFi. Helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This is a beautiful campground that offers sites with FHU, E&W, and unserviced. Our site is a huge pull-through under towering trees. It was a little challenging getting our 40' MH into the site, but we did it without incident. My only surprise was in finding that we had 30A service rather than 50A. That was probably my mistake when making the reservation; I had assumed all the FHU sites were 50A. However, the temps are so cool we'll probably never need the A/C. There is good cell service with internet capability, but no WiFi and the trees make trying to get a satellite signal an exercise in futility. Our reservations were made online with Parks Canada and check-in was a breeze. You do need a park pass as well as your campsite reservation so that increases the cost a bit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Beautiful park. We had elk roaming through our campsite several times. The full service sites are really spaced well and we never felt crowded. We were here during the horrible Southern Alberta floods and had to change our plans. Though the park was 'full', the staff helped us find a spot for a few days waiting to see if we could travel toward Lake Louise - didn't happen and we rerouted to Golden, BC. This is a HUGE campground - but we never felt overwhelmed by it. It's very close to Jasper (a great little town) and the Jasper Tramway. It's about an hour away from the Columbia Ice Fields - another must if you are in the area. We recommend Whistler. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Stayed in an electric and water site in loop 64. Nice long site with plenty of room for the slides. Very good 50 amp electric was a surprise. Several elk in the campground with new calves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
We were assigned a site without hookups, since all others were taken. Our site was muddy, unlevel and overgrown. The campsite was not worth half the charge, but then again most parks we've seen in Alberta have been at least 30-40% higher than comparable parks in the U.S. Would not stay here again, mosquitoes are terminal. But check-in staff was very nice and efficient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$43
Now this is great camping!! Long pull-through sites, full hookups, good spacing between sites (50-60 ft) and tall trees. Gravel patios and good grass. This is totally opposite of what we had in Banff. Very quiet at night. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Although tight we were able to get all 4 slides out, but not the awning. Although we probably did not need it because of the tree shade. Although we did not see any bears, there were several sightings prior to our arrival. There was a medium size group of caribou that would walk and eat through out the RV Park. Several layer down in the grass area near us. You have to go into town to use or get on the Internet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
The RV Park is part of the Parks Canada system. We arrived at approximately 4:30 pm, without a reservation, and found the camp staff to be accommodating and friendly. We waited in line for approximately 10 minutes to check-in. We were assigned a back-in site that was approximately 55 feet long and not a problem to back into. All sites are on the outside of a camp loop and easy to back into. The park is big rig accessible but some non-hook-up sites have a lot of trees that will prevent slide-outs from opening completely. All sites are gravel and very close to level. We stayed in an electric (30 amp with good voltage) only site that was densely forested that provided a lot of shade and seclusion. The full hook-up sites are closer together with only a few trees separating each camp site. The campground is very quiet and dark at night. Access roads throughout the campground are very rough and full of deep pot holes. All sites have fire rings for which you will be charged an additional $8.80 per night for a campfire permit that also includes firewood. Wash / bathrooms had five showers in the main bathroom / shower building. There is only one shower building in the campground and it is a 5 - 20 minute walk through the forest depending on your site location. Bathrooms with flush toilets and hot water in the sinks are close to each camp loop. All had modern fixtures and were in very good condition. The shower stalls were large with a separate changing area. All were clean. There are several laundromats approximately 10 minutes away in the town of Jasper. The RV sewer dump had eight separate dump stations, had easy access and was located near the entrance to the park. We stayed four nights and paid $32.30 per night, not including taxes. Parks Canada also charges a daily park entry fee of $19.60 for each vehicle in the Banff and Jasper National Parks, in addition to RV Park fees. An annual park pass is $136.40. A fire permit is required to have a campfire and costs an additional $8.80 per day, including firewood. This is a very popular area and reservations are highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
We loved this unique, well designed park. It provided a private, camping-in-the-woods experience that was charming. Because it is heavily wooded, sites were not easy to get into. The reason to come here is the park and the Ice fields Parkway. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Beautiful, quiet, and shady park. Nice to see elk grazing among the RVs. Could be difficult for big rigs to navigate the loops. I scratched the side of my 36' rig with tree branches. Very efficient check-in process. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Beautiful setting. Good design on the loops for full hookups and access in and out. Access is good for larger rigs, but there are some trees/curves that might be challenges. Clean restrooms for being in a national park. There is a nice trail through it. Overall a good experience. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
We were in the dry camping part which is what I wanted, but here are the pros and cons. Pros: very beautiful, close to town, lots of great walking, very friendly staff workers. Cons: overpriced for dry camping, should be about 20 dollars max, one shower room for the whole park with maybe six showers in the room (ridiculous). Overall view, This National Park along with others caters a lot to the Cruise America and Canadream RV rentals to people from Germany, Australia and England where the Euro and Pound are so strong to the Canadian and American dollar, they could care less what they pay, so I think this has a lot to do with the camping prices in this park and other National Parks close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
We stayed here for one night in a full hookup site. The campground is setup in little clusters of sites. Our section (50) was totally in the trees. We had the pleasure of being there when the female elk had their calves in the campground for protection from preditors. It made for great wildlife watching. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Large spacious sites, well spread out for great feeling of privacy. The sites were clean and level, and remained puddle free even in the daily down pour. Enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
We loved this park. It is very convenient to everything in the park and to the town of Jasper. The sites were generally spacious and level. Lots of trees and shrubs. Elk frequently wandered throughout the spaces. My only complaint was having to pay a $10 fee to Parks Canada to reserve a space. Firewood was free but you have to pay a $8 nightly fire permit. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
National park in Alberta, Canada was very clean and quiet park which all but filled up every night. We watched the deer from our dinner table. We did not however see the grizzly that they said had been in the park all week. They were obviously trying to trap it as the trap was just inside the park. We went into the town of Jasper each day to use the Internet. It is a nice little town with lots of shops and pretty mountain views all around. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Since everything except Jasper townsite appears to be part of the national park, this is about the only show in town for camping. There are sites for full hookups, electric only, and dry camping. In early September, midweek, after Labor Day, the full hookups and electric sites were full the four days we stayed, so reservations are a must for these sites. The full hookup sites are all pull-through; you enter from a small perimeter ring road and leave from an interior ring road. We found the sites nicely spaced, shaded, and enjoyed the full hookups. The single shower building was so far away, we didn't even try. We found two off air TV channels (still analog) and our Rogers cell phone worked well. Elk walk through the campground at will and the males must be avoided in rutting season. In addition to the pricey camping fee, there is a daily per-person required park pass of $9.80 for adults and $8.30 for seniors over 65. If staying in Canadian national parks for seven days over the next year, get the annual pass. The nearby town of Jasper offers basic services, but prices are generally very high. The town was crowded during our stay. As the national park has a monopoly on camping and development, we'd have to stay here if we visited again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Very nice park. Nice surrounding, one can feel the nature so near, amazing. Lots of animals around. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This quiet Parks Canada campground is huge – 781 sites. It is arranged as widely-spaced loops, some pull throughs but mostly back-ins. In each loop, neighbors are crowded together rather closely. All pads are level dirt/gravel, served by much-potholed paved roads. There are many bathrooms (called “washrooms” in Canada, eh?) but only one shower facility for the whole park. Our washroom was surprisingly nice, with stainless sinks and Corian counter tops. Clean, with good lighting and hot water. There is no Wi-Fi or cable, and cell service is spotty. The campground is situated in a sparse pine forest, near the highway and two miles from town. The highway is not used at night, so the only noise will be your heater. For those without sewer hookups, the dump station can service eight rigs at a time, but you still might wait at peak times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This campground could be a great place if Parks Canada would maintain it. On the camping loop roads there are pot holes large enough to swallow small children. They also serve as great breeding pools for mosquitoes. Many areas of the campsites need trimming so you’re not stepping right outside your RV into foot high grass. Other than that the park is great. Elk wander through the campground, the restrooms are very clean and you’re near to the town of Jasper and the main attractions of area. Be advised that the road from Banff to Jasper has some really steep grades. Also there is no RV support of any kind in the whole Banff/Jasper area. If you think you may need it, bring it with you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
This was a great campground. Large sites with sufficient spacing between each. Our girls loved riding their bikes on the trails within the area, and access to the local biking trail system is a plus. While we didn't have an opportunity to benefit from the outdoor theater and kids program, it appeared to be a lot of fun. The recycling center was a welcome sight as we unloaded a weeks worth of recycling. The showers are the only thing lacking here. They were on the other side of the park from our site, and as another review points out, the push button approach leaves the user wishing for a little more water pressure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This was a wonderful park, full of natural beauty. One difficult thing when taking a shower, however, was that you had to continue to press a button the entire time you were taking a shower, and the water ran for only about 3 seconds! That made it very difficult when you were trying to wash your hair or to rinse off. Also, this park, Kootenay NP, and Lake Louise Trailer Park all charged an $8.00 extra fee to have a campfire. If they don't want people to have a campfire, just say, "no campfires," but to charge $8.00 on top of a $32.00 fee, just to have a campfire is money grabbing and normally not typical of a national park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Overpriced! We were charged $49 Canadian which included a $10 registration fee. Park Canada has a monopoly on camping inside the park! Pull through site was adequate for our trailer. Good 30 amp electric. We did not hook up to water for our overnight stop. There are no showers in this campground! You'd have to either walk or drive to Wapiti campground next door! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
What a beautiful campground! We only spent one night but could have easily stayed longer just to enjoy the tranquility of this place! The full hookup sites are located within a series of circles and all sites are pull throughs. The roadways are easily accessible to even the largest of rigs. There is a nice walking path from the campground into the town of Jasper and the northern entrance to the Icefields Parkway is a short drive away. We would definitely recommend this campground and are looking forward to a return visit in the future! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Probably the best site we have used. Large pull through sites, with privacy. Wish we could have stayed longer, but stayed here last minute. Will have to make a trip back here in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
I loved this campground. Each site was an easy pull through. It was quiet and clean. Elk walked through the campground in the morning which was a treat. The dump station was clean and big (it could accommodate more than 6 RV's at a time. It is close to town and the tram. I will be returning next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We stayed here for 3 nights, full hookups which is a luxury. Sites are large, limited privacy, but adequate. This is a very large campground, professionally run and serves as a great base to explore the Park. Ablution facilities were clean and modern, staff very friendly. Elk and deer roam the campground, creating great photo opportunities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
If you want to see wildlife, elk walk by your rig early in the morning and lay down in the low grass. Park is heavily wooded and the roads are marginal for big rigs. Sites are flat and well spaced. Remember, it is a National Park, no frills. We were here with a tour group so our fee was prepaid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
The area we were in was very clean, quiet, maybe a bit on the crowded side, but nonetheless very pleasant. The sites are quite long so they can accommodate all big rigs. Good location as a base if you want to visit the surrounding areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
We had a nice long, full hook-up, pull-through site. The sites are nicely spaced so there is lots of room between each site. The interior roads were only in fair condition and the dead tree at our site could have been removed making it easier to exit. We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This is a huge national park campground one mile south of Jasper. We didn't have reservations mid-August and had no problem getting an unserviced site mid-day. The sites with hookups were full and reserved months in advance we were told. There are a variety of sites and prices. This unserviced site at $28 was expensive, we thought. In addition, we needed a park entry pass which is $8.30 for each of us for a senior per day. To use the dump station is also $8.80. We didn't have a fire but campfire permits were $8.80 per day. For 3 nights on an unserviced site cost us $132.00!! We had planned to spend 1-2 weeks in various campgrounds along the Icefields Parkway but it was much too expensive to do so. Other site prices were: $22.50 for a walk-in tent site; $32.30 for electric; $38.20 for full hookup. There are coin showers and flush toilets. We will not return to this park system because of the high costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Very poorly looked after. For the money you have to pay the sites should be very well kept. There was no fire-pit, the seats on the picnic table were more than half rotten. And the site was so uneven we couldn't level the motor-home properly. You don't have choice on what site is available even if you reserve. You are assigned one when you get there. As a result we will never stay in Whistlers anymore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This heavily-treed park is set up as a series of loops off the access road, with all of the pull-through sites set between the inner and outer loop roads. All roads and sites are well-maintained gravel. Access to sites varies based on the trees, so some are tight and others are easy. All sites are large enough for big rigs, although power is limited to 30 amps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This is a huge campground. The traffic on the highway disturbs quite a lot the ambiance. The site we had was level. Most sites we saw were level, too. If one does not make a reservation in time, only dry camping is possible; the hook-ups are limited. We were warned for elk on the campground. They could be aggressive at this time of the year. Therefore we were surprised to find out, that the showers were at the entrance only! This was at least 2 miles from our site. Walking in the dark with a small flash-light does not seem to be such a good idea with wildlife around. We recommend this campground anyway for a stay in Jasper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Very busy park-we arrived on a weekend with no reservations and had to take an area with no hookups. There was a central area for dumping and for filling up with water and we had to wait in line to get water. Our campsite was large enough for our big rig, fairly level, and had large trees, as did the rest of the campground. Two hours in the morning and two hours in the evening only for using generators. A large elk took a stroll through our campsite. This is a huge campground and although busy, still very quiet and private. Staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. Bathrooms clean. Interior roads were gravel and in pretty good shape but a little narrow. Very convenient for exploring Jasper and surrounding area. We would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$49
This is a very large campground that is very busy. We found it to be well run and surprisingly quiet dispite the hundreds of people camped here. Reservations for the pull through campsites is a must. The campground is full most of the summer. We made reservations via the internet and had to pay a 10 dollar premium over buying at the gate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Nice forest setting with lots of wildlife. Wagon wheel format for pull-through sites can be a little tight to get out of. The one central shower house is near the tent area which is a long way from the RV sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
We were in the electric only area. There is a water fill and a dump. Elk in the campground every day. The loop we where in had a very narrow road and did make it a little hard to back in. The staff where friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
There are tons of campgrounds in Jasper and Banff, and Whistler Campground in Jasper is the largest by far, with over 600 sites. In fact, it seemed too big for the staff, as many rules (such as bare camping) were not enforced. As with the other Canadian National Park campgrounds, there were washrooms and hot showers provided, as well as fire pits and firewood. The very cool thing about Whistler Campground is the herd of elk that frequent the campground – in fact, they often came into our site to eat and would walk within 4 feet of us when we would be enjoying the evening outside or they slept under the low spruce branches near our trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
This is a beautiful park with lots of big trees, and the setup makes the pull in and pull out easy. The reason I only give a 7 is that there is only one shower location right near the check-in hut. Most, if not all, of the rv sites are a good distance from the showers so it is a long walk to make. The town of Jasper is very well laid out and parking is easy!. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Per earlier reviews, this is an older park and the sites can be tight. We went in with no reservations with no problems, but no hookups which is fine. During checkin we were told all of the sites with hookups get fully booked early and were booked solid until mid-Sept. The one problem is that the park is actually too big, as a result there is a lot of heavy traffic. Most of it going much too fast. The campground loop roads were in poor / fair condition. Not one of the better National Park Campgrounds, but ok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$41
Signage to campground good. Two kiosks to check in. Office staff friendly and efficient and map provided unlike Banff Tunnel Mountain. Watch junction just after check-in as traffic seems to come from all over the place. Access roads to sites narrow, need some maintenance and are busy. Sites are in trees and the full hook-ups (only 70 so book in advance) are in concentric circle pull-through sites. There are some awkward turns due to trees if driving a big rig. Suggest you unhook before entering the circle road. Sites were flat, large and level once you were in. Services were in good position for easy hook-up. Electricity was solid and water pressure good. Local wildlife particularly elk in abundance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We had a site with no hookups here. The site was very narrow; we had to maneuver the RV between two trees with about 18 inches of space to spare. We were right near a washroom, which had sinks with hot water and two stalls. For some reason, the men's side had two electrical outlets, the women's none, so I had to sneak into the men's room to plug in my coffee pot. The bathroom had paper towels and soap. The site was quiet. It cost $8.80 to use a firepit (which includes the wood), so we didn't use one. There were various measures in effect to keep the area bearproof. The showers were a 5-10 minute walk from our site. These were the only showers in the entire campground, so they were often busy. They shut off automatically and the floor is very cold stone, so wear shower shoes. I took a shower in the evening and there was no hot water. We attended two ranger programs; both were better for kids than adults. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
This is the very best national park we have stayed at. We stayed the maximum of 13 nights and loved every minute of it. The sites are large and well spaced out. The area demands that many days be spent here. So, plan a few days or two weeks and enjoy. The only "But" is that you must plan ahead and make reservations or you will be disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Older park, heavily treed, narrow roads and gravel sites. Nice ambiance, but no satellite reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
As a National Park campground, this is a great place. Where else would you have elk bugling in the morning and wandering through your site. We will definitely stay here again, despite the fact that it is an extremely popular place. Reservations are essential in June, July, August, and September. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This is the most beautiful campground we have stayed in. Waking up our first morning to see the Elk bedded down near our motorhome was a treat. There is plenty of room between sites and a great place to walk & clean up after your dogs. The only problem we had was the blow over smoke from the camp sites that allowed a campfire the first 2 nights of our stay. Great location to tour from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
This was a very nice campground located in a wooded area. The sites were large and spacious. The only bad note : they don't have enough sites with hookups so we had no services on our site. Make early reservations ! They also limit the use of generators. If we had a full hookup site, we would rate the site 8 or 9 instead of 7. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
I highly recommend camping in the area where fires are not permitted, as the park attracts a party crowd on the long weekends. But over in the fire-free zones (Section 30), it is lovely and peaceful. The elk in the park can be a bit unnerving, especially during their rutting season. The only drawback is the site is so large, you've got to drive to get to the showers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
In spite of the size of this park, we give it an enthusiastic 10. We return at least once each year and look forward to that return all year long. Elk roaming the campground, Abundant walking/hiking/recreational opportunities and great dining in the area make this a prime spot. Yes if you want one of the limited hook-up sites, reserve early: its easy to do an we've never had a problem. This is your camp of choice while exploring the incredibly scenic region and the most beautiful drive in the world. The Ice fields Parkway. Words fail to adequately describe this stretch of road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$39
I love this park. In amoungst the beautiful trees. Nice flat spaces. Elk grazing around the RV's. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
Whistlers is a beautiful park with a wilderness feel to it even though there are 781 sites. This is our favorite campground so far this year. There are many pull-through sites, lots of shade, clean restrooms and it is quiet. The town of Jasper is only a couple of miles away and there are several scenic drives with an abundance of wildlife close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$36
This a very huge park with loops that intersect each other, so if you are walking it is very easy to get lost! Elk wander throughout the grounds, so you do have to careful especially when walking a pet. The grounds are beautiful and the sites spacious. It was very quiet even with most of the sites filled. It was cool and rainy when we were there and only spent one night as we were on our way to Alaska, but we definitely would stay again. We camped in a Motorhome in 2004. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com