214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Whispering Meadow RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (337) 433-8188
CGID4685

Whispering Meadow RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   10   7   10   10   9   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$34
Mostly quiet campground with no significant shade at the sites. Asphalt access roads with level concrete sites. Access roads somewhat narrow (questionable for two rigs to pass). Pull through sites long enough to avoid dropping toad from 37' rig but might require disconnect if rig is longer than 40'. Slight noise from highway. However, there is also a low level, very low frequency rumble on a 3 second cycle that fades into the background noise during the day but can be rather annoying at night. Power ok, water pressure good, did not use sewer, wifi better than usual for a campground, moderate Verizon cell signal, no problem with satellite access. We would have rated this an 8 except for the rumble. We might stay here again if needing an overnight in the area, but would not stay here longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Whispering Meadows is a very clean, quiet, and well maintained campground. The owners are very pleasant and helpful. Plenty of space is provided for each site. Loved the "patio" feature giving RVs more outside space. I plan to stay here again on my next time through. Would strongly recommend this location when you are visiting Lake Charles, LA in your RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Very nice concrete pads and manicured grass. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this park for weekend or extended stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
The rate is Good Sam. It was clean with level paved pull-through and access roads. The facilities worked well. It was quiet with good WiFi. The staff was friendly. We have stayed here in the past and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Stopped here overnight on our way to Florida. The owners and staff were great, and the facilities were excellent. Nothing really scenic about the location, but a great place to stay while spending time around Lake Charles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
From my initial phone call for reservations to our arrival, the park owners are the kindest, sweetest and friendliest I've ever met as a full time RV'er. The grounds were well kept and pleasantly dated with up to date amenities. Accommodated our 41 ft RV plus 25 ft trailer with their pull throughs. Will definitely stop here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$24
This was an excellent park. Nice level sites. We stayed in #17, which was the first site nearest the street so there was a little bit of road noise but not enough to be a problem. Restrooms and showers were very clean and well maintained. Propane available on site. Owners are true gems. Very nice golf course right down the street. Plenty of things to do in the area. We stayed here for a week and will definitely stay here again. Rate shown is with a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
Level concrete pads, quiet, Wi-Fi worked well, hookups were fine. Generally quiet except for one family and their noisy dogs, but you can get that anywhere. We would stay here again. Rate is Good Sam. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Beautiful park! Large cement pads with patio space. Well groomed, clean, quiet, awesome owners, lovely scenery! Cannot say enough about this gorgeous RV park! We will be back and will tell all our RV family about your park!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is a wonderful RV Park and we would stay here again on our trips out west, all pull-through sites, showers, laundry, level concrete parking, easy access from I-10, close to shopping. The park is very clean and owners very helpful. No pool, Wi-Fi was somewhat slow. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
I'm like the other guy, I would have given it a 10 but I would save that for a resort. Sites were very clean and neat and very level. Even though we had the premium sites with the patio, I still would have preferred a pull through site on the same row as the office. I just don't prefer being in the middle row of a campground. The trash bins (2) were way at the end of the park. Prefer trash receptacles at least every other campsite. The railroad tracks spoken about in another review are very bad if you coming from Texas and traveling on Sampson St. to the park. If you come from the Lake Charles side the tracks are not bad. There's only one set of tracks you cross. It is a very quiet park. I think we were the only lively ones there. We had two travel trailers side by side with our relatives in the other one. All connections worked great; Wi-Fi was great. No problems. Isle of Capri Casino is 3 miles away. LaBaurge is across the river back towards Lake Charles. Don't eat the buffets, very expensive. We have a small dog and we really enjoyed the dog park facility there. Fenced in with water bowl and bench for you to relax while your dog wonders around free from others. Our dog doesn't get to do that very much. The Park only take Visa and MasterCard, no Am Express in case you're interested. Nice wide level sites. Not hard to get to at all from the interstate. We had sites 17 and 18. Very friendly people in office. Price reflects Good Sam discount. If you have your site number after reservation is made and no one is in the office, just go ahead and pull in your site and settle up later. We may put this park on a come-back list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
What a nice friendly place. Bob Conner, the owner helped us get into our spot (easy pull through) and made sure we had everything we needed. They have free Wi-Fi and cable TV. I would gladly come back here. I would give it a 10 but I figured a 10 would be for a resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
This is one tremendously under rated campground. Nice big comfortable sites with up to date hookups, concrete roads and pads with concrete patios. The friendly accommodating owner lives on the site and keeps the grounds spotless. Talk about kid friendly; in the neighborhood, there is a beautiful city park across the road with up to date playground equipment. There is a lounge/game room and a book exchange. The only problem we noted about this park, was the city street has a couple of rough railroad tracks when you get off the interstate, but if you take it slowly, that is no big deal. This one has gone on our return to parks. BTW, the owner recommended some really good restaurants so make sure you ask her. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Very nice well kept safe RV park. Terrific and friendly folks live on site. Awesome bath facilities, super pull though sites with concrete pads. Everything is very well kept! The place is up north from the interstate so - it's nice and quiet. Just a word of caution: go slow getting off I-10 as the road near the train tracks is very rough and uneven. After that it is fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
My husband and I stayed at Whispering Meadow a few weeks ago and really enjoyed our stay. The sites are as level as we have ever seen and they are all concrete. The hook-ups are easily accessible for even the biggest of rigs. The owner is incredibly friendly and always willing to extend a helping hand. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
You will think you've made a mistake when you pull off I-10 right in front of a huge refinery complex but the campground is 3 miles down the road and in a pleasant semi-country setting. It is a very neat, well laid out campground with large open grassy areas for your pets. There is little highway noise. The hosts are very pleasant laid back folks who are proud of their campground. They have no list of rules as you would normally experience in other CG and even the permanent "campers" keep the area around their RV tidy. Call ahead as there are only 60 sites and we got the last available site when we called at 9AM. Ordinarily I would give this CG a 10 but their WiFi set up is unsettling with one of those pay more if you want faster speeds. The free WiFi is very slow. I know the cost of putting in a good WiFi and it is modest and should be done to get a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$21
We’re pretty stingy with 10’s, but for us, Whispering Meadow really is the perfect RV park. If I were building an RV Park from scratch, I would absolutely copy their design and emulate their customer service. The sites are long, level, wide, concrete pull-throughs with patios, picnic tables, and thick grass between sites. They did something I haven’t seen at other parks: they put a 4’x4’ area of pea-gravel inside landscape timbers at the base of the hook-ups, so any spilled water or rainwater doesn’t collect and turn to mud while you’re hooking an unhooking. We spent a week there, and even with a couple of rainy days, I never had to sweep or vacuum the inside. Most places, you constantly fight grass, leaves, sand or mud on your shoes, regardless of weather. The Wi-Fi worked fine and was included in the very reasonable by-the-week price. You have to sign back in every 24 hours, but it continues to be free. I think an earlier reviewer may not have read the sign-in page carefully. The free Wi-Fi is not high-speed, but you have the option of paying for high-speed access. For checking e-mail, reading the news, and searching local restaurant reviews, we found it to be plenty fast. The on-site laundry room is clean, reasonably priced, air conditioned, and has a place to hang your clothes. The machines are efficient and relatively quick. They have a book exchange, on-site propane, and daily garbage pick-up. The owners live there, and they are the nicest folks! From the moment I made the phone reservation with Bob until the time we pulled out, we were impressed with their friendliness and great customer service. Just one example: while we were outside washing the RV (yes, they let you wash your vehicles), Bob rode up in his golf cart to chat a moment. After a few minutes he saw a young woman walking our direction carrying a large laundry basket. He quickly excused himself from our conversation and zipped around to where she was. “Jump in! That’s too heavy, let me give you a ride.” He’s the type of person who looks for every opportunity to make your day better. We will return and will tell others about this great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Very, very nice RV Park! All pull-through sites, which are quite large. Owners are very friendly! Clean baths & laundry. We will come back to this one! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This was our first visit to this park, it's wonderful and we highly recommend it. It's very clean, quiet and conveniently located to the Lake Charles area. The owners are on site and involved, the park shows that pride of ownership. Sites are primarily concrete, with grass medians. They sell propane, have showers and a washer house. The WiFi was good, but limited on "free" time, however if you don't have a hot spot, its a reasonably priced vendor. There is a park across the street and a golf course nearby. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This park is perfect for our 42' motorhome + truck. The sites are level concrete, with a patio and small grass area. They face N/E for the afternoon sun, and they overlook a large manicured lawn. The staff is great, and the golf course is right down the street. Satellite signal works on all the sites. We stayed 5 days and will be back. Take the drive to Johnson Bayou (ocean). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
What a great place to stay! Clean park, clean laundry, impeccably maintained! The owners, friendly, welcoming and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
This park is well run and taken care of by staff. The roads are good asphalt and sites are cement plus close to level. You have two parts in this park. One side for over night or short stay. The other side is all gravel and long term people. No shade trees in park. You do have a mobile home park on south side but you cannot see or hear anything due to tall reeds from lot to lot. Our site was cement and had 20/30/50 amps, water, sewer and was close to level. Site also had lots of room on each side. Wi-Fi was free and worked well on site. Owner lives in center of park and was very nice at check in. Park has been here around five years and looked like new. Could pick up TV channels over the air. Verizon cell and air card worked well here. A little road noise off Hwy but not a problem. Check out owners garden in center of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
Anyone driving over the Delaware Memorial Bridge at the foot of the NJ Turnpike will appreciate the approach to this campground in Westlake LA: oil refineries to the horizon and nothing but fast food restaurants on the 3 mile drive from I-10 to the campgrounds. Called ahead at midday and was told there were plenty of spots; no need for a reservation. Got there at 4pm and was put into overflow: a full sun spot of gravel. Owner seemed to take pity and five minutes later said there'd been a cancellation and we could have one of the slab spots. Park is right next to a mobile home village and across the street from a Little League complex. Have stayed at enough parks to know the difference between operators who operate with a customer first attitude and those who don't. This is the latter. Don't bother with this campground if you can avoid it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
The owner is awesome! Very friendly and helpful. The sites are pull-through and the concrete is level. There is a fenced in dog run and everything looks clean and manicured. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
When arriving at the park, Interstate 10 was shut down and the traffic was horrible. The alternate way in was tricky so the owners just came and led us to the park! Very nice people and park. The park is quiet (about 3 miles off the highway) and well laid out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$21
The nightly rate represents the weekly rate. We very much enjoyed this campground - the hospitality is remarkable! The owners make you feel like family and treat you as such. Cable TV would have been nice, but there were a couple over the air stations for local news. The concrete pads were level, with plenty of room to the neighbor. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Nice place for an overnight stop. Owners very helpful. Not a destination though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
This park has the friendliest managers I have ever encountered! They just can't do enough for you. We arrived after business hours so we had to find out where to park for the night. We located the manager at their residence and they were very friendly and more than willing to take care of our needs even though it was after 7:00 PM when we arrived. The park is some distance off of I-10 on a two lane road past the town of Westlake. Park is small with lots of residents living there as workers. We would enjoy staying here again as it was very quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
The Park met all expectations - clean and efficient. I want to add a special comment about staff: they dropped by in the evening to bring fresh vegetables from their garden; and then a little later to bring a special home-made Cajun dish: and all that for a one night stay! The warmth of all their staff is remarkable! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Good stopover a few miles north of I-10 in the Lake Charles area. Paved roads and concrete site pads. Moderate space between neighbors. Bathrooms and showers were nice and clean. Great customer service. Park was only lacking cable tv and a pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
Long, paved pull-through site. Good for an overnight along I-10. Park is nicely maintained. Stayed 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$21
Very clean, neat campground with level cement sites and much grass. Very friendly, helpful on site owner. Would be a 10 if it had a pool. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
What a friendly place! The owners treat you like kin. Would give it a 10 if they had cable and a pool. It had very spacious lots with pull thrus for big rigs. No shade trees but with the awning it was no big deal. Extremely clean. Had real grass. No grassburrs. Great if you have pets. I guess the road noise didn't bother me because I always stay near the beaten path. Very close to casinos which is nice. Would definitely stay here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$26
We decided to stay at this park because of the previous good reviews and the availability of wi-fi. Yes, there was highway noise and from those that live at the park, but a concrete pad and some grass surely made up for that. This is probably one of the best laid-out parks that we’ve seen. But, their wi-fi definitely leaves much to be desired. While just briefly checking my email and the weather, I was cut off from the system. From what I understood, the system can only handle very small downloads, which I’m positive that I didn’t exceed. Just be careful!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
This is the place to stay with out question in this area. It is worth traveling the extra miles just to stay. It was an awesome, beautiful park. The owner's are wonderful people. My stay has been a blessing! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
These are the friendliest folks working here that I've ever met. They were very kind and helpful. The showers and laundry facility were fabulously clean (and new). There were level concrete sites. My only "dings": lots of early-rising, diesel-driving workers must live here (6AM departures). It was hard to find trash receptacle, and there was a fair amount of road noise. But great overnight stop. I felt very welcomed, and everything was just pristine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
This park is very clean & very well maintained. Owners are on-site. They are very friendly & helpful. The only thing lacking at this site is no cable & no pool. With that they would definitely be a 10! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Very nice park. It was clean and well laid out. The sites are level with a nice grass area between them. Easy to get in and out of. We would stay there again. The owner even told me to pick some tomatos from his garden! Don't find that anywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
This is a great place for stopping for the night when passing through the area. The park seemed safe, very clean, somewhat quiet, and the staff friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were outstanding: clean, in good working order, and included new tile and fixtures. Since this state has lots of rain and bugs, the park wisely paves all sites and roads. Again, if you need a good place for the night, this park seems to be a good choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
These two are true southern hospitality! Everything is neat, clean and works. He is "johnny on the spot" with any request to make your stay better. No cable TV, excellent Wi-Fi, walking track across the road, 3 miles from Lake Charles. You will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$23
This camp was a wonderful, peaceful camp to stay in. The restrooms and showers were extremely clean and well kept. The owners are so friendly that I felt I came away with new friends. I highly recommend staying at the Whispering Meadow RV park in Westlake, La. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$23
We have been back to this RV park twice since our initial visit in December 2005. Due to Hurricane Rita and the workers from out of state who have come to make repairs, it is hard to get reservations at this time. The Lake Charles/West Lake/Sulphur area is continuing to recover and this is the best RV park that we have found in that part of Louisiana. The owners, who live on site, are friendly and try their best to make your stay wonderful. They have almost completed the addition of a meeting/party room for use by their guests. The RV park also has laundry facilities with coin operated washers and dryers. There is a city park directly across the street for walking and games. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$23
New RV park with concrete pads and paved drives, 20/30/50 Amp service with full hook-ups. Staff is friendly, facilities are all new. Free Wi-Fi. All sites are pull-thru and long enough for our 40 ft. motorhome and tow. Location is approx 3 miles north of I-10 between Lake Charles and Sulphur. This is a great location and we will be returning there in Jan 2006 and any other time we to stay in that area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com