206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Tall Pines Resort was rated 4 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (302) 684-0300
CGID4689

Tall Pines Resort

Camp Information
Sites
536
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   6   3   6   3   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$70
A trailer park with less than 20 transient sites crammed together next to a mosquito-producing pond in a gravel parking lot. Rude greeter at gate, no tourist info available, kids running wild, $500 reward for turning in thieves posters all over, completely unfriendly. Supposed WiFi hot spots were intermittent at best, even right next to them. And all this for $70 a night, 3 night minimum (we only needed 2). Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$40
I would like to rate this campground higher because the management has made lots of improvements the last few years. The reason I'm not able to is that this is a huge seasonal campground, with transient sites being a small percent of the campground. We stay here because we have friends with a year round site. The transient sites are close together, as is every site in the park. The sites offer 50 amps and water before December 1st, no sewer or cable. For forty dollars during off-season it's just overpriced for what it offers. Location is everything, but the beach is just not a destination place in the winter so why overcharge for no amenities. The park calls itself a resort, but in my opinion is a overstatement. Sites 1-4 will support larger RVs. The roads are tight, but if you go slow they are navigable. I understand that the speed bumps are necessary, but there are a lot of them. My rear jacks will hit if I don't crawl over them. If the transient sites were full, a campfire from another site would be a concern as it would be very close to your RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
Poured gravel sites RV area at the back end of a 600+ residential trailer park. Huge list of rules and regulations makes one feel unwelcome. 15 speed bumps beat up on your TV and Trailer. Water in shower house comes out in a trickle, and you have to keep pushing the GO button over and over. Dump Station placed on the wrong side of the road as you leave, requiring a turn-around to use it. Wildly overpriced for what you get. Skip it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$52
This was a very nice campground for the price. It was a mostly seasonal resort with just a handful of transient sites available, yet we were not made to feel like outsiders. We arrived after the office was closed but were promptly met by security and escorted to our site. Everyone we spoke with was polite and helpful. It was a short 10 minute ride to Cape Henlopen beach and the historic area. Our site was on the small side but unless you are planning to never leave the site it shouldn't be a problem. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$54
Resort is not for big rigs. Sites are too un-level for big rigs that need to be level for slides. Most un-level site I have ever experienced: reason for overall rating of 3. However, campsite was quiet with lots of tall pine trees, and 30 minutes from Rehoboth Beach with traffic, not too bad. Gated entrance is nice, sites are large, with plenty of space for toad. Management was nice, a little impatient when we asked to be changed to a more level site, which was still un-level, but better. Will probably not return here because we have a big rig. The campground is fine for tents and small trailers. 50 amp hookup and water hookup excellent condition. No sewer hookup. Only sewer dump for overnight campers. Most of the sites are reserved for long timers, kind of like a trailer park atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
Drove up to campground and thought to myself: should we turn around??? 80% are permanent sites, 20% transit. Noticed old trailers look like sitting for years, high grass, mold on trailers, etc. However I thought we should give it a chance. The workers were very nice at check in. Went to our site and it was large and on incline. Was able to level. The showers were clean however water very HOT, and could not turn down. During this weekend we noticed lots of people arriving Saturday morning to their sites. They were cutting grass, power washing, etc. I must say, the park I saw Friday night was much different when we left Monday morning. We would go back as a second choice in that area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
We made reservations at Tall Pines because everything else was full because of it being Memorial Day Weekend. Arriving late after a 3 hour drive, we were disappointed because the park was difficult to find in the dark. After we finally found the campground we were immediately disappointed with how dumpy it looked. There were large piles of leaves everywhere and the sites looked as if they were never mowed. The permanent sites gave it the look of a trashy trailer park. We eventually found the office and no one was there and we looked through the reservations that were left out with the site assignments and did not find ours. An after hours number was left on the door and we tried repeatedly to call but had low phone signal and when we did get through no one answered. We decided to take a site that was listed as being open. After maneuvering our way around the tight roads in the dark we finally found it. Our disappointment escalated when we saw the site taken. A passerby told us to just take another site that was open because they experienced the same thing when they arrived. My husband and I were not about to take a site for fear of someone showing up. Eventually a security guard happened to pass by and he was no help and barely spoke English. By now the Wal-Mart parking lot was looking pretty appealing. We wandered back out to Rte. 1 and called 3 Seasons. (We tried to get in there first when making reservations but they were booked). Thankfully they had a late cancellation and the guard agreed to hold the site until we got there. We ended up staying there for the weekend. When making my reservation with Tall Pines I paid for all 3 nights in advance. The next morning we called Tall Pines and they said to come on in and they will get us a site. I explained my disappointment and said that we'd be up to collect our full refund. He said that wasn't possible, they do not issue refunds from the office and that he'd have to put a request in with "corporate" in Baltimore. After numerous heated discussions with "corporate" I eventually got my refund 2 months later. Lesson learned: never pay in advance. I must say I'm sorry to see 3 Seasons close; they left a very large pair of shoes to be filled in the industry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com