220497 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Louisa State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (352) 394-3969
CGID4693

Lake Louisa State Park

Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   10   8   7   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$27
This campground is a few miles south of Clermont. Once one gets south of Ocala, Florida it becomes very crowded. The multi lane highways are daunting for driving a RV with toad, but Lake Louisa is a nice respite from the busy roads. The sites are spaciously, situated around three loops, and all sites have electric and water. We had good over the air TV and our Verizon card worked well. Some sites are partially shaded, while others remain in the bright sun all day. The bathrooms are very clean and the showers are spacious and private. During our stay, nearby prescribed burns went on each day, leading us to occasionally wonder if the campground were in the path of the burn. The rate shown includes sales tax of 10.5%, reminiscent of RVing in Canada (apparently "Lake Louisa" can charge a local option tax of 3.5% on top of the state tax of 7%). For those who like to ride Florida's bike trails, this is a particularly good place to stay as the Van Fleet and West Orange trails are close by. If you ride in the area on a recumbent bike, check out Central Florida recumbent riders on Google for trice-weekly rides in the area. We'd stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$27
This is a nice park with many miles of hiking trails with well built and maintained boardwalks and docks onto the lakes. The roads in the park are very wide with no trees. Not all the sites are full hookup. The sites have little or no shade, all are pea gravel, and very narrow but have a side section with picnic table. Our biggest issue was the level of our back-in site. It was a very steep grade from front to rear. All of the back-in sites located lake side are like this. Within 10 miles north or south is a WalMart and Publix grocery store. You can rent canoes and kayaks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
Roads around the campground are paved and wide. Parking and setup is very easy. Approximately, half of the sites have sewage hookups. Great campground for fishing and canoeing. If interested in swimming, I would recommend taking along a bicycle or a car as the swimming area is about four miles from the campground. The park is very clean and well kept up. Sites are not very private, so you get a real chance to know your neighbors. This didn't bother us as that is park of the fun of camping for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
Stayed at Site 004, which is a 75' pull through with water and electric. (Some sites here have sewer, but not this one). Although the site is very long, it is not very wide. Adding to that issue is a tree on one side of the parking area and a concrete post on the opposite side (guarding the water and electric pedestals). It's a nice site for a bunch of tents. A 42' RV - Not so much. In order to get into this site so that the RV's door opens up to the little area where the picnic table is, we had to drive the wrong way on the one-way loop around this camping circle. No biggie. There are several sites like this, so many people have to do the same thing. Television and OTA television signals were good, as was Verizon cell service. Our Overdrive worked well for Internet (Sprint). 50 amp service was stable and water pressure was good. Showers houses were clean and always had hot water. The showers have latching doors. There is no shower curtain to separate the shower from the dressing area of each stall though. There is a washing machine and dryer at each of the two shower houses. One note: There is a small, rather scraggly, orange grove on park property. We were told by the rangers that this land is leased out and being studied as part of a citrus canker eradication program. Citrus canker is a contagious bacteria that kills citrus trees. It is not a danger to humans, although we can track the bacteria around on our shoes. The area is clearly marked to keep out, but just about every time we went past it there were people tromping through it, some picking the oranges. If you stay here, please don't be a moron: Leave the oranges alone and stay out of the groves! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
Great park - tons of hiking, wildlife spotting, canoe/kayak/trolling motor lakes, fishing docks as well. A very clean park - restrooms at campground were immaculate. Biggest negative was NO SHADE and no hope of trees growing around any camp site. Bring your own shade and you'll have a nice, relaxing time. This park is a definite do-over for us. Happy Camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
Good paved interior roads. Large spaces, full hook ups available with sewer. Sites are gravel/sand. Quiet. No shade. Pretty typical state park campground. Can't beat the Florida Resident Senior discount rate. About 6 miles back to Clermont for shopping or dining or about 12 to Disney area. Gate closes at dark so times vary. There is a coded keypad for entry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
Stayed here June 26 till July 1st. We enjoy the fishing at the two docks on two lakes. Three separate areas to camp and sites are quite large. Close to restaurants and stores. Park was quite empty during our stay. Lots of hiking trails around for hikers. Sites are mostly in sun with little shade available, but nice sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
We camped at this campground for 8 days for my kids' springbreak. We used the trip to visit Disney world's theme parks. It was very convenient, besides saving us tons of dollars in hotel accommodation expenses. The campground is a short drive to Disney and has no traffic issues since we didn't have to travel through Orlando city center. The campground is clean and well taken care off. However, I still don't know why the authorities didn't consider a shorter route into the camping area. It should be about 3 miles from the gate to the campsites. The lake from which the campground got its name is not within view at all. It's some distance from the campsites, so we couldn't tell the condition. However, the two lakes with walking distances to the campsites are prohibited for swimming because of gators. We saw some during our trip. We will definitely return to this campground if we make another trip to Orlando area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$13
Lake Louisa is a very popular but somewhat remote Florida State Park. It is about 3 miles off of Hwy 27 and another 7 -9 miles from restaurants and shopping. The sites are gravel, the pull thru sites are curved, and so if you have a 40 foot rig it takes some maneuvering to park it between the shoulders. Our Mi-Fi card didn’t get a strong signal but our cell phones did work. The park attracts hikers, kayaking, bird watchers, plus people wanting to fish and just relax. If those activities don’t suit your fancy, well you best look for another park. Their showers are solar powered so if you’re there on a rainy spell you might be taking cold showers. The location of the dumpsters was such that whatever loop you were assigned, you’d have a bit of a walk to utilize them. Bring your own dog pick up bags as they have no “dog stations”. They do have fire rings, the loop host sells wood, and each site has a picnic table. Reservations are a must and our fee was based on a Florida resident price. We’d were there for a get-together with friends over a weekend and would consider it again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
Loved this campground! Sites are wide, easy access and has a great roads for bike riding. Campsites were spacious and well maintained. Showers and restrooms were clean. Even had washer/dryers in each campground loop. Some shade, no issues with tight campsites or narrowness. Beautiful lakes nearby with fishing piers near the campground. Not a surprise FL State Parks were voted best in the nation 2 times! We camped in a 40' class A motor home. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
We stayed at Lake Louisa for 2 weeks, All in all it was an OK stay. The park and facilities are well maintained. FIshing there was alright but slow, and the hiking trails were very nice. We will stay here again if in the area, there just was not much to do while there We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$23
This is a nice state park located about 6 miles from Clermont and 20 miles from Disneyworld. We had reserved a full hookup site several months in advance and it all worked well. We had no problems using the sewer hookup, unlike a previous reviewer. The interior roads were wide and easy to negotiate. The only negative issue we had was our site had a deep curve which made it a challenge to get a 35' fifth wheel situated. We saw several other sites with this curve and wondered about the thinking of the designer! Each bathhouse has one washer and dryer which worked well and were reasonably priced at $1.00 a load. There are miles of roads to bicycle on within the park since it's three miles from the entry gate to the campground plus other side roads in the park. There are also a lot of walking/hiking trails around the campground loops and the three lakes. The walking trails are wide and nicely maintained. There are a lot of "wild" orange, tangerine and lemon trees in the area so a walk can be "sweet". Bird watching here is nice. We saw several osprey, eagles, and a variety of song birds. We would definitely return here for another stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
Another great Florida State Park! Some of the CLEANEST bathrooms/showers we've seen. Open and not much shade (glad we weren't there in the middle of summer!) Nice hiking trails, great birding, pretty lakes, very friendly rangers and hosts. Spacious sites, though the sewage hookups (not available on all sites) were near the front of the sites which made them impossible to use, unless you had 3 or 4 hoses hooked together. (After the 8-10 minute drive to the park gate) it's 20 minutes to Disney! Plenty of shopping and restaurants minutes from the front gate. Solid Verizon 4g coverage. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$28
Our second time here, and enjoyed it again. We brought friends with us this time, who had no trouble at all backing their 40 foot pusher into their site. This park is very big rig friendly. Sewer hookup only available at a few sites, but the double stall dump station is very user friendly. Once again we had the pleasure of super nice check in rangers, who really seem to love their job. Not sure what the last reviewer is talking about, but this park is no where near the ocean or intercoastal waterway. It is in the middle of the state. There are two cute little lakes at the campground that are great for canoeing. Otherwise not a lot to do at the park, but great for relaxing and we enjoyed our hike around the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
We stayed here over the Christmas holiday week. Took a river cruise at the park on Christmas eve. We liked the campground but it is true there is no shade and no privacy. Close proximity to the inter-coastal and ocean was a plus. The sites were mostly level (we stayed here twice) and the restrooms were clean for the most part. One of the volunteers was less fastidious about his cleaning responsibilities but for the most part the restrooms were clean. The park rangers were mostly friendly and helpful. The trails were for bike riders, not so much for hikers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$13
Beautiful state park located about 30 minutes from Disney attractions and right off Route 27. Large full hook up sites with plenty of room for big rigs. Some sites do not have sewer hook-ups but the dump station is easy to maneuver. Campground is situated between two clean scenic lakes and is 3 miles from the main entrance. Lots of hiking and bike trails. Convenient to all kinds of shopping. Rate reflects senior Golden Pass discount. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Driving up from the south, it was a sure pleasure to enter this fantastic State Park. After checking in at the ranger station (very friendly) it was a 3 mile drive to the campsites. A beautiful drive overlooking 3 lakes, through some orange groves and then into the three loops of campsites. Some sites have sewer. Ours did not, however dump station was close. Rest rooms and showers immaculate and well maintained. Our two grand daughters, 4 and 5 had a blast along with our Giant Schnauzer. Lots of running and biking trails and an abundance of nature in a real tranquil setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
This is a nice Florida State Park. There are sites for every size rig and some have sewer available. All sites are not level. Bathhouses are clean and water is heated through solar power. Verizon air card and phone service worked well. Convenient to tourist attractions and shopping. Campground is about 3 miles back from the entrance and some road noise is evident although not bothersome to us. We will stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
A really nice park. Level sites. Not a lot of shade yet but nice landscaping. Laundry facilities in each camping loop. Very clean bathhouses. No lake view sites but very nice piers to fish from. Close to Disney World. Plenty of walking and biking trails. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
There are really no shade spots here, but quite a few young trees are planted that should provide more in the coming years. Nice wide crushed lime stone surfaces that are raked out as soon as a camper leaves by the great park hosts on site at each loop. Really appreciated to keep extra dirt out of the RV. Bathrooms were very clean, with a single washer and dryer outside of both bathhouses at $1.00 a load. Though they were always in use, so they could really use a second set to handle the demand. Towels and liquid hand soap available at all times and appreciated as many do not supply. Only complaint I had with the bathhouse on the women's side in the first loop was that 2 of the 3 shower stalls did not lock, or even shut all the way. If you book an inside pull through, be aware that the hookups are on the wrong side, as is the "patio area". Simple fix is to do what many did, and drive in the one way road the opposite direction. Park loops are small, so this is easy to accomplish with care. Pretty little lakes on both sides, that restrict to no motors, made for a lovely time out in our canoe. Also enjoyed the many walking trails. Though we are only a mile from Highway 27, we found this park to be quiet and peaceful. Wish they had a spot to use Wi-Fi, but our cell phones had good signal and received 37 channels on our TV antenna. Looking forward to a return trip here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
Nice and quiet park. Used satellite dish for TV access. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
This is a gem of a campground situated between Dixie Lake and Hammond Lake. It provided us with a feeling of isolation, especially on the weekdays. The campground is well designed and well maintained with three separate loops in an open habitat with some small scattered trees. Sites near Dixie Lake receive plenty of afternoon shade from tall cypress and pines on the lake margin. There is a mixture of spacious back-ins and pull-through sites with a solid crush limestone gravel base. The access roads are wide and paved. We had no problem getting satellite TV and Verizon 4G was zooming here. There are miles of hiking trails here and biking was a pleasure on the low traffic park roads. The only reason we are not extending a perfect score of ten is because there appears to be some leveling issues at selected sites, no swimming and only a few sites have sewer. We would like to return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
We stayed here for a long weekend. The park is laid out well with some concrete sites and some pea gravel sites. Restrooms/showers very well maintained. The whole area is well kept; has grass, shrubs and young trees around most sites. There will be shade in the future. Our site 48, had adequate privacy from our neighbors. The site was level except for a slight slope in one corner. Didn't affect the RV. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. Camp sites are 3 miles off the main road (quiet). Biking and hiking is great and they have kayaks for rent. There is a fishing dock on each of the two lakes. If you need stuff, there are towns nearby, but not too close. We will definitely weekend here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
We stayed here over night in a 30 ft RV. The park is lovely with a good number of pull thru sites. Nice place to walk. We booked online and got the last site available. I would choose a pull thru next time. Our back in Site 001 (Loop A) was next to the showers and laundry and was very private. The site sloped down in the rear somewhat but was all paved. The other sites each had gravel and grass. Each had a picnic table and fire ring. The laundry has one washer and dryer. There is a sink and counter top adjacent. $1 for washer (28 minutes) and $1 dryer (50 minutes). The restrooms and showers were pristine and spacious. We would definitely stay here again. Recommend you book in advance to get a good spot. Camp sites are off the main road 3 miles. There are some sites with a view of the lake but no actual waterfront sites. There is a fishing dock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
Fabulous state campground. Good flat sites with some privacy. Large bath house with good showers. The rangers at this park are responsible, friendly and informed. The camp host was great, not the overbearing types that are usually at state parks. What I like the most, after the wildlife was the attitudes and helpfulness of the staff, both paid and volunteer. They do a GREAT job. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
Nice park, but in Florida you need shade and there is none at most sites. There are two beautiful lakes in the campground area but no sites on either lake and no views of them. Something I don't understand, if there is water let us see it. Clean and well kept, large sites but no privacy between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$12
We love this park! Rate is discounted Florida senior rate. The sites are very neat, clean and spacious, though they could use a little more gravel on the pads. All sites have 30/50 amp hookups, and several also have sewer. There is little shade at the campsites, so plan on putting your awning(s) out. Very quiet and peaceful campground with Lake Louisa a few miles away, but still within the state park. Also has many hiking trails. The laundry is reasonable, but there are only two washers and two dryers, one each at two different bathhouses. Hosts very efficient at tidying up (raking the gravel, etc) after campers leave, and providing assistance when needed. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$27
We normally come to this campground every winter for a week or two. Sites are open (no shade) in the larger RV loop, which is good for cooler weather. Great satellite, cell phone and internet access with air card. Very large sites although not much privacy between sites. Quiet and good security provided. Great hiking trails including around the lakes. All types of shopping within 10 miles: groceries, restaurants, etc. Also Disney is within 20 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
We were in site #49. I had booked this site because on Goggle Earth it looked like we would have a view of Dixie lake. We did not- we got to look at dead hibernating trees. There are only a handful of sites that you can see the lakes. Only about 15 sites have FHU the rest have W/E with gravel pads, picnic tables and a grill/fire ring combo. The hosts sell firewood. There are 2 bathhouses both are a good size and seem relatively new and both were clean while we were there though the floors stayed perpetually wet for some reason. The park has a few trails to hike/bike or horseback ride on (must have your own horse). They also rent canoes and kayaks to go our on Dixie Lake for $8 for 2 hours. If you are into totally relaxing and having nothing to do this is your park. For my family we need a little more to do that is why it only got an average rating. The city of Clermont is close by with everything you need if you forgot it. The park has no swimming for the last year because of the low water levels and poor water quality. There is nothing for children (no playground or open fields) even in the day use area. Since this one is so close to our home we won't be back. This was a been there done that park for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$28
We spent our Christmas Vacation at this park, a total of 12 days, there max stay is 14 days. This is a very well kept park and it is located very close to Orlando and Disney. They do have some full hook-up sites but you will not find them noted on the reservation site map. We had a water and electric only pull-thru, this was not a real problem, we used our tote tank for gray water. I noted there full hook-up sites as we plan to return here again. The sites are #30 to #40 and #14 and #16. There are 14 sites total with full hook-up but the last two are for the campground hosts. This park is a real plum and should be at the top of your short list for Orlando area. Most parks in the area are run down dumps. This is not a place for snow birds due to a max length of stay of 14 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$12
We camped here over Thanksgiving holiday. Great park, well maintained, quiet. We had to leave early due to family emergency, and staff very helpful in changing our reservation. Price of campsite reflects 50% Florida Sr. citizen discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
Nice park. We were pleasantly surprised to find our site had a sewer hookup. We looked around and found there were about nine sites with hookup. Reserve America had not listed this in the site information while booking our trip. The sites were all open with not much, if any, barrier separating the other sites. This park is a great stop over, visiting the attractions or a just a weekend getaway like we did. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We saw them on their roving patrols often. If you get a chance to stay there, make sure you park at that highest point at the parks entrance, at night. You can watch the fireworks shows from Disney. We are already planning to return next year. We would like to return when it is cool to enjoy the trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
We were very disappointed in this campground. There is NO shade and only small trees at this campground. It was miserably hot and there was no swimming or camp fires permitted. Nothing for children to do. I would have thought from the campground map that we would be able to see the lakes from our site but it was overgrown with bushes. I will not return to this park any time of the year. The bathrooms were clean as in most State Parks and the dump sites (2) were handy with no waiting. They had quite a few pull in sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
This park has three loops. All have 50 amps, water, table, fire rings, BBQ cooking equipment, and a little off level but not bad. Park sits on land that is center of Lake Dixie and Lake Hammond. Lake Louisa is very large and close by to swim in plus has picnic grounds. DTV works well here and Verizon cell phones were to the top. Dump station was great as you can dump on way in or out, very nice and wide. You will find 14 sites have full hookups and a number of the sites are for the physically challenged. No play ground equipment for the kids. Park also has 20 large cabins to rent that over look Lake Dixie. Price was half off, people who live in state receive a discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$21
A great park for a state owned facility. It was very friendly with clean sites and bathhouse. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
As others have said this is an open campground and there's very little in the way of shade. Sites are gravel and un-level but not bad. Most are narrow but plenty long enough for big rigs. Electric and water only on most sites. Dump station available and convenient. Only one trash drop off site for the entire campground so it can be a bit of a hike depending on where your site is. Park is clean and pretty well maintained with the exception of the weeds between sites and along roads which needed mowing badly. Sunset over Lake Dixie was beautiful. Plenty of hiking and biking trails. Several piers to fish from, and Lake Louisa has a swimming area. Will be back but in the fall, winter or spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$21
Very nice park in the middle of citrus area. The orange blossom aroma was wonderful. Sites are nicely spaced but there is little vegetation and it would be very hot in summer. Nice location between two lakes and namesake lake is a short drive away. All facilities were well maintained. Took a day trip over to the east coast and Cocoa Beach area. Timing to watch the landing of the space shuttle was off by a few days. Homossasas Springs and Crystal River a short drive away - beautiful area to visit as well. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
Great campground close to Orlando. It's 30 minutes to Disney and 1 hour to Universal. Wide sites and very easy parking. Just outside the noise of Orlando so the park is very quiet at night. This park has many trails (though they are difficult for bikes: too much sand), but wild citrus trees everywhere. (Though your not suppose to pick any. Oops.) This park will get a 10 in the future once the campground has some shade. In December this is not too bad, but I'm sure this is a very HOT park in the summer. We'll stay here again when we come to Orlando. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Nice park but not much to do unless you like to fish. Very sunny, no shade to speak of. Had a site with 50 amp service and sewer which is great for a state park. Well maintained gravel sites with lots of space but no trees so no real privacy. Water view sites would be the best. Very nice fishing piers on several pretty lakes. Would only consider going back to do some fishing in cooler weather. Camping staff was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Very clean and well maintained. No shade as trees aren't big enough yet. Very breezy when we were there - couldn't use awning. Sunset over lake was beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$23
An excellent park that we would definitely stay at again. Easy to pull into, well cared for sites, and friendly staff. Approx. 30 minutes from Magic Kingdom. Nightime sky is terrific. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$25
This is a lovely state park. The campsites are extremely spacious. The campground is situation between two beautiful lakes. Each lake has a dock. There are numerous hiking trails and horseriding trails. There is a swimming area; however, I would recommend driving your vehicle to the largest lake which allows swimming as it is quite a distance from the campground area. There are informational sessions with the Park Rangers during the weekends, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We will be returning in April. I would have given this campground a 10: only there is very little shade at the camp sites; but, they have landscaped and in a few years this will be exquisite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$23
Nice park enclosing six lakes used to be a citrus orchard, some citrus trees remain. Sites were clean, level and decently spaced; we have a 30 ft class A. The spacing is especially important because there is no greenery whatever that provides any privacy or visual separation from your neighbors; the campground area is very open. Bathrooms and showers are clean and new looking but chilly on a cool day. We were happy to find laundry facilities with one washer and one dryer. There are a handful of full hook-up sites in two of the loops. There are fishing piers on two lakes near the campground and the beach area is very nice. The dump has two stations and is easy to access. The cabins looked really great. The park was quite busy during our stay and seemed full every night but was quiet. Overall this was a good camping experience but we really prefer more wooded sites with some shade and privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com