206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Cherry Creek State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 100 user reviews. Phone: (303) 693-3957
CGID4695

Cherry Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
128
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   9   8   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
The only reason I didn't rate this campground a 10 is that they charge a daily park pass fee in addition to the camping fee, and they charge for showers. Sites are far apart, they are level, roomy concrete pads equipped with fire rings and tables. The Cherry Creek State Park is close to Denver and has a good size lake with boating, fishing and swimming. There is even a public shooting range in the park. Wi-Fi is adequate and the TV antenna pulls in lots of local stations. The bath houses are spotless and modern. Even as late as October this popular campground fills up on weekends, so be sure to make reservations early. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
What an oasis in the middle of a city. Great spot. Make reservations even this time of year. We had to leave on Friday because it was booked solid. Fantastic campground with full service hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
The best park we've stayed at. Lots of room between sites. Lots of trees. It's nice to have this oasis in town. Showers cost a buck for 6 minutes. We had a pull-through. But the back-in sites looked pretty easy to get into. We have family nearby. So we'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
Love this park, my favorite park in the Denver area. The west gate exits to the DTC area - tons of great restaurants. Easy access to groceries out main gate. Park setting is spectacular, with full views of the front range of the Colorado Rockies. Reservoir was a little low but still pretty. Big sites and clean facilities. Huge cottonwood trees and tons of wildlife; deer, coyote, squirrels. Very popular park in summer, hard to get reservations over the weekends. Only negative is paying the high day-use fee along with the daily camping fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Super roads in this state park all asphalt. Sites are large with concrete pads. Patios are crushed gravel dirt and bordered with concrete. Large picnic table. Fireplace with grill. Many sites with well developed trees for shade and many without for satellite, but you reserve through Reserve America and they don't have info on which are good for your desires. Rate is great till you remember that you need a $9/day pass for the park. Very large, clean, well maintained park with great biking, boating and walking jogging. Very close to Denver, with lite rail option. Excellent big rig access, but be careful at entrance gate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Rate includes $9 entry fee to get into the park which I think was waived for campers the last time we stayed here. This is a beautiful park with very convenient access to metro Denver. It's clean, well maintained, has plenty of shade trees and easy in-out pull-through sites. We've only stayed here briefly when we've had other stuff going on in Denver and have not made use of the lake, but that looks like a great feature, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
No discounts for out of state visitors here. Rate is $31 per night and we included the $9 per day “vehicle” pass you must purchase...but you don’t have to pay for your towed IF you leave it connected thru the gates. If you have or purchase a state park pass, they waive that fee. The park is very clean, nice spaces, mostly level and space far apart. Power was steady, water pressure is good at 45PSI. Very good Wi-Fi, steady and fast. Staff is present and enforces the rules, especially about parking on the grass. Some shade at most sites. Burn ban on currently, pretty dry. Staff was friendly and helpful. You are in the middle of the city of Aurora, SE of Denver, so there is some traffic noise from the roads, however we did not hear any trains. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
I cannot think of any other state park camping this well maintained and this close to an urban area in the United States. We drove our car into Denver but noted public transportation (park and ride) is nearby. This is a very popular park, so summer reservations must be made far in advance. Cherry Creek has a very active volunteer program and it shows. Everything is spotless. Full heated hook ups, unusual for Colorado. Miles of paved roads for biking. A center for outdoor activity for the urban area so something always happening. Daily entrance fee is expensive but we bought a Colorado State Park pass which will pay for itself quickly when you are going to spend anytime camping in the state. This is not a stupendously beautiful state park, but on a long RV trip its nice to have a clean laundry, ready access to grocery, a night out in the city, and great internet service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
The number 1 park in Colorado. Excellent campground. Wide open spaces between units. Some trees. Site was level and spotless. We watched a crew come by within minutes of someone leaving to wash everything down, rake and get ready for the next guest. The lake is large and good bass and walleye fishing. No traffic or road noises. About 4 miles to good shopping. This was a great value. Price does not reflect the $9 per day out of state park access fee - so be forewarned. Still a good value. If you are coming up 285 to get here. DON"T. Take the Interstates if you can. It will be more miles, but you will get here sooner. Hwy 285 is a series of high mountain passes, 2 lanes, slow movers like us. Serious elevation changes. Very pretty, but it took us six hours to go 230 miles. Three hours to go 100. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Great park. We will be back every year. Rate is with lifetime pass. One of the nicest state parks in Colorado. Almost all sites have full hooks ups. This is a great place to explore Denver. You can see skyline from park. It is a 15 minute drive into town. Bikers will be in heaven with all the paved bike trails. There is even a paved 24 mile trail to Castle Canyon SP. Hosts are friendly and helpful. The park is clean. Best time to camp here is when public schools are in session. Even then you will need a reservation on weekends. We had no difficulty finding a site for our Sunday to Wednesday visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Always a favorite! We stayed here over Mother's day weekend and had a great time. We were in site #9 for two nights and then switched to #10 for the third night. (That's what you get when you want to add a day at a later date!) We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Everyone was helpful when we arrived. The restrooms were clean and available. The lots are large and well positioned. It is located on very nice grounds. There are walking trails all over the park. We enjoyed our seven night stay. It is quiet, even though it is close to the city. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
This park gets the almost impossible 10 rating. Granted Wi-Fi can be a little iffy and pay showers, but that doesn't offset everything else being great. As others have said the sites are huge, level, paved. Utilities are great. Some sites exchange shade for blocked satellite so you decide what is more important to you. Some have street noise from Parker but move away from that end of the campground and you have no street noise. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Always a favorite destination! Even though it was a cold weekend, we still had a great time at Cherry Creek State Park. Lots of good sites. We stayed in the Abeline Loop #7, a nice back-in on a corner. Site was a tad unlevel, but easily fixed. Hookups worked great with strong water pressure. Wi-Fi in this area was good. Lots of shade trees in this loop and tons of places to walk your dogs (we have 2 labs). The campground hosts were pleasant and kept the place immaculate! Close walking distance to the swim beach, but the marina is a drive to the other side of the reservoir. We usually bring our jet ski, but not this time due to the weather! Excellent place to camp! Definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Wow! One of the most spacious, well-equipped parks I have visited. Paved and very flat spots to park in. Reliable Wi-Fi. In fact, after using this site for a month as I traveled across the US, I was finally moved to sign up to write reviews because this park is so great that I wanted to be able to talk about it. Park has nice bike paths and lakefront areas. Convenient location to bike to south Denver services like Pine Meadows Mall (if you are reasonably fit). Rate includes required day-use pass to enter park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Nice park, roomy sites but lots of traffic noise from nearby streets. It is clean and well maintained. You are basically in the middle of the city inside a large recreation area. The camping fee includes a daily use fee for the State. Our Verizon Wireless and Dish TV worked fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
We can only repeat what others have said. Excellent paved roads, level paved pads, good voltage and water, awesome friendly hosts and employees who were very helpful. Restrooms were modern, well constructed, and clean as were the several laundries. Nicest public park we have seen and rivals most private parks. The lake in the park has a "swimming beach" and fishing and boating areas. Very close to commercial areas. Road noise is there, but not a problem. The $9 entry fee and charge for showers seem excessive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This was a wonderful campground, incredibly wide open spaces. We have never been to a campground where the sites were so distant from each other. Level, concrete sites with gravel under the picnic tables, very neat and tidy. It is very close to a heavily traveled street near I225 and Parker Road. You can hear the street noise but it was not bothersome. Beautiful and clean restrooms. Cost was $26 per night plus $9 per day entry fee. I don't get the "per day entry fee" for campers. Typically a camper might pay just a single entry fee or it may be included in the camping fee. It's close to shopping, restaurants if that's what you need. Some shade but not a lot in most sites. Would return to this campground to visit friends in the area. Great staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Price reflects $26 camping fee plus daily $9 "entrance" fee. Full hookups, level sites, well-spaced. Bathrooms clean, but with pay showers, which I thought was kind of chintzy, given the rather high total fee. Great park for bike riding (lots of paved bike paths) and it is level and about 4,000 acres total, including a rather large lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Nightly rate includes $9 daily use fee. This is a very quiet park with lots of room between the sites. There are concrete level pads and great hookups. Lots of room to walk the dog in the RV area and lots of trails too. This park has a lot of amenities including lake swimming and boating. Staff is very helpful and keeps the site very clean and neat. We spent a very peaceful week here and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Very spacious sites tucked back into the park, which is not visible from main road. Park rangers were very nice and helpful. Host motorhome campers on site made us feel comfortable and secure. GPS did not take us to correct address. From 225 South, take Exit 4 and follow Parker Road. Go to 1st traffic light on Parker Road after exit 4,(Lehigh Road) turn right into park road. Park sign was somewhat hidden on the road, and the road into the park and ranger station is long and winds. Except for lack of rain that caused brown grass, the park is nice and well maintained. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
Staff was very friendly. Site was concrete slab with fire pit and grill. Plenty of room for tow car. Very quite and had all the room for slides and awning. Will stay her again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
This is a wonderful park - VERY well maintained by the state parks system. Showers/bathroom were very clean, but you have to pay quarters for them (75 cents was enough, I think!) Big, pull through sites, quiet. For the proximity to the city, and for for the price, you can't beat the park all the way around! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
This is a beautiful park, with terrific RV sites with concrete pads and full hookups. There is a lot of space between sites, and in a country setting with lots of trees. There are also sites for boondocking available for $18. A caveat: An annual pass or a daily pass, daily pass costing $9, is required to get into the park. The place where you pay for the daily pass is a mile or so from where one registers for camping. Call ahead to be sure there is room, before you pay the $9, or you may find yourself in a full park, unable to camp overnight, but having already paid an entrance fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Only negative that I'll get out of the way was that you get hit with a $9/day entrance fee on top of the site fee. Other than that it is a state park with full hookups, flat concrete sites, wide roads great for bike riding for the kids, many sites with trees, plenty of room between sites, and all located withing the Denver metro area. I couldn't even see an office building from the CG and the road noise was faint, far quieter than many CGs near freeways. I wish there were many more parks like this in major cities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
We chose this park for its close proximity to Denver International Airport, as we were picking up family members there. Unfortunately, we arrived on July 4th incurring a two hour wait on the entrance road, due to the large volume of local day visitors, before we could get into the campground area. We understand that most other days there is little problem getting in. Once into the campground we found the pull-through sites to be spacious and well spread out. The sites are concrete pads and level and we had no problem with the utilities. Our stay was quiet and enjoyable. We were relieved to find that ice and snacks were available at the campground registration office, although it was not on their literature. Be aware that in addition to the nightly camping fee there is a $10 transaction fee added when making a reservation, which is an absolute necessity. Also, the camping fees do not include the cost of the daily park pass, which is an additional $9. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
A nicer state park, but not great as RV parks go. The rate reflects the 9/day access fee putting this park financially on a par with most other campgrounds in the area. The park setting has its points with biking, boating, and walking right there and the feeling of being in the country (while actually in the city), but there is road noise from Parker and the interstate nearby. Unlike many state parks, the availability of treed sites is terrible. We biked around the campground and, despite many trees around, very few provide any shade to campsites. Local knowledge of the few that do is definitely needed because, once you have picked a site on the on-line system THERE IS NO CHANGING OF SITES ALLOWED. A slightly treed site near ours was open the entire time we were there, but no, we couldn't move. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Nice sized sites with lots of space between. Well maintained, quiet and convenient to many places in this part of Colorado besides the reservoir it's a part of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
This park is always a favorite! We stayed here at the beginning of the season as a "shake down" trip. Our favorite loop is the Abeline Loop; we were in site #10. Hookups were good, but we experienced a sulfur smell from our sewer hookup when we arrived. Several neighbors complained of the same, but it went away. Lots of room at our site for the truck, trailer, and even our small SUV and jet ski! Campsite hosts were super friendly and stopped several times just to talk. We will be back! As a side note on the park pass, we had to purchase an additional "water use" pass for both tow vehicles. First time this happened, even though we bring the jet ski here often. No big deal, was only $3/year. Beach area near the marina (west side of lake) is a great area to lounge! No wake area is only about 20 yards and lots of room to beach the boats. There is a smaller ramp on the east end near the campgrounds, but no much beach area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
This was our first trip with our travel trailer. Campground was very nice. Water/electric/sewer all worked great. Very quiet at night even though we were close to the major road. Park care takers frequently drove around to check on things. I really appreciated that for my family. Camp site was level. Spacious and spread out nice and evenly. I would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
Nice park: the pull through site was level, the facilities worked well. The Wi-Fi is fairly slow and you have to "log in" every few hours, which is a pain. Quiet sites (Pioneer loop), great trail system. You have to pay for a vehicle pass for every day of your stay, extra $9. Rate reflects the cost of the pass. Very clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Always a favorite! A great campground located in the middle of the city! A nice variety of sites, we camped in the Abeline Loop #10. Some sites are better than others, but really, not a bad one in the group. The sites farthest to the east are closest to the highway, so you do get some noise, but not bad. All hookups worked great with good water pressure and Wi-Fi has been fixed and works good. Sites are nicely spaced apart with plenty of room. New shower building is immaculate! Huge laundry facilities with a vending area. Hosts do an excellent job of keeping the grounds spotless! A added plus was a herd of deer that wandered through the middle of the campground every night! This place puts many much higher priced campgrounds to shame. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Best place to camp in the Denver area that we found. Price includes the $9 day park access fee. Asphalt roads and concrete pads with sites that are not jammed together. Reservation system means you have to reserve at least three days in advance and if you are a walk-in you can only pay the walk-in days. We had a 50 amp full hookup site but the water pressure was a little low. We had a pull through site that was easy to access and long enough that our tow vehicle could park in the site also. Had good visibility for our DirecTV satellite dish to get good reception. We will stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
This is a large park with lots of trees with back in and pull through sites. When I looked at the state parks campground map I didn’t see any roads except the campground roads. When we arrived at the park and we drove to Gold Rush loop, site 86, I couldn’t believe my eyes and ears. We were facing the I- 225 and it was loud. So, if you don’t want to listen to road noise ALL day stay away from the east and north side of Gold Rush. The other loops are quiet. The sites are very nice and all of the utilities worked well. Water pressure was between 40 and 70 psi so we used our regulator. Verizon cell and air card worked well, had a good signal. Some sites will be more difficult than others to get a dome satellite in. Site wasn’t level but we had no problems leveling out. Park daily pass is $9.00 unless you have their annual pass. We would stay here again but not in Gold Rush. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
A very beautiful park in the Denver area. We stayed here while visiting some family in Aurora. The pads are all concrete which was really nice because it was raining. The restrooms were large and clean. The showers were coin operated, $.50 for 3 minutes and $.25 for each additional minute. My only complaint is that there was no soap in the restroom. Everything was handicap accessible even though we were not at a handicap site. There is an additional fee when entering the park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Large sites with bbq and pit fire. Sites are concrete and gravel. Park has plenty of outdoor activities. Close to local shops and restaurants. Good Wi-Fi, cable TV and satellite. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Advertised rate does not include $9.00 a day park pass which you must purchase for each day you stay. Facilities are nice enough. Grass is long so if you have pets to walk, it is dirty. They did "cut" grass while we were there but this involved driving around with a mower with a blade that must have been sharpened only when the mower was new. The mower did not really cut any grass at all. Would stay again even though on the expensive side for what they have. Not many campgrounds in the area so choices are very limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
We love this park. It seems to always be busy and near full, but sites have plenty of room between them with plenty of trees, landscaping etc, so crowding is not a problem. Beautiful area, close to our family living in the area. It is just about the only nice choice in the Denver area. Be aware that you will be charged a "daily entrance fee" for each vehicle you have in addition to the camping fee. It adds up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
One of the best state parks we've stayed in. The park is run by volunteers and they are work hard to keep the park clean. Facilities are clean, with a nice welcome center. Practically in Denver, but you would never know based on the surroundings. Plenty of wildlife around and shade from site to site. Our site, number 6, had a picnic table and fire ring. This place is not to be missed. We made reservations online, we were able to pick our site online. To my surprise when we arrived they had our reservation, unlike many other parks. You know what I mean. The lake is beautiful, lots of in park family activities and access to Denver is easy. We Will Be Back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
In two years on the road this is clearly the nicest CG we have stayed in. I gave it a 10 only because that is the highest rating. It deserves a higher score. The sites are HUGE. Many are pull through and even the backins are big enough that maybe even I could manage to back in. Our closest neighbor is 50 or so yards away from us. To our right is a grassy field. The roads are paved and the sites have a concrete pad for the coach. NO DUST! Very nice picnic tables are furnished. (I feel compelled to mention the 7 rating someone gave it. Did you expect that you would be th only person at a state park on the 4th? If you are going to complain about crowds on the 4th you should stay home.) This CG is not without it's issues, but they are minor and can easily be ignored. Actually, come to think of it, I had only one issue. Wi-Fi can be spotty, at least in space 92 which is about as far away from the office as you can get. Our site faced NNW which meant we got very little sun in the afternoon. If you are going to stay here make your reservations in advance so you can get a N or NE facing site. The sun in the afternoon can be brutal. I could kick myself for booking only 5 nights. We are already planning our return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
I won't repeat what the other posters have said, but just add to it. The $9 car fee kind of bugs me. Unless you walk or bike into the park you have to pay the extra $9 on top of the camping fee, so why not just be up front and charge one fee for using the campground? The $24 a night camping fee is a bit misleading. The entry into the park needs some remodeling. We stayed on a busy holiday weekend: July 4th. The park was packed and closed to any other guests coming in. However, the approximately 1/2 mile entrance road is one lane 99% of the way to the first ranger gate, where they take your $9 a day car fee. That means when traffic backs up out into the main road trying to get in, the delays can reach 4 hours only to be told that the park is full. If you are already camped in the park, you wait in line with everyone else. That scenario made us a captive in the park all weekend. We could not leave without enduring extensive wait times idling in your hot car to get back in. The lake is nice, although jammed for this weekend. Plenty of trails to bike ride on, and sandy beaches to picnic on. The utilities all seemed to work well in spite of reaching temperatures in the high 90 to 100 degree range in the afternoon. I would stay here again, just not on a holiday weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Cherry Creek continues to our choice when in the Denver area. Large spacious sites, great staff and super location. In addition the park provides a lot of activity options. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is the best state campground we've ever stayed in. Lots of space and well done for big rigs. The campground host is meticulous in preparing the site by cleaning it and raking the gravel under the picnic table. Sites are all concrete and level and many with full hookups and 50 amp. Driving to our site and getting in the site was easy for our 40 ft. RV. It was a beautiful setting with bike paths everywhere. There is swimming at the lake, a short drive away. Not bad to get into Denver, less than 30 minutes. My Verizon air card was a little slow, but the Wi-Fi at the park was fast. I'd definitely recommend this park, and I know we'll be back. Price includes $9 daily fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Came to Cherry Creek for a one night shake down of our new 5ver. I rate this place a 9 because it did not have cable TV. Other than that, it was a fantastic place to stay! Level, paved sites, some shade. Very, very, clean (they rake the gravel where your picnic table is, so it looks like a Japanese garden.) Without a doubt the best RV park we've stayed in yet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
$35 rate includes $9 a day entrance fee, or buy an annual pass for $70. Nice level sites and plenty of space. Charging 50 cents for a 3 minute shower, after paying $35 a night, is poor. The wireless internet is horrible, as it was 2 years ago. The office is doing a survey so they can show Cox cable how bad the internet is. Cox should be ashamed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Wide open spaces, literally! We feel like we have an acre of property to ourselves. It's nice and quiet yet close to shopping, etc. Nice lake within a short walk, peek-a-boo views of the Rocky mountains. Lots of sites are satellite friendly; however, the people taking reservations don't know which is which. We were on site 89, and it is not satellite friendly, though we got it by almost backing off the pad. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
We visited for just one night early in the season as our "break-in" trip since we live nearby. Their facilities are nice and it looked like they were building another bath house. What surprised us was the traffic noise! We did not expect to be kept up until 2 am because of heavy traffic from the nearby highways. This is a nice park but keep in mind you are still in the city. We also had an unpleasant encounter with a park ranger when we were 25 minutes late leaving our side in an otherwise empty campground. We ended up paying a $24 fee, so if you go here make sure you leave on time!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
The pull-through sites were large, w/ concrete pad, patio, table and firepit. The grounds were spotless and the staff friendly. Lots of mule deer and rabbits. Close to everything. There is a day-use fee of $9, so consider annual pass. I would give this campground a 10 if the laundry construction was finished. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
This campground was wonderful. Each site was cleaned and manicured (gravel area raked) after each guest left. The concrete pads, picnic table and fire pit were great as well as WiFi reception. We arrived after hours and found the phone options were disturbing to find a person to speak with for directions, and the website not allowing me to tag on an additional one night for the two nights that we already had booked (arrived a day early). Would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
We continue to return here again and again! Lots of great sites with a good variety. One thing they need to advertise the off-leash dog park located at the south end of the park (entrance to the dog park is at Parker Road & Orchard). Unfortunately there was a fire ban in effect so no campfire. Wi-Fi was always good in the past, but not so anymore. Front desk staff had no idea how to repair it. (It's been down all summer!) Despite the minor glitches, we will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
We had a great camp site at this park, very private, large, relatively level. The park didn't receive a 10 rating because the staff is not friendly and the Wi-Fi was nearly impossible to get on. We were told there were problems, to try early morning or in the evening. Even that didn't work. Also, campground is near two major roads and there is constant low-level noise. Park was full on weekends, space available weekdays in September without reservations. Lots of space to bike, walk, etc. Rate reflects senior pass (Aspen Leaf) rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Very nice park near Denver.The stated rate is w/o the car charge which is $8.00/day. The rest rooms need updating and you have to pay $.50 for a three minute shower. The sites are very spacious and there is a nice mix of pull throughs and back in sites. Lots of walking trails and biking trails, a nice lake and swimming beach. There is a marina, but it is on the other side of the lake and we did not have a car. They could improve the place a bunch if they had a shuttle so you could get to the other side of the lake. It is 4.5 miles around the lake from the campground. They were suppose to have free WiFi but often you could get on the network, but not to the internet. I asked at the office and the kid said they had had problems all summer. Good TV reception and cell service. Would stay here again in a minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
We stayed for five nights. We had the opportunity to change sites in order to stay the last three nights and gladly took it. Gorgeous spot with gobs of biking and walking trails as well as close to downtown Denver and southern suburbs. Rate was for full hook-up; also need to be aware of $8 daily park fee, unless you already have paid annual state park fee. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
We loved this park. It is roomy and clean and very convenient to Denver and Boulder. We purchased an annual Colorado Pass as we were stopping at other CO Parks. We never complain about these extra Park fees that show up: after all someone has to pay to maintain the wonderful park systems around the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Large Park for being in so close to Denver, with lots of things to do, but over priced. The $24 is fine but add another $8 for day pass and another $10 for reservations, which is necessary. The grass needed mowed about a month ago around most of the sites except the host in Pioneer loop which was the only thing they did. The sites were nice long paved back ins. Would not stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
We stayed here while visiting our son in Aurora. Nicely maintained, friendly staff and clean sites. If you do not have an additional vehicle, you are not close to any amenities and you will be stuck in the park. I was disappointed there was no cable TV, but not a big deal. You are so close to suburban Denver area, but yet so private. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
In the past when visiting the Denver area we have tried to find commercial RV parks and have never been especially happy with the options. This year we tried the State Park and were very pleased. The spaces are very large and all the pads are blacktop. The campground is not heavily wooded, but there are some well shaded sites. The shower facilities are clean and well maintained. The staff is very good and there are several campground hosts throughout the campground. The park is very well located for travel around the Denver area. It also has a great lake and other outdoor activities including many trails etc. We spent 6 nights here and plan on returning whenever we visit Denver. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Cherry Creek is a very big state park with just about as many features (extensive wildlife areas, a "family" shooting site, a model airplane site, marina, extensive bike trails, etc.) as you can imagine. It is right on the southern edge of Denver so access to the city is easy even though the roads are very congested. There is the standard $6 daily fee in addition to the camping fee so consider buying an annual pass if you will be in Colorado parks for more than a week or so. There is also $3 "water resources" fee (one time) you must pay. The campground has everything from tent sites to full hook up sites on several different loops. The areas are reasonably well maintained but when we were here mosquitoes were a real problem. The full hook up sites have cement parking pads and paved access. The camp hosts work to immediately clean up sites when one is vacated so it is well cared for in that way. The laundry is actually outside and has seen better days. The main shower/rest rooms are fairly new but heavily used. Some sites have some shade but many do not. We were in site #64 and had to bake in the sun all day. If you want a base spot for a visit to Denver, this could be a nice choice but it is not a tranquil place since there is traffic noise almost 24 hours a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Rate includes $24 daily camping fee and $63 Colorado state park annual pass. Stayed 9 nights. We stayed in the Gold Rush loop where the sites are full hook-up and paved, with gravel patios. Sites and bathrooms well kept by hosts, grass needed mowing. As others have said, there is an amazing amount of space between sites, especially in this loop. Sites are open with no shade in this loop, however allowed for good SATV. 50 amps, water, and sewer excellent. Verizon cell and air card excellent. A major problem we experienced was the traffic outside the park on South Parker Road (6 lanes with a concrete median divider, 45-55 mph speed limit), which is intense much of the day and evening, making driving an adventure. As a result, in the Gold Rush loop road noise is constant starting at 6 am and lasting into the evening. The weather was around 90 during our stay, so closed windows and a/c made the noise tolerable. Traffic on I-225 to get to the park is also very heavy. Cherry Creek is far from a wilderness experience, but we did not expect that as the park is situated in the middle of a megalopolis. Even trying to get a newspaper from a nearby gas station was difficult around 7 am. Wal-Mart and most "big box" shopping is 3-4 miles south on South Parker Road. We found traffic at mid-morning to be acceptable to venture there, but not good later in the day. If we visited the Denver area again we would try to find a quieter area closer to the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Be aware that you need to purchase a daily or yearly state parks pass for your vehicle, in addition to the camp fees. Reservations are necessary. Wi-Fi is advertised but is NOT working. Office staff appeared as if that is the norm and not the exception. Sites are big and the campground roads are wide so back-in sites are not tight to get into. Has plenty of open space. Pay attention to the sewer hook-up. It is in the back of the site. There is some highway noise. The swim beach water is nice and the bike trails are mostly paved. Only one playground by the beach. A good base camp to explore Denver. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Really nice pads - level and paved. The area under the picnic tables is sand and fine gravel, and the campground hosts diligently rake these area use. Hot showers - 50 cents/3 minutes + 96 minutes for each quarter thereafter. There were also laundry facilities next to the shower houses. Shade varies from full to none. The only drawback was that the grass in the area was rather tall, but I assume that's the result of a constrained state budget in Colorado. I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Very nice park with paved sites located with good access to shopping and all of the Denver sites. We would like to stay here again. It apparently was full every night so reservations in advance were required. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Impressive state park. Very spacious lots between other campers. Very clean and quiet. Safe paved bike paths. We stayed in our 34 footer with an obnoxious 4 month old puppy. She thinks she owned the place. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We are currently staying in the Abaline Loop. Spaces are really large, flat, and most have shade from large trees. Good amount of room between sites. Fire pits and benches too! The WiFi is spotty and during the day is off/on. Speeds at night, however, are constant at 1.5 meg down and 150k up. No cable TV is a bummer. Digital antenna TV out of Denver is clear, but channels are limited. Rangers do good job of roaming the vast area. Skeeters are really bad but I have been told they are not normally this bad. Invest in OFF and several of those candle things. Showers and laundry (coin-op) were clean. The grassy areas inside the campground could use a good mow: lots of weeds and pinwheels. Wildlife (Bambi and friends) seem comfortable with campers and will walk really close to rigs! Kids loved it! Very close to shopping, fast-food, Wal-Mart, etc. A great place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
One of our favorite urban stops. A reasonable drive to everything in Denver, very convenient to all services in Aurora, and yet you feel like you're out in the country when you are at the campground. Like some other modern Colorado RV camps, the sites are level pink concrete with full hookups. There are no bad sites. If you stay more than 12 days in Colorado State Parks, it pays to get the state park pass and thereby avoid the $8 daily access fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Park has cement pads, and the patio area along side, has a firepit and table. We stayed in a long pull through in a 40' motorhome. Had plenty of room to park the car in our spot. Parks location is just a couple miles to shopping or sightseeing. Park has a large lake, boating, and bike paths. Would definitely recommend this park to anyone. In addition to the nightly rate, there is a daily pass/fee that is paid separately, but still worth the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
A great Colorado State park. We extended our stay a few days because we liked it so much. Has paved sites and road, and lots of grass. The lake and bike trails provide lots of different activities. This park used to charge an entry fee for every vehicle into the park. So if you had a motor home and a car, the car was an additional charge. They got so many complaints that they dropped the fee for the extra vehicle the first of this year. Now you fill out a separate sheet of paper for your towed car and you get a free pass for your toad. If you choose to extend your stay, you can only extend 2 days at a time. However, you are not charged the entry fee again, just the camping fee. Great place, I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We stayed here on a weekend, and it is a very busy park on the weekend. There is so much to do at this park. We stayed in site 123. It was one of the better sites that I saw. I would have also picked 121 or site 61. 61 was more shaded than the rest of them. They have back-in or pull-in, or sites that you just pull off to the side. Some of the sites have concrete slabs and others are just rock. The volunteer hosts take such good care of the campsites. After each camper leaves they go and tidy up the site and rake the gravel and have it very nice and ready to go for the next person. I was very impressed with that part of the campground. The one downside that we did notice is you can hear the freeway noise from the campground. It is not terribly loud, but you can hear it throughout the park. This campground also does not have a lot of shaded areas. The park has lots of bike trails, a big lake, and a nice beach. This was a very nice park and we will be back our next time through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We continue to return here year after year because it is such a nice place to camp! We had a full hook up site #7 in the Abeline Loop. Great site! Big pull-through, concrete pad, table and fire ring. We had lots of shade, but the temps were a bit cool. Seems like lots of dogs are here this time, but it's OK with us; we have two ourselves! We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
We are currently here in the off season. It's a great park, although I wish their laundry facilities were up and running now, but they aren't until May when there's no chance of freezing. There is tons of goose droppings around: make sure you have plenty of mats to wipe your shoes before going into your rig. The staff is very friendly, nice and helpful. Every day we have seen groups of deer. You get great sunsets behind the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
Beautiful park, well maintained. The Hosts are spectacular. Spent many nights there for work and play. Concrete level sites plenty of space great walking trails. The lake is a short stroll away. Deer in the park. Will always return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
Wow! What a park! Paved interior roads and each site has a concrete pad on which to park rig. Fire pit and picnic table at each site. Many mature shade trees. Lawn between sites. Campground hosts cleans each site after it is vacated. Free Wi-Fi with signal strong enough to stream a Netflix movie. Several TV stations on antenna. Per day cost includes a $7 day fee for each vehicle brought into park. This has to be the very best state park we've stayed at. Trails for hiking and biking and there is a lake within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
What a great find! This park is so spacious and quiet, and you're just minutes from Denver! Staff was helpful and friendly, and fellow campers were great. This place is very busy, especially on weekends. We didn't have Wi-Fi, but we weren't expecting any. With dependable Wi-Fi, this place would definitely be a 10. We look forward to coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
A great campground! We end up coming here time after time just to get away from it all. It's close to home, but you cannot tell you are in a big city! All sites have a picnic table and fire ring. Sites are very well maintained and spotless! We were in site #7 in the Abeline Loop. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We spent 5 very enjoyable nights here and used it as a base for exploring Denver and the surrounding area. We were surprised to learn this was the first state park in Colorado and now it appears to be in the middle of the city. We plan on returning again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This is a great place, except for two items. There are plenty of mosquitoes and the wireless internet system is horrible, not working most of the time. Many folks complained about the wireless and were told it would be corrected immediately. That did not happen in the 6 days I was here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed 10 days while visiting Denver. It is our choice of campgrounds in the area. We stay each year for our annual visit. Weekend are totally full but were not noisy. Great layout for a park with huge space between sites which are concrete. No cable or WiFi. Maintenance seemed to have slipped from last year. Trash dumpsters only get emptied on Thursday. This leaves a smelly mess from the previous weekend. Mowing was overdue during our stay but was completed the day we left..figures. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
If it were possible, I would have given this campground an 11 rating. Beautiful location (in the city), large level pull-through sites with tables and firepits in new condition. Excellent wi-fi with three antennas in the park to ensure reception. There is no cable, but you can receive over 30 channels (many HD) with an antenna. One thing to note is that you must pay an additional $8 per day for park access, in addition to the daily camping fee. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
A wonderful place in the spring when everything is green and not crowded. Large sites, spaced a good distance from other sites. Close to Lite Rail System station where one can access most of Denver. The down side as mentioned by an earlier comment is an $8/day entrance fee is added to the camping fee. it was cheaper for us (staying 10 days) to buy a yearly pass for $63. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
A wonderful location, with great concrete pads and lots of space between campers. The grounds are great, access to Denver is outstanding. Bathrooms are in great need of care and showers require a funky coin operated bunch of baloney. They need a sign directing traffic to the campground if one enters the park from the Western side. It is definitely a good place to stay while traveling through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
This state park is right off I-225, and has concrete pads and paved roads. It was raining and cold so I can't say alot about the facilities. It is a large campground with plenty of room between sites. The grass needed mowing so it had the appearance of being unkept. But as with other CO state parks I doubt this is the case. The host stopped to chat as I walked the dogs and he was one of the nicest people you could ever meet. It is very big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
Nice campground with roomy level sites. Power and water hookups were excellent and well placed. Good location too right in the Denver Metro area. Very quiet at night; I slept with my windows open and didn't hear a peep. However, there are a couple of negatives. For a state park, the price is high. At first the rate seems quite reasonable; then you discover that in addition to the campground fee, you must pay $8.00 per day per vehicle, and your motorhome counts as a vehicle. If you tow a car behind a motorhome count on spending an extra $16 per day for passes. If anyone comes to visit you, they must also pay the $8. The other negative is that if you camp there during peak times, and leave the park for any reason, they might not let you re-enter. That's because when they feel the park is at capacity they close the gates and won't let anyone else enter until the crowds thin out. There is a sign warning of this as you leave the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
A very nice for a large state park. It is a long drive in from entrance (2 miles). There is an extra fee for vehicles above campsite charge. We camped in a fifth wheel and they wanted to charge us $8 per day for the truck & the car we carry. We managed to convince the ranger at entrance that the truck was part of the fiver and would not be in & out so we only bought passes for the car. We camped in Coyote Loop. It is not to far from tent camping area but it was very quiet all the time. When we were there and the campground was full. We will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Nicely laid out state park, very roomy sites, most pull through. Campground was full, including tent camping but it was very quiet. Note that camp rate does not include $8 per day park pass. They wanted to make me buy one for both the truck and the car, but I convinced the ranger on duty that the truck would not be going in and out so I only needed daily passes for the car. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Excellent park, stayed four days, and not nearly long enough to see the park, hike the trails and see the sites of Denver. Stayed at Dakota Ridge the last two years, and although this is a nice, clean park, also near Denver, there is no comparison to Cherry Creek. Big sites, great for dog(s), shade or sun sites, good power, water and sewer. Will definitely stay here again; in fact as soon as we can decide on a date we will be making reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Rate includes the entrance fee. This is a very nice well maintained park. Sites are spacious and paved with full hook ups. We discovered out last day when we turned on our PC that it also has WI-FI that worked reasonable well. There are several over the air TV stations from Denver and it has coin laundry as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Very nice CG with full hookups and huge sites. The location is fabulous. Amenities are abundant. Walking, hiking, jogging, birding, etc. Very popular CG so definitely make a reservation. We will stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
Awesome State Park! Although you are in the middle of a city, you cannot tell! Lots of trees in this park and surprisingly quiet. The road noise is more noticable in the Gold Rush Loop, it's closer to I-225. All interior roads are paved and the individual sites have a concrete pad. Full hookups (electric, water, sewer) in the Abeline, Coyote, Pioneer, Gold Rush and Buffalo loops. Power pedistals have separate outlets and breakers for 20, 30 and 50 amps. No cable, but wi-fi was good. The group sites are electrical only with water spigots nearby. Only the Arapahoe and Chief Ouray group areas have a covered pavilion, Cherokee does not. We stayed in the Abeline Loop site #12. It was a great location with lots of shade trees. The sites with the best shade are along the southern side of the loops, but there are trees everywhere! Sites are well spaced with picnic tables and fire rings. The Cottonwood Grove Loop is mainly for tent camping, but RVs can park there on a site by site basis depending on size (electrical only). The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 was due to the mosquitos. Bring your spray and keep the candles lit! We will be back to this one! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Great park, large sites with modern hook-ups and level pads. Roads are paved and the entire park is well maintained. Very close to Denver. The only negatives would be the limited laundry facilities and the daily fee for every vehicle to enter the park in addition to the camping fee. I bought the annual pass for multiple vehicles for $89 as we are staying for 2 weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Very nice park, large level sites. Convenient to everything in the area. They even have washers and dryers. If you go in June be ready for the Cottonwood tree snowflakes. Also, there are a large number of bicyclists everyday that have their own lane to ride in, but some of them insist on riding in the automobile lane. Also, some of then do not stop at the STOP signs so you have to watch out for them but it is not real bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Very well built RV Park in an urban setting (you cannot see the city from the park). Paved roads, paved drive, level concrete pads, lots of space between sites. Some loops are full service and there is a WiFi service included in the cost. We were on the outer edge of Goldrush and the WiFi was weak and intermittent. The washrooms are absolutely first class. Road noise is noticeable at rush hour, not too bad after that. Note: in addition to the campsite cost and the reservation cost, there is also an $8 daily park cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Spacious state park right in city of Denver. Very loud road noise. Pull through sites are very spacious and spread out. We saw deer and birds every day. Convenient to shopping and services. Campground fee does not include $6 daily entry fee and $3 water fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
This is the nicest state park we have stayed in. Great urban location yet you feel like you are in a rural area. I would feel comfortable in any of the sites that are immaculate, level, and wide. I prefer the perimeter sites over the sites in the inside of the loops. We stayed in Abilene Loop site 13 which was a back-in with 50-amp, full hookups. There are shady sites as well as open sites. The WiFi signal was strong. There are a lot of recreation opportunities and wildlife viewing. Overall, Colorado does a fantastic job with their state parks and I don't mind paying the price. There was a day-use fee of $7 in addition to the camping fee. I would definitely return and reommend this fantastic state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We really like this park. It is close to our home and great for quick trips. We have a park pass so we don't have to pay to go in and out. The sites are really spaced out so you are not near other sites. Each site has a cement slab and patio. The road noise isn't that bad from I-225. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
New bathhouse is almost elegant for a campground. Construction on another bathhouse and office is unsightly but expansion/renewal usually is! Lots and lots to do in the park and area. Park is definitely a favorite among locals. Fees are high but campsites are 2 or 3 times larger and more private than private campgrounds and surroundings are very beautiful. Saw lots of deer and birds. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
While this state park is full of bike riders and jet skis on the weekends, it currently has loads of construction going on in the campground making it less than scenic. The sites are large and well kept but daily passes (required for each vehicle) and water fees make for a very expensive stay. Denver and Wal-Mart are nearby. But, we probably will not return: too expensive for a state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
This is a great campground! Private, large, quiet and located close to Denver and all it's activities. We had lots of room and loved this place. The only downside is having to pay for getting your car in and having a separate tag for it for each day. Another poster mentioned the cost of this took this almost to the cost of a private facility. This place has all the amenities of a private park with much better surroundings. We would stay here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Great country campground in the middle of an urban environment. Spent the days at a Rockies game and at a Six Flags amusement park with walks on the beach and campfires at night. We were there for a couple of nights with local family on our way to our "destination". Our stay at Cherry Creek was better than where we were headed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Nice clean park with modern hook-ups, clean (pay) showers, restrooms and laundry. Recommend south end of Abilene loop if you want shade. Day fee for entry into park. Great bike trails, fishing and nice swimming area. No highway noise at this campground, but it is in the flight path of DIA! We would stay here again when in Denver area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Pricey for a state park campground, but a great destination if visiting the Denver area. We've stayed in the Cottonwood tent sites and Abilene RV sites and both were exceptionally nice. The campground is close to a sand swim beach, boat ramp, fishing area, and group picnic areas. Unusually quiet, even when full during summer weekends. Lots of bike trails available, but we go for sailing, swimming, and fishing. Make reservations for extended stays at least two weeks in advance! We've come in on a Friday and been bumped out Saturday during the summer. We continue to go back, it's a gem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com