220873 User submitted reviews online!!
Boyd Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (970) 669-1739
CGID4696

Boyd Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
148
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   6   7   7   10   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$22
The site's were paved and level, pull-through, all 148 of them. It's located on the lake, has very nice swimming area away from campground, fantastic walking path, it's bike and kid friendly. The bathroom/showers were fantastic, clean and shower's cost 75 cents. The laundry are was very nice, even had super size machine. Nice little playground area. There were no on-site water hookups. It's in fantastic area for exploring the area. There is additional $8 per day fee, beside your camping charge. Would stay again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
We only stayed one night in Boyd Lake State Park while passing through the area. Paid $20 for the site, $10 to Reserve America as a reservation fee and $8 to enter the park itself. All sites are pull-through and all are 50/30/20 amp. Water spigots are located randomly throughout the campground, there is no potable water at the dump station. There are toilets and pay showers available throughout the campground. I recommend printing and bringing your reservation confirmation with you or on a device that has email, our name wasn't on the sheet and someone was in our spot when we arrived. It was a simple mix-up, which they said happens often with Reserve America, but we were quickly taken care of by the friendly hosts and Park Ranger and given another site (rather than make the person in ours move as he was already setup). I would definitely stay in this campground again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
It has been a couple of years since we visited Boyd Lake State Park. We were pleasantly surprised to see the water level at capacity and the reservoir looked really good! (In 2012, they closed the reservoir to boating due to the drought.) Campground was full, but fairly quiet. We stayed in site #25. Sites are a funky half-moon shape, but once you get your rig situated, pretty nice. Not a lot of extra room for vehicles, though. There is extra parking at the top of each row for additional vehicles. Sites are 50/30/20A electric and no issues. There are water spigots scattered around the area. Although vehicle areas are paved, the sites are gravel and a bit dusty. A patio mat fixed that no problem. Decent space between sites. A nice feature is that the marina folks drive through the campground in the evening selling firewood and ice! Restrooms and showers are nice and clean with good hot water. (75 cents gets you plenty of shower time). The reservoir is a fun place for water sports. Besides the main marina ramp there is a smaller jet ski ramp just north of the main marina called Heron Cove. Can't launch big boats from there, PWC launching only. But there is a nice beaching area along there to set up for the day's activities on the water. Rangers keep a good handle on things! We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
The rate stated is for camping only. We purchased a Colorado State Parks annual pass for $70 per year. If you do not have the pass, you will pay an extra $8 per night. We stayed 9 nights and planned on staying at other State Parks; it was less expensive for us to purchase the annual pass. The main positives for the park are location and location. It is great for visiting Loveland and Fort Collins and for the wonderful biking/walking trails in these two cities. The main negative is the smell of the cattle feed lots. The smell depends on the winds, but at times can be pretty pervasive. Although the campground is near the lake, the lake is not really a factor in camping. Only a few of the sites have a distant view of the lake. The campground is pretty much row after row after row of camp sites. There is medium separation between sites and there is no vegetation for visual separation. The parking pads are in a horseshoe shape, so take a bit of time to study the campground before driving in. You will want to drive down the lane that will let you drive forward into your site, not back in. The sites have strong 50 amp service. There is not fresh water at each site and the water at the dump station is noted as not potable. The only fill stations are in the campground loops and require you to block the road to fill. There are a few trees in the campground for shade but most sites have little shade. The good news is that most sites can get satellite. Our Verizon phone and data service (4G, LTE) was quite good. The campground is quiet at night but, unfortunately, the park has big lights on the restrooms so there is a lot of artificial light at night. There is a laundry which was nice and clean, but fairly expensive at $1.75 for wash and for dry. The campground is pretty open during the week, even during prime season, but most, if not all, sites are booked for the weekend. This will not be a campground that will standout in our minds as fantastic, but we would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Rate reflects camping and daily park entrance fee. A bit pricey for an electric-only site. Sites are a bit narrow, particularly when the park is full. Good location in Loveland. Would use again for an overnight stay in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Overall this is an OK park. Sites are a little tight with most a half-moon shape. Check-in was not pleasant--The young lady did not want to be bothered. Every question we asked seemed to cause her a hassle. We were not given any maps or literature concerning the park. Having just left a different Colorado state park, there was no comparison. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
This public campground situated within a natural area, and it is surrounded by small lakes and affluent residential neighborhoods. We stayed here over Labor Day weekend 2013, and fellow campers courteous and respectful of others. Campground rules are strictly enforced. From Interstate I-25 at Exit 257 take US Highway 34 west-bound (towards the mountains) for 3.4-miles, turn north on Madison Avenue in Loveland Colorado, and follow the brown signs to Boyd Lake State Park. This RV campground offers convenient access to shopping, restaurants, fuel, flee-markets and antique stores in both Loveland and Fort Collins, Colorado. The campground is 10-minutes away from the south-side of Fort Collins, which is known for its microbreweries, Colorado State University, bicycle events, and its unique Historic Downtown. The campground is close to McKee Medical Center, Medical Center of the Rockies, the Fort Collins Harmony Campus of Poudre Valley Hospital. It is a one-hour drive to Denver International Airport or downtown Denver. Boyd Lake is normally a one-hour road trip on US Highway 34 to Estes Park Colorado, which is the eastern entrance into Rocky Mountain National Park. However, US34 was severely damaged by flash-floods in 2013. Travelers should check with the Colorado Department of Transportation before planning access to Rocky Mountain National Park via US34. Fortunately, Boyd Lake State Park was not affected by the 2013 flood. Boyd Lake is more convenient to Loveland, south Fort Collins, Rocky Mountain National Park and Denver International Airport than campgrounds north of Fort Collins. Many campground sites have shade trees and views of Boyd Lake to the east or the front-range of the Colorado Rocky Mountains to the west. Boyd Lake has a swim beach, beach house, boat ramps, and a variety of opportunities for fishing and boating. Boyd Lake campground has modern bathhouses with showers, playgrounds and a small laundry, all of which are well maintained. There are paved bicycle and hiking trails that link into the extensive paved trail system that covers all of Fort Collins, including connections to mountain-bike trails on public lands in foothills. 50-amp power is reliable. Potable water is from an excellent municipal source, with numerous hydrants located throughout the campground; almost no sites have sewer or potable water hookups. All sites are paved pull-throughs in the 40-foot to 60-foot range. Our 40-foot site adequately accommodated our 40-foot motorhome plus our Jeep Wrangler. However, travelers with larger motorhomes should select the larger sites. All internal campground roads are paved. Verizon voice coverage is a little on the weak-side but adequate. There is no campground Wi-Fi, but our Verizon MiFi connection to the internet was strong. The campground is open all year, and it is popular with local families on summer weekends. If you arrive after office hours, be sure to purchase the daily entry pass ($8 per day) at the self-service station just beyond the campground entrance; otherwise, you risk a $52.50 citation. Do not wait until the office opens next morning because this policy is strictly enforced at 8:00 AM. You can purchase an annual pass for $70 ($60 for Colorado residents 64 years or older), and thereby avoid the $8 daily access fee. The annual pass also reduces campground fees by $3 per day on weekdays. There are a few unadvertised sites with full hookups that are available for $26/day; they cannot be reserved, and they are only available on a first-come first-serviced basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
Great place for an overnight. Easy on/off from I25 but far enough that you don't have road noise. More like a manicured city park than a state park. Sites were easy to get into. If the park had been full sites might seem close but it was only half full when we visited. There is a nice paved bike/walk around the lake. Swimming beach is closed due to low water. Rate reflects Aspen Pass discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
We stayed here just for a quick weekend getaway and enjoyed ourselves. The park was nearly empty with only 5 other rigs and one was the park host. We did not look at the bathrooms since the ones close to us were closed for the season. The bathhouse in between loop E and F were open, but we didn't look in them. The lake is still very low due to drought, but the fishing was good from shore. Not much privacy between sites, but most are large pull throughs which should accommodate most rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
Nice park, but real dry this year, as the lake is down a lot. We camped here in September and the campground was close to full. You do not need a reservation but having one will get you a better site, since they now assign you one which may or may not be great. I got assigned one with bees in it, so walked around and found another that was unoccupied and was allowed to switch. We used to be able to just go in and pick a site that was unused and then go and register, which I prefer since there are several sites that do not have shade. I think it is the best place in the area to camp, if you do not mind not having water and sewer hooked up. Bathroom and showers are real nice and clean, but have to pay 75 cents for the shower. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This is our park of choice in the Loveland / Ft. Collins area. The sites are large, paved, with cement pads, picnic tables, & fire rings. The ranger was a little too gung ho (for example, he made our 80 year old guest move his car from one of MANY empty sites next to ours to the overflow parking about a block away; this was ridiculous). The bad parts of camping in the CO State Park system are four-fold: 1.) The timed/pay showers make it difficult for me to assist my disabled sister with a shower. 2.) You have to pick a site unseen when making your reservation online. If you don't like it, too bad. I am very particular about my sites. 3.) You need a daily park pass ($8/day) in addition to the camping fee to camp there. We bought a $70 annual pass because it made more economic sense for us based on the number of days we were staying in the park system this year. 4.) Each park's reservation system is independent so you can't cancel one park to choose another park in the system without losing your fee. All parks use the same reservation system so this should be allowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Sadly, the 2012 summer drought has drained the lake to such a low level in August, that swimming is not allowed and the marina is closed weekdays. There were still some private boats out, but the campground was not nearly as busy as normal. We could have saved the $10 online reservation fee and just shown up. Wasn't even worth paying the $20 campsite fee plus the $8 entry, due to the lake and the 99 degree heat. Wonderful bike paths and some decent shade in some sites: we liked loop A, tho it sure wasn't level. Bathrooms were awesome for a state park, though you have to pay at least 75c for a shower. They even have a nice laundry room. Will try again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
I believe all the sites are pull through and spacious. The park has a great swimming beach. Electric only, but you can't beat the price for Loveland. Not far off the beaten path, very easy to get to in any rig. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Dr Phil should question the designer of this CG. "What were you thinking?" Most of the sites are crazy narrow 'crescent' shaped pull throughs impossible to use for anything longer than a medium sized class C without having to go on the precious little grass. Trees are few though it appears to be an elderly CG with a few mature trees. It is a busy place weekends with most users being locals there for the use of the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
This is a very lovely State Park with lake access and very nice facilities. Electric hook-up only. Booking fees and State Park Entry Fee distorts the daily rate if you are staying short term. Staying several nights would be a better value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Colorado has a great state park system. This park is well maintained and clean but was not built to accommodate big rigs.You can squeeze one in but it isn't easy. As noted in other postings, the sites do not have water or sewer. Access to potable water is not at the dump station and is not clearly marked when you enter the park so you may want to ask about access for your loop as you pay your entrance fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Perhaps I would be able to rate the park better if a few key factors were improved. When we checked in we were told to pick any site we wanted without a tag, that there were plenty open (mid-week). This would have been great except the camp hosts had not pulled the old tags by 4:30PM so it was very difficult to see what was available. Also in order to get into sites on the left side of the loop, you have to go in from the left, but the site posts are in the center lane. There are very few water access points and a fellow camper had it hooked up directly to his trailer. Again the camp hosts drove by and said nothing. Fireworks were being shot off after quiet hours in late July. On the positive side, the office attendant easily refunded our site fee after we decided to only stay one night. Be sure to follow brown state park signs to entrance: US 34 West to Madison street. This is primarily used by boaters. Sites are close together, the crescent pull-through sites are awkward and little shade at many sites. Probably would be fine if you knew which site to choose. Used the swim beach and it was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Always a favorite place! Swim beach was not open yet, so it was quieter than usual despite a full campground! No fire bans in effect, so campfires are OK! Showers/restrooms were clean and well maintained. Grounds were beautiful and everything was green! We will return again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
No water or sewer at sites but all sites have electric. The campground host even gave us free fire wood. OK for a state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
This is a very popular park in the summer because of the large lake. If you want to stay over on a summer weekend you must reserve a space well in advance. We stayed two weeks in space 146 (F loop). I recommend the E or F loops since there is less traffic and if you are out near the lake end you still have a reasonable view of the lake. There are a couple of small shower/restroom buildings and one large one with a laundry but they can be heavily used and get a bit dirty even though the hosts work hard to keep them clean. This is a place to come if you have a bicycle as there are many bike paths that nor only cover the whole park area but also go all the way into Loveland. As with all Colorado state parks, there is a $6 daily fee to enter so consider buying a annual pass if you plan to stay in any of them for more than a week or so. This lets you come and go as you please. This is an electric only park so plan to manage both sewer and fresh water on your own for your stay. There are several fresh water taps on each loop and a main sewer dump at the entrance to the camping area. The sites here are all pull-through but were designed for an earlier era and are curved so it can be hard to position a large fifth wheel trailer (ours is 35 ft.) and still have room for your tow vehicle. Some sites are better maintained than others and the worse ones can be muddy when it rains. The A and B loops tend to be better maintained but more popular (the main shower/bath building is between these loops and that means lots of traffic by those sites). All sites have a fire ring and table and a few have some shade. Again, the A and B loops tend to have the most mature trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Totally agree with the other reviewers. This was a gem of a find! We stayed for 2 nights at this park while getting our RV serviced in nearby Loveland, but could easily have stayed much longer. All sites are paved pull-though and have electric hookups, bench and grill. Can easily accommodate the largest rigs. Flush toilets and coin-operated showers. The surrounding park has miles of hiking & biking trails, plus swimming, lake activities etc. It was only a 5-min walk from our site to the lake. Note that the park does have a $7/night entrance fee that goes on top of the reservation. Totally pet-friendly and gorgeous surroundings. We'd definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Absolutely a great park! We had a great time surrounded by a beautiful park! Sites are 20/30/50 amp only but water is available in places throughout the park and a dump station is close. Our site #18 was typical of the sites and was great! Curved, paved pull-through with plenty of room for our 33ft trailer and tow vehicle (easy to keep all wheels on the pavement despite a previous poster!). Good room between neighbors. Many sites like ours have good shade, but some have more than others. It's only a 5 minute walk to the lake/swim beach area along paved paths. Swim beach can get crowded on weekends, so get your spot early! The beach area has a pizza place and coffee shop on site. The marina is a bit small, but the shop has lots of stuff for sale. A neat thing the marina store does is they have a truck with ice and firewood that cruises the campground in the evening if you need any! Shower facilities are new and in excellent shape! This park is very well cared for and it shows! We definitely will return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This park is a delight! We had only electric, but our surroundings were beautiful and the restrooms and showers were excellent. The grounds were very well kept and very close to a lake with great paved paths. We were in a travel trailer and would love to spend more time there. The campground hosts were very cordial. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Very nice campground. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again. Facilities are clean. Great access to shopping as well as Rocky Mountain National park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Although the only hook up available is electricity, this park is an amazing find. There are water spigots located throughout the park so water isn't really a problem. The sites are large and all pull through. There are picnic tables and fire rings on every site. Boyd Lake is a small lake that allows watercraft of all types, fishing, and swimming. There are limited shade trees, but this is a comfortable park to stay at. As in all Colorado State Parks, you must have a day use permit for each of your vehicles. Labor Day weekend finds every spot taken by every sort of camper: from tents to class A motorhomes, but because the sites are so large you really don't feel cramped. Satellite and Verizon phone service are no problem. The park is 10 minutes from I-25. Highly recommend the park for a day or a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Electric only sites. You have to move to take on water, bit of a nuisance. In addition you have to pay a daily or annual pass to use a Colorado state park. As a state park it doesn't match parks in other states. Bit pricey for what it offers. Some sites, including ours, became waterlogged when it rained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
We enjoyed our week long stay here. The sites are electric hookup only but they have ample restroom facilities with pay showers and the dump station is conveniently located. Interior roads are paved as are the sites. The pull through sites are strangely angled - almost like a crescent shape - which made it a bit of a challenge to fit a 40 foot motor home in a 45 foot space while keeping all 4 wheels on the pavement. Unlike the previous reviewer, we had only positive contacts with the park staff and campground host. We visited Rocky Mountain National Park, Fort Colins, Greeley and Loveland using Boyd Lake as a home base. All are easily accessible from this campground. Be aware that on top of the nightly camping fee Colorado charges a daily fee for all motorized vehicles. This includes your tow vehicle and, in our case the motor home (even though it never left the site) The fee at Boyd Lake is $6 per vehicle per day. We are staying at enough Colorado State Parks that we offset this cost by purchasing annual pass -$60 per year for first vehicle, $25 for the second. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$8
Pleasant park located on the lake but it is a walk to the lake. Well laid out. No real shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
This park has the potential to be outstanding; however, the management needs to address several issues. The paved spaces are ten feet wide and are all curved pull-thrus. The requirement there is that all four wheels must be resting on the pavement-- not an easy trick to accomplish. We ended up with both the front and rear overhangs of the coach hanging out over the grass. The hosts are the worst case of park-Nazi's that we have ever encountered. They literally sit at their campsite and watch everyone in the park. We parked with one outside dual wheel half on and half off the pavement (but not touching the recessed grass) and before I shut the coach off the host was at our site telling us to re-park. I would not stay here again until the sites are either widened or straightened, and until the hosts are replaced with supportive ones. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Clean and convenient to northern Colorado (Loveland, Greeley, Fort Collins). Reservations needed for weekends as it is a popular local site. During the week first-come, first serve no problem. Some sites have shade trees with centralized water taps, central dump site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Nice place to spend the weekend. Park rangers made their presence known, so we didn't have to contend with the loud drinking crowd as you do at other local campgrounds (Horsetooth, Carter, etc..) Sites were kept very clean. It is one of only a few campgrounds like this with flush toilets and showers. Little to no privacy and you are fairly close to your neighbor, but we like this campground as a nice, close, weekend get away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
We have gone here the past two years for jet skiing. I highly recommend that water activities be done during the week instead of the weekend as it is zoo on the weekends. Since this is an irrigation lake, the water levels will drop dramatically later on in the season if it is a dry year. The end of June/early July seems to have plenty of water for water activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$21
To us, this is a nice place to visit in the winter but campsites are however very narrow and small, fire pits are too close to RV's and driving through the area while staying on the paved road can be tough for some. This place looks like it is lots of fun in the summer but also looks like it could be way too congested and noisy on the weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$25
Even though water levels were down during our stays at Boyd Lake, every visit has been pleasant. The campground is clean and the paved bike trail network allows for a smooth ride. Water levels are back up since 2005 and we plan to return with our RV, tow car, and boats to get out on the water this coming summer for a couple weekend excursions. Quite and nice, just the way we like things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com