206648 User submitted reviews online!!
U.S. Space & Rocket Center was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (256) 830-4987
CGID47

U.S. Space & Rocket Center

Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   4   9   8   10   8   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Great place to stay in if you are going to visit the Space Center. Very good staff. Friendly, and helpful. The only negative was the amount of trash spread throughout the park. Just outside the park kids at Space Camp launch small rockets with parachutes. With prevailing winds they all land inside the park, and no one picks these items up. There was also a small amount of regular trash in the camping area through out the park. The roads did have some potholes that need repair. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
I loved this park, right next to the space center. If the weather would have been nice we could have walked over, even though it would be a LONG walk. The older gentleman that checked us in was very personable, friendly and had cute stories to tell us. Had no qualms of leaving our motorhome unattended as a ranger drove through the park constantly. There were a few long term people, but the spots were kept up and tidy. Each spot we saw was spacious, not squeezed together side by side like a lot of parks we've been to. There was a lot of grass and trees. I would have given it a 10 except for some of the paved areas for parking were chewed up. Maybe tree roots or large RVs chewed up the asphalt, not sure, but with our 35' motorhome it was no problem maneuvering around the bump. There were only 3 or 4 spots that had that problem. We stayed 3 nights while we explored the space & rocket center and other things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Sites are very uneven, our pull-through site had a huge bump and several pot holes in the middle of it. The WiFi worked well but was censored. Overall a disappointment but if you are just staying overnight it would meet your needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
We stayed here as we brought students down to Space Camp for the week. The manager is very nice and helpful. Sites were good, but its a little older park. RVs only. Close enough to check in on the kids. Showers were good. Convenient to interstate. new Wi-Fi is very fast. A number of sites are for long term RVers. They had openings every day we were there. Definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Older campground with narrow winding roads. Paved sites are well spaced and heavily treed. Wi-fi is fast, but erratic. Very convenient to everything. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
Right by the space center and lots of activities to do there. Friendly staff with great access to the interstate. No big issues. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
We camped here while on a business trip. Very nice campground right close to the space center. Very convenient to everywhere. The sites are spaced out so you're not on top of each other and there is a field where the space camp kids shoot off their model rockets. Lots of rocket eating trees too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
For $20 we got a pull-through site, electricity, water, sewer, hot showers, and internet (free if one night only). Friendly host. Quiet park with only some highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
The RV Park is on Tranquility Base within the Space and Rocket Center. For all you space enthusiast out there, this is the place. The park’s interior roads are smooth but the sites are a bit rough. Even so, it was easier to level (front to back and side to side) than in some of the nicer parks at which we have been camped. Treed but didn’t keep us from getting satellite reception. It looks like there are a number of permanent residents at the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
We stayed here 1 night. We were directed to a site that had a damaged power pole. Covers were on the ground and "hot" wiring was exposed. Informed the campground host about it. He gave me some duct tape to tape the covers back on. I asked that we be given another site. He gave us another site that was next to the Space Camp activities. Not a problem. We enjoyed watching the children go through their training. Overall, we had a good time here. Our site did not have a fire ring or grill. Rest room door was propped open (either the AC did not work or there was none). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
This is so conveniently located with easy access to 565 and Bob Wallace Blvd. Space and Rocket Park plus the Davidson Center is just a short walk. It was shady and relatively quiet considering it's location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Quiet convenient shady sites. No amenities, but you are close to town for any needs. Pathway to the rear of the Space and Rocket Center for museum access. Much grass and woods available for dog walking. We love this campground and stay here whenever possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Clean quiet park with paved road and sites. Voltage falls below 110 V during the hot part of the day. Friendly owner. Right next to the Space and Rocket Center/Museum. WiFi is a minimum of $10 extra for up to a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
While this is a really convenient RV park to Huntsville it is in really POOR shape. The electric plugs overheat. The water faucets leak the roads and rv sites need to be REPAIRED. There are guge holes. Very unlevel sites. When it rains all it is is mud. We have stayed here many many times in both the winter and summer and it is a problem in the heat and cold. Can't stay cool or warm because they only have 30amp.electricity. This would be a great RV park if SOMEONE would spend money on fixing it up. A couple of days is fine here but if you need to be here an extended time. NOPE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Lots of trees - if you need satellite, make sure you tell them when you reserve. Narrow interior roads, but sites are mostly level. Very convenient to Rocket Center (obviously) and the botanical gardens. It's the area that's the destination, not the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
The roads and sites are paved, but in disrepair. There are huge areas of asphalt that are in need of patching or repair. The grounds are not well kept. The office staff were very friendly. However, I could not get maintenance to respond to (or even attempt to resolve) an electrical problem I was having with my campsite. The Wi-Fi had an okay signal from our site, but cost extra (there is an extra ten dollar fee for one week, and an extra forty dollar fee for one month). In my opinion, this campground is overpriced ($480 a month) for what they have to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
A great place to stay overnight or while visiting the Huntsville area. In terms of the park, there isn't much to do here. However, the utilities work well and the park staff is very friendly. The Wi-Fi is the fastest I have ever used! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
This a a good place to camp if you are going to the space center, it is just a short walk. I had a site near the office so the wifi was excellent and the people in charge we most friendly. Not much activities but that was ok by me since I was there for the space center anyway. I had to hook up in the heavy rain - what can I say about the Alabame red clay - - LOL. I will stay here again if I am in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
I stayed here for a little over two months while I worked in the area so the rate reflects the monthly rate of $480. I considered this a tad expensive since there is no cable and no 50 amp electric, and that is the only reason why I gave it a 9 instead of a 10. On the plus side, the daily rate is very reasonable. I believe it was $18 which is $6 better than Northgate RV Park off of I-65. (Northgate's monthly rate is $330 and you get 50 amp service) Other from the price, I really enjoyed my stay. The office staff go out of their way to help you and the campground is frequently checked by Rocket Center security. Most of the sites are spacious and shady, however, some of the back-in sites are really short and if you come in on the weekend (when the office is closed) be sure to first scout the sites listed as available to make sure you can fit if you have a big rig. The pull-through sites have plenty of room. I stayed in site 22 and it was an extremely tight fit with my 40' rig. As you back in, there is a large tree on your right side that can catch your mirror if you are not careful and another tree on your right rear that can be a challenge if you don't angle your rig in just right. I didn't see any other sites with trees as close as this one. Having said that, site 22 is a great site if you like watching all the Space Camp kids launching their rockets. It can either be very entertaining or very annoying depending on your sensibilities. I quite enjoyed it but the sound of the rockets going up made one of my dogs very nervous. After a while he got used to it. I will definitely stay here again if I come back to the Huntsville area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Convenient to freeway and Space Camp with a 'rural' feel. Sites require levelers and/or boards but are spacious and set in shady trees. Nice setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a very basic campground with no activities, playgrounds, etc. However, it is on the grounds of the Space Center, and is within walking distance to the museum. The museum itself is in the process of getting some much needed TLC, and though we planned for a full day of looking around at all of the rockets, they were falling apart (literally) so we only stayed for a few hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
The park is quiet. There is a laundry but has one washer and one dryer and is only open during office hours. Office hours are 9:15 to 4:30 Mon-Sat. This is a bare bones campground. We made a reservation for a Sunday (office would be closed) and was told to park in a certain space. When we arrived, someone had taken our spot, hooked up, and then left the motorhome. We called the security person who couldn't help us but did allow us to camp in the one open spot. While we were hooking up, another family drove up and found the same situation. Another camper was in their reserved spot. The security was able to boot the people without a reservation. What's the point of making a reservation without anyone to enforce it? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This is not an exciting campground. The roads are rough and sites are not very level. The management is only on site till 3:30pm. It's convenient to Huntsville proper. Nothing for kids to do in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Park is on the same grounds as the Space & Rocket Museum but a long walk between. Sites are large enough for most RVs and fairly level. Staff was helpful and friendly. Wireless service was being installed when we were there but they weren't sure when it would be available. Park is quiet and recommended for visits in that area of Huntsville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
Park is clean and quiet. The site we had was level and shaded. Check out time is 2pm, but there's no specified check-in time. We got there about 12:30 and had to wait about an hour for a site to become available. Our rig blocked others and cars, but that seems to be the process. I was in town for a business meeting and the park was in a very convenient location. If in town again, we will stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$15
This park is very conveniently located near town. It could use a little updating as some of the paved sites look like they could use some patching and or leveling. With full hook-ups, you can't beat the convenience to town. The web site says nothing about the campground. However, the park can be reached at (256)830-4987. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$15
Great value! Not fancy but very adequate. Within walking distance to the Space Center. Very nice office personnel. We had planned on staying 3 nights, but ended up staying a week. Huntsville is a great area to explore. Beautiful autumn colors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$15
We stayed at this campground so we could visit the US Space & Rocket Center. It made visiting the center very convenient. As another reviewer noted, the campground doesn't have any recreational facilities like pool, etc. Campground seemed well kept and attendants were very nice. I could not find a way to make reservations online so I emailed main USSRC contact address and was quickly sent a number to the campground. The campground stays full and they recommend making reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$15
If you are going to the space center, you can't find a better campground. We've stayed here a number of times. The trees are a little low, but I didn't have any trouble with my 12.6' tall MH. Our kids love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$15
I have to respectively disagree with the first review of this campground. Sites were uneven for the most part and shade trees were at a minimum. Interior roads were gravel and also sites did not have fire rings or tables. This might be OK for a quick overnight, as the access ieasy from 565, but that's it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$15
I spent the summer camping in this campground while working at NASA. The campground is well maintained and clean. The sites are reasonably well spaced and level. There are no campers that appear to be set up like houses, despite the fact that some people stay here for extended lengths. As far as the park is concerned, there isn't much to do. However, the park is right next to the Space & Rocket Center and very close to downtown Huntsville. During space camp, many of the kids come over to the field near the campground and shoot model rockets. That was fun to watch in the evenings. If you are looking for relaxation and scenery in the woods, this place probablay isn't for you. However, if you are visiting the area and need a nice place to park the camper, this place is great. The lady that ran the park while I was there was very accommodating and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$14
This campground is located on the grounds of the US Space Center & Museum at Huntsville, Al. It is run by the Space Center. It is within walking distance of the Space Museum & Space Camp. Shady sites. Paved roads and sites although the some of the sites could stand some work. Security comes through several times a day & night. A nice facility. Huntsville has a lot to do & see. If you are into Cajun food, Tim's Cajun Restaurant is excellent. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com