214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Little Manatee River State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (813) 671-5005
CGID4704

Little Manatee River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   8   4   8   9   9   8   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
We arrived at the park at 5:10. The office closes at 5, but fortunately there happened to be someone still there closing up. They gave us our choice of sites for the night. Mosquitos were horrible, but this is Florida. Sites were small but adequate. We chose one of several paved (handicapped) sites next to the restroom and with some minor difficulties was able to back into the site. We stayed here just one night on our way to the Keys and I cancelled the reservations I had at the park for our return. It is a basic state park relatively close to the Tampa area. If that is what you're looking for then it might be a good choice, but I doubt that we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
This is a delightful park, small and friendly. Nice trails to walk or bike, and a laundromat to boot. We only stayed two nights but have already booked a longer stay for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
A very nice, quiet state park. Campsites have good screening for privacy. There is an older but clean bath house. Long walk from the campground to the kayak launch so it's best to rent from the nearby canoe rental / haul back firm. The main hiking trail is also far at about a 3 mile drive to trail head. Good Verizon signal. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
Gravel pads, quiet & dark; which is what we like. Got a good nights rest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
The wife and I have camped in this park several times over the last few years. It is a very nice Florida State park. There are over 12 miles of horse trails in the park. We contacted Wolfs Born to Ride and they took us horseback riding for 3 hours. There is a boat ramp in the park and the canoe outpost is right down the street for rentals. Most sites have at least partial shade and a fair amount of room between sites. One centrally located bathroom/bathhouse was clean and plenty of hot water. The only negatives are some sites have a lot of sugar sand. Our TT was a bit hard to level due to one side being in the very soft sand. There are also a lot of ant hills in some of the sites. Most of the ant hills had been treated but you still needed to watch your step. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
Very friendly staff and check-in was quick and efficient. Paved roads all the way through campground. Sites are at an angle to road therefore are much easier to back into. We stayed here en-route to and from the Keys. Overall, we occupied three different sites. Plenty of width for slide-out and awning. Very private but not too much overhead interference. Bathrooms/showers were older but clean. This park has two washers/dryers which is a great service for travelers. They have a breakfast reception for all park guests every Wednesday morning. Almost every RV'er attended. A great way to meet other travelers. Dump station is on the road out of the park and is convenient. Satellite reception was good as well as phone reception. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$24
Great park with lots of activities including kayak and canoe rental, an equestrian campground and lots of hiking trails. The park is large, but the campground area is small. Big rigs can fit into the sites, but the road in the campground is one way and narrow. Showers were clean and hot. Sites were level sand/gravel and there are 4 paved handicapped sites. There is one central bath house. AT&T cell was 3G and strong and Virgin MiFi also strong. Hosts were extremely nice. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
Found this park to be very quiet and small. You only have 30 sites on the RV loop all with 30/50 amps and water. Sites were close to level, hard packed shell base, had a table and fire ring. All sites are back in and easy to get in and out. You have sites in full sun and about half with some shade trees. Satellites systems will work on most sites. You can pick up a number of TV channels over the air. Lots of room on each site, on some sites you could park two motorhomes side by side and have room. Found some sites with the hookup's near the road and other were correct. No lights in park so at night it is dark. You will find deer and lots of wildlife walking again in this park. Park is very close to noise free, only a small plane over head at times. This park had 4 sites for people camping with horses. Total of 34 sites and horses are not close to the 30 RV sites. Horses sites have 30 amps and water. One bathhouse in 30 site loop for all. You can canoe on the river if you wish. Playground equipment was about 1/2 miles from campgrounds. Park sets on a large track of land. Roads are all flat and nice to walk on or ride a bike. Staff was nice at check in. Rate was on FL senior residences. You have a Wal-Mart super center 7 miles from campground also lots of places to shop and eat out if you like. Verizon cell and air card worked well here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
Very nice park. Good paved roads, large sites but they are back ins. We usually stay here each year on our way to South Florida and always enjoy the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$11
This park has a small camping circle with a 2 mile well maintained access road. The sites are partially to fully shaded with hard packed sand. Some of the big rig sites are narrow in that slide-outs and awnings are a challenge to put out. Our site needed tree limbs cut back to provide better access. The restrooms are clean and well maintained. There is not much to do here. There is canoe access to the river and fishing with a FL. license. The park staff is knowledgeable and friendly. There is a lot of wildlife in the park. We were warned to be watchful of snakes, some not so friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
This is a very quiet park. Sites are not necessarily overly spacious for a large motor home with slides but there’s certainly enough room and there’s adequate space between sites. Each site, except the 4 horse sites, have trees, palmettos, and heavy foliage as a barrier to provide a feeling of privacy between sites. The sites are packed sand except for the handicap sites which are paved. Site #’s 1, 2, and 3 are the closest to the restrooms and the laundry (2 washers, 2 dryers, $1.50 each). Although others have complained of nothing to do or labeled the park as boring, it’s truly a place for relaxation. It’s a park where you can find peace and quiet and some seclusion from your neighbors. Each site has a fire ring, BBQ grill, and a large, wood picnic table. The site was raked and clean when we arrived. Water and electricity, no sewer connection but a dump station is available in the park. The nearest grocery store and Wal-Mart is about 4 miles north on SR 301, and Ellenton Outlet Mall is approximately 13.5 miles south of the park on 301. Connection to AT&T was weak. No Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
We camped here because it is close to Tampa and St Petersburg. A great place if you plan activities out of the park. The park it self is boring and not much to do except hiking or taking a canoe ride down the spring fed stream. We did see deer in the park. Very few campers here during our stay. It was a bargain. Price reflects senior Florida resident fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
We were in site #6. It was shady and we had plenty of room for our 35 ft MH to fit with 2 opposing slides. Most sites have some shade and lots of vegetation around them. All sites are grass/dirt. Ants are everywhere, bring repellent for them. There is a small area on each side of restroom to play for kids but not much else. Playground is in day use area which is about 8/10 mi away. Canoe launch about 1.5 miles from camp area, but park does not rent canoes. You must get an outside vendor to bring them to you or bring your own. So we did not canoe the river. Park has one 6.5 mi hiking trail (we did not hike)and 2 horse trails, no biking trails. Stores(Walmart and Publix) are about 5 mi outside park. TV reception was good. There is a washer and dryer next to restrooms. We saw absolutely no wildlife in this park. Normally we love FL state parks but this one was really boring. If we hadn't been with our camping club I would have ranked it lower. The park staff doesn't even start work until 3 pm M-F. One of our members had a problem with his site and there was no one to help until 3 pm. If you want quiet this is your park, but if you like to explore this isn't the one for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Spacious and wooded campsites. This is a gated campground so if you are arriving late, call campground before sunset to let them know. Many activities such as bicycling, nature and equestrian trails, canoeing. Not too far from Tampa and St. Petersburg (about 40 minutes). The campground does not make reservations. Reservations must be made online at Reserveamerica. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
Small park with a small campground. Kids play area is at a separate picnic area perhaps 1/4 mile distant. Small laundry is at restroom. Activities include horse riding and canoeing (rental is outside park) and one 6.5-mile hiking trail (a short drive distant from campground) which is the best I've yet seen in Florida; several miles follow the river and then the trail loops back through a pretty forest. No bike paths. No grocery stores nearby -- stock up in advance. Well worth a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2006
$18
If you like central Florida, you will like this park. Acres and acres of srub oaks...boring. Not much to do for kids. If it wasn't for the river this park would have received an even lower rating. The Little Manatee river is a wonderful and peaceful canoe or kayak trip. We saw plenty of turtles, gators, fish and birds. And as an added bonus you can stop along the river and pick oranges and tangerines that are growing wild. This is an easy trip up or down stream without fighting any current. The actual campground is small, but the sites are wooded private and spacious. The only problem is that everyone who camps there on a sandy site, their camper will become infeasted with ANTS. You can't stop them from coming in...what a way to ruin a trip. Everyone at the park had this problem during our stay. After talking to the campground host he said that this was a common problem at this park. This was enough to count me out for coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com