224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Peace River was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (863) 735-8888
CGID4706

Thousand Trails / Peace River

Camp Information
Sites
460
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   5   5   7   8   7   7   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$1
Have stayed here many times with good experiences until now. I know it is "off season" but the grass looked as though it hadn't been mowed for at least three weeks; it was over my ankles. A good crowd for this time of year, but little care being given to appearances. The lower section by the river was blocked off and closed. Still a great place to stay, but a shame to let things go. Rate is Thousand Trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$1
As members of Thousand Trails/Outdoor World, we are not charged a nightly rate. This campground is very nice. All sites are back-in, and most have more than enough room for a big rig. Some sites are easier to get into than others. Watch out for trees and tree stumps. My wife loves the heated pool. There are many activities, and Wachula is a nice little town with some good restaurants. We always make it a point to stop here when visiting Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1.0
Stayed at this park as a Thousand Trails member. We got a beautiful site on the river (P86) but left the park early due to the electrical problems. We knew the site was a non sewer, 30amp site, but were not prepared for voltage fluctuating as low as 98 volts. Maintenance came to the site but said it was a problem when a lot of people were using power. We came back after a shopping trip to find our power off due to low voltage. We have a pet parrot and were worried about leaving and coming back to find him overheated or worse. We turned off the air, hot water heater, and refrigeration but the incoming volt still dropped below 100 volts. I finally turned the box off and used our inverter for power. I spoke with the park manager about the problem and asked what was being done about it. I was told she would not discuss the problem with the members. I think it is irresponsibly for this park not to warn people of the possible damaging low power and not do anything about it. As others report this has been a problem for many years. The park has the potential of being very nice but is getting run down instead. We found the trash bins overflowing for days at a time and smelling very bad. We value our RV and electrical equipment too much to come back until the problems a fixed and advise others to do the same. When you are paying good money for a membership members deserve better than this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
Rate reflects TT membership. This campground offers two choices. The first is by the road; noisy but sewer and good electrical. The second is towards the river; quieter , no sewer and poor electrical. Unknowingly, we chose near the river. The electrical varied from 112 to below 108 volts even though the majority of people were not using air conditioners. In between the two extremes is a low area which floods and is very soft. There were numerous ruts. They do accommodate campers with dogs by providing dog poop drop off containers throughout the park. However, there are only two sets of dumpsters and they are both near the front of the park. Sites are large and a good mixture of shaded and open spots. Staff is friendly. The walking trails are interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$1
The sewer lottery is hysterical. Only about 1/2 the sites have sewer. I rolled in right at noon. They asked if I wanted a sewer site. I replied "yes." The worker then attempted to explain the lottery to me, but then handed me a paper and said to read it. I asked what the chances of getting a site were, everyone in the office agreed that I would not get one today. 1 - There is no "random" factor in the lottery. They read the names off a list, based on the date and time that you checked in. 2 - Must be present to win 3 - If your name is called, 3 things can happen: 1. "not here" - your name gets recycled on the list for tomorrow, keeping your original check-in time. 2. "Here and Choose site" - you are present and choose from the available sites 3. "Here, but Pass" - your name gets recycled on tomorrows list. 4 - Your name can only be recycled 4 times and then it is taken off the list. 5 - If you have lost your place, then you can requested that it be added, but it will be added at the bottom I was about 50th on the list, but got a site the first day (of about 15). They actually got to the end and had 3 sites left over because about 10 people had "passed" and the rest where not here. That was great, except that I had just settled in 20 min prior because they assured me that I would not get a site today, so I had to hitch up again. Everyone plays the game hoping to get a "prime" site. Evidently, this means no trees blocking satellite signal. Whatever. The rest of the facilities are nice. Free Wi-Fi in the lodge. New bathrooms and a very warm pool. Dryers take debit cards! The playground is small, but lots of other options. Lots of activities and entertainment scheduled. The roads are narrow. Some sites are grass, and the trees can make them very unlevel, so pay attention when choosing your site. Campers are grumpy, but I guess the staff can't help that! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$2
This was our first 1000 trails we stayed in and our stay was good. No WiFi at site and honey wagon was bit expensive. Dump station was 30 feet from fellow camper. Enjoyed our stay there in Feb and March 2013 . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$1
This park is looking rundown. They need to do a lot of maintenance and TLC. There are very few sites with tables. One man requested a table, and they refused to move one to his site. There were several in a pile in one corner of the park. They had swept debris into a pile in the office, and it was there 2 days running. I did not look on the 3rd day, so I don't know how long it stayed there. Showers are very tiny, and they need additional ones, as well as more laundry facilities. This is our first time with Thousand Trails and now wonder if it was worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$1
We have stayed in this park many times. The rate reflects our Thousand Trails membership. The last reviewer was wrong on some facts. There are 200 full hook up with 50 amp. There are also 200 water and sewer only which are only 30 amp. There is no boondocking as they stated. There are a few sites in the lower water and sewer only sites that were damaged by a flood last year, but all the FHU 50 amp sites are fine. They remodeled the bathrooms last year, and also resurfaced the pool and the pool area and there is a new jacuzzi. They also remodeled the clubhouse. Another reviewer said there a 70% permanent residents. There is probably only about 30% at this time. All around, it is a nice park with some improvements being made, and it's on the beautiful Peace River. They have free WI-Fi in the clubhouse . We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$1
Our rate is based on being a TT member. However, the cg is open to the public. About 1/2 of the sites have no sewer and all have only 30 amp. This is a difficult place to camp, unless you like boon docking. The only Wi-Fi is in the lounge area. There are only two washers and two showers in the men bathroom. The trail and scenery is nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$1
Good Verizon voice and data. Good over the air TV. Per regional manager, TTN (ELS) goal is 70% permanent residents, so facilities for transients are in decline. Like most TTN parks, promises of improvements are high, but actual improvements are low. Managers change often, so there is very little follow through. Price quoted is for members. Very few site tables. Free (good) Wi-Fi in lodge. Very many sites out of order due to bad electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Like the campground but they say it floods when raining. You have to be on high ground. Lots of huge Oak trees and lots of squirles for my dogs. Next to Peace River for kayaking (bring your own) water was shallow but great. Its a Thousand Trails campground that is open to the public. It also has cabins to rent. As Arnold says "I'll be back". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
What a pleasant experience (discount the Love Bugs). ELS has made a commitment to putting their RV parks in order and they have begun to follow through. While we were in camp, the restrooms/showers were remodeled and some of the interior roads were resurfaced and/or patched with asphalt. During our 10 day stay the staff mowed the grass throughout the park twice and fixed the pool in a day when maintenance was needed. The sites are grass and some have concrete patio pads, lots of room on each site. Staff was always busy with maintenance and helpful at all times. Trails are groomed, but watch for wild pigs in the woods and gators in the river (Stumpy and her baby). The Peace River is a fossil hunter paradise. Though this park is adjacent to a major state highway the traffic noise is tolerable, even with the citrus trucks hauling oranges 24/7. Love Bugs are a way of life this time of year but they are harmless, just lots of them. Keeping your rigs clean of the goo after a drive, or when you arrive in this part of Florida, is crucial. The acidic content of these bugs is pretty hard on painted surfaces if not cleaned off right away. You can chose a site open and sunny, or one which is treed and shady. H2O, 30/50, septic in most sites. I rated this park an 8 because there is still work to be done and the exit road is still in need of repair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$1
Very friendly staff. $0. price reflects club price. We had 30amp electric and water. About half the sites are FHU. We had a back in site on grass.with a few trees. Water pressure was low at times, electric was low, our auto-former kept lighting up, meaning it was boosting electric. Many improvements are on the way, and they are working on some now. No picnic table. They are getting 200 new tables. About half the roads are paved, rest are packed sand. Our site was down near the river and a little roomier them the sites near the road that were full hook up. Upfront there is a lot of highway noise. There is a laundry w/6 washers and dryers. Could use more for a park this size, it was always very busy. There is Wi-Fi in the clubhouse. Our Verizon cell phone and air card worked well. Major TV networks over the air + about 15 other channels. There is a small fenced in dog run and many roads and trails in park to walk them. Very quite at night. Night lighting is low and very nice. There is a very tiny book exchange. Many roads in park for bike riding. The Peace river is in back of park. There is a steep kayak/canoe lunch. Slow low flowing river. Fossil digging is popular. You can rent fossil digging tools and float for digging in the river, or bring your own. Many activities. There is a heated pool and spa. It is schedule to get a make over. A few good restaurant's in town and groceries about 3 miles. Super Wal-Mart about 5 miles. This park could become a 8 or 9 with some improvements. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$2
The park is on the Peace River. You can park on the River sites or enjoy the area closer to the clubhouse. They have Pickle-ball courts (great game). Private park that is worth the membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
We camped here in the off season so there were many sites available. The staff was friendly, the camp neat and tidy, pool/spa very clean and water temp was comfortable. Since it was off season the staff is cutback thus not as many organized things to do but we normally do a lot of stuff on our own anyway. We came in at the time that the "love bugs" were in season. Our coach was covered with them and you must wash them off as acid from the dead bugs can eat the paint off your vehicles. We were told that there is a drought and there would be a $100 fine for washing vehicles. You are allowed to bucket wash off the bugs so that is what we did but we did notice that some RVer's that came in after we did used hoses to wash off their vehicles. But for the most part everyone did their part. The park is quiet but near the highway so you will always hear the traffic no matter where you park. We parked midway and found the noise not too bad. The hiking trails were nice; if you are a walker you will find that you can get all the miles you need walking around the camp and it is pleasant. We found the sites to be roomy and had no problem with the power, but again this is off season. Overall, this is a good, clean, friendly campground we are Thousand Trails members so we used our membership to camp here. We are on our way up the east coast for the summer. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
Typical Thousand Trails park. Maintenance of the park is definitely not a priority, though they did mow the grass. Interior roads are very poor, lots of potholes, also dusty from dirt roads. Impossible to get away from road noise. About half of the campground is W/E only, which of course includes the river sites (the furthest from the road), however due to it being off season, they were not allowing anyone to park on the river sites. That may be a temporary issue, I don't know. The only time I saw any employees was when they were outside taking smoking breaks, which they take a lot. No planned activities while we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
Usual Thousand Trails standard: nice, tidy and forthcoming site staff. We stayed in the middle of the park and didn't notice road noise at all. When in the area, we have no hesitation staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$1
Untidy and rustic sites. The only site available for us backed onto Hwy 17 which was very noisy due to trucks carrying oranges all night long. Very little sleep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
The new manager has made a lot of positive changes at the park; very clean, well maintained, new ice cream shop and lots of energy. We enjoyed potlucks, crafting, free concert, and swimming pool/hot tub at comfortable temps. I put nightly rate at $1 as we are Thousand Trails members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$8
This is our first trip to Peace River. We reserved a full hookup but were told we had to pick a W/E site upon arrival and be put on a "sewer lottery" list for a sewer site for a maximum of 3 days. Open sites are posted each day by noon. We would check out the site and meet the "group" and ranger at 1 pm daily. Names are called, ranked by date of arrival and time, then you are allowed to pick which site you want. We found a nice open spot (no trees) the second day. There is honey bucket service available for $10/day after you sign up or you can opt to drive around to the dump station when you need to dump. We liked our first space because it was away from the busy road but opted to move to the road site because of the sewer. Reservations are made online so you don't know this before you arrive. This park was formerly a KOA and the interior roads are dirt with many potholes that make driving bumpy and rather dusty. The spaces located on the old section of the park are narrow and very close together. We picked a site that was backed by the main highway. There was a lot of traffic and many sirens but it is tolerable. We had a cement patio and wood picnic table at the site. The picnic table need to have some boards replaced but we could use one side adequately. Plenty of grass and space for our dog to be outside. All the staff/volunteers and rangers were very helpful and friendly. There are many activities to join in daily. The Hot Fudge Shoppe has great specials for lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. The facilities are very clean. Pool was pristine. Laundry was good size, large washers $1.50 for washing and drying. Dryers ran 40-45 mins and were very hot. There was both 50 and 30 amp service. Water pressure was good, except one day when a main pipe broke. The staff fixed that in record time. We would come here again. Close to shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Very nice, clean campground. Large, shady level sites. Great location, nice friendly staff. We stayed 6 days and will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
Typical 1000 Trails Park, outdated facilities including rest rooms, showers, laundry room, however, restful. Nice walking trails along Peace River to view alligators and some wildlife. All grass sites and interior roads that puddle badly when it rains. We were here for 16 days and the hot tub worked once. They shut water down one day without notice, sign on bulletin board said no water after 9:00 am on Thursday yet it was off Wednesday. Camp store had very few items and very limited hours, 10-4 M-F, 10-6 Sat and closed Sunday. Pickleball courts need concrete around them or you constantly track sand on the courts. Children's playground is the smallest I've seen. Management and staff are curt and seem unfriendly. ELECTRIC SERVICE IS TERRIBLE. I had 50 amp service with one line 110 volts and the other 101 volts, would constantly shut down my Electrical management system due to low voltage. One day they shut down electric and didn't warn any one and then turned it back on and I lost a surge protector. Pool was too hot most of the time as to not be very refreshing. We would use park again if in the area but probably not as long a time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
Although this park is on the rustic side, that is part of its charm. This has the most comfortable and inviting feel to it, from the wrapped porches complete with swings to the Peace River. We enjoyed all of the activities, especially Pickle Ball. The staff is friendly and professional. We love this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$10
Wonderful park with a great friendly staff. Looking forward to returning to this park again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$2
One of our favorite places to stay. Friendly people and a nice quieter park that is nicely located between the two coasts. Their is a new manager and changes happening, so hopefully the change is for the better. Most if not all of the sites are back-in, but very large and have not had a problem. We have enjoyed the walking trails by the river and always watch for the turtles, usually can spot an alligator. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$5
This was our second Thousand Trails stay. We received our membership to TT when we bought our RV. The staff is very friendly, and the place was clean. While we were there someone backed into a water hookup and the girl that fixed it was very nice about it, there were a bunch of people that offered to help. The kids loved looking for fossils in the river (which was very low this time of the year) the pool area was clean and inviting. We will be using this and the Orlando TT a lot during the spring and summer as it makes a nice long weekend campground that is easy to get to. The site we were on was near the road, but with the A/C running you could not hear any road noise. The sites down by the river do not have sewer, but they are still nice sites. Like some other reviewers said the roads could use some work, but the site we were on had a brand new picnic table on a concrete slab. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$5
This is now a thousand trails membership park. One of the lowest rated of any we have been to. Old and no updates yet. Nice community rooms. Dirty old hot tub. Nice attendants. More than half the sites do not have sewer connections. Some have phone. Road noise a problem here. Staying 9 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$5
Note: We emailed this review on 2/10/07 but it hasn't shown up yet. In case it never made it to you, here it is again: This campground is quite pleasant. About half the sites have 50 amp service and sewer service. The remaining sites have 30 amp service but no sewer service. There is a "honey wagon" service available for a fee. When you come into the park, you may not be able to get a sewer site right away. The rangers will have you pick a non-sewered site and they will place your name on a waiting list for a sewer site to become vacated. The system has some glitches but eventually works out. There are some fun events/activities scheduled if you wish to participate. One of the best assets of this park is the manager, Debbie. She is fun, friendly, and helpful. She truly seems to enjoy her job and believes her job is to make the campers happy. Her weekly Saturday "meet the manager" meetings are a hoot! Another tremendous asset to the park is that the Peace River is accessible from the park. If you wish to fish, gather fossils, canoe or kayak, you can. Just watch out for alligators. On two kayak trips we saw a 6 foot alligator and a much-larger three-legged gator they call "Stumpy" on the banks. Both gators splashed into the water as they noticed us. The bathrooms are spotless. Employees seem to be happy and pleasant to the guests. There are some huge potholes within the park that need to be addressed. We have been full timing for almost 7 years and enjoy using our Thousand Trails membership and visiting the TT parks. This park and its manager are gems! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$1
About 1/2 of the sites are full hookup, but there is honey-dipper service available if needed. This preserve is great - personel, sites, amenities, trails. Upon arrival (Sunday), I chose an available site (W/E), but signed up for a sewer site as I don't have greywater holding tank. Next morning one was available and I moved with no problems. A very busy preserve during the 'season' of Jan-March with all kinds of activities daily, food service on weekends, ice cream socials, caravans to local attractions, and canoe trips (sign up). What started out as a one-week stay got extended due to pleasure!!! Laundry room has 5 washers and 6 dryers ($1.25/each), clean and well maintained. Bathhouses (2) were clean and well maintained. Pool was enjoyed by all as was the spa. We had daytime highs in the low 80's, and nights varied from 50's and 60's. While located just off US 17, traffic noise wasn't too bad. A Wal-mart Supercenter is located about 4 miles north of Peace River Preserve on US 17 in Wauchula, and a newly opened Sweetbay Grocery Store is about 3 miles north of the preserve in Wauchula. Eateries galore in Wauchula. Great stay at a great preserve with fantastic, friendly helpful folks. Lots of full-timers visiting while we were there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
The park was mowed and clean. The restrooms were cleaned each day that we were there. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. They offered fossil hunting and kayaking as activities. Half of the sites are 50 amp and sewered while the other half are 30 amp non-sewered. They did however have 3 dump stations and in season they have honey wagon services. The manager came out and played with our daughter and other children in the park. She also joined in on the activities that were being held. This was one of the most enjoyable trips that my family has been on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$33
Potentially nice campground; I believe this was acquired from a defunct KOA operation and has "permanents" still living on the property. Campground is well-maintained but in need of significant road and site improvement. Impossible turns for big rigs in a few places. Sites are situated on a grassy hill sloping down to the Peace River making it hard to find a level site. Much of the campground is low lying and swampy during rains. Sitepads need to be leveled up and paved. While there, staff was "saving" sewer hookups for snowbirds on a waiting list so those arriving were chased away from these "reserved" sites and told to get on a waiting list. Of course, our stay was over by the time we could get a sewer site because the snowbirds stay for weeks at a time. Odd staff facility management, nice family environment, cute log cabin store with porch and rocking chairs and there is a general store and cafe on premises. With site and road upgrading, this pretty location could be a gem! Would go back again: off season! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Went to this campground on 5/14/04 , taking advantage of KOA's promotion of "One night of free camping ". The pool facilities were very nice ( incl. a hot tub ). We were alittle disapointed in not being able to take the canoe trip they advertise. They said they didn't have enough people . I would have given this campground a 9 , but they offer no cable tv , and they need to invest in a privacy fence along the front by the highway We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com