220808 User submitted reviews online!!
Los Banos West / I-5 KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (209) 826-5542
CGID471

Los Banos West / I-5 KOA

Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   6   7   6   7   5   2   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Check in was fine. The pool motor was broken so there was no pool. There are a lot of long term people here. There were only 4 short term RV's. The sites were gravel and a little grass between the pull through sites. This is a one night stay RV park. I don't know why this is a KOA. I don't think I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
Great campground! Very friendly and helpful staff. Pull thru sites. Great Wi-Fi. Fenced in dog park. Very nice outside common patio area with tables chairs and gas grills for your use. Swimming pool, game room and playground for kids. Would definitely come back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Good for an overnighter between southern California and northern California. Wi-Fi worked great, easy check in. Just not a pretty, nice park. Functional, basic, could use some plants. Easy freeway access. Would stay again, but would be better with some TLC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
Good location along the I-5 midway between southern and northern Calif. Power was steady. The site was gravel, but level. The check-in and out process was easy. The hosts were pleasant. The cable hookup was odd as the connection is just the male end of a cable - however every well-prepared RVer should have an adapter on hand already! Overall, quite reasonable for an overnight while traveling through. This place seems to specialize more in long-term space rental and sun-baked storage for RVs and boats. Still, perfectly fine for one night. We would use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$34
We stayed in this park more than 20 years ago, and it doesn't look like there is much that is new since then. The staff was not particularly helpful. The site was fairly level, the power was OK, and it was clean. The cable is limited but worked well. The wi-fi was slow. The restrooms are old and uninviting. We will probably stay somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$50
This RV park was a little more run down than what we are used to. Everything worked okay, but the site wasn't level, and the bathrooms and showers were not as clean as we would have liked. Laundry facilities were functional but old and worn. Pool wasn't functional, but there was a nice play area, and lots of trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$38
We will not stay here again. Wi-fi did not work at all on one computer and sparsely on another. Cable TV provided a fuzzy picture, and there were not many channels to choose from. On cable hook-up had to use a double ended male connector. Hook-ups are toward the rear of your rig - never saw that before. The 50 amp receptacle is upside down! Park appears old and in need of updating. Host in office was nice enough. Not one blade of grass in the 'doggy area' - just dirt. Wish we had taken advise of friends and stayed at another park nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Will not stay here again. Was very noisy and not very clean. The bathrooms were not cleaned at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Nice park, good power, water, cable, Wi-Fi. We had a nice spot with a huge shade tree. Nice pool. The hosts were super friendly and helpful. The only reason it didn't get a 10 was no hot tub. Will come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
A work in progress? The owners seem to be slowly upgrading this dated, run-down, recently converted KOA. OK for an overnight. Hook-ups at the extreme rear of the pull through we were in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$33
Nothing fancy but everything worked. The staff was very nice. Wi-Fi free but a bit slow. Mild freeway noise when outside, nothing you don't block out and we couldn't hear it inside. Closest grocery in Los Banos, about 8 miles. Gas and fast food plentiful in Santa Nella. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$38
Nicely laid out park with good site access. For travelers with dogs there are two fully fenced dog runs so your dogs can stretch their legs. We arrived after hours but check in was simple with per-numbered sheets for open sites. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
This park is nicely laid out, back in sites are a little tight but the drive throughs are bigger. All sites have concrete drives and patios. All roads are paved, in good shape and are wide. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$34
Long pull through sites, so we were able to pull through with a 30' motor home and toad. Trees and grass throughout park. Two fenced dog runs that were clean. Friendly staff. Convenient to I-5. Some seasonal but no problem this time of year. Only negative was sewer was very far back at site and hard to reach. Stayed here twice in one week on way to and from San Francisco. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Nice looking park. Lots of long term people but quite and neat. Good Wi-Fi, cable is good but limited. Decent size fenced dog run. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
A good option in the area if you need shade. Dogs are very welcome, and you can pull in OTA TV stations as an option to the cable. Well off the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Quiet park with friendly staff. Dog run was ok. We've stayed here before it was a KOA. Nothing seems to have changed except the price went up. Nice swimming pool and well maintained. The Petro travel station nearby makes it convenient for fuel. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Great park and great staff. They even set up the club room for a reception following a Memorial Service at the nearby National Cemetery. They have done so many improvements. Cannot wait to stop in again to see what they have done on our next trip this way! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
The staff was very friendly from the beginning. We stayed 9 nights from May 1 through 9. Clean shower/rest room. Nicely stocked store along with a game room and a sparkling pool. Nice fenced dog run areas where dogs can run off leash under supervision. Poo bags provided. On May 5 the management threw a family friendly Cinco de Mayo dinner with loads of delicious food and soft drinks. Seems they do something for every holiday. Very kid friendly so watch out when you are driving around the park. I will return when I am in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
The people who run the park could not have been more helpful or nice. After we set up, the gentleman came by and asked again if we needed anything. Interior roads are gravel and mostly level. We only planned on spending the night and did not want to unhook the trailer and the pull through sites fit my needs perfectly. I'm glad I went to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
I spent one night here while traveling down Highway 5. All the sites are pull through. I was able to park my 30 foot travel trailer and 20 foot truck in the site with out having to unhook my truck. The sites are dirt, bordered by grass on both sides. I needed a 1 inch board to level my trailer side to side. Each site has a picnic table. There appeared to be 10 – 15 full time residents in the park. The bathrooms, showers and club house facilities were clean. There was minimal noise from the highway. The Wi-Fi was free but I kept getting timed out on my connection. The night and morning I was there, it was extremely windy. Wind gusts rocked my trailer even though I had the tongue jack and four stabilizers down. I would stay here again if I needed a place to stop over night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$34
Nice enough for an overnight stop although there is another park closer to I-5. This one is about 4 miles from I-5. There's a small store and propane available. The spots are mostly dirt, and with all the rain there were a lot of puddles. Bathroom and shower were clean. I would stay here again, but would probably chose the one closer to I-5. Cable had the main channels, and WiFi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$34
Formerly San Luis RV Resort, became KOA on October 1, 2010. This is a large park off SR 152 just west of I-5. This is an alternative to the other RV park in Santa Nella that is on the main road SR 33. This park sits back from the highway and noise is minimal. The pull through sites are all 50 feet long with utility pedestals/sewer placed at the back end of each site. The sites are level and interior roads are gravel. There are still 17-20 long term residents, some not in very good shape. The decor is classic KOA and we found the staff friendly and helpful. They provide CATV at each site and free Wi-Fi is available. The park still needs some sprucing up, the old park still shows through. Our navigation program had the old park located incorrectly on the west end of Gonzaga Road, when it is east from the Petro station, so check the directions carefully. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This place almost got a higher rating, but the TV reception is nil and there is no cable TV. Wi-fi worked good though. Don't know if it works throughout, but we took a spot right near the office. Nice pool, clean place. Definitely a great place for a one nighter. On our way home and it fit the bill nicely. Got a 50 amp spot under a huge tree in the 100 degree heat. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
This place is OK for the price. No cable TV and uneven sites but it's quiet, clean and inexpensive. We spent 2 nights here waiting for replacement for a blown tire. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$24
Needed a place for one night with electricity. Older park but the front sites are well kept up. Office staff was very friendly. Bathrooms and showers were immaculate. Very dog friendly. Staff allowed me to take dog off leash and chase a ball for 20 minutes to burn off energy after our long drive. The price was right. We got six channels on TV antenna. The free Wi-Fi worked well. I did not experience the ant problems referred to in earlier reviews. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Not many choices in the area, we stayed here over-night on our way South, $25 was about the right price. Sites were level gravel/dirt with shade trees. Wi-Fi worked good, no cable TV. Highway noise (Hy152) was steady. Older campground, could use some fixing up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
I would not stay here again. Very big ant problem in the entire park, and folks that have been here a while said it is a long term problem. Every site is packed with ants. They climb up your water hose and into the coach! Very little grass, mostly dirt park. If you have a Class A, the trees are very low and it is almost impossible to maneuver the park without seriously scraping your roof. I broke my A/C shroud going less than 5 mph. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
We stayed for several nights as we made day trips to see Monterey and Big Sur. The facilities are old and the restrooms need an update. Some of the spaces are big rig friendly, but many are not due to low branches. The road and pads are gravel with lots of stickers and dead grass. The swimming pool was in great shape but the water was icy cold. We liked the quiet and the rate. We would stay again for an overnight. The campground would not accept membership discount, but provided their own 10% discount authorized by the new owners. Our GPS recognized the address if the Gustine was entered as the city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
This was a good location for an over nighter. The sites are gravel, but many have large shade trees. This is no longer a Passport America or GoodSam discount location, but the prices are very fair anyway. Very nice friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
This is a little, older campground that was recently taken back over by the original owners. It had been let go in a big way, and the original owners are trying to get it back into shape. The owners are very sweet and helpful, and could not have been nicer. We've stayed in several RV places up and down the I-5 corridor over the years, and this one was by far the nicest, and the most quiet. Very peaceful setting, large level gravel sites (we didn't have to unhook our tow vehicle) with good hook-ups). It's located about a mile or more off I-5, on the west side of the Highway 33/152 exit. Easy I-5 access, and right down the road from several gas stations and restaurants, which is always good on this isolated stretch of I-5. Very peaceful and pleasant. It would be a great spot for a get-together or rally, as they have a very nice covered patio area (with barbecue) outside a large meeting room. An altogether pleasant experience, and we'll definitely be back. They did cancel their Passport America membership, but at $24 we couldn't complain! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
They now have free Wi-Fi, get the password at the office. Level pull-through sites, big trees for shade, restrooms were clean. Traffic noise from Hwy 152 is constant. TV antenna picked up six channels. Good over-night stop for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
We were here with a group and received a very warm welcome from the family running the place. They are great people. This is a perfect spot for an overnight or for a couple of days while you explore the area. It's a very old park with improvements in the works. Wi-Fi would be nice. Highway noise could be a problem for light sleepers, but not for us. We'll be back when we pass this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$12
This rate was a Passport America rate. The managers are very nice and accommodating. This park is an excellent spot to stay the night as you're traveling I-5. The diner at the Petro 2 station has excellent breakfasts. We've stayed here before and noticed the improvements they're making to it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
There are 3 reasons why we would stay here again: 1-proximity to I-5 (1-1/2 miles), 2-free vehicle wash area (!!!), and 3-very reasonably priced with full hook-ups. I would not stay more than one night as it is a pretty bare bones type of campground in the middle of nowhere. Campground is under new management. Staff courteous. We stayed in #72. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This campground is very poorly maintained. They have a severe ant problem. We were infested with ants for days, as were other travelers. We did everything we could, and finally decided to leave. The girl at the office was not knowledgeable and did not offer help with the ant problem. I asked for a refund for the days we were not going to use. I was told to come back for the refund. I came back and talked to the manager. She was extremely rude, and refused to give back the remainder, blaming us for leaving, although they had a terrible ant problem. Finally, she refunded me, but made me come back again to get it, and it was not a full refund, only a partial of what we had paid. I advise going to Santa Nella RV Park across the highway. They are cheaper, cleaner and very helpful. Do not go to San Luis, you will be ripped off and very upset with the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$27
My wife and I stayed at this park before and were not impressed. We decided not to stay at this park again, however our truck broke down heading for home and we had no other choice. With that being said, this park has done a 360 Degree turn around. The bathrooms are a lot cleaner, the staff was very friendly, the lady in the office was different, so I think they hired new management. Hurray for the owner. I will definitely stay, and recommend this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
This is an older park that the new owners and managers are updating. They are doing a great job. It is not the most scenic campground but very convenient and comfortable. They are putting in a 13 acre park right now with walking paths and playing fields. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
This is a decent park for an overnight stop. All gravel and dirt sites with grass between the sites, but is is mostly dead at this time. The pool is lovely, but I did not use it. Lady in the office was very personable. I would not come here to stay, but for an over night stop, it is fine. WiFi has a weak signal but is free. Get code at the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
We will never stay at San Luis RV again. It was filthy; the bathrooms where filthy. The staff was rude; the people that live full time in the park are scary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
You get what you pay for. Voltage dropped on us as well. Its fairly neat and clean, but the livestock flies are an issue. Nothing to rave about. The managers were rude on our last stay and the location was a bit out of the way. There seem to be better options in the surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2004
$28
Park power in early evening and morning, dropped to 100 to 105 volts. Auto transformer would not keep up. Park was old KOA, no animals, lots of flies due to livestock in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$31
Very nice owners who made you feel at home. Nice cold swimming pool as it was very hot!! Nice petting zoo with some unusual animals which will delight young and old alike. Will stop there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Welcome stop off I-5. Fun place as they have a number of animals in a kind of petting zoo. Large sites and some big trees. Pool was nice and they had a large stock of ice cream products (it gets REALLY HOT) to buy. They also have a place where you can wash your rig. I think that this is one of the few places I've seen this.It was really nice getting a large site again after having spent a couple of weeks on the Cal.coast and So.cal area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com