214532 User submitted reviews online!!
Shady Lake RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (903) 885-8885
CGID4713

Shady Lake RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   8   8   10   6   6   4   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Beware of this park. The campsites are sandwiched in. Big holes in the road, couldn't level our camper at all. Stayed one night, went to another town for a cleaner place to stay. Oh and the pool was green and it's a man made tank not a lake. Will never ever ever come back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
This is an old park. The person in the office was not particularly friendly. The roads, while navigable, are in terrible shape... lots of dips and potholes. There are a lot of old trashy RVs. The voltage is not particularly robust, as it stays between 110 and 114. On the plus side, the water pressure is good and the hookups are convenient. I would not stay here again. We stayed here in a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Nice park, owners very accommodating (stayed late to await our arrival). Sites were grass but watch out for fire ants. Some of the mounds were rather large. Very quiet, appeared to have some permanent residents. Pet friendly, clean and easy access for large rigs. Convenient to interstate 30. Only stayed overnight, but would stay again if just passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
I stayed here for 5 days. My site was well shaded and right beside the water at the front of the park. There's lot's of fish in the stock pond. This park has lots of permanent or semi-permanent residents. The showers and wash room was clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$34
The park has recently been purchased by a young couple that has worked tirelessly to clean and renovate the grounds. All campers have access to free Wi-Fi and a computer complete with printer in the office if you don't have one on the road with you. A fire pit complete with a swing, benches, picnic tables and a grill are also available for all guest to use. They even have DVD rentals in the office with for guest who don't have satellites. I have stayed at this park couple of times in the past and it was a good place to stop for the night, but now it is a great place to come for a couple of nights or extended weekend. I highly recommend this park to all, and if you have stayed here in the past you should go back and check it out now, you won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Not a bad place. Unfortunately, the permanent camper's here don't know how to conserve water, guess they don't feel the water shortage is their concern. Family friendly - there is a pool but no playground. Unfortunately the pool is up by the entrance and has no shade, a great combination for sunburn. Would stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Nice overnight stopover with reasonable access from the highway. Not much to speak of, parked on the grassy knoll, with full hook-ups. Had a huge pull-through site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Ok for an overnight stay. Easy access in & out, but not a place I'd want to stay unless you have need to be in the area. Did not use any facilities so can't say how they worked. We could not get any TV with our antenna except NBC and we have a pretty good booster on our rig. It does have a lot of grass that is well kept, but that's about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This park is 2 miles south of I-30, has pot holes at the entrance and throughout the park, has grass/dirt sites that get very muddy after it rains, (our RV left ruts in the RV pad area when we pulled in and out the next day), and charges extra if you use a credit card. You can get TV service by using your RV antenna or satellite dish. There was no Wi-Fi service and I do not know if there the park had a modem hookup, but I doubt it. We will not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
This is a park that has a sign out front stating they are making improvements. No picnic table at sites, no internet and locks on shower doors did not work while showers are all unisex. Owners home is attached to shower trailer and maybe they all use the same water heater, because while my husband and I took a shower after just a few minutes into it the water turned ice cold! You are much better off with your 6 gal water heaters in your trailers at this park. I also found a big pile of dog doo outside the truck door when we pulled into our site which apparently came from the owners dog which ran right over to our site when he was let out their back door. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
My family and I stayed at this park for two days on a road trip (from Colorado) and stopped to visit friends in the area. The owners are very sociable and we enjoyed talking with them on a few occasions. It was obvious that they take pride in this park. Its is a work in progress but they told us they have owned the park 6 years and are slowly improving things. The bathrooms were very clean and tidy and the swimming pool was a nice surprise for the kids. It was nothing fancy and not a destination park, but a nice place to stop and rest. Very quiet and the park was about 1/2 full. The pond was a favorite for the kids and there was a bonfire pit to roast marshmallows. Will surely stop by again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
We stayed in a spot directly behind the office which was a big rig friendly site. I cannot speak for the primary campground area on the other side of the lake. The park is convenient to the interstate. The road is gravel, sites level with plenty of grass. The main campground looks beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This park is advertised as the Best Little RV Park in Texas...if that is the case, I will stay away from number 2! Mostly permanent sites, grass was only about 2 feet high around the unoccupied RVs and around our hook-ups. There were only 4 dump trucks parked on RV sites. Will I be back...No, No, Never We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
This was our first night at an RV park ever. We knew from the reviews here that it wasn't the cream of the crop but that was OK. We were basically looking for a place to pull over and sleep with electric for the Air Conditioner in the camper. This is basically what we got, it's a simple place to sleep for the night along your destination. It's a few miles off I-30 and pretty easy to get in and out of. We have a small travel trailer but we saw big rigs there too. The sites were large pull-thru sites. Did not notice if there was sewer hookups or not because we didn't really need them since we were leaving in the morning. The park was not crowded at all, we stayed on a Saturday night. We pulled in around 11pm, since I was ignorant to RV park procedures at night I decided to call the park first. The man answered the phone and was very nice and explained to me how to register using the after hours box. Overall we would stay here again as a place to sleep but not a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$24
This campground was convenient for us on our way through Texas. Quite a few potholes in the roadways. That may be just because of the winter season. After you go past the office the road runs over a dirt dam. It's narrow, but level. It's 2 miles off of the interstate and is quite. Reception staff was friendly and offered options for dining out that were right on. Adequate space at each site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$27
This a very rustic but well kept park. The owners and managers are extremely helpful. The sites for the most part are well kept. This is not by any stretch of the imagination a luxury park, but it does have it's own personality character. We prefer these type parks over the cookie cutter parks in so many areas. The hhokups are well situated and easy to use. We would stay here again. They also have a nice small fishing lake for catch and release only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com