214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Powhatan Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (828) 667-0391
CGID4732

Lake Powhatan Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   9   8   7   6   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$21
This was one of our most favorite places in all of our travels. It is well maintained and absolutely gorgeous. Interior roads are in very good shape. The campsites are well maintained by the very friendly staff. Restrooms are attended to at least twice a day and are very clean. We were fortunate to have a full hook-up site as there are not too many of them. But all sites are beautiful. Our Internet worked only because we have an antenna booster. Our Verizon phones did not work at our site. We really enjoyed all of the hiking trails and the beauty of the lake. I would go back in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$19
This is our ideal campground. Outside the city but close enough for convenience. Beautiful natural setting. Sites with or without utilities spaced nicely apart; dark and quiet at night. Clean toilets and showers in the center of each loop but only warm, not hot, shower temps. Staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Too bad they have pet rules but aren't allowed to eject violators - only to try to 'educate' them. Four days of barking dogs made it 'only' a 9. I would return here as often as I could. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Saturday, June 22 – Pisgah National Forest, Lake Powhatan Recreation Area, Asheville, NC. This campground is located on the west side of Asheville off of route 191 and near the entrance of the Blue Ridge Parkway. There are five loops in the park and this time we stayed in the Big John Loop. It was shaded and we did have electricity, but only one of two sites have electric in this loop. Bent Creek Loop across from our loop has about four sites with electric. Hardtimes Loop – no electric and the loop closer to the lake, but you still have a long walk to get to it was the Lakeside Loop. Right now most of Lakeside Loop have water and sewers and hopefully by 2014 all the sites in this loop will be full hookups. The Lakeside Loop has some huge sites for big RV’s. It cost us with electricity $25, but if you have a pass take 50% off and if you reserve add a reservation fee of $9. You can reserve some of the sites in this park and the others first come except this is a very popular park. This park is beautiful and there is so much to see and do in Ashville and the Blue Ridge Parkway. One can bike, hike and swim in Lake Powhatan. Check in was quick and the host was informative about what to see and do in the area. Bath houses were clean and the showers were great! We were headed east and have stayed here before, so it was just a one night stopover for us, but a nice stop on a beautiful day in June. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
Gravel pads within a nice forest setting. Clean modern toilet/shower combinations in individual units. Peaceful quiet campground with close access to the Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Fantastic first come, first serve campground (after October 15). Beautifully treed and spacious spots are relatively level and paved, plus each site offers great fire ring area. Tremendous hiking and mountain biking opportunities in the park. Sites vary from no utilities to full hookups. There is no cell service; no AT&T, Verizon or Sprint voice or data service… We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
We stayed for 14 days. It is difficult to find anything bad about a National Forest. It is quiet with paved roads, 60ft trees surrounding our site, and about 30 yards to my closest neighbor. The volunteers and park hosts were all very friendly and helpful. They recommended places to eat and shop. The bathroom & shower facilities were immaculately clean. All roads were paved and sites were paved; however, all sites had a severe slope making it impossible to level even after we drove up onto 3" ramps. We stayed in one of the few full hook up sites (Site 56). Local conveniences are amazingly close for such a secluded area. Two large grocery stores about 3 miles away. Downtown Asheville about 15 miles away. A wonderful farmers market with fresh vegetables about 5 miles. Things you need to be aware of: 1- Not big rig friendly despite the fact that they do have sites that are long and wide enough. There are low hanging trees on the two mile drive up to the main gate and more low trees after you get into the park. Single lane, one way roads getting to your site. Backing in without brushing up against trees was very difficult. If you are looking for an overnight, this is not the place. However, once you are backed in and set up, it is beautiful. 2- Very poor cell phone coverage. Internet access off our Verizon hot spot was almost useless. 3- It is called "Lake" Powhatan but the lake is really just a large pond. 4- Gates are locked at 10:00 pm. Which wasn't a problem for us but just something to be aware of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We arrived at the campground after calling ahead to confirm there were full hookup sites available, but were told we had to wait for up to two days when stopping at the gate. Be very specific with your questions. We were assigned a site with water and sewer but no electric in June. This was annoying to say the least. The next day we were offered a full hook up site which was ok for our 36 footer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The roads in were a little tight for a big rig with low trees. We will return and recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
We selected this place after reading the good reviews and that it has electric hookups, but we were not able to get a site with hookups. Be aware, there are ONLY a FEW sites with ELECTRIC and a few with full hookups. Some sites are reservable, others first come basis. Most sites are level, although on some are on a hill. Restrooms were clean, some bathhouses have individual rooms for showers & toilet. Lake is much smaller than I would have thought for a recreation area. I would hate to see the place full. Most sites are shaded and well spaced apart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
Beautiful campground in a perfect location. Asheville, NC is just a few miles away and you are in the middle of numerous cultural and natural attractions yet in a deep, pretty forest. We stayed in one of the few full hook-up sites. Sites were nicely separated with lots of trees and underbrush. There are also many other sites that have water and sewer only (strange no electricity) and primitive sites. We arrived on a Saturday night and although the place was full it was very quiet. There are many, many hiking and biking trails that leave from or are very close to the campground. While there is no camp store, they do sell ice and bundles of firewood on site. AT&T cell service was very weak at best and usually not available. We received approximately a dozen TV stations with our over the air antenna. The restrooms were new (with the exception of one in the "Hardtimes" loop) and while OK, I was not impressed with the cleaning. Although not filthy by any means, they were clearly not thoroughly cleaned daily, particularly the showers in the "Lakeside" loop. Not a huge deal, but I've seen stronger efforts at other campgrounds. One thing I was surprised to see was hand soap in the bathrooms. What a concept! One other minor complaint is the lack of playground equipment for the children. A few hiccups aside, I would strongly recommend this campground, and will not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$12
Excellent park! Very friendly staff. Very private, paved sites with trees all around. Our only complaint is lack of cell phone service and our satellite dish could not pick up any stations due to all of the trees, which was a mixed blessing. If you want to get away from the electronic world this is a great place to do that and yet be very close to the great city of Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
This was a very good campground. Clean and well maintained with a lot to do in the area. Staff was friendly. The only two small gripes are the staff asks to see your camping pass each and every time you enter AND leave which is unnecessary since sometimes you are behind a line of people and they do allow you to just pass through. Also, the lake (more like a large pond, which is a good thing), is PACKED with people. A confusing tidbit on this CG is the layout of the site amenities. There are only a few full hookups and they seem random. There are many (some of the best sites) in my opinion, with only water and sewer and no electric. Why water only? This seemed odd to us at best. Otherwise, it is a great place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This park is in the middle of a beautiful forest, very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and just minutes from Asheville. We stayed here for a month and loved hiking and sightseeing. The bathrooms are new and kept very clean. The lake is an added feature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We just returned from this campground- we stayed 5 nights in lot #55 in the Lake loop area- our lot had full hookups. It was wonderful! one of the best campgrounds we have been too. You can't beat the price of $25 per night. The campground is very private. The lots are very spacious and shaded with LOTS of trees! The lakeside loop is a very short walk to the lake. Walked the path a few minutes and were at the lake. It is a beautiful area to walk or you can ride bikes (it was less hilly in the area near the lake and was an easy ride on the rocks). The campground has a lot of hills so it is hard to ride very long in some areas. The showers and bathrooms were very nice and clean. This campground is perfect...I would even put it at a 10 rating. Perfect!! Close to downtown Asheville (10-15 minute drive) and a very clean, quiet, private campground, plenty to do (there is a beach located at the lake to swim, ride bikes in a lot of areas)--what more would you want in a campground? The closest grocery store is called "Ingles" it has everything and is only a minute drive from the campground. Didn't see a lot of restaurants close to the campground but there is a Ryans steakhouse, McDonalds and a few more places in the area. The hosts/volunteers were all very friendly also. I would recommend this campground 100%! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
We stayed here for four nights while we explored the Asheville area. This is a very nice campground. Tall trees are everywhere. The roads were newly paved which made for a smooth ride. However, the sites weren't very level; lots that we saw sloped quite a bit. There are trails all over the area that you can ride your bike on or hike on. The lake is a short walk away from the camp sites. The NC Arboretum and the Blue Ridge Parkway very close and easy to get to. Yes, it's a 10-15 minute drive into Asheville, BUT staying here was worth it. It's quiet, clean, pretty, and the hosts/volunteers were nice and always had a smile on their faces. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
This National Forest campground is managed by Cradle of Forestry personnel. It's location on the edge of Asheville provides convenient access to the many tourist activities that Asheville provides. Campsites are shaded, well spaced, and quiet. The showerhouse serving the Lakeside loop was clean and brand new. All campground roads were in the process of being repaved. We overnighted here on our way to the beach. We've stayed at many of the private campgrounds in Asheville, but Lake Powhatan will be our #1 choice in the future. Price reflects the Golden Age discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Very nice campground. Close to Asheville. We camped here while visiting the Biltmore Estate. Restrooms were very clean, but only one shower, one toilet and sink per gender in our section. Nice easy hiking trails, nice lake with beach. Nice semi-shaded (leveled) gravel campsite. Only a few sites with all hookups. Highly recommended if visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
This is a clean, well maintained park with paved interior roads and gravel sites. The campground hosts were helpful and very friendly. All sites have level areas, but some are only large enough for a tent or pop-up trailer. Less than half the sites have a large enough level area to accommodate a large RV. The park is located in the Pisgah National Forest and all site are shaded, probably making satellite reception difficult. There is a small lake with a sandy beach within walking distance. The park is hilly and there are lots of hiking and biking trails. The area attracts mountain bike riders who ride the Bent Creek area trails, however casual bike riders may not find it enjoyable. The dump station has a tight turn that should be fixed. We had to unhook our towed vehicle to make it through. Hosts told us the area gets busy on weekends, but we camped mid week in May and the park was only about 10% full. We used our Senior Pass for a 50% discount off the $20 fee, plus an extra $5 for electric. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Great campground! Camp hosts were extremely helpful, friendly, and professional. The sites allow for some privacy and are spacious. Whole campground was kept clean and the hosts attend to maintenance and upkeep regularly. This campground is very convenient to shopping in Asheville, but seems like it's deep in a forest. Bathrooms very clean, showers clean also. Big fire rings, big picnic tables, reasonable prices and location. The only down side is that this campground closes on Oct 31. I would camp here in the winter if it was open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
Pisgah National Forest – Lake Powhatan Campground Asheville,NC – Friday, Saturday & Sunday May 1,2,3, Site 93 Hardtimes Loop/ $20 but add on if 3 way hookup which you can only get if host sites are not filled. Golden Age Pass applies so take 50% off just the base fee. The directions are easy to follow to this National Forest Campground but some of the roads are narrow off of highway 191. This park has four big loops or areas and they are all on hills – the whole park is hilly. There is a beach for swimming, showers in some loops, dump station and many trailheads in the park for hiking. If you are in excellent shape and in your twenties you can bike all around but it is very difficult for someone who is not! It is on Highway 191 right off of I-26 just before you enter Asheville with many shopping malls and stores around. It is right next to an entrance to the Blue Ridge parkway and within three miles of the Folk Art Center and the Destination Center – two good places to visit on the parkway. The North Carolina Arboretum back entrance is on the road to the campground. Dogwood Trees were all in bloom so it was very pretty driving in. It is also close to the Biltmore Estate for visiting and an easy trip downtown but Asheville is a city and the traffic is heavy especially on Fridays and Saturdays. The site we had was hard to get into but there are many that are easy. All the hosts that we met were very nice, friendly and informative. We would stay here again. There is so much to see in Asheville and on the Blue Ridge that you can not do it all in just three days! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Spacious, shaded, relatively private and well maintained sites, an abundance of beautiful hiking and biking trails, a lovely, sand beach, excellent security, a helpful and gracious staff, and easy access to a variety of local attractions (including the North Carolina Arboretum just down the road) make this a wonderful campground in which to enjoy a peaceful camping experience. Campers should be aware, though, that the gates are locked at 10 p.m. nightly (you can park outside the gate and walk in if you want to enjoy Asheville's magnificent nightlife until a later time). The restroom facilities -- though well maintained -- may be somewhat inadequate (a single toilet, sink and shower were provided in our loop's men's restroom). We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
A very private park and gives you the real camping experience. We camped in a 37' motor home and towing a Jeep and we had no trouble making the turn at the dump station. True we did walk through that loop before doing it, but it wasn't an issue really. We swung wide and all that but made it easy. Plenty of spigots around the campground to get water as needed, just not on any campsites. I think you could drive up to one in your RV/camper and fill up without any trouble though. It is easy to get to and the roads aren't too steep or winding. We love it. They are closed for several winter months so be aware of that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
Primitive camping for the most part. The four or so sites that had electricity were filled with camp hosts. The hosts were very nice and we got some free kindling to start our fire. The bathrooms were ok and the one shower in the restroom was clean. The water level at the lake was low but we are in a drought. The lake is small (big pond) but makes for a good swimming place for kids. The lake is a bit of a hike from most of the campsites. I guess 3/8 mile but you can drive to the lake. Lots of hiking trails. it was very quiet and the leaves were beautiful. We spent 5 nights here. I did not use the dump station because I felt I could not get my 24 foot travel trailer and truck turned around on the very small loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$16
This is a primitive facility campground without electric hookups, but does have water and sewer. We found the campground managers to be very helpfull and friendly. The sites are relatively private and large. There is a recreation lake, but this is not a campground loaded with facilities for children. This is a true campground instead of an RV park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2004
$16
There are only two non-host sites that have water or electric. This is a primitive campground in the foothills of the mountains around West Asheville, about a mile from the entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway. All sites are in the forest, very natural setting. If you are looking for a luxurious place to set up you satellite TV/internet, this is not for you. If you are looking for a campground where you can take your family and enjoy fishing at the lake, this is it. Asheville places to visit are just a short distance from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com