223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Guadalupe River State Park (GRSP) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (830) 438-2656
CGID4744

Guadalupe River State Park (GRSP)

Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   7   7   7   10   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
Gave it an 8 because no sewer or 50 amp, otherwise easily a 9. Very quiet park. Camped here between Christmas and New Years. Camped here in a 40 ft 5th wheeler. Half the sites are suited for this size trailer. The other half would have been pretty tight. Our site was flat as a board and level. The neighbor had to use a couple of levelers. Each site also has a good, large, new tent pad either next to or behind RV site. Roads are large to get to the sites. Sites 55-65 are deep deep. Had to be a little careful backing in to avoid some small branches that need to be cut. We were able only to extend our awning about 75% of the way due to low branches. Our camper has three large slides but still had good room on each side once we backed it in correctly. This is a 30 amp park. We only come here in the late fall, winter and early spring when we will not need both air conditioners blasting. River area is awesome - clear wide flowing river - knee deep in most parts - much deeper in others. Pulling into ranger station is a little daunting with a bigger rig, with a narrow entrance. You have to watch both sides carefully not to wipe out building or guard shack - easily doable - just be careful. Good water pressure. Both their water storage tanks here were at 95% so that probably helped a lot also. About 50% of the sites have a lot of trees between the sites - the others are kind of close. Each site has solid picnic table and fire ring. Staff was very friendly. Internet is hit and miss. We were driving around and was getting 5 bars, and then no bars. In the Turkey Loop where we were half the sites had a marginal signal and half didn't. T-Mobile and AT&T worked out here fine; both had 4G. Quiet park. Not a lot to do, which is great. They have a very good bird sanctuary and tours on Saturday. Trails are nice but more on the rustic side, maintained, but not so well. To me this is a perfect park to be close to San Antonio or to simply want some peace and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Excellent park. Ranger guided hiking at dusk for all ages. My young daughters really enjoyed this park even though we were there during a burn ban and severe drought. Great hiking, biking, swimming and overall activities making for a great workout. Very professional, helpful Park Rangers, office personnel, and field representatives. All sites are back ins with table, shade, and fire ring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
We love GRSP. This was our 3rd trip there in the last 5 years. Since we have had a little rain this spring in Texas, everything was green with lots of wildflowers and the river was flowing well. We stayed in site 69 which was a little tight for our 40 foot 5th wheel (with 4 slides). We didn't have enough room to let out our awning. Lots of birds. My wife kept track and we saw about 39 different types of birds. We took a hike with the Park Interpretive Ranger on Sunday morning and it was awesome. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
We picked this park to stay at while visiting the San Antonio area. But, it ended up being 40 miles from there, making for long days when we went into the city. Over the weekend the park was completely full. The park is about 3 miles off Texas Route 46, on the Guadalupe River which is a lovely, shallow river bordered by bald cypress trees. The nearest city with a full array of services is Boerne. Fee shown does not include the $5 per person, per day entrance fee as we had a park pass (well worth the cost of $70 in discounts and waivers of fees). Sites were paved in the water/electric sites. Many were shaded for the very hot weather the first two days we were there. We enjoyed a relaxing stay there and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Nice, typical, rustic Texas state park. This park's major attraction is swimming in the scenic river. May not be for you if not planning to swim / relax by the river daily. Hiking trails are not great for scenic appeal as compared to many other Texas state parks. Discovery center for kids is nice, but takes less than an hour to explore. One exceptional feature was owl calling at dusk by the river as suggested by a park ranger. Barred owls were prevalent and responsive to human calling. Google barred owls to learn how to do it. It is very easy and this greatly helped our enjoyment of this park as there is not too much to do here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$17
Quiet campsite (winter kept everyone indoors) with a weekend park tour that's really great! The Guadalupe River is nearby and worth the river walk. It's convenient to San Antonio if you're looking for city life. Laundry facilities, however are scarce. Small communities nearby are quaint and worth the visit. One problem which cost us dearly (the $500 deductible on our insurance) was an electrical malfunction at our site. Our in-line tester nicely shut down the power before too much damage was done but we lost an $800 TV and required $225 repairs on our water heater. We reported the problem to the rangers, were advised to move (we did) but were disappointed to see that another camper was on the site a day later during a holiday week when repairs were likely not available. Unfortunately, the site number is not in my reservation record (it's assigned when you enter and I think it was 54) so I cannot provide accurate specifics about the problem location. I just hope they've fixed it-it was an expensive stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Beautiful state park with nice, private sites. Plenty of space to spread out and enjoy the stars. Park was full when we were here but very quiet. It is a short walk to the river which is very scenic and has lovely walking trails and a day use area with picnic sites and restroom station. We were here in late fall so we did not see any tubing on the river, just a few kayaks. Water was cold! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
We enjoyed this park quite a bit. The big draw, of course, is the river, which was pretty low and wouldn't support canoeing which is what we originally hoped to do. We did a few park programs (star gazing, dragon fly 101, all about bats) and the staff was just outstanding. The park interpreter was great with the kids and was an excellent communicator. The camp site was relatively level and the site layout was nicely wooded. The sites were a bit close for my tastes, but not a huge complaint. The office sells ice, which is good, as the nearest store is around 10 miles out. Nearest wal-mart is 17 miles or so, one way. Although we camped in the RV spots (pop-up camper), we checked out the tent only walk up area and thought it looked really great. Some excellent hiking down to the river from the tent sites would make this a great spot to tent camp. We'll definitely go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
We simply camped for the day setting up trailer in Turkey Site. Great area to get away for the day and hang out with family. Lots of hiking, bicycle riding, reading, and ball sports. We are looking forward to spending a few nights here. Wide sites, picnic table on cement, and plenty of room between campers. Although river is low, there are great views of rock back drop along the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Other than the occasional rude park employee very pretty clean nice park. Just remember to keep your id on you at all times if using a park pass! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
This is an excellent park. The river is perfect for playing in. The water is safe for children. There are picnic tables near the river with barbecues if needed. The scenic view is amazing. There is a vast array of animals and birds you can spot throughout the park. There is lots of shade at your site. There is a nice little playground nearby as well. Hiking as much as you want, or leisure stroll on paved smooth roads that are awesome for bikes as well. You are accessible to many attractions nearby in New Braunfels, San Marcos and other nearby cities. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
The sites are gravel/asphalt back ins, and most are level. Ours happened to have the front wheels off the ground to level, but others appeared to be more level than our site. The campsites are very secluded with trees all around and difficult to see your neighbors. Each site had picnic tables on a concrete slab, lantern stand, fire ring and a fairly level tent site as well. You need to bring another vehicle to haul your tubes and rafts down to the river launching area. The river picnic area fills up quickly on the weekends so get here early. During the week it's not very crowded. It takes about 40 minutes float time to leave the park, then 20 minutes to hike back and do it again. The park is also conveniently located to Fiesta Texas (about 20 minutes), Sea World (about 30 minutes), the Outlet Mall in San Marcos (about 35 minutes), and Cabela's (about 45 minutes). We hit all of them in the 6 days we were here. The main draw back to this park is the lack of individual dump facilities and 50 amp at the site, particularly for extended stays. The restroom and shower facilities were old but well maintained. We enjoyed the stay and will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We just stayed here mostly so we could go to Fiesta Texas. This park is about 25 minutes from Fiesta Texas -- a short little drive really and the price is good! Partly shady or mostly shady sites, and a river to play in! River is WAY down but still flowing and clear. Burn ban still enforced, but you can have small personal grills for cooking. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Park was very clean and the staff was courteous. Sites are large and level, with utility hookups well positioned. It is a bit of a hike to the river. I would advise driving if you're carrying ice chests, small children, etc. The park by the river is well appointed with restrooms, a playground, and numerous pick nick tables. There was a total burn ban in effect, so no fires were allowed, not even for charcoal grilling. Sad, but this part of Texas is experiencing its worst drought in 50 years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Nice Park. River has lots of picnic tables, and places for adults and children to swim and play in the water. Fishing was excellent. Campsites have good seperation from each other. Campsites are a bit of a hike to the river, but should not provide much difficutly for most. Bring you own firewood, bundles provided by the state are small, five pieces of wood per bundle, it's cedar, and did not burn very well. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
This is one of our favorite state parks, and always try to stay here at least one night while in the area. Wide roads, sites are all back ins but very large and secluded from other campers. Lots of trees. River is not @ the campgrounds but within hiking distance. River front has picnic tables and very pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
This is a state park. Sites are huge, only back ins, no sewer but park has a dump station. Camp sites are not on the river, but within hiking distance. The river area has tables, bathrooms and plenty of fishing areas. Camp sites are paved with a picnic table on slab, fire ring and a tent area for tents. Television is not available unless you have your own dish or setup. Roads are wide and paved. This is a good park just to get away and enjoy nature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
This park was OK and we would consider staying here again if we are in the area; however, our back-in site was very unlevel, tight and not big rig friendly. The area was muddy with little grass. The restrooms and showers were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$18
This is a beautiful Texas State Park: some sites had water and electric while other sites had just water. No sewer is available at the campsites, but they have a couple of dumps. The park is quiet and peaceful. We stayed 10 days. The park could be a great place if only the state of Texas would install sewer at the campsites. The restrooms were warm and clean and showers were cleaned regularly. There is a river running through the park that is beautiful. Fishing was slow, but did not have to have a fishing license because of Texas' gift this year to the fisherman: no license if fishing in some of the parks. Check local parks. A burn ban was in force while we were here, so that was kind of a let down, but all in all this is a great place to rest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com