219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Morro Strand State Beach was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (805) 772-8812
CGID4747

Morro Strand State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   6   9   9   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
I have camped at this campground since the 1980s. The setting is beautiful. There used to be outdoor showers, but those were taken out a few years ago. We still love the park for the setting. A trolley takes you into town on the weekends during the summer. Kids love to walk to the tidepools. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This park has a good location, but has not been kept up. No showers, old bathrooms are standard now in California parks. Campground is a parking lot and the sand has many burrs and stickers. A recent walk on the beach had us scrambling for lighter fluid to remove the tar from our feet! A rowdy crowd kept us up at night and there is no night supervision to speak of. Nice to be near town and the beach, but having to pay double for my rig did not endear the place to me. Will probably head elsewhere on our next trip. Lots to do in town, though! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
My family and I camped at Morro Strand State Beach a few months ago. Overall, the location of the campground can’t be beat. You are within a short walk of the shore and the sunsets are incredible, (if you’re lucky enough to not have had the fog roll in). The view of Morro Rock in the distance adds to the ambiance of the campground. There are also some incredible tide pools just north of the campground. The sites themselves are fairly spartan. A table and a fire-ring are provided. Water is readily available in each area and the bathrooms were maintained and clean. (No showers. Not even cold ones to rinse off sand.) The only problem with the campground is that you are packed in like sardines. When they say that the minimum trailer length here is 24 feet, they aren’t kidding. This wasn’t a problem when the site next to us was unoccupied, but as soon as a family moved in next door, it made for a very cramped site. We had a site along the beach side, and for the first three nights we were there, no one occupied the site next to ours. We had neighbors two sites away, but it made for a pleasant time. When the weekend arrived, however, we had a group of about eight people set up next to us. They set up one of their tents approximately four feet from our fire-ring, and we were constantly saying “excuse me” as we walked from the front of our rig to where our tow vehicle was parked. Literally, the “site” was the area directly in front of our trailer. When turning this from a parking lot to a campground, they should have made each site 36 feet each, not 24. It would have made the whole experience there that much more enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Great place to spend a couple days on the beach. It would have gotten a 10 if it had any amenities besides the location. We had to take two spots (30ft trailer) but it was worth the extra money. The boardwalk in Morro Bay is nice and the food at the restaurant on the north end where the road curves sharply to the right had good food. Morro Rock was also nice and you can drive right up to it if you want. I would imagine that the park is packed all summer. The park this time of year was practically empty, no reservations required. I'd go back there for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
Our favorite place to stay. Its not primitive, but there are no RV services. Used a generator for electric, filled our water tanks for showers and dishes, propane for heating/fridge. Generators have to be off by 8pm, not like other camp sites of 10pm. The host will come by and make sure yours is off if its on and past 8pm. Nice listening to the ocean at night, beach is just a short walk down. We camp with our dog and its a pet friendly park, but use your leash. We have a 28 ft 5th wheel and just barely made it into our site. I would not recommend anything larger as the sites are very small and close quarters. Open fire pits are awesome for making smores. Picnic tables at each site. Some have trees and some not. Enjoyed our stay there and will continue to stay there often. Surf is ok for the area. Great place to build sand castles. Plenty of beach to run down and get a good morning jog in. Enjoy your stay here as its one of our all time favorites! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
Max 27 foot unless you buy 2 spaces. Converted day use parking lot. Fire rings and picnic tables at each site. right on the edge of the beach. Wonderful location. No showers We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Love this place! It looks like a converted parking lot that's broken up (by the restroom buildings) into three sections. We got a center space at the end section which allowed us to have two "spaces". Each meal we could sit in our trailer and look out on the ocean which is mere yards away. And the beach itself is great. The birding is tremendous. We rented wet suits and boogie boarded for a couple of days. Nice staff as well. We loved it so much we stayed much longer than planned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$20
Super place to camp, right by the beach 100 yards away. No hookups or dump station here but you can use dump station at the Morro Bay campground. This was an old day use parking lot converted to camping area. Not but about 5 sites that can handle a big unit. If those are taken you have to pay for 2 sites. Very local to town and everything you need. Just south 15 miles of where the Elephant Seals come in the winter to mate. Definitely would go back but you gotta like boondocking or a perfect nights stay. Hosts are super friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com