214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Payson Campground RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (928) 472-2267
CGID4751

Payson Campground RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   2   7   7   6   8   4   7   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
This park is one of those parks that advertises gravel sites and roads, but forgets that the gravel was put in 15 years ago. The grounds are 80% dirt and little pea gravel. This park is a dust bowl! The park offers no propane or supplies of any kind. The WiFi is poor and there is one trash bin for 80 sites. When I contacted the office in regards to receiving a package, I was told to contact the Post Office for a P.O. Box. Receiving customer's mail was too much trouble for them. There are three parks down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
Narrow sites leave no room for awnings, picnic table or fire ring unless you have a small rig under 32'. Water pressure very low. 50amp sites for long term stays, most sites 30amp only. Park seems friendly until they have your money, then they think they can say whatever they like to you and if you don't like it you can leave, and no refunds. WiFi ok for web surfing and email, but will not support streaming movies or Skype. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Office staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We arrived on a Sat. to stay a week, and they only had one site left. They allowed us to stay one night there and move to a better site the next day. This is a great park for kids. The park is dog friendly, but they also do not tolerate barking. A rig parked beside us with small barking dogs that barked for hours, and they were given a warning when we complained. The noisy dogs left the next day. Sites are close but separated by bushes to give some privacy. Most sites are not level, and the park is hilly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
We stay here on a monthly basis, hence our rate is lower than the normal daily. We have stayed here for the past three years during the winter season and are very satisfied with the park, the management and the owners. We like this park because it is not an asphalt parking lot but is truly a campground in the trees but very close to town. I agree it is not for those who demand fancy amenities but it is for those who love the outdoors and a sense of adventure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Having looked at some of the previous remarks, I'll add that; yes, the lady at the check in was nice, but looks aren't everything. She was efficient, but didn't even ask the length of my rig before assigning a site. Maybe she saw it as I drove past. (?) I'm not certain I'd want to drive a fifth wheel into this place as there were many hills to negotiate with relatively sharp corners. The site we had was very unlevel. It took 3 inches of leveling and exact placement to get where we could connect to utilities and be level at the same time. The wind was not blowing, but I could see where if it were, sand in the air would be an issue. I did not see roaming pit bulls (or other dogs roaming about unleashed for that matter.) All RVs that were about seemed to be relatively clear of junk or other refuse, (in reply to other posting individuals). There did seem to be a severe problem with erosion, as the park is on a hill and the chief leveling material is sand rather than gravel. A concern I had was that the waste water dumping tube for my site was a good three feet below my site. As a result, I did not use it. The parks has many trees of good size and some of the sites are are placed with several trees between neighbors. I'm not sure I would go back to this park, as the overnight price seemed a bit steep for the winter amenities (pool was covered). Frankly, Payson RV parks could use some competition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
The lady in the office was one of the nicest people I have ever met in a campground. Park has nice shade and sites are nice. Seems as there are a lot of people who live here. It turned nasty on the weekend. Loud party nearby from 6:30 AM until after 10 PM. I have no problem with people being loud and having fun, but at least give the rest of us a break during quiet time. My biggest problem with this park though is the dogs that they let in. The weekend brought 2 huge pit bulls next to us. I went out in the morning and a dog that looked like a hyena-pit bull mix was running loose. We have a 13 pound older poodle that we had to worry about getting attacked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
Charged high season less Good Sam. Pool is not open yet. NARROW pull through sites. Had to trim the shrubs on both sides to put out my slides. Can't get to the basement doors with the slides out. This site was level enough to keep the rear tires on the ground. BUT Sewer connection is above our outlet. Only 30 amp connections at our pull through site. No Cable. One station available on antenna. WI-FI is very slow. Tried myspeedonline.com and would not even complete test. Verizon 3g and phone OK. Pass up this town and go on. We were forced here as there was an accident on 260 to Holbrook for 6+ hours which closed the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Stayed one night: they were full we could not get another day. Nice CG, close to attractions, shopping and dining. Dog friendly, but no where to let him off leash. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Well lets start off by telling you there ia a "NO REFUND" policy here. That should be the first clue that this is truly in all the years we have traveled the WORST DUMP I HAVE EVER STAYED AT. OK, its' privately owned, what that translates to is no money or effort in up keep. Most places are for "long termers" this translates to people who store their junky old RVs there. Worse yet the electricity is so bad that you can only run the AC (barely too) or the refridgerator or the microwave, forget using more that one at a time the power is intermittent and poor. No tables or fire pits or BBQ,s because the spaces are so small that you have to park there. This place is a joke, I recommend Walmart parking lot first. The dust bowl is a joke too, don't try to eat ouside unless you like dirt on your food! AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Although roads were narrow, we had no trouble with a 30' motor home and a tow car. Office was closed on Sunday afternoon, but could do everything at the self-check-in station which had a list of available sites. Had a pull-through that was long enough to stay hitched. These sites are terraced so even though they are narrow, you don't feel like you are right on top of the next rig. Enjoyed walking the dog through the wooded campground. Pool area looked very nice. Very convenient to downtown Payson and whatever you would need. Walking distance to restaurants, grocery, etc. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
Payson Campground and RV Park is aptly named. It has the flavor of a campground with most sites tucked into the trees and some a bit more open for bigger rigs. The sites range from small tent sites to large RV sites and the current staff make a good effort at keeping them reasonably level. As previous reviewers have noted, the roads are dirt and wind through the trees but are certainly navigable by big rigs with drivers who possess an adventurous spirit. If you are looking for a RV parking lot, this is not for you. However, if you like the feel of camping in the forest, with full hookups, but are still in town, it's great! The laundry is fine (although a bit pricey), Wi-Fi is adequate at or near the clubhouse and the restrooms are very clean. Depending on your site choice you may need to drag out the portable TV dish for satellite TV. The only negative I noted is the water system. Water quality is great, water delivery pressure suffers frequently. We plan to camp here again in the future. It is VERY convenient to everything in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This campground was really difficult to navigate in and out of. It was very primitive, and little had been to to make the park setting comfortable, especially for the price. Too bad it's the only RV Park in the area. The people operating the park seemed clueless, and a bit disorganized. I was really unimpressed, and will not return here. The Forest Service campgrounds nearby are a much better option if you are in the Payson area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
This campground was very hilly. A larger motorhome might be nervous. People were quiet and friendly. It is among trees, pleasant. We stayed one night on our maiden voyage and would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2008
$30
If you are in a big rig stay away from this campground. It is dusty, the interior roads are very narrow, the sites short and no where near level. As an x-KOA it also has a lot of trees. We did not stay here, but drove through the park to check it out. We have a 40' motor home with four slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Park was very nice and clean. Dusty sites and lots of children. It was not as woodsy and private as we would of liked it to have been. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$25
Very nice kept campground ex KOA. Good clean power and connections. Some sites are cramped but they have others plenty big enough for the biggest rigs. Our's is 40' 5 slides and we had plenty of room. They give a Good Sams discount of 10% We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
Although this RV park is located in the town of Payson, all the sites (and roads) are dirt and average in size. Some sites are level, some are not. No wifi is available and the TV reception can be marginal. The restrooms are excellent, as are the showers and swimming pool. The management is friendly except for the mostly absentee owners. They are a very different story - and don't much care for dogs! There are a few permanent residents living in rather modest RVs here which detract from the park's attempt to be upscale. If it were not for the full service sites, I think a much nicer RV spot would be just north of town (1 mile) in the Forest Service campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com