206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Yosemite Lakes was rated 6 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (209) 962-0103
CGID4763

Yosemite Lakes

Camp Information
Sites
430
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   5   7   3   6   7   7   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
Friendly staff, good sized back in site. No TV coverage and very poor WiFi. However, lots to do if you had kids at the park. 25 miles from the great park of Yosemite! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$3
We liked this Park......we had a river site with a small area right next to the water....beautiful! All utilities worked well, although watch your voltage when its hot. I used my Auto-former to keep voltage at an acceptable level. The pedestals use to have 50 amps available, but none are functioning now. The lounge could use some cleaning and a fresh coat of paint. The "Golf Cart Police" need to pay more attention to over crowded campsites, too many cars at a campsite and late night gatherings on the weekend. With these shortcomings, the area and relaxing nature of this campground make up for all. No Verizon coverage and No T-Mobile. We will return here. Its proximity to Yosemite makes it all worth it. Our rate was Thousand Trails member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
Rate reflects RPI member. Interior asphalt roads with unlevel sites--only 30 amp available. No phone, newspaper, TV is tough to get, WiFi at the club house extremely slow--very isolated spot. Very pretty area--Close to Yosemite NP. That would be the only reason to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
This is a membership style park, although during the winter months the part where members stay is closed and you will be placed in the public part of the park. Member part is open April-Oct then closes to winterize. The public part is pretty level has a fire pit and picnic table at each site and is just across the street from the member section. The member part has tent sites, cabins and RV sites, some sites back the river and are shaded. This park is in the forest and about 30 miles from Yosemite Park via Hwy 120. During my stay there were maybe 10 people and it was very Quiet. Getting here in the summer when it is hot may be hard on your RV as the climb up 120 is steep and slow going. If your are looking for a RV resort this in not your type of place. Camping, fishing, hiking you will like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$52
If we were in the market for a Thousand Trails membership and this was the first TT park we visited, we would save our money. The lodge and facilities were dilapidated and completely neglected. Reminded us of a boys camp. The walls of the Adult Lodge upstairs were in dire need of paint. Lighting was so bad we couldn't use the ping pong table. The pool table was the worst we've ever seen. Our site was ok, but was in the far end of the park. Very uneven ground with lots of burrowing critters. No grass, just weeds. No cell phone service or Wi-Fi. There was Wi-Fi at the lodge but it was extremely slow. We really felt isolated. On the plus side, it was close to Yosemite. We will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Stayed using a: Ready Camp Go card. Late in season, very few campers here. In a valley so no TV or Cell coverage via antenna. Did use Wi-Fi with antenna from my camp site. Good for limited data: ie email, weather report, etc. Staff friendly and reasonable. Lodge has large screen TV, games, and a fire place. Older but okay. Would stay here again since it is only six miles from Yosemite boundary. Getting here, there is quite an elevation rise from west of Groveland, but certainly do able for most. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$1
We are Thousand Trails members. Nice enough park for Thousand Trails - not a wow. Adult Lodge needs some maintenance. We had a long pull through site which was fine - if park is full the sites are close together and you would have no privacy. Since this was at the end of September all the occupied sites were spaced out. No AT&T coverage. We used Wi-Fi in the adult lodge which was adequate but slow. Very difficult roads to get here, but we wanted to visit Yosemite thus we stayed here. We would not stay here again due to the lack of cell or internet coverage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$52
This was the second campground of 6 which I had booked in advance for our 2 week marathon and was the one I had most concerns about before we got there given some of the reviews. However, all told it was fine and a great base from which to explore Yosemite. It would have been nice to stay in the valley but I wasn't quick enough to get a site there. On the plus side, we had full hook-ups for the 3 nights we spent there which we wouldn't have had in the valley. The facilities were fine with clean and hot showers and sizeable pitches. It is true that the public part of the site is across the road from the main body and there are no pull-throughs but it was quiet and really not a problem. Main issues were that the Wi-Fi was only available down in a 'lodge' by the reception and the reception staff could have been a little friendlier although they were helpful when asked about things. The river was nice, but not for swimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
Don't come to this park expecting peace and quiet, it is strictly a vacation get-away and let loose kind of place. Lots of groups, lots of noise. Also, despite the name, don't come expecting lakes. There are none, unless you count the pond of stagnant water you can't get down to anyway. Actually, the best section of the park is the terrace which is set aside for non-members. The tent section is very nice. The "Adult Lodge" is a joke. It's upstairs from the main "Lodge" and the ping pong table and pool table are both up there and so are kids. Like most Thousand Trails properties, this one needs some TLC. It is quite beat up. The only thing that appealed to us is its proximity to Yosemite National Park. The staff were efficient and accommodating. It's a busy place and there is not much time for chit-chat. It's ok for what it is. At least it had full hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Very dusty, Wi-Fi is USELESS. Worse than Dial-up. Gestapo will chase you down to tell you to slow down when you're not speeding and let others just fly by. Grass is not mowed. We stayed as guests of a Thousand Trails members. Would never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
There are two areas of this campground. One for members (Thousand Trails), and another for "public" campers. The public sites are fine, but not as nice as the member sites. (I marked waterfront unavailable because the stream front sites were only available to Thousand Trails members.) The showers and restrooms were okay, but the water pressure was anemic and the temperature was just tepid. Wi-Fi was only available at the "family lodge." The staff were usually friendly, but not enthusiastic. What this park has going for it is it's proximity to Yosemite. It's really the only one this close. I think Thousand Trails should either make this a members only park or open all the sites to everyone. The way it is now, the non-members resent being second class citizens, and the members probably resent the fact that people who did not pay a membership fee are still allowed to use the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
OK facilities, unfriendly staff, Wi-Fi only in clubhouse, very hard drive in with big rig, no pull throughs for non-members of 1000 trails. We had to leave early after one day of a planned four day stay we tried to cancel the last two - they offered no refund. Gas and food at the store were grossly overpriced. not as much fun as it should have been due to surly staff - they just did not care. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$1
Any approach you make to Yosemite Lakes NACO will be somewhat of a challenge. From the west there is narrow, windy Priest Grade to deal with; from the south you must drive into Yosemite Park and then drive up the narrow, windy grade out of the park to reach Yosemite Lakes NACO. It is worth the effort, and the winter months are "off" season except for a few long term folks who enjoy the snow. Preserve staff is friendly and helpful and the amenities are in good shape and clean. We missed a blizzard by six hours when we pulled out Dec. 18th. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$01
This was a wonderful park, and we stayed for nearly three weeks. It was just 5 miles out of Yosemite National Park. The park has hundreds of RV sites as well as yurts and cabins. Other amenities include a general store, a lodge with cable TV and WiFi, mini golf, horseshoes, shuffleboard, basketball court, nice playground, river with swim hole, and trails for hiking. The only drawbacks were the lack of cell phone reception and the staff which was sometimes less than helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
We thought this was a nice campground. The sites are not very private, but it was very clean. The staff was very friendly. The river was a nice place to walk. We enjoyed playing miniature golf, and horseshoes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
Stayed as TTN/NACO members while touring Yosemite. Park was great. Easy to access pull through sites with clear sky for satellite and room for tow dolly. Store was very expensive but prices in Groveland are much better. Yosemite NP in July was a madhouse, but Yosemite Lakes was great. WiFi worked well but only in or adjacent to the great lodge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
The nightly rate reflects our Thousand Trails membership. This site is very tired. The staff appear to do as they wish. Lots of rules and regulations, most of which were not enforced. If it was not for our membership, we would not stay here again. Neglected is probably the best way to describe the site. Verizon and T-Mobile had no reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Wi-Fi is only available at the Lodge. The river flowing at the edge of the rv park is great for kids. Would stay there again, but not in the summer, heat from the valley made the place hot in the summer time. Not too many people walking in the park in the heat of the day. Would be a great place in spring and autumn. Staff is friendly and attentive. There is no over-the-air television and no cable TV. Great place for kids. No cell phone service available. But, has free phone at lodge for members to call the 1-800 numbers for phone calling cards. Recommend buying a pre-paid phone card to use there. There are two coin pay public phones at front outside of the office. Camped there using our RPI membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This park was OK. It's located well, close to the Park entrance. You need a reservation - we saw people turned away because they didn't have one. Once you get there, it is a first come, first serve as far as picking a particular site, so be ready to search for a nice one. Nonmembers are located outside the 'gated community', but the sites were fine. Restrooms/showers were rustic but clean. The staff did not seem overly friendly - just business-like. Laundry facilities were good. WI-FI was only at the Lodge, and it was pretty slow. We would only stay here again if there was nothing inside the National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
It seems that 1000 Trails is on the downhill side of their existence. This could be a beautiful park if it was kept up. We selected an open site in the grass to receive satellite TV, which we did. Grass was about 6 inches tall and no one came by to mow in the two weeks we were here. Buildings are just short of dilapidated. Absolutely NO activities, no food facility, no pool, not much to do other than visit Yosemite. Many pot holes and during a rain, they even had to block off an entrance to our parking area as they did not prepare the surface properly and a large sinking mudhole appeared. Many other negative comments written by others still apply. It's run down and in need of repair and upgrading. Personnel were not the friendliest either. Their store, which is on the main hiway and far away from the park, is very expensive with their gas being the most expensive in the area. On the plus side, the price was right for 1000 Trails members. As a member park, I do not appreciate outsiders coming in and taking the nice spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Membership park, but some sites across the road for general camping. Price depends on whether you have membership, camping card, etc. Call for price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$1
Rate is for Thousand Trails/NACO. We were here in the off season so only one loop was open. Were only about 10 RVs in the park. If full or near full this would be very busy. We picked a site with no one on either side of us and it was ok. If the other sites where full it would have been close. The park could use some maintenance: gravel on the sites, electric box upgrade, fill pot holes, etc. We had no TV reception off the antenna. Lots of shade. Wi-Fi worked great in the club house. No cell service with Verizon. Great place to stay to visit Yosemite National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
WAAAAAY far from Yosemite. Also had a lot of bugs. Nice riverfront sites though (when the bugs aren't attacking you) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$1
I agree with the review of July 2009. Used our Thousand Trails membership for entry. Was so disappointed the I just sent off a letter to Equity LifeStyle Properties to let them know about my experience. This preserve could be a great asset to the Thousand Trails system if they spent a little money to do long overdue maintenance. Next time I visit Yosemite NP will probably stay at Bass Lake RV Resort (a ROD facility) near the South entrance of Yosemite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
Not horrible, just disappointing for a park in the Thousand Trails system. I agree with previous posts about the overall condition of the park. It's understaffed and just looks dated. Buildings need paint and would it hurt to at least water the common areas? Maybe plant some flowers? We used the place as a base to Yosemite and that worked fine. During the week, the place was about 1/3 full. On the weekend it was about 80% full and WAY too noisy. The usual weekend stuff: people drinking and being way too loud at 12:00 at night, people letting their yappy dogs bark frantically for five minutes at anyone who walked past, etc. (Yes, my wife and I drink and travel with a dog, but this was out of line.) Proper staffing would be able to eliminate that type of stuff. There are some nice shady sights next to the river but they're packed pretty close together. I'd stay here again if it was the off season, but NEVER again during the summer, and especially not on a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We actually stayed here in 2007 but went back to check it out to see if it was better this year. We call this campground the "Land of NO". If you are not a member you are assigned to a hill overlooking the campground. You are not allowed to use the facilities but you can pay lots of money for the paddle boats if you like although I didn't even see the boats this year. The restrooms were clean enough and it is closer to Yosemite than Yosemite Pines and it does have gravel and is less dusty but overall this is a depressed campground fences are in need of repair and it looks like no one has been taking care of the place. Yosemite is so beautiful you might forget the lackluster of this campground just don't expect much when you stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$5
We last visited this park 8 years ago. Then, the park was absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed it so much that we almost didn’t feel the need to drive into Yosemite. Our recent visit was drastically different. The park was unmaintained and understaffed. The grounds are unkempt and dirty looking. The family lodge was nothing like it use to be. Half of it is boarded off, the other half is empty. There are zero activities and no more paddle boats or swimming. Park security is non-existent. The security gate is un-manned and left open 24/7. Anyone can enter the park at their own free will, and roam around unchallenged. This would be an ok place to stay for one night. Personally, we will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
This is 5 miles west of the Yosemite National Park border, however there is still a 30 minute drive to Yosemite Valley, and we are staying under RPI, so the rate is great. However, being it's not the summer season, there is just one area open to RVs, with minimal amenities available (such as the activity center). There are full hook-ups, free wifi at the clubhouse, a great laundry room with front-loading washers and dryers, a clubhouse with adult area, and the usually book exchange. There are only a few staff here this time of year, and everyone has been very nice and accommodating. We would rate this higher if we had the amenities available to us, but it is off-season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$5
Nice park, the only reason for the lower rating is the fact that they don't have 50amp service and the WI-FI doesn't really get out to the campsites. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
Stayed here with our RPI membership. The main part of the park was closed so everybody was staying in the "non" members area. It was OK, and we lucked out as the site next to us was between two trees, so nobody stayed there. 90% full on the weekend, 50% the rest of the week. Staff was friendly and helpful. Very cold at night this time of year! Yosemite was beautiful, but an hour drive away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
We had no problems as we knew about the "no membership, no amenities" rule. It was a slow week and one of the employees said our children could play on the playground even though we were not members. The non member campground is a little dusty but the sites are larger than the member sites. The camp was clean and unfortunately the dam was not in place, so fishing was out of the question. All in all not a bad place to stay if you have your own entertainment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
If you're not a Thousand Trails member, you'll be placed in the parking lot area and not the lake side. The road to the site is dusty. Only one or two sites has shade. From here, it will be an hour drive to Yosemite Valley. If you're planning to visit Yosemite and cannot get a site in Yosemite, I suggest you stay at Bass Lake area to the South rather than staying here. This location is near the West gate entry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
We chose this park because it was so close to the entrance to Yosemite National Park, but were also looking forward to the amenities. Unfortunately, 95 percent of the amenities are for "Thousand Trails" members only. Their website and staff fail to make this clear, and we were somewhat disappointed. We had made our reservations understanding that our entire group of five trailers would be guaranteed spaces beside each other, but that was not the case. The manager was helpful in finding a solution for us eventually (one trailer had to stay away from the group overnight) and their staff were generally pleasant. The non-member camping area was dusty, not very shady, but clean. For "non-members" this is a no-frills place to stay, and they should make this, and their reservation policy, clear on their website. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Yosemite Lakes RV Park is 5 miles from the west entrance to Yosemite Nat Pk. We stayed there in late May - early June, 2006. We made reservations at least 3 months prior to our arrival and were aware that this facility was a membership park that also accepted non-members. We were led to believe that all facilities were available to all guests. When we arrived, we were greeted at the guardhouse by a man who asked for evidence of our membership. We explained that we were not members but that we had reservations (and showed him the e-mail confirmation). He informed us that the park was membership only and that we would have to leave. After some discussion, we were told to back down the 200+ ft drive and directed to an administrative building down the road. We asked if we could simply turn the rig around in the park and exit. We were told: "no". We decided to do so anyhow. At the administration building, we were told (by a somewhat embarrassed hostess) that we would not be able to stay in the "members'" park but on the "terrace" across the road. We were also informed that there were no pullthroughs, no 50 amp service and that we would not be able to use most of the park facilities. The sites on the terrace were dirty, un-maintained and uneven. The firepits and bar-b-que on our site had not been cleaned in some time and the site was littered with trash and hundred of cigarette butts. The "terrace" is, at best, a dusty, dirty parking lot. In general, the rest of the staff was friendly and attempted to cooperate, but had to enforce policies of the management. We were forced to carry our LP tank approx 100 ft to have it refiled, where members could pull there vehicle within 5 ft. Diesel fuel at the store associated with this facility cost $.70 /gal more than the price at the station in Groveland. Visitors to Yosemite Nat Pk might want to consider other accommodations before settling for this high priced parking lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$29
Stayed here over spring break they weren't fully opened up, not all services open but it was ok place to stay close to the park. Lots to see. All in all we'd stay here again people were nice and for the most part helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$40
Stayed at Yosemite Lakes in early May 2006 and was excited about touring Yosemite. The area for RVs is basically a flat grassy area resembling a parking lot with no appeal i.e. no trees, landscaping, etc. Other than main entry roads were unpaved. Showers had hair, band aids, and other gross things on the floor. The staff was not very helpful. Will not be staying here again. Real downer after spending a day in the valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2004
$40
I discovered this campground by surfing the web. I was aware they were a membership park but they told me that they take reservations from non-members all the time. When we arrived, they asked me if we were members, and when I told them no they directed us across the street to a vacant lot in front of their maintenance building. If I wanted to camp inside the park, I would have to join. I told the idiot at the gate that this was explained to me when I made my reservations and he did not seem too surprised. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com