218648 User submitted reviews online!!
Drifters Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (361) 727-9105
CGID4764

Drifters Resort

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   6   10   8   10   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
Nice park close to Rockport. Easy in and out. Sites are large. Pleasant helpful staff. Would stay here again. Weekly rate works out a lot cheaper at $175. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$15
We lucked out and got a spot at this campground. Paved/gravel roads and cement sites and patio. The campground was full of very friendly winter Texans (Wisconsin, Michigan, Minnesota, Iowa etc folks). A lot of activities were offered. The only negative was that WiFi in our spot was iffy at times and Verizon cell phones did not work at the site, we had to walk close to the office to get reception. We would definitely come back to this well maintained campground and great office staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$42
We stayed here for the month of January 2014. We were greeted by very friendly staff. Also were escorted to our site which was the second one on the right as you come in the main road. This was a good thing to get escorted as the lots are filled with very low branches of live oak trees. The lots at the front get decent internet but not as you get further into the park. Cable type boxes are required to get TV. It was very cold this year and the pool was empty. Laundry 1.25 per load. Noticed someone putting dog bed and blankets into the machines..no designated machine for it. I have allergies. Also heard workers leave very early mornings from adjacent park. Very noisy. Air boats also noisy leaving early in the mornings for duck hunting. Had many sleepless nights. Not much happening in the park itself. New hall and out buildings are very clean. Find your own fun things to do. Shopping is Walmart and HEB for everything or you had to go all the way to Corpus. Ferry over to Port Aransas is nice..watch for the dolphins. Can't park on beach without permits. Not enough there to make me stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
What can you say bad about this place? Everything here from the ladies at check in to the sites are top notch. The only cons I can see (and they aren't worth mentioning but somebody might like to know) are the lower limbs on some of the trees bear watching while backing in. And depending on how far you are from the routers, the WiFi signal can be weak. Just to tell you how popular this park is: getting a reservation requires good timing. They are generally booked. One of the best in Rockport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
I was here for four nights, and thought it was okay. What I liked is that it was very quiet, especially at night, when I slept with my windows open with no problem. Also the sites are quite roomy, not crowded together. I also liked that there were many mature trees. There are mainly winter Texans and long term residents here, but none of the sites looked junky. The cable TV was a hassle; you get a box from the office when you check in, and you have to unhook the cable to your TV, and then rehook it up again with the cable box. It was a pain in the...neck, and then when I got it all hooked up, I got a message on the screen that said "Your smart card is expired; contact your cable company to get a new one". The office was closed, so I unhooked everything so I could use my antennae to watch the two channels available through it. Also, they overcharged me by one night, but they caught it before I brought it to their attention, and wrote me a check to correct it; not sure why they didn't just issue a credit on my card, but a check worked fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$11
We stayed here from 10/2012 to 4/2013. What a great park. Owners and staff know how to make your stay a happy one! Many, many actives to choose from; you can be as busy as you want to be. Roads in the park were excellent, along with the Internet and cable TV. Sites are level, however some are very close. We made many new friends and plan to return next season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
October 2012-March 2013 We stayed here in a Motorhome for the winter and we loved the people that we met here at the park. The Management & maintenance is always working hard to keep up the park and make improvements. The folks in the office were wonderful to be around and their customer service was stellar. Great doggie park, activities, exercise room, laundry room, showers and bathrooms. They have an exceptionally nice swimming pool but it was cold the majority of the times so we didn't use it much. We would have rated them higher, however, the cell phone service is bad because of the trees and the WiFi is hit and miss (more hits than miss). Depending on the site, Satellite is hit or miss as well. Most of the sites are spacious, but the trees can be a blessing in the warmer months and the colder months become a nuisance with leaves and sap falling. This year it was very windy while we were here and lots of dirt. It would be nice if the roads were paved with cement or blacktop. If you have dogs you have to wash their feet after their walks because of the humidity and the dirt roads. Monthly rates are great and the park is always booked. The cabins are exceptional and always booked as well. Overall this is one of the nicest parks in Rockport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$33
Fantastic place to stay. Staff friendly and helpful and other campers are friendly. Park is pet friendly sites are concrete the access roads are gravel. All sites have some or a lot of shade. Rates does not includes electric unless you are paying by the day. Restrooms and laundry are clean. Park is close to Rockport and Aransas Pass and about 15 miles from Port Aransas. Great place to stay a lot of winter Texans so it may be hard to get in from December until March. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$11
Very nice park and a great staff. The Wi-Fi worked well and the cable TV was a plus (too many trees for satellite). All the facilities were spotless and the pool was very nice. The only negative, the signage at the entrance should be more visible and the entrance road was a little rough. Overall a great stay, we will be back. The rate was based on monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We thought this was a great park. The sites were a little tight, but we had plenty of room for our slides and all. We used the park as a base camp to explore the area. We also rented one of the Cabana's and thought they were not only nice, but a great option for us since we brought one of our son's friends along so we needed the extra room. Everything worked as advertized and the amenities were perfect. If we were to take the camper down again, this would be the place we will stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$11
Rate is based on monthly for 31 days as we spent the winter here. Phone and Modem are based on Cable 1 provider here. We found this park by looking at several in the region for spending the winter months. We stumbled on this park and couldn't have been better if it was planned. Staff in the office and the outside workers have been great, friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Activities are the best, Owners are putting a lot of time, work and money into the park. We have already made reservations for next winter. Pictures don't do it justice it is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$11
Very nice park. Staff was extremely helpful and cooperative. We stayed for two months and really enjoyed the park. Park had many activities, and the park was well cared for. Lots of trees, and plenty of space between sites. Mid way between Rockport and Aransas Pass. Only concern was limited cell service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$11
The rate is the monthly rate divided by 30/31. Park has a new activity room new for 2011-12. Frequent activities such as potluck meals, parties, music & entertainment, games, crafts, etc. Roads are now paved. Park maintenance is excellent. Propane available on site; will deliver cylinder back to your site when filled. The office staff is OUTSTANDING. We were provided service ABOVE & BEYOND anything at other parks/resorts. We have been across the U.S. and this is one of the best ever. We'll be back in 2013. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Nice park outside of Rockport. Roads are dirt which make them dusty or muddling. Level sites are cement with grass and oak trees. New rec center has been built. Water, Wi-Fi, and power were good, cell weak (AT&T). Owners/staff very friendly. We would recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$27
We stayed at Drifters based on the reviews and the fact that they advertised a pool/spa. The campground is located south of Rockport and not really near much, but that's what we expected. The campground spots are very nice: paved with grass and trees. The strange thing is that the interior roads are all dirt. We were there when it rained and the roads had lots of potholes and water covering them. It was apparent they were having some drainage problems. I would rate this park a 7, but certainly not a 10 like others. My biggest reason was the advertised heated pool/spa. Well, its heated if you tell them several hours (or a day) early and they want to know exactly when you plan to use it. I know its expensive to heat the pool/spa, but we expected it to be available at all times. When we did try to use it we were given the wrong hours and they closed it before we could come. If you are looking for a place with a heated pool I suggest you look for something else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
We rented a cabin here last year and thought it was very good. This year the cabin was dirty and 2 of the plates in the cupboard had food on them. The housekeeper did not want to give us extra towels: how cheap can you get. We had 3 kids with us that needed 2 baths a day! For almost $300 for 2 nights ($119 per night plus tax), I don't think we'll be back. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Drifters. The owners and staff are very accommodating. Memorial Day weekend they provided a band, everyone had a great time. People danced on the porch of the Rec Center, kids swam, some people ordered pizza from the mobile pizza trailer. It was a great way to kick off the summer season. Everyone seemed to have a good time while respecting the 11PM quiet time. The resort was full on both the RV side and the Cabin side. A great place to take a family. I couldn't count the number of kids riding their bikes. Quite a few groups gathered to pitch washers and bean bags. We would highly recommend this park !!! By the way...they hooked up to city water this spring...huge investment on the part of the owners but so wonderful for the guests and the new fitness center is open with 4 great pieces of equipment, just the right size !!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Sites are close together and lots of permanent sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This is a very nice park. The layout, space, grass and trees make for a great environment. They have also just opened a new section of 20 spaces. The owners and campground hosts are very friendly and accommodating, and visible around the park daily. The monthly rate is currently $275 plus electric at .14 per kilowatt hour. There is only one drawback to this park, and that is a small laundry room of two washers and two dryers. This park is located 1/2 way between Rockport and Aransas Pass, on Highway 35. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
We have been here two weeks and are about to leave, wish we could stay longer. We will be back as soon as we can. Employees are friendly and helpful and accommodating. The sites are easy access and wide with concrete pads. The restrooms and showers were clean every time we used them. The laundry room was clean. Nice grass areas and a lot of shade trees. Nearby propane, stores and restaurants. Large pretty pool. There isn't a lot to do for children, but we don't have children so that's okay. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
A really wonderful park that caters to many winter Texans. The owners are in the process of adding 20 new full service sites that will likely be ready by this coming April or May. The RVers who stay at this park are very, very welcoming and open, and treat 'newcomers' with great warmth and friendliness. Some of the long timers have returned to Drifters for 14 years in a row. That says a great deal about how terrific the park truly is! My wife and I were sorry to move on after staying there for two weeks, but have placed our names on the returnees list for the late fall / early winter in 2009. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$28
The park is well laid out although trees are fairly close and you have to maneuver around them to get to your site. The pads are cement and all hookups easy to get to. The only problem is cell phone service has poor reception. We noticed people having to go outside to try and get a couple of bars to talk and it was the same for us. That's the only downside that I can see. They are in the process of adding another 24 sites. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Here we are back again. This time for at least 4 months. As we said last time...best RV park we have been in in 29 states. New RV sites built in 2006 are open, new maintenance building under construction. Pool is still as fantastic as when it was new. The owners and staff are very friendly and willing to aid in making your visit fun. The cabins seem to be full most weekends and at least 1/3 are occupied through the week. Seems as though the people in the cabins are enjoying their stay as much as we are. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
My stay here was for 1 month. The park owners live on site. They are very friendly and will do anything they can to help make your stay enjoyable. Some of the other residents have been coming here ever since the park opened 3 years ago. The 2007 monthly rate of $250 + electricity is very reasonable. Rockport, TX, about 5 miles away, has about everything one would need including a Wal-Mart. Padre Island is about 15 miles and a short ferry ride away from the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$10
This is the best RV park we have been in in 29 states. Great sites with ample patio, parking, grass and trees. Has a couple wonderful owners. The cabins have a nautical theme. Definitely plan on going back. I really don't know the daily rate as we stayed 3 months at the monthly rates: April to July. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$18
The Rockport - Fulton - Aransas Pass area has over 30 RV parks listed in the phone book. There are several more that are not listed and many are not in Woodall’s or Trailer Life. We just happened onto this place which is located midway between Rockport and Aransas Pass. It is still under construction as of March 2005 and the owner is allowing sites to be occupied as they are completed. So far there are 28 completed and will be a total of 50. There is a nice clubhouse and spotless restrooms. Swimming pool and laundry facilities are planned but not yet completed. The RV park is being built in a forest of live oaks with every effort being made to preserve as many trees as possible and still have plenty of clearance for the largest RV. Sites are long (plenty of room for our 38’ 5th wheel and tow vehicle with driveway space left over) and are concrete with a concrete patio. While most RV parks in this area are packed in like sardines, each site here has it’s own grass yard of about 35’ to the next site. The owners are very friendly and helpful and will do anything they can to make your stay more pleasant. We are full time Rvers and this is one of the best parks we have found anywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com