220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Percha Dam State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (575) 743-3942
CGID4765

Percha Dam State Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   7   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
Beautiful shaded sites. Although the campground is on the Rio Grande River, this section of the river was almost dry when we were there. Lots of birds to see, though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$14
The flies were bad this year. The park is well maintained by the current camp host and crew We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
This is a riparian zone campground near the Rio Grande with spacious shaded pull-through sites for an RV. Access roads are gravel based and the level sites are gravel. Each site has a ramada and table. At the entrance to the park there is a bridge with a 15 ton limit. The sites on the right are reservable and the sites to the left are first come first serve sites. Sites one through six have 50 Amp and rest are 30 Amp. There is no sewage connection and there is no dump station located at the campground. Trees are present and at some sites satellite TV could be blocked by the trees. We had no problems with getting Direct TV at our site. All of the electric sites are away from the river. During our stay we could hear the river going over the dam. Some of the non-electric sites are near or adjacent to the river. I would not recommend placing a big rig at those sites. The one opened restroom is shared by all. It was clean for us on a weekday. The park seems to be neglected by the staff and they are often not present. The big plus here are the birds. This is a prime New Mexico birding site and we were not disappointed. There is a wide variety and they are plentiful. We stayed here for two nights and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$14
Lovely campground in the fall, with the gorgeous old cottonwoods turning yellow. The sites are all pull-throughs, though, which we don't like. It feels like we are all parked right on the road. But restrooms are well-cared for, there's recycling, and of course, lots of birds to watch and listen to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$4
We arrived here at the end of September and stayed for 3 weeks. It is such a beautiful State Park with lots of trees and birds. While here we saw hundreds of Sand Hill Cranes flying overhead. October 1st all of the sites became 1st come so you can take any site that’s available for up to 3 weeks during their winter season. The week days were very quiet but on the weekends it was busy. No dump station here, you’ll have to dump at Caballo State Park. Or possibly at Arrey RV Park which is on the 187 , you'll see it just before you turn off on the road to Percha Dam. We’ve never liked dumping at Caballo State Park due to the fact the dump station is hard to get into because it's so narrow. If you are heading south on the I-25, Leasburg Dam State Park has a dump station too. Verizon cell & Aircard worked very well. Water pressure was good and electricity wasn’t a problem. The town of Truth or Consequence is to the north of the park and there is now a Super Wal-Mart on the north end of town. We’ve stayed here 3 times in the last 19 months and always hate to leave. It is a great park and we will be back again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$4
We stayed here 3 weeks in a 5th wheel. Park is very quiet during the week surrounded by farming. Weekends get busy with locals but not objectionable. Cell phone coverage is good, 2-3 bars. There is at least one full hook up available. The trees can be a hazard to RVs since some are in pretty bad shape. Restrooms old, pretty clean but no soap. Lots of birds. Ground fires are allowed. Occasional dairy smells. There are very beautiful walks through the woods along the Rio Grande with some good fishing spots. Fishing is poor but there are fish. A short trip west on HW152 is a must. Goes over the mountains to the west in a high curvy road so don't take an RV. The town of Truth or Consequences is okay for most essentials but gouge on gas prices. Lots of hot mineral springs there for a soak. There is a good restaurant in Arrey serving local chile. We look forward to staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
This is a very nice state park. Loved the trees and the water noise coming over the spillway. All of the sites are pull thrus which are along side of the main dirt road inside the park. This park now has 15 sites that are available thru reservations ($10.00 fee). If you plan on spending at least a month in the state parks you should look into buying their annual camping pass http://www.emnrd.state.nm.us/PRD/FeesPermits.htm it’s well worth the money. There’s a very nice playground away from the main section of the park. It’s located in the tent/non-electric area that runs along the river. Cell phone reception (Verizon) was lousy even with our booster but for some reason my air card was fine (using our booster). There is a laundromat at the RV park that is next door to the state park turn off and a small little grocery store south of the park in Arrey. Very quiet here at night, no trains or loud traffic noise. The water pressure was good and we had no problems with the electric. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$14
Percha Dam State Park is the birder's paradise. The variety of birds is amazing. There is a visitor center that has a lot of info on birding. The state park is very convenient just off I-25 yet far enough away that you do not get the freeway noise. The campground was very pretty and had some big cottonwoods along with a lot of smaller trees waiting to become big trees. The sites are pull-throughs and have picnic tables under a shelter. They mostly are a fair distance apart from each other. Some of the pull-throughs are a little short for a big rig. We had a 35 foot fifth wheel and found ourselves going over into the next site. This was not a problem because the campground only had a few other sites that were occupied. This ia nice place to stay for an overnight stop or an extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com