223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Leander / NW Austin KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (512) 259-7200
CGID4774

Leander / NW Austin KOA

Camp Information
Sites
63
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   8   9   2   9   9   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We stay at this park often as our daughter lives in Leander. The park is always clean, and the staff always friendly. The park is not far from shopping and a park/ride if you want visit Austin. There is a nice playground for the kids, and like all KOAs now a doggy park, as well. I feel their rates are a bit high, but it is very conveniently located. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
We paid 273.67 for one week here which absolutely was not worth it. They do have swim pool but other than that no amenities to warrant 100.00 more per week than other parks in area charge. No shade and sites are not very wide. The only thing they have is a good location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$16
Long pull throughs. Friendly staff. Very clean facilities. WiFi fairly decent most times. Park has a few seasonals that are well kept. Easy access to toll road 183 and only 5 mins to park/ride bus-train station into Austin. Propane available. Not a lot of trees for summer Rvers. Pool/hot tub cleaned daily, but closed til April 1st. Huh? No cable is a drawback. Not a very scenic locale; more of a functional park for those tending to business or family in north Austin and northwest suburbs. Worth a visit. Our rate was based upon monthly stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$34
Friendly reception, ample space for motorhome with slide outs. Level, gravel parking and interior roads OK. Too cold for pool season. Easy drive from I-35 via country highway. Toll road very close for trips south into Austin. Park location seems "in the country" yet ample services nearby. New HEB Plus grocery store less than 2 miles. Will stay again when in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2012
$85
We have stayed here frequently, and always gave it a pretty good rating; but the philosophy of the management has changed. For positives, the pull through pads and interior roads are paved. Back in sites are dirt. Propane is easy to get to. Water pressure is good. On the other hand, all the tent sites are replaced with cabins. A few tents did go up in back in sites which are really rocky. Landscaping is mostly dead or dying (probably due to the drought and no watering). The program to get rid of the burrs which stick into dog's feet has been discontinued, and there are lots of burrs. The long promised fenced dog run has not been started, and now the park dog who snarled at approaching dogs is on the other side of the dog walk fence. Electric at our first site kept shorting out, requiring us to move (maybe someone needs to check out the system). Most disturbing was being gouged for the cost. We called and made a reservation. We were told that we would have to pay a premium rate for 4 days due to the Austin formula 1 race. And, we would have to pay a premium for the rest of the stay due to thanksgiving. The price quoted was $579 for 7 days - no weekly rate & no cancellation refunds. The story was that they were packed. (During the race the park was about 25% full; the race being about 30 miles away,) the park was more full for thanksgiving, but still not full. We made a think about the cost (Bella Terra is only $300 per week.). We got a call back and the gave us a break on he race rate, and on check in tacked on $70 for the week for our 3 dogs ; this with almost no where to walk them! Also note that the I130 toll road is open and the noise in the park has increased greatly. And yes, the small yapping dogs from the house next door are still there. We decided to never use this KOA again. There are nicer parks on the other side of the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$31
Like this park. Clean restrooms, level sites for my camper. Wi-Fi a little slow, but adequate. Lots of shopping nearby. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
If you are driving a big rig (40' or over) turn into the exit, not the main entrance and circle around behind the office. The owner will explain the need for this if you call and ask. We have family in Austin and, over the past 10 years, have stayed here no less the 20 times. It is a flat level park with easy turns into the sites. The streets and pads are asphalt . It is convenient to everything on the NW side of Austin and is directly next to 183, a toll road providing fast and reasonable service to any point in Austin. It is a Mom and Pop park; the owners are Texas friendly and will treat you like family. Our 45' bus is giddy to arrive and always sad to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
Stayed here in a Fifth wheel. Found the facilities to be clean and well kept with space between each site. The staff was courteous and very helpful. Just wish I had found this campground about 6 months ago so that I would have stayed at the campground instead of driving so many times to go to work. Convenience was the key to the campground's location. Next to the toll road and HWY 183. Construction issues did make it a hassle to reach the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$38
Reliable KOA park. We stay here often when visiting north Austin. Very friendly courteous staff. Well maintained facilities. Nice pool for the grand kids in summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$38
Access to the park off county road 269 is good (but there will be construction on that road in the near future so call ahead). Park has upgraded its office and the laundry and baths. Bathrooms are spotless as is the laundry. Landscaping has suffered due to the drought and there are quite a few burrs in the grass (for those with dogs). The RV storage area where you used to be able to walk dogs is now fenced off. The planned dog run is still not in. There are some walking areas in nearby parks. The house to the west of the RV park is getting pretty run down, and there are lots of loose barking dogs there. Better sites are to the middle to east side of the RV park. We have stayed here before and will again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Absolutely one of the cleanest RV parks you will find. The new restrooms are spotless with good water flow and a safety feature to prevent scalding. The owners/managers are great to deal with. Pay extra and get the pull-through sites, as the backups are located off to the side and will remind you of camping in you back yard. The park has a nice saltwater pool and hot tub, swings for the kids and decent speed on their Wi-Fi. We wish that we could receive cable at our site but the. Do not have that yet. Good place to stay if you are exploring the north side of Austin/round rock area. It can be a little tricky getting to this campground with all the toll roads and construction going on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
We have stayed here a number of times. Appears that since converting to a KOA two years ago, the owners have undertaken some improvements. Roads and pads are in good shape. Hookups are lit at night. While here the restrooms were partially closed since they are being rebuilt and enlarged. Owner says a dog run (fenced area) is coming soon. Park used to have an awful problem with burrs which would stick into dog's feet; but they either sprayed or the cold weather killed the burrs off. Staff is very friendly. Rate reflects KOA discount. This place would be a 10 if they would put in cable TV. There is road construction nearby on 183A, but it does not affect access to park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$39
Price included KOA discount. We had a long pull thru full hook up. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The campground, however, is very poorly market - according to the staff the town won't let them put a flag or sign out on the main road and our GPS had no clue where the address was. Unfortunately Austin was 25 miles away. There was a grocery store a mile or two down the road. Georgetown is a very pretty little town about 12 miles away and worth the ride. There is also have a lovely off leash dog park in Georgetown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
This Park is just off the 183A toll road. The toll roads connect throughout Austin and make it easy to go anywhere you wish. No toll tag no problem; they will bill from your license plate (modern electronics) Wide turns, flat and no tree problems, our 45' bus was very happy here; but turn in the exit if you are 40' or over, entrance is very tight. The GPS direction has been wrong for 5 years and is useless. Call for good directions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$48
Sites here are level and asphalt with an electrical supply that drops quickly from 130vac down to 107vac or lower with a draw of 30 amps. No shade trees for satellite users. The staff forgot to turn off the hard rock outdoor speakers at the pool so we thought we just had noisy neighbors, until 9:30 the next morning when we asked the staff member why the outdoor speakers were playing but the pool was closed. They need a shut down checklist. The laundry/bath house was clean and had the capability for air-conditioning but we found no thermostat to try to turn it on and cool it down. KOA has made little, to no improvement in what used to the Sunshine RV Park: but the rates have gone from $25-30 up to $45 or higher for holiday weekends. We were here on a special: buy one night get a night free that was arranged by a KOA agent, but the Sunshine RV Park staff members are still trying to get up to speed on the KOA system. We had hoped to purchase propane here but it was not operational. If we stay here again, it will not be by the pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$74
This Campground is now a KOA. The staff and the owner were both very nice. The cabin, however, I felt, was not quite up to a KOA's standards. It wasn't a "cabin" at all, but some type of portable building. There were hairs in the bathroom, waste under the bed, and terrible stains on the futon cover. I hope KOA will help them to get everything together, as it has great potential. However, $74 is way too much for this location and that particular "cabin". We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This park is now called Leander/NW Austin KOA. There is a new staff with great energy and customer service. 2 cabins have now opened up with pets allowed to stay inside! This is a great place for families with regular guest activities, a nice clubhouse with a pool table and a full kamping kitchen! My kids love the resort style swimming pool and jacuzzi and it was located close to Target and the movies! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Well maintained park but the back in sites were pretty small. Most of the guests appeared to be semi-permanent although the sites were neat. Went to see the wildflowers but think we were a little too far east. I would stay here again if I were in Leander but probably would hold out for closer to the Hill Country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Parked on gravel, level spot. Staff was very helpful, and friendly. Easy access to the campground near town and shopping. Quiet location. Outside tables are available, but we did not have one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Very nice, clean park. Although the park was maybe 1/3 full during our stay, we were not offered pricing on an upgraded space. Instead, all travel trailers were crammed together side by side in a row. Pull thru spaces for larger rigs were plentiful. We would have been more than happy to pay for the upgraded space had it been offered. Personal vehicles along the travel trailer row had to be parked in front of your trailer, in a t-formation. The person next to us hung over and therefore made it difficult for us to maneuver as we arrived after hours. We have a dog with a long coat and quickly found that grass burrs were everywhere. No mature trees at this park. The pool and bathhouse area would be a big plus for families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Nice park with direct access to US183. Lots of permanent residents, but overnighters we welcome with large pull-thru spaces. Austin is about 45 minutes away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2006
$38
Plain and simple but functional. Very new, so trees have not had a chance to mature. Good location in relation to Austin and surronding areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com