218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Texas 281 RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (830) 980-2282
CGID4776

Texas 281 RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   9   8   8   7   5   9   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
This is a very old campsite. That is not to say it is bad. It has some very nice features. For instance, trees are mature and provide very nice shade, vegetation is mature and well-kept, structures are made of local stone, and the people are very friendly and helpful. Many site activities and a clubhouse. Unfortunately, most of the sites are occupied by long stay RVs, mobile homes, and small cottages. Also, the trees may interfere with personal dishes and antennae. Phone well in advance for a reservation, for one of the very few sites that may be available. Price was for a small motorhome, GS membership, and electric only. However, all the sites do have full hookups. Of the 155 spaces, 42 are pull through spaces. Lastly, the Wi-Fi was pretty much useless, at least for the night we stayed here. Very very weak signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
We stayed at this park based on high ratings from other users. Our stay was inconsistent with those ratings. The following are some issues to be aware of before booking. Because the park is quite large and the bathrooms are located in the middle, the walk from many sites can be quite lengthy. The posted speed limit sign is 10MPH and it is enforced strictly, you may be forced to park on Hwy 281 if found in non compliance. The sites are very close together and at odd angles, which can make positioning a large motor home difficult. Make sure to know how long your stay will be, as any additional days you stay will be charged at the highest possible rate. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
Nice park on US 281 North out of San Antonio. RV park is a mixture of long term/permanent folks in mobiles, park models, and RVs. We were placed near the front but really didn't hear road noise from the busy road. Wi-fi was available and worked well. There are some activities. Enjoyed our three days here and plan to return. Rate shown was daily for Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
RV Park was on the right side of town for my jobsite and was at great location for hanging at the river on hot days. Gravel pads are not quite level, but I would stay here again anytime I work in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Older park with a high percentage of full timers, however, the owners were friendly and the amenities for the price are great. Inexpensive laundry, great number of cable TV channels, and excellent WiFi. We will definitely stay here again when we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
Friendly people, but the park is PACKED and disorganized. I might stay again but I doubt it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$11
The rate reflects the monthly rate. We stayed here for 3 months. This is an older park but pretty well kept up. The Wi-Fi does not work unless you are right by the office so we had to contact the cable company and pay an extra 30 a month for Wi-Fi. There are many mature trees providing lots of shade. The one downfall of this park are the employees. While he owner is a very nice man, he rarely worked. The other workers except one, were downright rude. You learn right away not to bother to say hi when walking past them. Quite a few camp activities during winter months, but again did not participate because workers made everyone feel unwelcome. We will try another park next time we are in the area. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
We have lived off and on at this park. The park caters to many elderly folks that are both Winter Texans and lots of widows. There are no real frills here, but the park staff is excellent and the sites vary from excellent to good. The park owner would almost give you the shirt off his back and it's a very safe park. It's a family run business and they actually care about their guests. If your looking for a nice quite RV park with lots of trees and not in the crazy San Antonio area, then this is your park. The Wi-Fi service covers mainly the front part of the park but you can easily take your computer up to the office and and sit outside in the beautiful Texas sun to check you mail. Park also has excellent cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
We traveled to this park in a group of 8 rigs and had made our reservations well in advance. But when we got there, we discovered that the sites which had been assigned to us had been given to another group. Therefore, we were put into sites that were difficult to get into and were inferior to those promised. The staff tried to direct the parking of one member of our party and caused him to hit a tree limb which damaged the roof of his camper. The staff member acknowledged responsibility for the accident but the park owner refused to repair the damage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$28
Stayed here for 4 nights. An older park with a lot of long term rv's and park models. Streets fairly narrow with overhanging trees. Lady in office was very friendly and offered to help us park. Quite a few snowbirders here. Just 20 miles north of San Antonio and the River Walk. Would stay here again when passing thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Nice well kept park with paved, level, shaded sites. Friendly, helpful managers. I had reservations and was met as I pulled in and guided to my site. Checked in after hooking up. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We stayed in Texas 281 RV Park for two months while I had work in the area. There are other reviews here that describe the park and all its amenities and they are all very accurate. For the most part, we found the campground personnel extremely friendly. The only complaint we had was that in our opinion the managers seemed to kowtow to a certain few permanent residents as far as the complaint department goes. Apparently there are one or two people there who take it upon themselves to complain whenever they hear a dog barking. After two complaints, you receive a note from the office that there has been a complaint and that there are consequences. Now, I am in full agreement about their dog barking policy. There is nothing more annoying than a constantly barking dog. But these dog nazis take it to such an extreme to the point where people jump to shush their dogs whenever they make a peep. The short-stay campers probably will not run into this problem but if you plan to stay there any length of time and you have pets, keep this in mind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
This little jewel of a park located at the base of the Texas hill country has been a delight to visit. There are big oak trees, paved pull-throughs with FHU including 50 amps for big rigs like ours, free Wi-Fi and free cable for daily or weekly visitors - charge for monthly cable. Nearby huge HEB grocery and Home Depot. Park is neat as a pin, has a nice laundry room and very friendly staff. It is an older park with a number of friendly permanent tenants. We came in for 2 weeks but stayed for a month. Great rates for monthly visits too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
This is a mix of RV's and mobile homes. The campground is mainly for seasonal and year-round campers but they take care of daily campers very well. The highway is close but is not bad if you are in the back areas. This place is neat and clean with no clutter in the sites. The people that live here are friendly and there are a lot of activities to take advantage of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
Stumbled on this place in the Hill Country. Happy to get a level pull thru, FHU w/cable (and HBO!) for $25 (23 for GS). Large oak trees and ambiance here; lots of regulars. very nice managers. Sites are a bit close, but it's quiet. Only real negative is the bathhouse with its 2 not user-friendly showers. More of a "7" park but an 8 for the great cable and value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Spent 4 nights here recently, very nice park. Lots of shade, quiet, friendly people, stayed after closing when I said I was getting close to being there. Good value, good location to visit places on northeast to northwest parts of San Antonio. Easy to get to New Braunfels and Boerne. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
This campground is very well run. The area is very clean, and the camp is very quiet. We had someone show us to our site, and he helped my husband back in. We used this as a base to visit San Antonio and the surrounding area. There are some fixed residences, but everything is very well maintained. We were worried about having our two small kids in the campground, but we were made to feel welcome. It is family friendly, but there is not a play area for small kids. In the winter months they have a large population of Winter Texans. We would stay here again since it is in such a nice location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com