218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Mormon Island State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (308) 385-6211
CGID4779

Mormon Island State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   9   9   7   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This is a very nice park with a beautiful little campground. The sites are large enough to maneuver easily and there is plenty of space between you and your neighbor. It's far enough away from the Interstate that highway noise is not a big issue. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
This was great for an overnight stay -- handy to town, fuel and the interstate. Site was level. Dump station was handy, and so was the potable water access. No sewer or water at the sites, electric only. Clean park, scenic lake with quite a few people using it for fishing. Swimming was also permitted in designated area. Would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Very nice park, just off interstate, but still relatively quiet. Spacious sites with shade. Very relaxing after a long day of travel. Good for a couple of days stop over. Not much to see around location, but nice for a respite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
What a great campground, huge sites and lots of grass. Had a great stay right off the freeway. Can't believe anyone would pay to stay in a private campground when this is so close with such a great price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
This is a nice place: I was here on a warm autumn weekend, and it was almost full. There is no pool, although swimming is allowed in the [man-made] lake during the summer. Showers and restroom were very clean. Trees provide plenty of shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Close to Interstate. We had made online reservation for a pull through site hoping to not have to disconnect the truck from the camper. However, what is advertised as a pull through is really a parallel parking site. We didn't feel comfortable with our slide outs sticking out into the street and asked for a different site. The host said that other people didn't have problems with their slide outs and was not helpful. When we insisted on another site, the hosts made us feel as if we were stupid and a nuisance. The campground is nice and very heavily used. Just believe the state should not show parallel parking as a "pull through" sites and give their hosts some customer service training. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
This is a very nice small park. We really liked it. Nice sites, nice picnic tables and fire-rings. We did not have a lake site but we could easily see the lake from our picnic table. Really liked this small park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
The camping fee is $18. There is a $5 entry fee unless you have an annual sticker. We had a 50 amp pull through site. We have stayed here several times during the past 10 years. There is no cable TV but on the air reception was good. There is good Verizon reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
Great CG. Extra charge for vehicle is irritating. We were only people there and had to stay extra night due to spring wind/freezing rain/snow/rain storm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Nightly rate was $17 plus $4 for our truck. Very pretty spot, lake view, lots of tress, easy on and off the freeway, quiet, level sites, plenty of space around. The showers/laundry basic but clean, electric only, no Wi-Fi, open all year. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Nice campground. Well maintained, friendly staff. Level sites with electricity with water and dump available on exit. Was not very crowded on Wed night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
Paved interior roads and sites. Easy for any size rig. All back-ins except a few that are "pull over to the right curb and park" sites, which then have the electric pedestal on the passenger side of the RV. Most sites are 30 amp. Since the park was almost empty in early April, we got a 50 amp site with a view of the water out our windshield. Central dump and water fill. Very large mature trees and acres of grass. Very pleasant camp host. Campsites were $12 plus a $4 daily park pass. Rates apparently vary seasonally. Room for many picnickers in the area outside the campground itself. We will stay there again if we pass through that area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
This is a nice state campground that is well maintained. We only used it for one night as a travel stop. Sites are not very long and roads are narrow. We could not get into the first assigned site as there were campers in the "pull thru" site across the road. The staff was very helpful in getting a site that would work without having to unhook the tow vehicle. Was able to get some local TV stations for news and our site was satellite friendly. I-80 noise not too bad. We already had an entrance pass so the rate was the basic price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
What a pleasant surprise! We pulled in off the Interstate not knowing what to expect. We were assigned a sight overlooking the lake and day use area, and were close to the bathrooms. Nice beach and swimming area. Lots of shade butunseasonably hot (not the fault of the campground) However, we had good 50 amp service. Only fault we have (not the fault of the campground) is we have to pay 2 park-use fees, one for the motorhome and one for the toad. (campsite was actually $19)This is common in the northern states, which is why we normally don't stay at State Parks. Rationale is both have motors! We definitely will stay here again as an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
Very nice change from parking lot type RV parks. All pads are paved and well separated from each other under mature trees. There is a swimming beach which was well used. It is only separated from I-80 by the small lake but the park is quite large and perhaps because of the trees, the noise level was minimal. It is also a good place for a picnic. There are several places where fresh water can be obtained with a hose and there is a sewage dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$12
Small campground right off the interstate. THis makes it a great place for a quick stop. There is a lake, trails, fishing, swimming beach, free showers, dump station. We use this place as our "first night out" for the season as it is near the interstate, a Walmart, a RV repair center, and a truck stop. Great place to shake out the cobwebs. This area is also in the flyway for the crane migration in March- April as well as many other waterfall year round. Great place to spend the night, but not a vacation spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com