215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Tahoe Valley RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (530) 541-2222
CGID479

Tahoe Valley RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
439
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   7   3   9   9   9   4   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$1
Nice sized sites wind through the forest. Loop configuration so you don't get that parking lot feeling. Didn't give a 9 or 10 since the water heater for our bathroom was down for the first 5 days of our stay. I understand it has been down for over a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$56
Hardly what I would call a resort. The restrooms are basic and unclean with cobwebs in toilet stalls and not cleaned in the four days we stayed here. The Wi-Fi was nonexistent with plenty of excuses blaming connection company. The sites were uneven and we were made to move when we extended from 2 - 4 days. We paid for the site they advised would be the only one we would fit in (45 ft) a day in advance but found they gave it to another person the night before we had to move. When we advised them of this, they gave no apologies and abruptly told us just because we paid for the site it is not guaranteed - funny as we had receipt for that site. We found another site and moved. That night the police attended the neighbouring caravan at 12.30 AM. Tried to buy stock at office but the staff do not know how to use he computer system and gave up with long line behind me as I was embarrassed. Would not recommend this park unless you are not using restrooms and happy to camp in trees which stop your awning opening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
We love the rustic feel of this park, and even though thick with tall, mature pine trees we managed to find a spot with a view of the southern sky for our satellite dish. They also provide cable TV at most sites. Our site was pretty level. Very friendly staff. Not far from the "Y" and retail stores, restaurants, etc. We stayed in Section "E" in site 426. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
Resort? Not even close. This is an older campground - and not kept up very well. Arrived around 6pm and no one was in the office - a note posted on the door told people to pick a spot and check in in the morning. Only had 30amp service -- water spigot handle broke when trying to turn on the water. Could not get Tailgater to pick up signal due to tall pines. Didn't have any interest in using other facilities at all. Would not return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$27
Just love the smell of pine needles warming in the California sun. The ambience made me feel like a kid at camp. The grounds are huge. In November I could unleash my Lab and roam through the trees. Raley's was .1 mile away, wonderful. Only had electricity, in winter mode. Couldn't get satellite to peek through the canopy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
We found this campground to be one of our favorites. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful. It is located in the beautiful South Lake Tahoe forest before you get to the Y intersection. Because it’s in the forest, it is difficult to position your RV between the trees and you’re on dirt, not a pad. Once you’re positioned correctly, I found the sites to have lots of room. It is close to the small Lake Tahoe airport so you get some aircraft noise during the day. If your site is in the areas with tents (sections A & E), the bathrooms and showers were very busy especially in the mornings, however in the RV areas (sections G & F) they weren’t too busy. While we were there, they finished fixing the pool so it will be open again in 2 weeks. The playground is great for kids. On Friday nights they show a movie and for a small cost on Saturday and Sunday mornings they have a pancake breakfast available. During the week there are various activities including a karaoke night. We enjoyed our camping experience here because of the room between sites, the forest experience and the activities offered. Our price reflects a Good Sam discount and a discount for the pool being closed for repairs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$3
Spent three weeks here and had a great time. Verizon cell coverage a tad weak, but with booster would work well. Wi-Fi was very spotty at times and slow. Swimming pool was closed upon our arrival due to remodel.....disappointing! All utilities worked well and it was a very peaceful stay. We will return. Our rate was Thousand Trails Zone Pass rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$63
First of all, DO NOT camp here over the 4th of July! Secondly, expect hordes of people and noise after quiet hours. This facility mixes tent sites with RV sites, which really made for a bad experience for us. We stayed there four nights -- mainly because no refunds are issued, despite the reason. We made a reservation in January for a specific site; however, upon check-in our site was given to someone else. There were many complaints from others that were overheard in the office. No security in the resort after midnight. Their 'rules' aren't enforced, i.e., number of persons allowed in one site (up to twenty-five were counted on two separate adjoining sites next to the first one we were assigned). After much frustration and lack of two nights sleep, we were reluctantly assigned another site that was way on the other side of the park and it was much quieter there. My advice is to make your reservations for the Lake Tahoe area very early, and certainly not here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
We stayed here for a week. Checked "not clean" on baths and showers as they are old and need to be redone. Don't look up in the light fixtures as the bugs are plentiful! Did use the showers a couple of times; not much privacy and don't know how often they were cleaned. Trash bin outside was overflowing and didn't see much in the way of maintenance over the week. Here's the thing: make sure you check out your site before you set up. They stuck us right in the middle of a motorhome and 5th wheel with NO privacy. The park is huge, and we would have changed sites but hubby was tired, and we didn't realize how close we were to our neighbors until after we set up. There were plenty of more private spots available; it was our fault for not requesting a change. Noticed as the week went by, they continually did this with each unit coming in. Guess they thought everyone wanted a close neighbor! The pool was closed, area was dirty and not well kept. Management was friendly enough; laundry was OK; park was quiet overall & not near enough to main 89 for traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
This is a huge RV park with an excellent location in South Lake, Tahoe. There is a swimming pool, cable TV, nice pull throughs for set up. Great dog walks, close to shopping, the lake, and many site seeing spots. Unfortunately, the bathrooms are filthy every morning. They need to be cleaned early before the morning crowd shows up. The water is not drinkable. It has a strong chlorinated smell and taste. We really like this location, but because of the water and bathrooms we may not stay again. This was the most we paid for a site so far on our trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
Tahoe Valley Resort - this is a campground. Trees, fire rings (in most spots, otherwise you are charged $2 a day to rent one) dirt and traditional camp tables. So this is the basis for the review. The premium spots are on the outside of each loop providing for no campers behind you. Nice. Some of these back up to campground amenities such as volleyball courts, etc. Some back up to the road, but most back up to the forest, nicer. Some are pretty narrow, some are nice and wide, some even allowing room for an additional tent. We got lucky and had a beautiful spot, forest behind, plenty of room to spread out, and a fire ring. Our spot had almost enough space between the trees to extend both slides and the awnings. Some spots appeared to be somewhat narrower. The office staff did a nice job of understanding our needs and matched us with a good spot. This is the best place we have stayed in South Lake Tahoe. The biggest downside was the helicopter noise. It is random, as it is emergency for the hospital down the road and one night was pretty constant until 1am. Other nights, none. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Good park. The manager is very friendly and helpful. The internet is through tengo. It was decent. The park is spread out pretty well, and offers much shade from trees. It was snowy when we were there, and they had plows coming through tho clear the streets. There are a ton of shops, restaurants around the park within walking distance or a short drive. There are full hook-ups and the spots are a good size. There is a dog walk area with plenty of room for the pups to sniff around. They have many washers and dryers in their laundry room, and it is decent. Some are older and do not work as well, so it takes some trial and error to figure out the dryers that aren't working as well, but overall, decent facilities. Overall, good park. We would recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
You have plenty of options here, from tent sites to premium sites. Weekend rate is higher also. As to the campground, it is well located, has many shaded sites, some more difficult to get into than others. Good power, water and sewer, some sites with cable TV. We like it here as far as the campground goes. The staff on the other hand, leaves much to be desired. We have yet to meet a "competent" office person here, from manager down! Watch your billing closely and if you want adjoining sites, make sure they make notations on your reservations. The common thread here is to lay off any and all mistakes made on another person up to and including you, the customer. Its NEVER their fault!! And even if it is, NO accommodation is made in your favor. While I "like" this campground and will return, I find the attitude of some, out of the realm of Good Customer Service! I can't possibly indicate the issues encountered here but needless to say, a letter to Encore is forthcoming! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$61
We camped here during Labor Day weekend. Practically all campgrounds around Tahoe were full and this one was one of the few parks that had some sites available about two weeks in advance. By the time we checked in, pretty much all the >400 sites were taken. The place is huge, and was quite crowded, though site spacing is decent. There's lots of shade too. My kids loved the playground, though it is run down and like the rest of the park, in immediate need of renovation. The "heated" pool was very cold. Staff was mostly friendly. The restrooms and showers are very run down and in desperate need of renovation. Staff did not keep up with the pressure of heavy usage, and so hot water was not available at the Camp A showers. Restrooms were dirty at times, and occasionally ran out of all supplies (toilet paper, toilet seat covers, paper towels, etc.). You'd expect more when paying the high season rate of $61 (including $3 "resort fee"). Overall, we're glad we found that spot and had a great time hiking and biking around the lake. But this will not be our first choice next time in Tahoe. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
We liked this campground. The roads are paved and the sites are dirt, but level. There are huge pine trees throughout making it very wooded. Campsites have picnic tables and grills and some have fire pits.There are lots of activities, but mostly on the weekends.The laundry/arcade was a little dingy but the cost was reasonable @ $1.50/wash and $1.50/dryer. The dryers dried very well.The little store has reasonably priced items.There is an ice cream shop.They do charge $1/night/dog which I find irritating,but I understand that it is because people refuse to pick up after their animals so the rest of us must pay. It is very convenient to Lake Tahoe sites. There is a Trolley that stops at the campground. An all day pass costs $5. Cable TV and Wi-Fi are available and good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
No upgrades done at this RV park in the 10 years we have visited. This was the first time we had stayed in August. The dirt landscape was unbearable so we headed without staying our third night. They do a great business for two months of summer and folks return each year for a month at at time. But not enjoyable for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
For our small family and travel trailer, this was a great place. We were assigned a site on a loop with other similarly sized travel trailers. There was ample space between sites and we never felt crowded in. There are also plenty of tall trees to provide shade. The place was large but the layout made it easy to get around. My young daughter particularly enjoyed the playground area, which had something for all ages. The grounds and pool were well tended. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location relative to the sights in Tahoe was perfect. The bathrooms were not the newest but they were clean. The showers were on the small-ish side, fine for one person but a little tight for parent+child together. One big plus (in my book) regarding the showers: the shower handle was a proper shower handle where you pull to turn on and twist for temperature, not the push-button type that dispenses water at a pre-designated temperature. The resort was a little bit dusty but there were pine needles on the ground to help keep it down. The resort layout was several sets of loops, so bicycle riding around with my daughter was both safe and fun. We would stay here again. It was both pet- and family-friendly. We drove around Lake Tahoe and the other campgrounds we saw all appeared very tightly packed in comparison. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
Rate includes taxes and Thousand Trails discount. Easy to find, easy to get into. Check in went smoothly. Park has lots of tall trees; satellite pointing could be a challenge, but they provide cable TV and Wi-Fi. We never could get the Wi-Fi to hook up, but our AT&T hotspot did just fine. Verizon and Sprint service was sketchy. We were in site #402. All roads were paved, but all sites were dirt/sand. We put out our rug so we didn't have much of a problem. Cycling trails are everywhere; you can ride your bike nearly anywhere you want to get too. We stayed an extra week over our plans, area is just beautiful. Walking distance to two good breakfast/lunch places. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$65
This campground is huge, uncoordinated and dusty. We reserved a 50 amp, big rig space a month in advance, and when we got here they gave me a 30 amp. Got it changed and a young man on a golf cart took us to one that was still occupied. Went back to the office and was told that no one should be on that space. The young man came back and told us he had taken us to the wrong site. We tried again and finely found it. Spend the next half hour trying to get into it. Huge trees and close together campers are hard to get around. I would not recommend this place to anyone. The prices are too high and the park is highly over crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Dirty, noisy, incredibly crowded. Many large fire ant hills in the site. No shade as promised. No fire pit as promised. No 50 amp hookup as promised. Staff was rude, reluctant to help when we asked. Made fun of our name, laughed at us when we tried to rectify the situation. Sites are dirt, lots of dust, no grass. Hard to maneuver a large rig to sites, which are not well marked. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
The location was convenient, close to the lake and parks. Since we were there in the "off" season, I think some of the cleaning was not kept up. Example: plastic bags in the pet area, litter around the camp areas. When I called to make the reservation, the operator wanted to charge me $46; on the website, the price was listed as $30. When I paid the second night at the park, the price was $30. It looks like during the summer season there are lots of activities at the park: basketball, pool,etc. Lots of shade. I thought it was a deal for $30. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Large sites, tall pines, clean restrooms, beautiful location on the edge of town, but close to groceries, and other services. Had to drive to the lake (about 2 miles). Came in after Labor Day so many sites were empty. Perfect peaceful visit. Price included a 20% TTN discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Nice park in a shady area with lots of pine needles. We arrived on Labor Day evening, so the park was in need of some cleanup which I assume came with the mad rush of spots emptying, but I would like for it to have been cleaner. The bathrooms and showers could have used a mop in the 2 days we were here too. It was close to town with a really nice Italian restaurant within walking distance. You still need to drive to get to much of the shopping though, which makes parking a bit of a pain in town. Next time, I'd rather stay in Meeks Bay which actually has a nice beach, but is about 10 miles to town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$56
We were RV 'virgins', this being our first excursion in a 33' foot motorhome. So we approached our first campground with trepidation wondering if it would be as advertised and whether we could master these mysterious rituals called 'hook-ups'. To cut a lengthy story short, it was easy and we loved the site. Maybe there was an element of rose tinting in our spectacles, given that anything other than outright disaster was going to seem like a triumph, but having subsequently visited another 5 campgrounds over the next 2 weeks/2000 miles, we are confident in declaring it one of the better ones. Big pitches, lots of shade, full hook-ups with excellent Wi-Fi, a good pool and friendly staff. Yes the shower blocks could do with some updating but they were clean and the water was hot so it didn't bother us. One slight gripe was that it wasn't very busy when we were there and yet a new arrival (with baby and dog) was wedged in next to us. Couldn't understand that, but fortunately they were very pleasant and conscious of not making too much noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
This is our second week here and we have extended again for a third week. So yes we like it here. Larger perimeter sites were not available for a week when we arrived so we are in a standard site. It is Quite large, which surprised me based on previous reviews. I have waited to write this review until I had a chance to look at a lot of camp sites. Due to the numerous beautiful trees the sites vary a lot. Some are normal size camp sites, but most are larger or much larger than normal. Some have campfire rings, but most do not. Choices are $2 a day for a portable ring or you are encouraged to simply have a fire in the steel barbecue grill on each site. Front office is very friendly and helpful. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
We have a love/hate relationship with this park. The beauty, located in a large pine forest, is incredible. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There are lots of activities and facilities for entertaining kids. However, the non-premium sites are bumper to bumper and extremely close. We looked out our door right into another RV's door. We couldn't tell their picnic table from ours. We looked out our bedroom window to see the rear of a big tag axle motor home only a few feet from the side of our rig. Even with everyone squished together, people felt like they had to have a campfire. The resulting smoke was a real nuisance, as was the general noise and chaos of having so many rigs so close to each other. If you can, go ahead and spring for a premium site (along the perimeter and much larger and nicer). The laundry was a joke. For almost 500 spaces there were two washers and two dryers. Several new ones in boxes were sitting there, but of no use. There's a great laundromat behind a bicycle shop in the Y. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
Second year of camping at this park. Took the same campsite again which is great for dogs and much quieter than the main areas. After Labor Day they shut down some of the restroom/shower areas, which is inconvenient if you would like to use those facilities and not have to walk across half the park to the open ones. Well maintained, very helpful staff. If you are bothered by Lear Jets taking off or medevac helicopters landing, look for something farther from the hospital and airport! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
The regular rate for our site was $49. The rate we paid was with a Ready Camp Go card, so $20 plus the $3 resort fee that everyone pays. When we pulled in we noticed that there are a lot of trees here. So, upon checking in I inquired as to whether our site would be able to receive a signal from our rooftop satellite dish. He told me that I could go take a look at the site before he assigned us to it. It is a good thing I did. Our 40' motorhome would never have fit into the site which was very narrow with large trees lining both sides of the site. He let me drive around to choose a better site. We chose site 371 which we were able to get a satellite signal from. The site was very unlevel, as most were. We could not get our rig level and had to use blocks. The site was very wide and open, although very sandy and dusty. The campground was fairly quiet with some airplane noise. The pool, playground, tennis court and ping-pong are great. The showers are very old and could be cleaner. Wi-Fi is an extra $4.95 per day which should be included. The laundry machines are old with several broken machines. Overall, we really liked this campground except for one huge problem. The roads we had to take to get in and out of our site almost caused damage to the RV. We are very experienced drivers, but the very narrow roads are curvy and the big tree trunks are right against the road. It took us a very long time and some help to get out of the campground. We came to a fork in the road and neither looked like our rig would fit. We went left and encountered an s-curve. Our 40 footer could not navigate the curve with the trees right up against the road at all points. After having the top side of the RV literally one inch from a tree trunk and the opposite side front end less than a foot from another tree, we realized we would not fit. We had to slowly and carefully back up down the road and go right at the fork in the road. While it was not impossible to get out this way, it took a very long time and a lot of going forward and back to fit between some trees in two different places on the curvy, narrow road. In addition, we had the driver's side front of the RV almost touching a tree while the passenger side rear was almost touching another. Another gentleman who drives a motorhome similar to ours was helping us, and he said that he was taking notes so that he could get out. Because of this, I don't know if I would stay here again. I certainly would never stay on this loop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We just returned from a wonderful 4 day stay here. We found that the staff (quite few of them) were VERY friendly and helpful. They were patient with us and even drove us around on their golf cart to find the perfect site for us it was almost closing time). Our site was long, wide and perfect. Campers were very considerate as well. On Wednesday there was an ice cream social which our young children enjoyed a lot, followed by Karaoke which was for adults and children. We have camped all over the country and feel this is the best (non-remote) campground we have ever been to. There is some reviews about the washer/dryers: I used them and although they are old, they are what I call "old school" and worked VERY well. Kids were on the playground playing until dark (wonderful), the pool was clean and large, restrooms and showers were older but VERY clean (tiled and have benches and locking doors, great if you have kids). We witnessed a RV leaving and within 30 minutes, someone was cleaning the site. Ground fires are not allowed but they provide a real fire ring to have real wood fires. Short walk to river and many clean dog walk areas. All in all this is a wonderful campground with a wonderful staff. The facilities are older but very clean and I mean clean, well maintained and what I feel camping should be. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Until I got here I couldn’t understand the fuss/hassle with trying to reserve a site that fit my needs: i.e. the physical configuration of our truck and trailer. Once I arrived I was confronted again with hassle as the check in took me a solid 30 minutes and never did get my concern for basic site info answered. I finally decided to just give it a whirl and try for myself. Bottom line was my site was easily double the length they said it was, so there was no need for any concern/hassle. The staff should’ve been able to know that and I was frustrated until I walked most of the park (over 4 days) with the map in hand. The staff has no chance, the park map is woefully inaccurate/wrong. No wonder they don’t have it posted on the website, I’m surprised they even mail it out. It shows many sites as pull-through that are not, shows back-ins that are actually pull-throughs, etc. There are hundreds of sites here that are wedged in anywhere nature allows. One site on a row might be 30’ long, the next may be 75’ long, the next 60’, and so on, same goes for site widths. The difference between one site and another can be massive (both size and access) and it’s like that in every area they have, I cannot emphasize this enough. The facilities are rustic. The video game room looked like it’s been static since the 1980’s, half the laundry machines were broken, and the rest rooms were in bad shape (rusty dividers, trash cans, etc). I think the staff tries, but has nothing to work with. The place has the look of a zoo but thankfully folks were well behaved and considerate. Tents, easy-ups, motorcycle and boat trailers and extra vehicles are packed into every nook and cranny of many sites. WiFi signal was extremely weak and was fee-for service. This is not what I’d call a relaxing place to camp although I’m not sure any other place around Tahoe would be either based on visual glances driving by the some of the other camps. If we ever go here again, it’d be with my modified map in hand while making reservations and because nothing else around was found to be better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This was a busy park. It has tight turns so be specific when requesting your spot for your rig. The pool makes for a nice break after driving around the beautiful lake. On the weekend they have a huge tent set up and show movies and pop popcorn, sell pickles, sodas and such for family night at the movies. They also served breakfast every morning as well. Nice helpful staff. Quiet park despite the size and number of spots. There is a trolley that comes to the site though we never used it to go into town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Great campground. Lots of trees for shade. Wi-fi, not free but net card worked well. Can get kind of dusty during the day. We had a great spot and we will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This campground has a great family atmosphere, movies in the big tent on weekends, ice cream social, pancake breakfast and great people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
I've stayed here several times over the last few years and have always had a good stay. Extremely family friendly with many family oriented activities going on through the summer months. There's a Starbucks, grocery store and fabulous breakfast restaurants all within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
Camped here over a full Labor Day. The tenters weren't always considerate, but they quieted down after an emphasized curfew time. Park staff clean the sites after tenants check out, and park was accommodating when we wanted to stay past our reserved time, even though they had a large rally group coming in. "Premium" site designation can be misleading. It means a site usually located on the perimeter so no one is directly behind you. It can also mean very unlevel: so much that you can't level a larger coach. This park is older and not refreshed, but there are no glaring deficiencies. Paved roads to dirt sites may be tough to negotiate with larger rigs, but not impossible for those who can drive well. Suggest removing toads near office to assist with maneuvering. If you like camping in the pines on dirt with full hookups, this place is for you. The park encompasses a lot of acreage not used for camping, so you really can be "in a forest" if you get a perimeter site. Beware the hospital next door does have life flights coming and going at any hour, although surprisingly this weekend very few flights were heard. Reservations can be tricky if you don't know the process. Suggest calling the local Tahoe office versus the Florida corporate office to make your reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
This campground would rate a ten were it not for the excessive price and necessity of purchasing (Tengo) Wi-Fi. There were a number of sites that would easily accommodate our 42' motorhome and our site gave us just enough sky among the trees to find Direct TV with our portable dish. We were here after the crowds had left so there was plenty of space throughout the campground. We spent two weeks and enjoyed the weather and the many pine trees. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
After reading some negative comments about this campground, we rolled the dice and elected to stay here and not pay the $70+ for the Zephyr campground. We had asked for a "big rig" site for our 36' MH/tow car. We got exactly what we wanted. It was shady, easy to access and quite clean and comfortable. The entire campground has a sandy base, so there was some dust, but it is a campground afterall. The roads were paved and there were some roots heaving the asphalt, but nothing that caused us any concern. We had a great experience and the the check in went smooth. We checked in very late, so the office was closed, but our site was identified and we knew where to go based on the door posting. No problems. The campground is off the beaten path, so it was very quiet and everyone honored the 10pm quiet time. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is a very clean and family oriented park. We camped here with our son (10) and family members with kids ages 9 and 11 and there was something for everyone! The kids had a blast. There is a heated outdoor pool that was kept very clean, a place for kids to ride their bikes, video games, pool, ping-pong, ice cream socials, kid movies in the big tent on Friday and Saturday night and the list goes on. The sites were all very clean, easily accessable and some of the largest I've seen in the camping community. Most sites have installed campfire rings but if your site does not have one, portable fire pits can be rented for $3.00/day from the staff. The staff was very friendly and informative even though they were swamped for the big weekend. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
This park is in need of some serious TLC. The pool was dirty and falling apart (cracked concrete and missing tiles), you have to pay extra for internet service, you have to rent the campfire pits (and they never have them in when you want one), the bugs are numerous at night, and worst of all, you and your rig and your pets will be filthy dirty from the minute you open your door--solid dirt ground (not a blade of grass in site). The trash bins were overflowing the entire time we were there, there were only 2 old washing machines working (out of the 6 or 7 they had) and oh yea, there is a police helicopter pad next door so you get to hear helicopters at night. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
We planned to stay here again in August and Sept 09. We have stayed multiple times. When attempting to make a special requests reservation with the campground office, I encountered an extremely rude agent, who made it plain I would not receive consideration from him, long before I completed my request. I had already been prepped by the central reservations office that I might not get what I needed. Do not even attempt to arrange adjacent sites if a rude agent answers the phone. Call again later and speak to someone else. We stay 5 to 10 nights a year at this campground and enjoy the park. Yep, you have to clean everything after you leave to remove the dust, but spring is better than summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
I was happy with our stay. Clean site, attentive employees quickly filled my propane and cleaned up broken glass on playground. Roads somewhat narrow, but that is due to Tahoe environmental quacks that won't let them cut trees. Would have rated higher but I hate it when they try to gouge for wireless internet. It is a forest with a lot of pine trees, normal pollen when we stayed. Overall, very happy with the accommodations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$43
We just finished a 2 week stay and didn't have any of the problems noted below. Campsites are dirt and pine needles, but you're in a forest. I do think that except for a few premium sites, the campground can't handle really large rigs as the roads are narrow and twisting. Didn't see any unsafe electrical. Pool was open and clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Certainly not a "10" but not a "1" either. I do recommend surveying your site carefully. We changed twice when I felt that I couldn't get in easily. WiFi was not really expensive 15/wk but reception was spotty We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
What a dump! Poor narrow, pot holed interior roads. These roads are potentially hazardous to big rigs. We ended up having to go the "wrong way" on one road to avoid a tree that would have taken out the side of my trailer. Packed dirt campsites and pads. Very dusty and dirty. There seems to be no rhyme or reason to the layout of this park. We ended up with a huge diesel pusher on one side of us. Of course they had guests and three extra cars plus a huge big screen tv on the side of their rig which they played all day and night long. Absolutely no privacy in any of the spots that I saw. I could go on writing chapters about what was wrong with this park, but won't. Find somewhere else to stay. Needless to say, we won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$51
If and when they get this family park up to snuff, it might earn a higher rating, but when we were there, it was in a state of neglect. The pool was closed due to a problem; the tennis courts need work and the laundramat is fire hazard! They do have activities for the kids on weekends, which is a nice feature, but unless you want to feel as if you're living with and on top of your neighbors, pay the extra amount for a premium site. The standard sites are a mish mash of rigs facing in every direction, on top of each other. We didn't use the restrooms much, but the few times we did, they seemed clean enough, although they look as if they came from another era. The office staff is extremely courteous and helpful, although there was one gentleman that was a bit rude when we were trying to shop in the store. Seemed like we were "interfering" with his plans to close up. He told us to "Hurry it up!" Needless to say, we put our souveneirs down and bought them elsewhere. Overall, I'd say this is one of those campgrounds who has seen better days and needs to bring its amenities up to its current fees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$46
TOTAL RIP-OFF, even for Tahoe. Will never waste money here again. Perhaps the high rates at this "Encore" facility are because TT and C2C members get an affiliated deal, so the park jacks up the rate for the rest of us. They had the nerve to charge their standard "resort fee" of $3 even though the pool was closed for repairs, there's no exercise room, and the courts are run down. Very narrow roads, all sites are dirt and many are short & unlevel. Electric pedestal was rusty &and unsafe-looking,sewer was out of the way. Dump station was good though. Premium sites in back area might be better but are $50+. Old, tacky bathrooms are cleaned once daily, and quickly dirtied by kids. Cable tv is a joke, just a dozen stations. Wifi is Tengo, costs extra, of course. Dryer in laundry room burned some of our clothes. In short, there is no good reason to stay here unless you have money to burn and are gone all day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
The campground was nice enough. I had called in advance to assure they had everything we wanted; fire ring, WiFi, etc. We arrived late at night due to snow over the mountains. Our first disappointment was when the water on our site didn't work. Second was there was no place for a fire. Third that the WiFi wasn't functioning. Since it was late we went to sleep to resolve the issues in the morning. When we arrived at the check-in desk I said I had a few complaints. I was promptly told the complaint department was on the other side of the campground (bad joke). After not laughing, we were informed that fire rings cost extra, WiFi was broken and cost extra, but they did get the water fixed right away. For the amount this place charged compared to other places in the area, I would have expected better service without the nickel and diming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
We have friends who live in South Lake Tahoe, so this was the perfect location for us. Restaurants (breakfast/lunch at Bert's) and markets are within a mile. Casinos, shopping and entertainment at Stateline are 10 minutes away. The park is a stop for the Tahoe Trolley, so it's easy to get around the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$42
Stayed here over Labor Day Weekend, and was not disappointed at all. Our space was only a little cramped, but we stayed until Wednesday, so by the end of Monday, we were practically all alone. Nice office staff, great places to walk. Definitely a family place with lots of dogs. Everyone observed quiet time. We will stay here again for sure, especially since they are open all year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$54
I was nervous about staying at this park after reading some of the recent reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. We were there over the Labor Day weekend, so they were definitely full, but it didn't feel overcrowded. We navigated our 39' motor home into a back-in site with no problems. We did have another unit behind us, but the way the units are angled we didn't feel like they were on top of us. Full hookup site, everything worked fine. I will say that they could use some more leveling of their sites. The sites are dirt, and the dust does blow around when it's windy. We were able to get satellite reception at the site where we stayed, #431, which was fortunate because while they advertise cable TV, they actually only have about 12 channels. As I mentioned, the park was very full, but people seemed to observe the quiet hours and we were never kept awake or bothered by noisy neighbors. There are some long-term residents, but they keep their sites well picked-up. The camp store is nothing to get excited about. There are lots of family activities, including movies, ice cream socials, etc. The playground, basketball court, tennis court, and pool seemed to get a lot of use. This was our first stay in the Tahoe area and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
This was the third time we have camped at this campground. The access to South Lake Tahoe is great. The pedestals work well. There is a nice area of ranch land behind the park to take a walk or run your pooch. The draw backs are they don't hop on repairs that need to take place. For instance, the handicapped bath room in the Ladies room was out of service and no one was going to work on the toilet until after labor day weekend. This is the second visit where we had requested a specific campsite, knowing there would be plenty of room. We would find out when we arrived that the site we were told to park at is over 300 yards from the one we requested and too small to fit into. Then at the last moment having to have the campground move someone else who hadn't arrived yet so there was room for us. Why don't they just give us the site we asked for in the first place. No one was able to give us an answer except "We're sorry". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
We love this place and have stayed here more than once. This park is in a great location - very convenient to amenities of South Lake Tahoe. Ice cream socials, crafts and fun for kids, people in the office are nice and friendly. My only complaint is that park management disappears after hours so no one is around to enforce "quiet time". After dark, large groups of teens converge upon the play areas and get really loud and rowdy. No one is around to tell them to be quiet. We have small kids and like to be next to the playground, but after dark it gets very loud and we wish we were somewhere else! Just don't get a site right next to the playground area and you'll be fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
I will be honest and say that upon initial check in I was extremely disappointed in this campground. Our initial site given was so tight and between two VERY large Class A's with multiple slideouts that our site didn't even have enough room to open our awning. VERY much like a parking lot with hookups. Went back to the office where they gave us a roomier site. Couple in the site next to us watched TV outside during the morning and evening hours - and since hard of hearing it was turned up loud enough to irritate at times. Sites are close together and very tight, roads in the campground are narrow. At times we cleared a tree or another trailer by only 6" on either side when driving to our site and when leaving. Backing up was quite tricky in such tight quarters and we could get in due to the occupied campsites across from us and trailers almost sticking out onto the narrow road. Finding that the campsite behind us was still unoccupied we decided to drive the wrong way on the road and make our site a "pull-through". If not for that - I don't know how we would have backed in. It is near the airport - but planes are not taking off or landing constantly and the noise is tolerable and not a big deal. However, know that there is an emergency room next to the campground and you possibly will hear the Life-Flight helicopter at all hours of the night - we had it land and take off 3 times during our 5 days - 10:00pm, 11:00pm and 1:00am. This is a Thousand Trails, Coast to Coast campground (which was why I guess I expected more from it than the parking lot type campground it actually is). In the end, we enjoyed the campground and the activities they provided but will only stay again if any 4 of the sites we scoped out are available - if not, we will camp somewhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$43
Stayed here over the weekend at beginning of Aug. Campground was extremely full, over filled according to the staff at the desk. Had encountered rude younger staff on the phone however ladies at check-in were friendly. Campground had the appearance of a refugee camp due it being full, multi-family set ups, kids running wild, very noisy, firecrackers going off, multiple vehicles parked at many sites, just a zoo. Restrooms extremely smelly and dirty, store poorly stocked, flooring in poor shape, entertainment room had games that looked about 30 years old etc. Very dusty and dirty, no privacy between sites. We were very surprised given the ratings of others and the South Lake Tahoe location, which is what it gets a "2" for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Stayed one night, would not honor the Coast to Coast rate. Must "black out" the entire summer! Unkept, dusty, not a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Nice location for South Lake Tahoe. Pool was great, but the bathrooms and showers were sub-par. A little bit on the dusty side with nice treed lots. Not the friendliest employees. Kids loved the Hamster wheel in the playground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
This is our favorite spot when visiting Lake Tahoe. We have enjoyed this camping spot during the hot summer months, as well as the snowy winter season. This park is close to several great restaurants (walking distance to one yummy Italian restaurant) and about a couple of miles to the beautiful lake. Clean pool, nicely spaced sites, and friendly staff are a plus. I think that it is very important to make visitors feel welcome. Tahoe Valley Campground does just that. I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$48
We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend in 2007. Our site was directly behind the pool and playground. We had full hook-ups, picnic table, and fire pit. Plenty of shade trees. The kids had so much fun using the pool and playground but also just riding their bikes down a large dirt hill. On Saturday we took a family hike led by the administration. Very low key and enjoyable. Can't wait to go back in 2008! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
Nice campground with friendly staff. Sites were roomy and easy to access. Although we stayed here during the off-season and weather was wet and cold, the site drained well with no standing water. Will definitely come back during the summer months as this resort will be an excellent vacation destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$27
Great place to stay, especially during ski season. We were almost the only ones there! Very quiet. Good location for skiing Heavenly and Sierra at Tahoe. There was a $3 per day resort fee, that the website had no mention of. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
Very wide spaces for Big Rig. Restrooms and showers need "sprucing up". Lots of activities and friendly staff. Only lack of paved or gravel pads keep me from rating higher. Too much dirt and guests drive a little too fast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
Very nice campground, family friendly, fun place to stay among the trees. The shuttle bus which stops right at the entrance takes you all around South Lake Tahoe. There are a number of family activities, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Resort just got Wi-Fi as of 7/5/06 (which I am using to write this), for a reasonable fee ($6 per day or $13 per week; monthly rates available). Lots of desert residents up here escaping the heat. The pool is a bit dirty, but understandable considering the day after the holiday. Pay a couple extra bucks for the premium sites, you won't have another rig behind you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$39
We really enjoyed this park. It is about as close to nature as you can get, with all the luxuries of hook-ups. We were surrounded by pinetrees and had plenty of space for our three kids to roam. We paid for a premium spot and had the entire area behind our trailer open. It is in a terrific spot if you want to explore Emerald Bay, or basically anything on the south, or west side of Lake Tahoe. It has a small store, an arcade room, and a really cool old fashioned playground. I haven't seen these kinds of toys in years. The pool was clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$42
Although you can no longer choose your own campsite this is still a wonderful place to go. All sites have shade either part or all of the day. The trees tower over the entire park and the pine smell makes you feel as if you are truly in the woods camping. They are family and pet-friendly. Lots of activities but very quiet at night. AAA members receive a 10% discount. I gave them a 9 instead of a 10 because I feel for a park this size the store could be better stocked. We will return here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
People were friendly. The place was clean. It was located near the airport and not on the water. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
We stayed in this park for a month. It is a beautiful location and good amenities. Our only complaint is the loose powdery dirt 2 inches deep at the campsites. It gets into everything. With the high rates charged in campgrounds today they should have cement pads. We would not return because of the difficulty in keeping the dirt off of everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$34
Very Clean and large park nesteled amoung the tall pondarosa pines. Many large pull through and back in spaces. Nice clean pool area. They offer many actitivities for both young and adult. A family friendly park. (They like dogs too.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$27
This was our third year in a row here. This visit was in a tent. It was interesting watching all the rv's registering at all hours. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Restroom and showers were clean. Campground is about one mile from the lake. This has to be the best campground in the area. Hopefully will return in 2005. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$48
Nice park in the tall trees of So Lake Tahoe. Wonderful ambiance but some poor service while we were there even thought the staff is very friendly. We arrived on July 6th at the end of the 4th of July weekend and obviously they had been very busy. But they were out of ice for three days after we arrived (couldn't somebody have went to a store and bought some for the park?), the pool was an absolute mess (a good shocking with some chlorine could have helped this out) the bathrooms were not very clean, and the trash containers were overrunning all over the park. A nice family style campground however with plenty of activities and facilities for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Right in town and close to casinos, but tucked back in among trees, so you feel like you are really camping. Quoted a $40 dollar rate, but it was $35 when we got here, plus 10% off for AAA discount. I believe it is worth the price. The staff was wonderful: very friendly and accommodating. We asked if it was okay to check out late on a Sunday and they welcomed us to stay as long as we needed (without an extra charge). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$38
Our first visit to this rv park. Staff did not know the word "no". Staff whisks you around in a golf cart to select your site. Spent first night in wilderness section, secord night in site with full hookups. Nice playground area, pool, basketball court, ping pong. Arcade was o.k. but games were a bit vintage. Nearby shopping. Fellow campers were nice. Will be back again, but wish the price was lower. (that is why this park got an 8) We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$38
Pretty nice campsites. Lots to do with a swimming pool, tennis court, play area, arcade room, etc. We had some problems with the electrical hook up and they attempted to make repairs, but could not do it in a timely maner. Nice shaded sites. Big black ants! Expensive, but I would stay here again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com