206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Morro Strand RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (805) 772-8232
CGID4796

Morro Strand RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   7   10   10   4   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Stayed two weeks in the park II. Park is split into two parks across the street from each other. Park II is for rigs up to 28' in length, park I is for anything bigger with sites that are either 21' or 42" in width. Full hook ups with 60 cable channels and Wi-Fi throughout both parks. Cable clarity was good and Wi-Fi was excellent except when park II was full. Locked restroom/showers in both parks, laundry only in park II. One block to city park. One fourth mile to beach. Five minutes to Embarcadero and tourist area of Morro Bay. I've stayed in 7 of the about 10 RV park/campgrounds in MB and for money and what you get this is the best deal. The park is clean, quiet and well kept. Management, day and night are friendly and responsive. Free coffee and brownies in the office in the AM. My next reservation is already made. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$48
This is a bare bones park which is pretty close to the beach. Sites are gravel and level. Quiet at night and school and truck traffic during the day, but not a problem. There is a laundry room, but not much else. Within walking distance to the beach. I guess this is pretty typical of coastal parks in California. Would stay here again when passing thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
As with most CA parks near a beach it is nothing fancy. Reasonably easy back-in sites $5 more a night gets you a double wide site. Park and facilities are clean. WiFi access was on and off from my site. Walking distance to the beach. Downgraded it 3 points to a 7 because no amenities, WiFi in and out, and owner and manager were not very interested when I mentioned the WiFi issues. Even with that would probably stay here again given the other options in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
The office manager was very personable and friendly. This park has 24 hour access to a manager if you need it, but we didn't have any issues here. We used the laundry and found it inexpensive and clean, but there is no pool area or other such amenities. We stayed here three days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$43
There are two sections to this park, Park I for larger rigs >30’ and Park II for smaller rigs <28’. We requested our favorite site when we telephoned and we were able to get it. Both of these parks are located just north of Morro rock and the beach is just a short walk west. There is noise from diesel trucks coming and going from a nearby plant during daylight hours but we were not bothered by it. The Wi-Fi and cable was excellent and the sites were ample. It was clear that it is being used primarily for vacationers. There is a city park one block away which is good for dog walking. The weekend we spent there was not busy, although we know from experience, summertime it gets very full. The staff was agreeable in every way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$48
When we arrived at the RV Park the lady in the office was very nice and helpful. The RV Park was clean and well maintained. Walking distance to the beach. Would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$47
I have never downgraded a park just because of the staff before but this park deserves to know how it treats people. No matter what the issue, the customer is treated with cool indifference. "What is there to do here?" Answer: "Look around." "The Internet is not working." "That happens." It is a very clean park and very quiet. That is good. Also, Hearst Castle about 25 miles north is a genuine treat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$52
Sometimes less is more, which we felt was the case with this park. Small, very clean, well located. We were in space #5 which is extra wide - well worth the few dollars for the upgrade. There was a BBQ and a picnic table. Restrooms were very clean. Office staff was helpful. We were provided our space number in advance so we could pull right in after hours. Located very close to a bike trail. It was a 5-10 minute ride into town where there were many restaurants and sites. We walked past the nearby RV park (can't recall the name) and it was very crowded. Morro Strand was a much better choice for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
This is a small park located within walking distance to the beach. It is just a short drive to downtown Morro Bay. It has a paved road but the sites are large, gravel and level. There is no shade but the weather is cool. The Wi-Fi and cable TV are good. It is a little pricey but it is after all close to the beach. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$47
This is just an OK park. It gets a "6" for being walking distance to the ocean and Morro Rock. It is all gravel, no view, does come with a picnic table and a fire pit. The wharf, which you have to drive to, has a lot of seafood restaurants and shops. We ate at The American Fish Co and Dockside and both were excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Nice, clean and well maintained park with a friendly staff. Sites are gravel and level and wide. There is a laundry which was clean and in good working order as well as restrooms and showers. It's located less than a quarter mile from the the beach access and a great view of Morro Rock. We were surprised to find that there is a high school directly behind the park with entrances and exits on either side of the park. It was super quiet and the only time we heard any noise from the school was on Friday night when there was a football game, but the noise level was extremely low. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The site was difficult to get into and we had to unhitch to park our SUV. After hour check in (after 6 pm) did not leave the code to access the showers bathroom and laundry. So we were out of luck. Gravel landscaping. Our site was next to the road (we were in park II). The park is next to a concrete plant and waste water facility. Industrial area near what looked like a power plant. The beach is close by and easy to walk to. We felt relatively safe and cannot comment on cleanliness of facilities since we could not access. Appeared to be all travelers/campers vs full timers. OK for a 1 night stay when passing through town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$44
There is a super nice guy running this park. You go to some parks and the office makes it difficult to feel at ease. The guy running this park made everything easy and was just a pleasure to due business with. We have a 41' motorhome and there was plenty of room to get in and out on the first shot. Close to the ocean and next to Morro Rock. This will be my first choice whenever we are in Morro Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Gravel landscape. Sites are easily accessible. Beach nearby. Located next to high school so lots of related traffic. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Seems relatively expensive for amenities received. Very close to Rt #1, thus very convenient stopover. Have stayed here before and will return for brief stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Interior roads are wide and we had no problem backing our 36' RV into the spot first try. Hookups are very convenient at the rear of the site. Cable TV hook up provided good picture quality. Pet friendly and plenty of room to walk the dogs along Atascadero Road. Beach access is less than 1/4 mile away. Restrooms and showers were in the same trailer and were clean and well stocked. Office has a few snacks available but there is a convenience store a short distance away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Price noted was a full hook-up, 50amp, double wide site. (Single wide sites $40/night). No discounts, weekly, or monthly rates from May through October. Good power and water. Satellite friendly, Verizon cell and air-card reception without issue. Park is situated on both sides of Atascadero Road, which also borders a High School, water treatment plant, cement plant and ultimately dead-ends, 3 blocks away at yet another RV park and the beach. Relatively quiet except when school is in session. School PA system announcements are hilarious: learned all about senior ditch day. Then there was the grossly out of tune band practice sessions. No sleeping-in here. This is an unique park as it is relatively new: sites are laid out for RV's built in this century. Generously wide and long with appropriately positioned hook-ups and heavy duty tables. Fire rings are available. However, the all gravel, no grass matrix yields a kind of industrial feel. Only ambiance is around the park's perimeter with well cared for trees, shrubs and flower beds. No dog doo here. Walk those puppies along the paved interior streets or outside the park. Neat and clean office, laundry, bathroom, shower area combined in couple park models at the entrance. Friendly host who has no experience RV'ing. Will bounce you around from site to site for longer stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
This is a very small RV park with limited space when full. Staff is friendly, Wi-Fi and cable worked well. But in spite of expecting to pay more in CA, this park is too expensive for what you get. We spent two nights here. Rather than come back we will push on up the road the next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$35
We spent two nights at Park II. Had the entire park to ourselves. (Park I was half full) Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. As advertised the restrooms were very clean. Had some difficulty hooking up to Wi-Fi for Park II but had no problem connecting to Park I across the street. TV channel selection was great, 70+ channels. The reason I rated it 8 is it is all cement and gravel, no grass. Staff was excellent and extremely helpful. Night manager greeted us while hooking up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This was a very clean park, with very friendly managers. If you plan on going when the high school is in session you will hear the very loud school buses starting at 7:10 AM. The back of our motorhome was right against the fence and street where the buses enter/exit several times a day. Right across the street is a Ready Mix batch plant and they started as early as 5:30-6:00 AM each day during the week. Nice park, but we won't be staying again due to the noise/traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
We really enjoyed this RV park. This was not our first choice in the Morro Bay area, however it will be from now on. I rated this an 8 only because there isn't any grass. It is a gravel lot and very level. We did not hear the concrete plant that was mentioned in a previous review. In fact, if I had not seen it with my eyes, I would not even had known it was there. Very quiet park, people were very nice. Spaces are large. We were very pleased with this place. Space 17 is tight due to an fire hydrant. We all agreed that we would stay here again. Please note that this RV park is separated by a 2 lane road. Each park is fenced and nice. But we stayed on the larger side (the north side) of the park which accommodates 30+ foot trailers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Management was friendly and helpful. Restrooms were very, very clean. This is a nice place to stay while visiting Morro Bay, but don't expect a resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Pros: 1) nine minute walk to beach 2) original-new restrooms, showers, and laundry 3) “Morro Bay Trolley” (on rubber wheels) stop in front of RV park ($3 all-day, adult pass) 4) all sites are level 5) short drive to Morro Bay shopping and many excellent restaurants 6) choice of narrow to wide spaces Cons: 1)“Trolley” runs only on Friday through Monday. 2) Across the street is a concrete mix plant which starts their diesel engines and moves them forward and backward (with accompanying “beep-beep” sounds). Then the trucks multi-shift gears as they roll out. 3) If you’re here during school days, the sound of school buses will also irritate you, if you’re like me. 4) Next to the mix plant is Morro Bay Waste Treatment Plant which on the Monday we arrived, was emitting the usual septic tank smell. The rest of the days we were here, we didn’t smell anything bad. Possible reasons: change in wind direction or MB’s sewer usage went down after the week-end. The RV connections are near the real of space, but we had no problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$55
This was a very comfortable interim site for us. We stayed four days. It is close to the beach and easily within reach of the town of Morro Bay, a lovely costal city. The seafood is outstanding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
I agree that this a parking lot with large number of rules. There is no dog run and the rules state if you have to walk your dog do it toward the ocean not in the park. When checking in we were given a site with no electricity and had to move. The utilities connections are too far back to allow easy hookup within the 10 foot from the fence which separates you from the school. Probably would not stay here again even thou the manager was friendly (except when I told the manager my electric did not work). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
Was not impressed. $45 for a parking spot. No grass, all rock. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
This was a basic RV park. Some of our group rented a cabin which was nice and basic, but the hot water only held out for a very short period of time. The hookups were available, but were not lined up well for our RV. The park was nice and quiet, but then it was March. A washer and dryer were available – in the woman’s bathroom. We would probably stay here again, but it was not on the top of our list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
This park is exactly as advertised. Very basic, but clean, with level gravel spots, and 50amp service. A short walk to the beach. We arrived late in the afternoon in Morro Bay and stayed here as there were no spots available just down the street at Morro Dunes until the next day. No frills, but the owners take pride in their park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Park is basic, clean, with everything we need. We don't have kids traveling with us, so a basic park with full hookups, nice people and a good satellite view are what we look for. It's a short walk to the beach, sites are pretty level and gravel. We would definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$38
The new managers are pretty good, but new to their job. Park is two blocks to the beach. The spaces seem to stay wet much of the time. Park is clean and well cared for. Hookups are rather new and excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$4
Don't you love it when someone with only two prior ratings gets on the service and trys to tell everyone the people rating these places are wrong. Two priors and both of other parks in Morro Bay, niether good, and none since. Hmmm ! that sound like the owners of the park, or what ? Look this place over real good before you pay to stay here. You be the judge. And by the way, after 15 years in law enforcement, I know a gang member when i see one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
I also stayed in Park Two in August. I am also an honest person and found the park to be clean and the management very friendly and helpful. My 27' fit just fine. The sites are smaller but, I have been in a lot smaller sites than this park! I did not have a problem with the WiFi. There is a connection for WiFi for park one and one for park two. Need to connect into the correct one. I have never seen gang members in this park..just respectful RVer's. We enjoyed the park, although we do like Park One a little better, more of a homey feeling to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
I really hate this, but unless one is honest, no one knows what to expect. This started out to be a pretty nice place till they built the "new side" across the street. We explained we were older folks and needed a quiet spot. They placed us in the "new side", and I really don't think i have ever seen a park quite this small and hard to get backed into. The sites are very, very small. My 27 foot trailer would barely fit, then you are expected to park next to it, out of the driveway. IMPOSSIBLE]!! They need to sober up whoever planned out the construction of this new side and fire him. They don't even have the luxury of saying the park is old! The WiFi was so poor on this side of the street that I had to log onto someone else's WiFi just to stay connected. The kids screamed and hollered and rode their bikes up and down the drive all evening and the park management did nothing to quiet them down. Then they rented a spot to what appeared to be gang members, that about took the cake. We are done with Morro Bay in general. with the prices gone round the bend, and no decent RV parks left, I think we will find some other place to spend our dollars. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
The new part of the park opened one week ago and it appears it is used for smaller rigs. We are in a 20 ft van with a tow. We fit just fine, but did think some were finding it very tight. The management was very nice and as it was holiday weekend we felt lucky to get a spot. It is a good location for touring the area. A trolley stops outside the park. Nothing for children to do here so they did play in the street which was not good. But would stay here again next time through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
A new, immaculate yet sterile campground. There was no shade and all parking is on gravel. The ocean is a short walk away. WiFi was perfect, all facilities were well managed and the staff was friendly. Easy access for big rigs. All spaces are back-in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$38
Small quiet park with gravel sites, good roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$36
This is a clean, parking lot-type RV park. All gravel; no trees or landscaping except on perimeter of park. Location is close to the beach and a very nice grassy park/ball field which our dog enjoyed. The spaces are roomy and the manager was very nice. Dinner at Dorns Restaurant is recommended! We'll probably try the State Park in Morro Bay next time. Didn't like all the gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$39
If you like small, quiet, well-maintained parks, this place is for you. Nice staff, big sites, fantastic wifi and cable, super clean restrooms/showers, and only 1 block from a gorgeous beach and dunes. If the surf's up, you can even hear it from your campsite! While kids are permitted here, there's not much for them to do-- no pool or playground, and no planned activities like at bigger parks. But if you're looking for a quiet base camp for working and/or vacationing, this park can't be beat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
Small park. All gravel sites. Utilities at back end of sites so come prepared. Sites are roomy. The park is excellently located, close to the beach and town. Beach is within walking distance. Friendly staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
We loved the park. Very, very, clean and the Camp Host was very friendly and helpful. She told us quite a bit about the area and places to visit and see. Beautiful office, with pamphlets about the area of Morrow Bay. The sites are very large and clean, as are the restrooms. There is a clean, well maintained laundry room. Also free Wireless internet and 70 channel TV is included. Every site is full hook-up and the park is very quiet at night. We loved the place, we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
Park has only been open for about 1 year and everything is in excellent condition. All sites have 50 AMP service and the office has a limited supply of "dog bone" adapters to 30 amp if you only have 30 AMP at no charge. Staff is very congenial. Office doubles as a small store with limited supplies. Food and services are within walking distance. Beach is 1/2 mile and the sound of the surf is quite impressive. Tent trailers are permitted. As the park is adjacent to the Morro Bay High school, the school busses in the early morning may bother some light sleepers during the school year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com