214481 User submitted reviews online!!
RiverBend RV Park and Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (830) 875-9548
CGID4798

RiverBend RV Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   7   8   7   8   9   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
Cute park with a lot of full time residents. There were only a few sites available for overnight stays. Sites were level and our 42 ft. motorhome fit with room for the towed. On exit, there are low hanging limbs and vehicles parked on the road made it hard to get out. We also had to pay $10 for our friends to come visit. I can see paying in the summer, but not the winter for an hour long visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
This park is loaded with potential, yet, what is potential, unrealized level of what could be a nice little lark. This park is full of permanent residence, lots of oil field workers and welders. Didn't have a single problem with any of them, just so you are aware. The restroom/showers were clean. And yes, there is an adjacent training track for race horses...Big Deal (sarcasm). The pool, although on the small side was nice but the reason that we were drawn to this place is that it is located on the banks of the San Marcos River. River access is just OK, and you only have a stretch of swimmable river of about 50 yards. Trees, stumps and other river trash prevents you from really enjoying the river further down. We did find a nice spot of river close by though. When you are leaving the RV park turn right and drive about a mile and a half and you will come upon a park (city), free of charge, where there is great river access, a rope swing and much better water free of debris. If they would cleanup their section of the river, this place could shine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We stayed here only one night on our way thru TX. The bath house was very clean. We had to back in. It can be a tight fit on most of the spots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Friendly staff and easy on/off to I-10. Not much noise from the interstate, a lot of workers but not a problem for us. Level sites, no shade, and the internet didn't reach our site. Would stay there again using Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Paid the Passport rate. We had site 24, a 30 amp pull through FHU. It was gravel and very level with grass between sites. The Wi-Fi was unusable, but Verizon broadband was very good at 4G and TV via bat-wing was also very good. We had stations out of both Austin and San Antonio. Our site was at the end of the row and we had nice views of a horse race track and stables behind that. A nice valley setting. Dust may be an issue at times, but everyone seemed to obey the 5 MPH. Only minor problem was the slow dumping of our tanks. Their system is pretty full. It was a nice stay and a good value. Downtown San Antonio is an hour drive during the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
Level gravel sites with grass between sites. Many of the the tenants are long term oil field workers but have decent rigs. We had a problem at check-in that we had changed our dates and they had made a mistake on when we were coming in. They were totally booked, but realizing the mistake called someone on the road and had to ask them to find another campground. They were nice enough to oblige and were not upset. The Wi-Fi was good as was the electricity and water. We enjoyed City Market BBQ and also went into Lockhart from here and had Kreutz and Smitty's as well! We will return to River Bend if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$14
We camped here in a motorhome. The rate reflects a monthly rate of $400 (50 Amp site). Electric is included in that price, so that is a plus. The campground does have a lot of monthly campers who are mostly construction workers working in the oil business south of town. They are quiet, leave early and return late so the park is pretty deserted during the day. We had no problems with noise or traffic. The park speed limit is 5 mph, which is what you find in most parks. We were told about it at check-in but otherwise not hassled about it. The reason they pay attention to the speed, (besides safety) is that all the interior roads are dirt/gravel and dust is an issue. WiFi worked great. TV antenna will get you about 12 local stations. Showers and restrooms were cleaned daily. Owners live on-site and stay on top of maintenance. Would recommend the park and stay again. The only drawback is there is very little in Luling other than some famous BBQ restaurants so you end up going to San Marcos, Austin and San Antonio to shop and find entertainment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$12
We stayed here for a month. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The sites are large enough and are pull through. The park is located just outside of town, very convenient for shopping. You must try City Market BBQ...wonderful! The laundry room has 4 washers and dryers and is open 24-7. Quiet park. The only bad thing is the smell of the oil wells or refinery nearby it is strong. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$15
We got the last site available at 1PM on a cold weekday. Park is filled with long term residents. Caution: Reservations are non-refundable. Very convenient for an over night stop. There is a golf course a few miles up the road toward town. A comment on speed paranoia is well noted. There are also an abundance of other rules and regulations. The community building is very nice with a kitchen, laundry, and 2 unisex restrooms/showers, all very clean. The showers would be a 10 if they had a mat in the dressing area. There was a mess of dried toilet paper around the sewer connection. Sites are covered with thin gravel but could be a tad muddy if it rains. Good (number of channels, not quality) over the air TV and fast Wi-Fi. No road noise however there are diesel trucks firing up at 5AM as the construction workers head to work. Fee posted is 1 night PA rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
Very nice management. Very nice park. Stayed here one night passing through. Sites are level and grass is mowed. Many permanent residents. Quiet and pleasant place. Close to town and good restaurants. Restrooms and showers are clean and nice. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
We stayed here for one night during May 2012. Since it was getting close to Memorial Day weekend I called ahead to see if there was availability. The woman with whom I spoke was helpful and friendly. The site we had was a pull-through, with full hookups. They have both 50 and 30 amp sites, and we were given a 50% discount since we are Escapees members. As another reviewer mentioned on a different review site, there is concern about speeding in the park. As soon as I parked our car behind our motor home, a man on a small tractor approached me and nicely asked that I drive slower in the park so as to not create dust and for the safety of the children who would be out playing. I didn't even realize I was driving fast, but the road was extremely dry and I may have stirred up some dust. But, he was courteous when he asked. As another reviewer mentioned, there are no concrete pads, but the site we had was relatively level. What we liked most about the park was that there were several large areas where we could walk our dog. We would return to this park if we were passing through Luling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
Fast Wi-Fi, level sites, quiet, some shaded spots, pool, nearby river. We stayed three days at Passport America rates. We'd come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
Rate reflects Passport America. Stopped here overnight and it was an easy pull through and only 2 hours from home. Office was very helpful and friendly. Yes, there is an odor in Luling, but it was not present the night we were there. This park is close to the freeway but far enough away that there is no noise. It's an easy overnight stay with plenty of room to walk the dog. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
We stayed here 3 days and our rate was based on an Escapees 50% discount. OK park, lots of long term residents but their spots were tidy for the most part. Only real negative was the awful odor from a refinery that is nearby. When the wind came from their direction it was almost overpowering. Best thing about the park is Luling! They have the best bar-b-que at City Market which is about 15 minutes from the park. It is an experience not to be missed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
This is pleasant park in a rural setting, and a very nice place for an overnight stay -- an hour or so from San Antonio. The spot for overnight stays is easy to get into and out of. There is a nice area for walking. I give this a 7 rather than a 9 rating, because the sewer disposal stopped working just as we arrived, and we could not dump. For this same reason the toilets and the showers were not functional. I believe the owners were in the process of repairing this when we left. The non-functional sewer system had little effect on us, but might be a considerable inconvenience to some. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Basic campground, with parking on grass, no pads. Pull through sites are long enough for a big rig with tow. Overnight stop only as not much to do in the area except an excellent BBQ in Luling. Our rate was $15 using PassPort America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Good for an overnight stop. The people in the park are very friendly and the Wi-Fi works good. The roads and the ground are muddy in spots due to all the rain they have had. It is on the San Marcos river and would be a fun place in the summer. I would stay here again. Price is Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Good overnight campground. We don't hear any expressway noise inside RV with windows closed. Interior roads are very rough due to all the recent rains. We were told that they would be repaired when the rains stop. Sprint cell phone and air card work good. Pull through site was level & plenty long but a little narrow. Downtown is 2 miles away; better diesel prices there than at expressway, and there are several restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
Staff in this park very friendly. Stayed here several days, enjoyed watching the training of race horses, another business the owners engage in. Our rating would have been higher if the park had better interior roads and drainage during rains. We were sometimes ankle deep in water and mud. This park could be very pretty if some of the unused rigs and clutter around seasonal sites would be cleaned up. There were abandoned grills left on open sites that should have been removed once the occupants left. We would stay here again while in route. The restrooms and showers were not clean. We stayed here two years ago and the restrooms were very clean and inviting, don't know what happened. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
Roads are gravel but in good condition. Free WI-FI with a 3 and 4 bar strength signal. Showers and restrooms were spotless with a lot of room inside. Water was funny tasting. Price reflects Passport America discount. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
The 30amp sites are back in's along the San Marcos River and are very nice with some shade trees. A lovely little fishing pond on site. Lots of grassy area, all sites have a good picnic table. A good laundry room with pleasant sitting area outside on a covered porch. Lots to see and do within an hour. The 50amp sites are mostly pull through's. Good roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
A nice enough park, with some sites close to the river (but far from the bathrooms) and others out in the open, flat, long gravel. There is a new bath house with a kitchen visitors can use, laundry, two shower-toilet rooms and one with just a toilet. The showers were clean but smelled of mildew. There's also an older, rustic bath house with two shower-toilet rooms. The pool area is nice but the pool is not heated. The road noise from I-10 is pretty loud. Our site had a lot of cigarette butts on it. The wi-fi was sometimes slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$13
We chose this park because we came to the area to visit friends and this was reasonably close to them. But turns out we really enjoyed this park and would happily stay there again. It is not particularly fancy, but is well cared for and has a peaceful, relaxing feel. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Bathrooms and laundry were spotless. Roads and sites are gravel with some grass between and other grassy areas within the park. Most sites are easily long enough for our 41' motorhome and tow car with room to spare. Wide enough for slides on both sides plus the awning and a bit more besides. No cable but major networks came in fine with antenna. Easy access off of I-10. Less than 1 mile away from interstate but road noise was pretty much non-existent. Sites are easy to get in and out of. Free WiFi which worked fine at the site we occupied. Luling has a lot of oil pumps and our friends warned us many areas in Luling have a strong smell. But this was not a problem at the RV park. There was a slight odor early in the morning on a couple of days, but it dissipated quickly. The location is ideal for exploring Austin and San Antonio, both of which are only about an hour away from Luling. Luling is also home to the City Market BBQ which many people say is the best BBQ in Texas. Rate reflects Passport America discount which we were given for the entire length of our 17 day stay. I believe monthly rate is only $250. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Wonderful, quiet, and inexpensive park with easy access to I-10. There is a new and clean shower, bath, laundry and kitchen facility constructed of cinder block providing an excellent storm shelter if needed. It is a Passport America park with a good monthly rate also. This would be a good snow bird, moderate weather stop over park while driving to the Rio Grande valley or Gulf coast. It is not far from both San Antonio and Austin. The lots are spacious, easily accommodating two vehicles and the RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$13
Nice, quiet, easy access. Nothing "special", just nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
I spent a month here, and will visit again. Clean facilities with friendly owners, workampers and campers. There is a mix of seasonal & permanent campers but the park is very clean and sites are closely monitored. Quiet, moderate price and convenient to San Antonio, San Marcos, Austin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
Fairly nice little country place, easy access to I-10 but not noisy. Not much going on right here, but Austin and San Antonio are a short drive. Grass and dirt sites, a bit close but seem level. A small pool is here (too cold now) , and free WiFi that the mgr. said isn't working well but will be improved. Just 2 shower/bathrooms but private and clean. Great stopover for Passport America at $12.50 and monthly rate of $250 is a deal if you have a vehicle to get you out to somewhere more exciting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Wonderful, quiet park for quick stayovers... racehorse training facility right on the premises! Big sites, easy for rigs to pull in and out. We pulled in late at night to a very friendly and helpful person to help get us checked in - excellent customer service! Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
This park has new owners and is in the process of building it up. They have a brand new restroom, shower and laundry and the pool isn't very old. The sites were fairly close to level and everyone in the park is friendly. There is a catch and release fishing pond and some limited access to the San Marcos River. A small, but very nice golf course is just across the bridge from the park and the town of Luling is within a mile with some very good Bar B Que restaurants. Very easy to get to from I-10 and is situated within 45 miles of San Antonio, 30 miles to Two outlet malls in San Marcos, 35 miles to Camping World in New Braunfels. It is is the middle of the Texas Independence Trail with all kinds of shopping and sight seeing within a hour or less. There is a horse farm on the site and the owners are very accommodating and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com