206925 User submitted reviews online!!
Camden Hills State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (207) 236-3109
CGID4802

Camden Hills State Park

Camp Information
Sites
107
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   7   9   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Nice state park. Limited big rigs sites available. Big rigs need to be in the field area which has fairly large sites that are open. Rangers are nice to work with. Bathroom and shower rooms are clean, but maybe a little dated. No laundry facilities. Mount Battie and many hiking trails available in the park including an area located on the water across the road from the main park. Nice food take out just outside the park. It is about a 5 minute drive to Camden. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Lovely, nice and clean. Beautiful place to visit...lots of trails to choose from. The Park wardens friendly and very informative. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
A great location. Extremely helpful and friendly staff in the park office. Good Wi-Fi connection (not something we expected in a state park). Very clean bathrooms and showers. A few of the sites are layer out a bit oddly and are not particularly level. The road to the dump station needs repaving (lots of potholes and crumbling pavement). Loved our stay her and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
We stayed here four nights. Great hiking right from the camp or a short drive. Great view of the bay from a road up the hill within the camp. Friendly staff. The sites are not level, so bring lots of leveling blocks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
Location is excellent close to Route 1, a short drive up Mount Battie for a great view and hiking, or into the charming town of Camden. Sites are mostly set in the woods though some are closer to the road. Our first site assigned was impossible to level, so we asked to switch and the staff was accommodating. Second one not much better but we made it work. Got a few TV stations on our antenna. Cinder block bathrooms had modern corian long sinks. Unisex showers were separate. It's a nice park, very popular. Rate was $35, as shown includes tax and a $2 reservation fee. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
This is a beautiful park. There is a mountain with a car road that you can drive up to see the ocean and islands. There is a portion of the camp right on the ocean, but no sites there. There are nice big sites in the front in a field and plenty of wooded sites. The only drawback to this place is that the manager is a stickler about anything that you might not be doing quite right. But, definitely a park to visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Great location, close to town. Nice park personnel. Campsites dirt or grass sites. Most well shaded. Bathhouses clean but stark. Great hiking with a short really scenic drive up the mountain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Electric & Water. Hot showers. Very clean restrooms. Not all sites level, we had difficulty in 24' class B. Suggest pressure wash clean inside shower rooms to remove build-up on walls and floors. Overall wonderful stay. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Second time at this park, same beloved site #,called the "honeymoon suite"...as it is all by itself with its own driveway, though can be very annoying as other campers would walk their dogs down the drive and not clean up after them. Big roomy site, with great water pressure. 50 amp not available at the park, but with the cool temps, it was not an issue. Only bad thing about the site is the very busy road noise from Route 1 very close by through the woods. Had good and fast free WI-FI connect. Bathrooms always clean, and the push button showers did not bother me, as I loved the individual unisex bathrooms with locking doors. What is left of the pavement is crumbling through the middle of the park, but the gravel roads are in good condition. Great to walk across the street to the picnic park and watch the sunrise on the rocky coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Camden is my home town and loved camping there. It is adjacent to the Mount Battle access road and the view is wonderful. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Beautiful state park with both hiking trails and a road to the top of Mount Battey, where the views of Penobscott Bay are spectacular! Our site, although treed (there are some field sites) was roomy for both our rig and car. A great location for touring the Camden, Rockland and surrounding areas of the central Maine coast. We will stay here again when we're back in the Camden area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This is a nice park but the bathrooms are very grubby. I don't usually use the restrooms so I let my wife give me her two cents. As far as the park, it's very nice, excellent access for all the sites and if you are a big rig you can stay out front in a nice grass area. WiFi is fast and strong, we got two channels very good on our Wingman. Phone service might be a little weak depending on your service. The price reflects fall rates, we stayed here four days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We had a nice, big site (# 38) and loved this place. Planned to stay 2 nights and stayed 4. Very quiet, great hiking trails, nice area across highway 1 and on the coast. Loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Most of this park is dry camping, but about a third is electric (30 amp) with water hookup, which was all we needed. Only a few sites are accesible for 40 plus RV's and most of those are in the field up front near the entrance. We had the "honeymoon suite" which is the very unique spot down a two track all by itself near the entrance, site number 60. Staff is all very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are newer, always clean, but very spartan with plain unpainted concrete block and floors. No soap or paper towels in bathrooms. Showers are great, as they are all individual stalls from the outside with full metal locking doors, and lots of room inside. No intrusive shower curtains. Interesting shower, as it has no on/off handle or temperature control. Is a push button that lasts about 3 minutes, but comes back again again as soon as you re-push it with lots of water pressure. All very effecient, and cost savings. Trip up to the top of Mount Battie on the inside park road is magnificent and a view not to be missed. Walk up the World War II Memorial turrent for a 360 view. Very busy, but cute, seaside town of Camden is about 2 miles away and fun. Only thing we did not like was the constant road noise of busy Highway one, but was tolerable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is the second time we have camped at this state park. It is very nice, conveniently located to Camden (within biking distance). Most of the sites are shaded, but there is an open field as well with both water and electric. None of the sites have sewer, but there is a dump station. We were in site 21 and had some difficulty leveling, but then moved to 41 and it was fine. There are hiking trails in the park and access to Mount Battie by car or trail where you can get a wonderful view of Camden and the harbor. Reservations are suggested since the sites book up quickly starting in early July. It is a beautiful area with lots to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
This is a great state park in a wonderful setting in a beautiful part of Maine. There is lots to do in the area. We were here off season. Thankfully, they open early so we had a place to stay. We were greeted by the park staff and offered many options. The park is great. The only drawbacks are that it is close to the highway, so there is some highway noise. The sites are fairly sloping so leveling can be a bit of a challenge. As we are here tonight we are the only folks in the CG, so it is sweet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We used this park for a rally of 17 other Views. We were very pleased with the park for this activity. There is so much to do and see within ten miles of the park even in the September weather, everyone was satisfied. Since this was a rally, the privacy of each lot was not an advantage but we would be a rare activity through the season. Most lots were spacious. Some were not good for RVs due to grades..not level enough. The best rally sites are in the field. All had water and electric. There are very good wifi connections throughout the park. The toilets were clean. There are no sewer connections. We did not use any of the Park's trails and roads but the trails, roads and $\sites are very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
We stayed here 2 nights in site #41. It was an excellent pull-through site across from the bathrooms. We were worried about it being noisy next to the bathrooms, but you never even noticed. The sites in the field also looked nice if you were with other campers. This park was very quiet and extremely well maintained. Sites are generously spread out so that you have plenty of privacy. Easy to navigate the roads as well as the dump station with a big rig. The people at the entrance station were very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. One of the best state park campgrounds I have ever stayed at. Ranger stays at the booth until 11:00 pm. However, if your an early-riser person: some of the gates (auto road, ocean side picnic area) don't open until 9:00 am. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Nice quiet non-commercial campground. Sites are a little tight but with care, not a problem. If you don't need a pool and want to kick back in a quiet natural setting, this is the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
A very nice clean state park, close to the little town of Camden, you can walk to town and walk to the top of Mount. Battie, Lots of trails to walk on, poor TV reception. I loved this this state park. I will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We love it here. One could not ask for a better of park. The sites are roomy, in the woods, have lots of shade, (or some very sunny spots in a field if you want), W&E, WiFi. In addition you are near Camden ME, a quintessential Maine seaside community. We recommend a windjammer cruise on Penobscot Bay. Sure you may have to level you RV, and there may be a few mosquitoes, but remember you are in the woods, camping, not in a Holiday Inn parking lot! Enjoy it for what it is. We plan to come back here many times We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
I don't know where the $30 camping fee others report comes from, but we paid the non resident fee listed on the reservations web site of $20 for 50 amp power and water. This is a very nice park with a choice of sites in the trees or about 12 sites on the edge of a very nice grassy field which is about the size of 4 football fields. We had to be a little careful driving between the tress on the CG roads but there wasn't any real tight spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
The new electric/water sites are very large. They back up to a wooded area and face out onto an open field. Plenty of space between sites in this section. The 12 or so sites in this area are excellent for large rigs, but the short access road to these sites is rough for a large motorhome. We did fine going in, but going out was a problem due to trees. We drove our car to the top of the park for a beautiful view of Camden and the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
We camped here in the field last in 2005 for $16 per night. Now because they added water and electric the rate jumped to $30 per night. The reservation fee added another $2 per night. The location is nice for hiking and as a base for touring but in my opinion not worth $30. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Still one of my favorite Maine State Parks Campgrounds. Very scenic, quiet, lots of hiking and near Camden for shopping and the ocean. There are 107 campsites and they are planning within the next year to put in electricity on some of their sites. I don’t know if I am for that or not. It is a great campground as it is without the noise that sometimes electricity brings. Great place to retire! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$20
This is one of the Maine State Park campgrounds which can be reserved for 2 or more nights on weekends and 1 or more on Sunday through Thursday. There are some beautiful sites in the woods but there are some sites in the meadow for big rigs. This campground is up high over Camden which is a beautiful seaside community with great little shops. The park has a toll road and hiking trails to the top of Mt. Battle for panoramic views of the harbor. It also has private picnic sites and hiking trails down the hill from the campground that you can walk too with some beautiful views of the bay. We have camped here many times in the last twenty-five years as we head up the coast of Maine going to Acadia National Park or on our way to Canada. The rangers are very nice. It's a good place to stay awhile to visit along the coast or just for a one night stopover. We like the first loop on the right. Great campground and adorable town. The library in town should be seen - part of it is built underground and they do have computer access there. Don't miss the Oreo cows in a pasture near town pass the library. In the Fall they gave us a discounted rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com