223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Blackwoods Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (207) 288-3338
CGID4804

Blackwoods Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
306
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   10   9   10   5   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$10
We have stayed here about twenty times over the last 30 years and written many reviews. There are two campgrounds in the Park - this one near Northeast Harbor and Seawall near Southwest Harbor. Acadia is now rated the #1 National Park and is one of our favorites. No hookups in the park but the bathrooms have been redone and are nice and clean. Private showers are outside the campgrounds for a fee. L.L.Bean runs free shuttles around the island from mid June through Columbus Day Weekend. The shuttle comes every 30 minutes and connects to other shuttles that take you to the Visitor Center, Bar Harbor, Northeast and Southwest Harbors. Two shuttles run the loop road and make stops at all the lookouts - Sand Beach, Thunderhole, Otter Point, Jordan Pond, Eagle Pond, and many other places. It is great. The last shuttles drops off at the campground near 9 PM. These shuttles also pick up at all the campgrounds, motels , and resorts on the island. We just spent a week there this fall and the weather was perfect and the lobster rolls were yummy. A great place to visit for ranger talks at night, hikes, walks, drives, sailing etc. In the fall, cruise ships come into Bar Harbor during the week and you can see these ships from town and on the Loop Road. Golden Age pass gets you onto the Loop Road for free and 50% off camping rates so per night it was $10 for us. This campground is closer to Bar Harbor than Seawall and it has a great walk down to the cliffs to sit and watch the waves. Blackwoods takes reservations and you need them because some sites RVs cannot fit in. You reserve a spot but not a specific site. Seawall campground now takes reservations for the first time this year and they redid the RV camping sites there about four or five years ago and they are great. The National Park Service is now building a campground in the other part of Acadia NP north of Ellsworth off the mainland - about 130 sites opening next summer. This section does not get many visitors and the roads are kind of narrow but it is beautiful over there and they will be running 30 minutes shuttles around there next year. Great place to camp especially in the fall! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
I was very nervous about staying in this campground with no hookups and a large trailer. We had a wonderful experience. We made our reservations months ahead for a RV 35FT site. The morning of our arrival, we called the campground to let know that we needed to make sure they had a site big enough for our slides and trailer. They had one ready for us when we got there! The sites are beautiful and wooded but manageable to drive to. It stays nice and cool in Maine so we could leave our dogs inside with the windows open. Sites for our size trailer are pull-through. We had to back out when it was time to leave because we could not make the turn. No major problem! Staff was very helpful! Park is amazing! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
We stayed at this campground for 4 nights the week before Memorial Day. The weather was cool, clear and sunny, making for nice rides any time of day through the park loop. Our site accommodated our 31' motorhome and Jeep without a problem. The campground was easy to find, the entrance road was paved, park rangers were friendly and helpful. The site was pretty level and surrounded by trees offering privacy. It was very quiet at night. There are no hookups at this campground so we did use our generator during appropriate hours. There is a dump station. The restrooms were clean. We used our Senior Pass so not sure if the price I quoted is correct. With close proximity to Bar Harbor there is enough to do and we toured the island with the toad. Looking forward to returning again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
This is an extraordinarily clean and quiet campground with very helpful staff. We stayed 7 nights. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
We were pleasantly surprised at the very nice pull-thru sites available for rvs & campers. Though, I did see a few pull-thru sites that were not level, but the place is just so pretty I'd deal with leveling my trailer just to stay here! I gave it a 10, but here a few things to be aware of (not reasons not to stay - you should stay here!): The campground is accessed via Hwy 3. If you want to get back on the park loop road you have to drive around a little. It's kind of annoying in that sense. You can walk to the park loop road from the campground (which you should to cross over to the ocean overlook and watch the sunrise). We arrived at 11:30 am and were told they literally can't check people in until 12pm. She told us to eat lunch and come back. We pulled into the dump station and watched as several cars pulled up and started getting checked in before 12. My husband walked over and the lady working tried to tell my husband to go out to the highway, turn around and get in line. This was at 11:45. This would be no easy feat with our 30 foot trailer. Another worker took pity and checked us in. Odd experience but her lack of professionalism didn't reflect on the great campground. We didn't really even notice mosquitoes or bugs (except at overlook - bring spray!). A very pleasant experience. If you can dry camp, stay here! There is a shower place down the road and it's not far from villages. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
Rate reflects the senior discount. This is a very nice campground, but be warned check-in time is 12:00 noon and it's enforced. I don't agree with the last reviewer about the sites being widely spaced - they just have so many bushes between them that they seem far apart. We had a pull through site on the A loop. It was a little tight getting into, but otherwise was fine. It's a pleasant drive into Bar Harbor, where there are a lot of tourist activities and places to eat. We took a tour on Oli's Trolley to get an idea of what the area was like. Well worth it. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
First there are no showers available in the campground, that's why I answered don't know to the question above. There are private showers available across the street for $2.00 for four minutes. That was not a problem at all, we just planned out our showers in advance. The campground is the nicest campground I've ever stayed in. The sites were spaced out so far apart that we never saw our neighbors. At night it was super quiet. I cannot wait to go back to Acadia and stay here again. The only thing I was surprised to see was that there were no playgrounds for kids, but I was told that is a National Park thing, and that didn't detract from our vacation at all. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
We stayed here three nights, rate reflects 50 percent senior discount. Our pull through site in the center section needed leveling. Lots of woods though some sites much more private than others. Park loop Explorer Bus stops at the campground, which is handy for transportation into Bar Harbor. Bathroom had been modernized but be warned: has no showers, hot water, soap, paper towels or blow hand dryers. There is a small grocery at Otter Creek and commercial bathhouse near the campground which actually is clean and works fine for showers, $2 for four minutes. Fire rings, wood available in the area for $3 a bundle. No Wi-Fi, no 3G reception in the campground. You can walk down the Ocean Path from Blackwoods for a nice se view. We attended a ranger program one evening in the large amphitheater, entirely aimed at kids, though. We enjoy the National Park experience and the low price, but stayed in a commercial RV park near Bar Harbor when we returned later in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
I enjoyed it! Also: there are "pay" showers just outside this campground, about 300 feet away! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Great campground to stay at in Acadia National Park. No hookups at the campsites, but water is available at a few faucets located throughout the campground. With an RV you will have to drive to a faucet in the campground to fill your freshwater tank, few if any campsites are within reach of a faucet. Entrance is large and well laid out, but the campsites themselves are tight and can be difficult to get into. Low branches, trees at the corners of campsites, narrow roads. I consider it not big rig accessible, but a couple surprisingly large rigs were here: getting scratched up going through the campground. Dump station is well laid out. When you enter Acadia, make sure you stop at the Acadia National Park Visitor's Center. From there, take the Park Loop Road to Blackwoods, this allows you to avoid driving through Bar Harbor. Bar Harbor is a small and very tight tourist town that is not easy to navigate with a camper. There is at least one gas station in Bar Harbor, but it can be tricky to get into with a truck. Try to remember to fill up before entering the Acadia area. Once we got into our site, it was actually very roomy. Quiet campground at night, but some camper generators running during the day. (Please don't run your generator unless you really need to). Bathrooms were very clean, and had running water. Don't know why they don't have showers, but the private pay showers at the entrance to the campground were very nice. They are not realistically within walking distance, you will probably want to drive to them. Some firewood is available for free in the campground, but it was wet when we were here and the Rangers asked that campers don't take too much. We bought a couple dry bundles outside the campground to help our fire. Be sure to remember that you can explore most of Acadia at night. It is really neat to star gaze and hike at night! Blackwoods is within Acadia, but at one end. You can hike into the main part of the park, but the distances can be misleading, don't underestimate Acadia! It is big, and you may want to drive to various points to explore from. We will be returning here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We liked the pull through site as we didn't need to unhook. The restrooms were clean and well maintained. The sites are closer together than most western national parks, but everyone was friendly. We enjoyed the free firewood and liked walking down to the loop road, to watch the ocean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
This is the park for access by walking. One can walk to the mountains or the sea. The trails are good to moderate climbs. The ocean at this end of the park is as Maine as one can imagine. Quiet, almost lonely, with rocky beaches emptied of crowds. If you enjoy walking this is the place to camp. Others have made clear the facilities. They are all good and the reservation service makes a planned vacation possible. There are no showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
If you don’t have reservations for Blackwoods it is hard to get in with an RV. They only have about 40 RV sites but plenty of tent sites. Actually an RV 25feet and under could fit into many of the tent sites but in the last ten years they are not doing that. Blackwoods is near the parkway and Bar Harbor. There are hikes, walks, ranger talks out of the campground. The bathrooms and many of the sites have been updated in the last five years but still no showers but showers can be found outside the park entrance for a fee, open 24 hours. This campground is still one of our favorites. The trees and the sound of the waves on the rocks at night lull you to sleep. There is a short walk down to the cliffs and park road which is beautiful. One can ride bikes through the campground and take them on the carriage roads. LLBean provides free shuttles from the campground to the parkway, Jordan’s Pond, Bar Harbor and will drop you off even with your bikes to hikes and walks around the National Park if the bus is going that way. Rangers are nice but don’t take the time with you as the Seawall Rangers do because they are so busy. Blackwoods is open all year with limited services. Bar Harbor is expanding with more restaurants especially since now all these cruise ships are in the harbor. One day there were three ships in and one of them was the maiden voyage of the new Queen Victoria from England. Interesting people from the ships and so many campers traveling from all over the country staying in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
I stayed at Site A53. You get assigned your spot when you arrive: so make sure you error on the side of a longer spot when you make the reservation. All spots were very close to one another. You are basically sharing the picnic, fire pit with the person next to you. Generators are allowed, but discouraged (it says to use them "sparingly" during the day). If you have a large RV or trailer you will find that the spots are rather tight to pull into. You can do it, but it isn't the easiest even though they are pull-through sites. The main goal in the campground was to fit as many RV sites on the area as possible. All in all, this was a good campground serving as a base location for going out and doing stuff (the whole point in a national park anyway). Everything was very clean and well maintained. My only complaint was the smoke from the fires. Because of the evergreen trees and people burning wood that wasn't 100% dry: there was a lot of smoke. So much so that you didn't want to open your windows. Although I didn't have time, you should definitely check out the other campground area: Sea Wall. I would think it is a little nicer being that it is a first come, first serve (no reservations). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Stayed in Loop B site 37. This loop feel a lot different from Loop A, maybe it's the distance between sites, or tree cover, but once we were setup, we were comfortable. This is defenitely not a place for groups to enjoy a weekend since quiet hours are STRICTLY enforced. couples & small families however would enjoy this campground. Facilities were great. Showers are just outside the park on route 3, which was 1.50$ for 4 minutes. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Nice campground. No hookups. Quiet. Small rest rooms. No showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
We were really disappointed with our campsite, A55. We have a 35 foot motorhome with two slides, the maximum length allowable in the park. Although the site was a pull-through it was incredibly difficult to negotiate, evidenced by two prior occupants who damaged the surrounding trees. We ended up camped with trees within six inches of either side of us. I believe that the NP should not advertise these sites as 35 foot. The length is there but not the width. Roads inside the park were paved but narrow with many low overhanging branches. This is a great park for a unit less than 30 feet, or for tent camping. Rate reflects senior Golden Age discount. The park has evening programs and a Sunday morning church service in a nice amphitheater. The Island Explorer buses run frequently into Bar Harbor and around the area, 15 minutes into town, 45 minutes back because of the loop roads. Using a commercial campground in Bar Harbor is actually more practical as the buses run through those campgrounds too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
We arrived late on Saturday so assumed we got offered what was left. However, was very satisfied with the site. Facilities were excellent. Pay showers are located off-site at campground entrance along route 3. 1.25$ for 4min, 2.50$ for 8min. Space between sites was good and check in was fast and painless. Don't think there are any bad sites here. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
No showers - pay showers at the entrance to the campground along the highway. Non-level sites. No water views. They asked for "sparing" use of generators which our next door neighbor did not comply with. This campground may be better suited to tent campers although there were a few motorhomes there. Dense shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Very nice no hook-up campground in Acadia National Park. We had site A56, a pull-thru, at the end of one row in the loop so we did not have a neighbor on one side which was perfectly sized for our 30 ft class A and toad. The sites are not overly large and not completely level (minor slope) but clean with lots of trees. The bathrooms near us were brand new and still smelled like freshly cut wood. The dump station was easy to access and had potable water for filling your water tank. Most of the sites in this campground are designed for tent campers but there were two rows of pull-thrus for RV's up to 35 ft. We were there over Memorial Day weekend and felt very lucky that the dreaded black flies we'd heard so much about were really not much of a problem and with the exception of Bar Harbor the area was not too crowded. Nice campground, great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$20
This is 1 of 2 campgrounds in Acadia National Park. Blackwoods is located off the loop road near Bar Harbor and it is required to have reservations now from May 1 to mid Sept. You can take the chance and pull up and be placed on a wait list but you might have to move everyday. You have a better chance of getting in-in the Spring and Fall unless you make a reservation. There are no showers in the campground but some very close by. This is a great campground. We have camped here maybe 15 times in the last twenty-five years, usually for 5 or more days and sometimes for two weeks at a time. Now they have the Island Shuttle Bus which comes to the campground, which is free (thanks to LL Bean) to take you to different sections of the park and to Bar Harbor, Northwest Harbor and Southwest Harbor. Southwest Harbor is where the other campground Seawall is. Very pretty and first come first serve (only open May to early September). There is so much to do in Acadia: dirt bike trails on the carriage roads, hiking, ranger talks and hikes, beaches, tours out to some of the islands and a visit to Bar Harbor with its great shops and nice walk along the seashore. There are ranger talks at night with slideshows at the campground. To drive the loop you need to buy a pass for your car for $20 which is good for seven days. Lots to see and do and it is beautiful. Lots of wildlife. Visit the Acadia National Park site for more information. The campground is huge with two loops. The second loop where many of the RV's are: the sites are close but many are pull throughs. RV's can be placed in any loop though. Some of the upper loops have huge sites. You need to check your site out because one time we could not get into our site because it was too small and the road was muddy but that was only once in fifteen times. We love this campground even though it does not have showers. There are pay showers right outside the campground gate. There are hiking trails right from the campground. One of them goes down to a rocky cliff way above the ocean where you can sit and read and enjoy the day. (Be careful with small children though because at the rocky edge you can slip.) We have hiked this trail when our children were 2 and when they were 20: you just need to be careful. The last time we camped at Blackwoods we did encounter a problem with RV's running their generators for a long period of time in the morning, during the afternoon and at night. It was so bad that when one camper finally turned theirs off after 2 hours everyone around them cheered, clapped and hooted. This has never happened before when we camped here but I don't believe they have generator hours like some other National Park campgrounds do, also it was in October and not in the summer when it is warmer. Trips to Northwest Harbor are fun because you can go down to the boats coming in and purchase clams and lobsters right off the boat. A ride over to the Schoodic Peninsula on the mainland is a good days trip. It is part of Acadia National Park and the views are outstanding. Blackwoods campground had different rates depending on the season. The basic season runs from May 1 to October 31, then the bathrooms are shut down, but it is open year round. Check this out because this year they closed October 31, 2005 until May 2006 to make repairs in the campground. It is a great place and the kids will love all the activities. Ours loved the drive up the mountain at night to view the stars and the flashlight walks through some of the trails. There is a paper of the weekly walks, talks, activities, etc., at the visitor center which you can pick up. There is a pond for swimming and a few beaches around the island. I do not know anyone that has not fallen in love with Acadia National Park. It is a wonderful place to camp and visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com