223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Nickerson State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (508) 896-3491
CGID4809

Nickerson State Park

Camp Information
Sites
420
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Beautiful park. Beware, if you camp here in a motorhome or trailer and want to use a generator .. don't count on it being OK. In, NON quiet hours, if some or any campers complain, you have to shut off the generator or you will be kicked out - period. We were here in off season during the week and had a refrigerator failure on the gas side. To bad they said, buy some ice or go to the parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
Many sites have a view (not access) of the "ponds", lovely forest lakes that make Nickerson one of the best state parks in Massachusetts. Easy day access to Cape Cod, but beware of weekend traffic. Site was spacious and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Nickerson State Park, Orleans or Brewster, MA I have not camped at Nickerson in quite a few years. This is a big park half way down the Cape. There are over 400 sites in 7 sections and they all have their positive points and some negative. Section 1, 2, 3, and 5 are small sections and some sites have water view since there are at least 7 kettle ponds throughout the park. Showers though are in section 4 and sections 6. They have started to rebuild some of their restrooms but the old ones are pretty dingy. There are no utilities here. They do have an amphitheater/ bike rentals/ boat rentals/ nature center and a park store. It is in the woods and be aware that sections 6 and 7 are miles away from the entrance to the park. We have stayed in all the sections. Every area has a pond that you can walk to down a cliff to swim at. Section 1 the swimming area is an easy walk. During the fall not all the sections are open. Sites are not all level but big rigs can find spots especially near the end of the second loop in section 4. Roads driving in the loops are narrow. This campground has 8 miles of bike trails in the park and it connects at the entrance to the Cape Cod Rail Trail which has 25 more miles of bike trail. This trail goes through towns and passes the Cape Cod National Seashore. There are also ponds for boating, hiking, bird watching and picnicking. In the fall it is beautiful and it is the only state park in MA that you can make a 1 night reservation. Unless you have a big, big rig you would not have needed a reservation this fall but in the summer it is a must. Staying here you are near Orleans for shopping, restaurants and heading east the Cape Cod National seashore with more biking trails, visitor center and beautiful beaches (love Head of Meadows). Golden age pass can be used to get into the beaches run by the National Park Service but some beaches are run by the local towns and you must pay for parking but not before around June 21 and after Labor Day but check these dates because they change. One thing you should try if you like Reuben sandwiches the Cape Codder Reuben with a small pot of beans is excellent at Hearth and Kettle restaurant in Orleans (easy drive with plenty of big rig parking, Shaws Supermarket is there too as well as a drug store). The Reuben is made with fish – melts in your mouth! Make sure you check closing dates for any campgrounds in New England because most close at the end of Columbus Day weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
We had an excellent time at this park. The bike trails into town are great. Our site was relatively private although not very level. Brewster is a great town and Nickerson is a must see park while in Cape Cod. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
We stayed in Area 4, site 61 in a 25' travel trailer. Sites are large and most are at least partially wooded. Those designated for RVs/Trailers are easy enough to get in/out of. There are no hook-ups of any type but communal water spigots and bathrooms are available and easily accessible. A dump station is available. Most restrooms are "toilets only" and only have cold water at the sinks. There are brand new shower houses available for hot showers and dish washing stations have been added to some of the restroom buildings. There is one of these shower houses for areas 1-5 and one for areas 6-7. They weren't overly crowded even though the park was 70% full throughout the week. Nickerson has undergone major renovations and areas 1-5 just reopened. Areas 6, 6x and 7 are scheduled to reopen in late July 2008. We walked through areas 6 and 6x and the sites are in rough shape and will need a lot of work to make that happen. As a part of their water/electric system upgrade they also paved all the roads within the camping areas. The parks is heavily used by families and there tends to be a lot of very young (under 6!) children out riding bikes and such on the roads so caution is urged. Despite that, the area is generally very quiet. Peak "noise time" is Friday afternoon/evening as new arrivals tend to pour in. The Kettle Ponds are clean and fairly well used by swimmers, boaters and those fishing. There are numerous trails to wander and paved bike paths throughout the park. Park staff has always been great here for us and we've never had any issues with any of them. They do deal with complaints quickly and directly. Ticks are an issue within the park (this shouldn't be unexpected!). We picked up 2 in the course of a week while walking trails around the ponds. Proper precautions are recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
Great campground. Very quiet even when at full capacity. Sites are level and clean. We stayed in Area 7 which had just re-opened. The sites are large and fairly spread out. The bathrooms are a little dated but had been given a fresh coat of paint. The showers were in Area 6 of the park for Area 7. I was a little surprised by this but we used the facilities in our camper. I cannot speak as to the facilities in the rest of the park. This is a great spot for bike riding. There is access just outside of the park to the Cape Cod bike trail. I give this park a 9 because of its location and the space itself. 1900 acres, we drove about 3 miles to our site. As we drove in we saw deer and racoons. We brought our dog, the check-in desk asked for proof of vaccination. My dog did get ticks, but we were in the woods. I'm not surprised. I believe that waterfront sites are walk-ins for tent use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
Nickerson State Park is in the middle of Cape Cod - a great place to stay for a couple of days to tour this area. There are showers but there are also 8 fresh water ponds for swimming. There is a swimming area within the park that you can drive to but from many of the camping loops a walk down a hill is needed to find your own private little area. There are seven loops with 420 campsites in a pine/oak forests. The first 4 areas are close to the entrance which is good because this park has over 1900 acres. We have stayed here many times and have camped in all the loops. They all have their pros and cons. There was a storm this past winter so they closed the park but will open up again late in May. Loop 7 will remain closed for the season. One of the greatest things about this park is that there are paved bike trails that go all over and then hook up at the entrance of the park to the Cape Cod Rail Trail. This trail has wonderful paved trails that go up and down the Cape. There are trails all over the Cape. There are even restaurants that have set up along the trail to offer food and water in some areas. The trails are safe for children of all ages. This park is hard to get into without reservations in the summer because of all the great Cape beaches near it and the National Seashore. There are ranger programs in the park in the summer and a newletter with all the National Seashore Activities, trails, hikes and talks can be picked up at the National Park visitor center which is close. Many families stay for at least a week and some for the max of 14 days. Others return every year for family vacations. Enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com