206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Myles Standish State Forest was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (508) 866-2526
CGID4810

Myles Standish State Forest

Camp Information
Sites
425
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   7   7   8   7   2   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
First time visitors to this campground. We were in the Charge Pond area A and half of the other areas were closed. I don't know if they open up more as the season picks up. The beach area at Charge Pond was nice. The water was clear, there was good fishing, and it wasn't busy at all. The campground was clean with sandy sites and that near the ocean kind of feel. There is about 20 feet of forest between each site. The kids enjoyed riding their bikes on the paved bike paths. Make sure you have a map and pre-plan your trip as it can get confusing without one. We were hoping to climb the fire tower but it was locked up. We would go back again, but it's kind of a long drive. Oh, the bathroom had a door that was left open but it didn't matter because there wasn't a screen on it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
We camped here on a weekend where all sites were full, but found the Barrett's Pond area very quiet. Our site (J11) was small but level. Backing in was tricky due to a small incline, but I was able to do it on the first try. After exploring the park, I realized that there was only a handful of sites that were level enough for a travel trailer, and we clearly had the largest TT in the park. Park is more suited to pop-ups and tents. Firewood cannot be taken in or out of Massachusetts parks due to the ALH beetle, but firewood is reasonably priced. Bike paths made this dry camping experience worth it. 15 miles of paved paths; however, they are very hilly, and would be difficult for small children to pedal on their own. The College Pond swimming area is nice and has a small sandy beach and a place for renting kayaks/canoes. The weekend we were there, we arrived at 10AM and people had already begun placing belongings on all the picnic tables in the park. Guests can use the lake on a day pass, so there were many very large groups playing music and cooking all around us. The water was nice and the experience would have been better if it had been limited to camping patrons only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
This is a great campground when you want to get back to nature. There are no electric sites and water is a very short walk. You are truly in a forest. There are many ponds to take a swim in, too. We have spent 2 different weekends there and have always had a good time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
This forest is huge and close to Plymouth for those visiting the Pilgrim tourist’s sites and also in the Fall close to King Richard Faire. There 5 sections to camp in plus another section Charge Pond which has 6 sections of its own. We always stayed at Charge Pond before but it was closed for the fall until they decided to open up 3 sections for Columbus Day weekend. Charge Pond does have its own beach near the A loop but the sites here do not have as much shade as the other areas but these sites are huge. The only other area open for the fall was Barrett’s Pond where we stayed. Narrow roads driving in and there are some big sites but big rigs and those with horses are better at Charge Pond. We travel in a 25 foot Pulse so we had a nice site on Barrett’s Pond. No electricity and the bathrooms need to be redone but it was beautiful in the fall with the leaves turning. There are 16 ponds in the forest and 15 miles of bike trails. One can also canoe and fish on most of the ponds. Hunting in season – deer and game birds are stocked in certain areas in October and November. In the summer, there are interpretive programs, walks especially along all the cranberry bogs that surround this park and there are some near the bike trail for exploring. Blueberries are abundant in the Summer right off some of the camping areas and along the bike trails. You don’t need a reservation in the Fall and might not need one for the summer but check on this depending where you want to camp. Fearing Pond area is great for tent camping and pop ups. Beautiful days spent biking all over the park with only four other campers during the week – we had the bike trails to ourselves. Make sure you have a trail map (found at checking) though because it is confusing. Make sure you check closing dates for any campgrounds in New England because most close at the end of Columbus Day weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
The drive through the park was incredibly long from the office to our campsite. Roads are winding and narrow but paved. Our campsite offered very little privacy and we were awoken to the sound of noisy kids and someone splitting firewood. The park was nice. The rangers were friendly and helpful. South Carver is a great town. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Overall, very nice park. Ponds are clean for the most part. Price is reasonable and noise is kept to a minimum. Only downfall is how difficult it is to reserve for one night. The state website only lets you reserve two nights so sometimes it is impossible just to camp for one night. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$12
I just spent a weekend here and am sorry to say I can't recommend it. The campsites were wooded and private, the bike trails were paved and wound through the woods. There were a few ponds to chose from for swimming. It should be the best place for families to camp. However the rest rooms were disgusting and I didn't feel safe letting the kids out of my site. I think that until this campground can better enforce its own rules campers need to beware. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$17
This campground is close to Plymouth and near the Cape. It is big with many loops all over the park in a beautiful natural setting. Some campsites are on one of the sixteen ponds, yet other sites are near the ponds but in a forest with pitch pine and scrub pine. The Charge Pond area has the biggest sites with not much shade, where you can walk down to a pond for swimming. Some of the other loops have sites right on the water with a lot more shade. The showers and restrooms were clean. This state forest has 15 miles of paved bike trails which are close to all the campground loops and 13 miles of hiking and 35 miles of equestrian trails. They even have one loop in the Charge Pond area that is only for those camping with horses. See the website for more information. This is a nice campground but there are times on holiday weekends where the groups camping together in the Charge Pond area can get rowdy (July 4). It is still better than it was 15 years ago. Yet, the Charge Pond area is still one of our favorite areas and is a great place for a family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com